15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Klaviyo

Klaviyo is an intelligent marketing automation and customer data platform for email, SMS, mobile push and product reviews.

Learn more about Klaviyo

Pros:

It's very user friendly and can be well understood by new users. Very helpful support team.

Cons:

They say that all the plans are the same and there are no hidden fees or add-ons.

Klaviyo ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Klaviyo has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 427 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Klaviyo before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (427)

Karagan
Karagan
Owner and Founxer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nothing beats it, yet.

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Klaviyo is the top of the line with email marketing. Their segmentation is top notch!

Cons:

It gets very pricey as your list grows and they need to update their templates to be more modern and easy to edit.

Grant
Grant
Director of Marketing in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for email marketing, good returns when segmenting properly

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It has been great! I've really enjoyed Klaviyo and think that it is the strongest ecom email platform on the market for Shopify merchants. The customization of emails is relatively easy, it has robust feature sets for additions like reviews and sms, and their flows are a hugely important piece to generate passive income. I'd recommend Klaviyo as long as the person onboarding new tools understood how pricing structure works.

Pros:

We like to ability to have a strong integration with Shopify and how easy it is to sync lists between other platforms and Klaviyo.

Cons:

The hardest things about Klaviyo are understanding pricing around profiles, and how to justify the growing cost of the platform when competitors are starting to flank them on pricing vs features.

Steve
Digital Producer in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not user friendly, poor support

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Poor, I wouldn't recommend Klaviyo over others that I have used (Active Campaign, Omnisend, Drip).

Pros:

The Klaviyo application is very powerful, no doubt.

Cons:

The UI for the automation flow filters are not intuitive and not well designed. Basic requirements for flows are unnecessarily difficult to implement. When you contact Klaviyo support, staff gives information that contradicts their published documentation and often don't actually give the correct advice at all, resulting going around in circles trying to get issues resolved. Klaviyo list management is also poor, and like some other platforms (seems to be a trend), Klaviyo gears the system towards pushing you to pay for more customer profiles than you actually need and then when you try to clean or remove profiles you have to go through manual processes, whereas Klaviyo could easily provide options to automate this, or at least NOT require manual CVS export/imports. I mean really Klaviyo it's 2022 people. The Klaviyo visual builder is buggy, even in their "NEW" builder there were bugs with things as basic as applying link colour styles at a global level. Generally also poor UI for the visual builder. Overall, it's almost like the Klaviyo designers tried to make the UI as clunky as possible, probably went to the same design school as the Mailchimp designers (which is equally terrible).

Brandon
Ecommerce Manager in US
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Klaviyo is an absolute necessity if you own a growing/scaling brand.

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall, very good and central if you are selling ecommerce and have a decent email list growing.

Pros:

Segmentation, strong integration with Shopify, Campaign and Flow management

Cons:

Pricing structure is confusing. Auto upgrades after hitting a certain amount of sends, but then also charges based on number of active profiles. If it were a straight up Cost Per Send, it would be easier to manage as a budget expense.

Kyle
Owner in US
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gets the Job Done

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall it does get the job done. It is a lot of work and their support is very limited. It seems that they're not focusing on ecommerce anymore and things have changed recently complicating integration. The SMS is limited. I would like there to be more customer support with setting up campaigns and flows.

Pros:

It is widely used and integrates well with Shopify directly, as well as lead capture on Facebook.

Cons:

The set up and management are hard. There isn't a mobile app!

simon
Manager in UK
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Email Tool

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: great service, support has been outstanding

Pros:

Simple to use and setup flows unlike other software, also great support

Cons:

Pricing seems a little high compared to others

Jonah
Manager of Product Development and Business Operations in Canada
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Provided a solution to our unique use-case.

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall I think Klaviyo is a great product. Customer service is amazing and so readily available via chat and they do seem to possess a great degree of knowledge about the product and its functionality/capabilities. Was amazing to see our automated message flows come to life and go out to our customers!

Pros:

Our product, an educational and habit-building micro-content program, required a way to send lengthy (50-100+ sends), localized, and automated flows via SMS and email to global Shopify purchasers. They were the closest platform we found to delivering as we envisioned. Customer service was very helpful in helping us find solutions to problems and aid in our solution design.

Cons:

We experienced issues with contacts being overwritten when multiple sign-ups/subscriptions came through the same form. We also noticed that due to how long our flows were, the flow editor became extremely slow.

Peter
VP in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gold Standard for Email Marketing

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Klaviyo has quickly become the gold standard for high end email automation.

Cons:

Expensive and less focused on the ecommerce industry than it could be.

John
Software Developer in US
Research, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Klaviyo: A Dependable Email Marketing System

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The features and capabilities of Klaviyo have been so impressive. Klaviyo is a cost-friendly email marketing solution.

Cons:

All the features of Klaviyo are impressive. No cons for Klaviyo.

Gerald
Marketing in Canada
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Klaviyo Is Great For eCom

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We use Klaviyo regularly and it's great for email automations and campaign sends. Email marketing is a must for any eCom business and Klaviyo does it well. The only downside is the cost. It's starting to get super expensive as our list grows.

Pros:

I like the automations, triggers, and data. Love that it integrates with shopify.

Cons:

The cost is starting to get out of control. Getting really expensive.

Manny
Marketing Coordinator in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good ESP That Does What You Need

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Besides cost, the biggest team our team wanted to get out of the ESP was email automation which you get built in with Klaviyo. We had some assistance with our agency to get on-boarded and build some additional flows but overall, there wasn't to much of a learning curve with building the emails. Their tables do not render nicely in Outlook though, which didn't have that issue before which is a bummer.

Pros:

With our previous ESP, we had to pay extra for the automation that you would expect with your email service provider. With looking at bottom line, that is what lead us to research other ESPs, which lead us to Klaviyo. While there is a learning curve with any new program, this one wasn't to bad to get adjusted. I will say I do miss the dedicated account rep we had with previous ESP and the on-boarding specialist okay...our marketing agency helped with the on-boarding as it was heading into Q4 and they helped steer ship in right direction after first two emails had less then stellar open rates.

Cons:

The features are there that you need from an ESP perspective. They even recently announced the introduction of SMS marketing within their platform which helps ROI tracking to be even better instead of having to rely on a 3rd party vendor and who takes credit between a SMS message or email message. While our email send total is actually higher than in Listrak, we do not have a dedicated account manager to meet with and discuss the account, what they see, suggestions on where to optimize, etc. It is much cheaper than Listrak and another ESP we looked at so you get what you pay for.

Adam
eCommerce in Canada
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best all-in-one marketing tool for scale

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, I am a fan and they have earned their place as our go-to marketing tool. We can't operate without Klaviyo.

Pros:

Klaviyo does what it promises. It's an all-in-one solution for email, sms, customer data, and automations. Their software works better than the competitors at scale: they grow healthier lists which means more revenue long term.

Cons:

The import from mailchimp was a bit of a hassle, and the sync between Klaviyo and Shopify has some unexpected issues that crop up, but that's likely due to our integration and not on the software stack itself. Pricing for SMS in Canada is very high, which may be prohibitive for some.

Pelle
Growth Manager in Sweden
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software that we use for multiple purposes

4.0 last year

Pros:

Good for analyzing first part data.Pretty good integration system with e.g. Shopify, Facebook etc.

Cons:

Css editor is okay but would need additional software or programming skills to make high class emails.

Claire
Marketing Director in US
Cosmetics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Completely transformed our ecomm presence!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Klaviyo doesn't just have an easy-to-use platform that makes it fast to set up flows and campaigns, their customer support is incredible! They're always super helpful and the platform has helped us dramatically increase our conversion rate!

Cons:

I would like to see more templates that can easily be customized, they have a great selection but I would love to see more!

Douglas
Ecom Specialist in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best email management system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have no complaints with Klaviyo. It's a great system I use everyday.

Pros:

Klaviyo is the best Ecommerce email platform. It's the place for your lifetime value and segmentation strategy. And the customer service is second to none. It has so many features, and can do anything you need.

Cons:

It's expensive, so if you're looking for something cheap, look elsewhere. Since it's also tiered, you should have a minimum number of subscribers and revenue per month to make it worth it.

Chris
eCommerce Sales Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Never going back to anything else but Klaviyo

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The integration with Shopify Stores and the ease of building flows makes this a game changer. Additionally the bulk discount code builder gives Shopify functionality outside of Shopify that makes "one less app" for my store. Finally the native Form Builder in Klaviyo is very easy to use.

Cons:

I wish one Klaviyo Account could connect to multiple Shopify Stores, this causes some problems for our operations. Additionally I wish building segments was faster, some advanced segments take very long to build.

Hiral
Hiral
Technology Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the Best Solutions for Internet Retail

4.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Very easy-to-use platform, You can setup multiple types of automation campaigns specific to your type of retail. Abandoned Carts etc.

Cons:

The pricing model is per store or site, We own about 6 different brands so not able to use sends between brands so have to be very selective of the plans required. Also, there was an auto plan where it automatically removes users that have unsubscribed and lowers the plan tiers.

Craige Hardel
Craige Hardel
Owner in Saint Lucia
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best ecommerce autoresponder out there

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My go to solution for ecommerce clients. It has automation ,good templates and everything else

Pros:

Robust features that just work. It's a bit getting used to but you can do most of what you want with them Really good templates for those starting out and experienced as well

Cons:

Their onboarding process could be easier They have tutorials but they're fuzzy and should be made available with webinars being an option.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great email marketing software for ecommerce!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've been using Klaviyo for about 9 months now, and I absolutely love it. It helped me increase the proportion of monthly store revenue by email from 10% to 50% in under 6 months. It's easy to use, easy to integrate with Shopify, and provides awesome functionalities that any ecommerce store could need. Their automated flows (abandoned carts, thank you emails, welcome series) all work seamlessly. They have many email templates to choose from, but you an also create your own templates easily with their template builder. No need to know how to code. Another reason to love Klaviyo is their ability to segment your audience. It's so easy to segment your audience based on their activity and interaction with your website. For example, creating segments of customers who purchased product X but didn't purchase product Y, or customers who viewed a certain product page but didn't make a purchase. By having these segments you can send very targeted emails to them, upping conversion rates. Their support is also fabulous. They're very responsive via live chat and/or email, and really take their time to help you. I've asked them so many things, and every single time I've been given tremendous support. The final reason why Klaviyo is great, is its price point. Other email marketing software such as Hubspot may have more features, but the price is unbelievably high. For a small business like ours where every penny makes a difference, we are so grateful for Klaviyo's prices.

Cons:

I love Klaviyo, but what I wish they had is more features. Although, this makes sense because they offer everything at a lower price point than say, Hubspot. Many things are in the works though - I'm constantly in conversation with the support team, and they tell me that sophisticated features are in the works! Despite not having the most features in the email marketing world, this has never been a problem and has never deterred us from getting a lot of revenue from email marketing.

Maria
Sales Executive in Jordan
Food & Beverages, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

an effective platform for keeping customers in the loop about all promotions.

5.0 last year

Comments: Using Klaviyo has been a great asset to our team's email marketing efforts. Not only have we been able to keep customers abreast of our new updates, but the data we've collected has also allowed us to refine our approach in many ways.

Pros:

With Klaviyo, it's easy to run successful social media and email marketing campaigns. Klaviyo facilitates the entire process, from generating contact lists to posting promptly. The Klaviyo also gives a number of premade templates for incorporating advertisements (including images, links, and videos) into the email itself. I particularly like the segmentation tools because they allow us to make several sub-lists and split the primary campaign up into several sub-campaigns to reach all clients based on sub-lists. I appreciate how easily we can connect with the most popular social media advertising platforms, which provides us with more options for both publishing and collecting data. Klaviyo's data collection provides us with all the information we require, and we appreciate the clear presentation of the analytics in the reports and dashboards.

Cons:

It's frustrating when Klaviyo slows down and we have to start over from scratch after making edits, especially if the Email we're creating has a lot of specifics. One of the things I don't like is the difficulty of presenting the results of some analyses.

Kyle
Kyle
Director of Ecommerce in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A good, full-featured enterprise ESP solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the experience has been great. I think they hype some of the buyer indicators and data collection, which is fine but nothing special, but it's a great email platform.

Pros:

The IP warming and migration process was very smooth with no hiccups. The Klaviyo team are experts and it shows. We felt confident in their ability to successfully transition ESP platforms. The product itself is quite good and does everything you would expect it to.

Cons:

Like all ESPs, it has it's own unique idiosyncrasies. No deal breakers, but some of the functions can be a bit clunky.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent modern ESP platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ability to create more personalized emails based on how user is interacting with our website and purchase history. Great integrations with many eCommerce platforms.

Cons:

If you are using a custom ecommerce platform with Java or .Net, there are no SDK's available for the integrations. The documentation for their REST API's is confusing. Ability to create and manage transactional email templates is clunky.

Abdellatif
Abdellatif
Freelancer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Definitely worth the money

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Generally, I strongly suggest Klaviyo as an email showcasing and mechanization stage. The product's dashboard and following techniques are exceptionally clear, and assisted us with effectively checking development in email commitment/deals month-over-month.

Pros:

Klaviyo is the highest quality level in eCommerce email and SMS promoting on purpose. It fills in as a focal center point for all your client information and is the essential structure block for serious areas of strength for an and CLV methodology. It's incredibly strong with heaps of highlights to fit your advertising to your particular business case. I've additionally been extremely satisfied with Klaviyo's client assistance and instructive assets.

Cons:

Can we just be real - this isn't the least expensive email programming out there. For little eComm organizations that are simply beginning, it probably isn't the most ideal choice. The cost isn't legitimate except if you have a nice estimated rundown and traffic on your site. It's likewise intricate so there's a smidgen of an expectation to learn and adapt.

Carlos
President in US
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Klaviyo

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Email marketing. It is the best platform for email marketing.

Pros:

This is probably the best platform for email marketing I have ever tried. Well, I use it for my online store in order to send twice a week week newsletters to my customers' inboxes. Besides the multiple options that Klaviyo has, which makes it easy to give life to any pattern / combination of emails possibly out there, pricing is really fair, and they count with a free plan as well. Designing is also easy. I have fulfilled all my expectations when it was the time to create emails to be sent to customers. Something that I really like is the local time for delivering emails because sometimes customers have different time zones; if email is supposed to arrive at 9AM, then it would arrive at that time (for customers). Also, I have to mention the extense documentation that Klaviyo has. Customer service is through email, but they always answer back to you in as soon as 2 hours or less.

Cons:

They could make pricing a little more advantageous for their clients.

Matthew
Digital Marketing in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

One of the Best ESPs

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Klaviyo has been my rock when doing email marketing of any kind.

Pros:

It's easy to set things up be that your segments, your campaign emails, automation, or follow through with other programs.

Cons:

Wouldn't work with Yahoo Small Business. It would also sometimes throw junk HTML into my emails for no reason.