About UpWave

Upwave is a visual collaboration platform that helps modern businesses thrive. Organize, plan, track, collaborate and get things done.

Learn more about UpWave

Pros:

Integration with users calender is very nicely done, and makes it very easy to keep track of everything, keep everyone up-to-date and keep resources easily viewed.

Cons:

Every time I had a problem I wrote to customer service and they solved it quickly.

UpWave ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

UpWave has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 72 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used UpWave before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (72)

Verified Reviewer
Recruitment Solutions Consultant / Sales in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the most user friendly task management tools out there!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We were looking for a tool to keep a track of all our tasks and the person responsible for them. Now we are on top of our delevirables and we can even estimate how much time a simillar task would take in the future.

Pros:

The software is extremly easy to figure out and intuitive. Tasks can be assigned to an individual or to a team in a few clicks. Their neat UI with different color theme for tasks of different priority make it very easy to find the most pressing tasks first. We now have a much better idea of what our employees are spending their time on and their effeciency at completing tasks

Cons:

The platform is quite simple and easy to use, and this is one of its strengths. However, it does lead to it missing out on features that are available with more established players like Asana.

Verified Reviewer
CEO in Norway
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Easy to use and powerful alternative for project managment & collaboration

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use the product for day-to-day projects internally and towards clients across a wide variety of different project types. Upwave have preformed great in all areas where we have used it, and we are looking forward to the upcoming features as well.

Pros:

The flexibility to create all the boards that you like, and the ability to combine custom rows and columns makes the tool flexible and clean. Also, some great templates add to the impression as well

Cons:

The lack of a GANTT-chart option and a portfolio overview solution is kind of limiting, but I know the team is working on this.

Alternatives Considered: MeisterTask and Trello

Reasons for Choosing UpWave: Cost, ease of use, ability to use both rows and columns+++

Switched From: Trello

Joseph
Senior Front End Developer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Inferior alternative to Trello

2.0 6 months ago

Comments: My employer switched from Trello to Upwave when Trello decided to restrict the product's use of collaboration to an unsustainable pricing plan. This was a sad transition, as Trello was (and probably still is) a joy to use, but strongly impacted the main benefit of using it. The difference between Trello and Upwave was pretty evident immediately when I couldn't click-and-drag around the board as effortlessly. The keyboard shortcut of holding the space bar is not obvious, and it really should "just work". Then, there's the board rows. At first, the idea of a multi-axis board sounded great, but when I used it on a project, it quickly became a hard-to-navigate board full of empty space. This was especially evident when trying to conduct an Agile board with Upwave, something I quickly abandoned when it came time to set up a new sprint. There's a few smaller sources of frustration. Within cards, I also found the lack of tooling for rich text frustrating, and led me to the massively-complicated but extremely-capable Notion. I find the action of marking a card as "Complete" annoying, as there's usually a column for completed items, and this seems like a duplicated effort. In conclusion, I would absolutely only recommend Upwave as an alternative to Trello when the pricing hits hard. Otherwise, I wouldn't.

Pros:

Being able to silo information to specific items

Cons:

The User Experience when navigating a board or adding details

Tom
Senior Manager in US
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Maximum Collaboration

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Upwave became the one stop shop for collaboration and tracking progress on projects. Also, the customer service team has been very helpful, offering tips so we are able to maximize functionality and productivity.

Pros:

Upwave has replaced all of our other organizational software tools, and it has become a center for continuous improvement and innovation. The clean interface promotes accountability and drives issue resolution. Also, it is the perfect tool for managing stakeholder engagement. There is never any confusion because of channels of communication. As a result, our project teams have become much more efficient and productive.

Cons:

The customer service team at Upwave addressed any complaints I had, tailoring the software to meet the needs of our team.

Tamir
Producer in Slovenia
Motion Pictures & Film, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best project management tool for small business

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We're very happy to have found Upwave and we find it worth the cost.

Pros:

After trying out countless online project management tools, we finally found exactly what we need in Upwave.

Cons:

We didn't find Upwave to be lacking in any critical areas and we're sure it will only get better with time.

Alternatives Considered: Trello, Kanban Tool and Asana

Reasons for Choosing UpWave: Trello was too complicated to use

Switched From: Trello

Reasons for Switching to UpWave: Upwave was the most straight-forward, clean looking and easy to use software for small to medium businesses.

Anastasia
Chief Editor in Russia
Newspapers, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Upwave - a perfect app to organize the work of student teams and complete common tasks effectively

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am absolutely satisfied with Upwave! I have never used such a programme previously and was amazed by having my personal and work plans so accurately shown in cards and marked with colours. It is much better, than writing your plans in countless diaries or notebooks, making notes, which are usually lost among many pages or forgotten. Upwave provides me with opportunity to visualize and systemize our team tasks, and now it is for everyone obvious, what one has to do. When you put a tick for something done, it gives moral satisfaction and motivation to move on. Upwave is my first experience of using such an app, however I am already delighted with it and grateful to the whole staff of the company for a high quality product, friendly attitude towards students with their university projects and overall support and helpfulness. I will use Upwave willingly in my professional activity and would be glad to recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

Pros:

Successful team management and work progress is based on comprehensive visualization, which Upwave enables you to manage easily and effectively. Smart design, a wide range of photos for your boards, stylish colours and tinctures help to create a unique workspace, which is esthetically enjoyable. The system is easy to deal with and the mechanism of changing cards or other details is simple. Especially convenient is the connection to other services, such as Google Drive, Google Docs, etc. It is really greater to have everything in one app, vivid and organized online, than to buy millions of notebooks or write long messages in chats with tasks for your team members. The idea with ticks and columns to show the progress makes users feel satisfied with the results and observe the completion level of the work. Notifications are also included in the system and can be send via e-mail to remind team members of their deadlines.

Cons:

As the head of my small student team, which is occupied with publishing a faculty newspaper, I can say, that this app has no cons. All functions and features I need to organize our joint timetable are available. May be, in the future it would be useful to add more languages, especially Russian. I speak English, but not so good at computer terms, while their understanding is necessary to install everything correctly. That's why the process of deployment took a little bit more time. Although it is anyway not a problem, as Upwave managers are always ready to help and answer all the questions.

Kevin
Kevin
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

UpWave is a better looking Trello

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: UpWave is a solid contender to Trello, and the advantage I see is that UpWave can have the flexibility of having boards align any way you want, something that I found useful for having an important board. Notifications were solid on UpWave as well, giving me notifications within the app and to my e-mail. Would highly recommend UpWave to anyone looking for a Kanban type setup for their company's to-do management.

Pros:

UpWave is a lot like trello and does it well when it comes to Kanban To-Do Boards. It's dead simple to use, just create a board(s) and then create tasks which are cards. Simply move them between the boards to track progress. The design of UpWave is super minimal, which is strikingly pleasant to look at if you're working within UpWave all throughout the day. Beyond the UX/UI and design, I really like how UpWave can align boards in whichever way you want, something that Trello does not have. You can align boards to the right and left, and also have one on the bottom, this might be useful for having eyes on a bug board, or support ticket board, or another board that should have all people have eyes on it throughout the day.

Cons:

UpWave is super simple to use, and nothing to dislike.

Steinar
Senior Advisor & Instructor in Norway
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to set up, easy to use, affordable online project/task/item -management for all our users

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

Integration with users calender is very nicely done, and makes it very easy to keep track of everything, keep everyone up-to-date and keep resources easily viewed

Cons:

Fits our purpose perfectly, and the integration features makes it very easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Business Analyst in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's simplicity is definitely an asset

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

I like that it's approachable. However it isn't short of more advance features such as Slack integration

Cons:

It's a nice readable ui, but could do with a bit of a refresh.

Shachi
Product Analyst in UK
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Awesome product

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: awesome

Pros:

easy to use and collaborative, I use it daily and it is very user friendly.

Cons:

I feel this is highly suitable for task management and have no issues so far.

Calvin
Design Student in Netherlands
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

I finally found THE platform to organize meaningful elements of my life & projects by simple cards!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Especially the singular combination of the following features makes Upwave that strong in my eyes: + full color cards, not just tiny tags as usual + modern & pleasing typeface with grippy weight contrasts + (custom) templates of card organization - not just the basic kanban style everyone else has + direct edits in preview without the need to open the card's content separately + clean UI & recognizable category line at the top + intuitive interactions as you would expect it to work

Cons:

I would love to have the possibility to organize cards in grouped stacks, free from any grid like template. Theme decks of elements basically - but right now I'm really happy about the rich variants of different, even customizable overviews that I can create - suiting even creative project methods that I can directly create instead of having to make a mess with post its! Hopefully the time dimension gets it's well deserved implementation soon, as they already anounced in their roadmap! Cards that are as modular as being able to represent time spans, smoothly visible in calendar view to stay ahead of project workloads & spot free timeslots would feel like the ultimate extention for my next teamwork phase, their time tracking feature let me dream well already!

Daren
Snr Director in US
Fine Art, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Manage development projects spanning iOS, server and web. Also use a board for hiring.

Pros:

The interface is clear, versatile and doesn’t try to do too much. The recent templates were very useful. We use it to manage an iPhone app development and release along with hiring and some web development.

Cons:

I’d like to use it at work but unlike competitors like Asana, UpWave isn’t know at all to IT so they are afraid of it. That’s not really a criticism of the software though. Sometimes I’d do ba a little more control, especially with comleteted tasks for managing up.

Verified Reviewer
Founder in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great solution for task management

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Nothing but good. All systems have their issues however they fix them in a timely manner.

Pros:

It's fast, easy to use and rather scale-able. The system supports multiple languages of which is quite important for a global team and the level of product support provided in my experience is unparalleled compared against other solutions of this nature.

Cons:

It has been a rough few years as it has developed. There are/have been a few bugs along the way however when reported get resolved rather quickly.

Raffaele
Owner in Italy
Printing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We write very few emails (less to print is better also for environment), we use it as a sort of chat so every communication is very quick. We have a general control of the production at at glance even when outside or no at the office.

Pros:

I looked for softwares to take production sites under control; write less emails; have a board where everyone could add ideas but also troubles faced at work... I found everything on UpWave; then let me say something about customer service: they are so kind and ready to solve every trouble we met.

Cons:

Seriously,NOTHING! Every time I had a problem I wrote to customer service and they solved it quickly

Tab
Father in Sweden
Food Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Family Management 24/7

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Upwave allowed me to truly get a handle on being a father. It started simple as a way for me to plan our activities during my parental leave time alone with my child, but has since transformed as a visible and accountable cloud solution to allow both my wife and I to streamline and balance the many ad hoc tasks of parenting.

Pros:

All the templates. I've been a project manager professionally for many years, but as I now apply these same tactics to the ultimate project of rearing children, the plethora of templates I know (and especially those I don't) challenge me to consider different approaches.

Cons:

While board management ended up being intuitive, I wish I had just gone through the Welcome Board as suggested from the get go. But instead my proud self wanted to figure it out on my own. I guess this isn't so much of a con, but maybe the Welcome Board should almost be required in some way for your first workspace to really allow users to ramp up.

Sandra
Executive Assistant in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very User Friendly

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ever since I've been trained on how to use UpWave properly, I feel way more organized, I can tackle my days with clarity and they are much more productive.

Pros:

I love the ability to connect my google calendar and schedule my tasks within upwave. I also love the 'My Cards' view where I can see only my cards in a calendar view.

Cons:

I wish there was the ability to prioritize the cards in the my cards/calendar view. There is also a glitch when I type in the task on the card. If I don't put my cursor to the end of the text and hit enter, the task will only show text up to where I put my cursor. For example, if the task is 'Check email' if I leave my cursor after the work 'Check' and hit enter to close the card, I only see the word 'Check'

Michel
Manager in France
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Use with customer in agile business project

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easy and effective way to manage projects

Pros:

Simplicity. Fit exactly to my need: a simple and effective To Do / Work in Progress / Done tool. It's the equivalent of the board used in Manufacturing or in IT in Agile projects. I can do business reviews and advancement plan with my customer wherever I am.

Cons:

No apps on a smartphone, but it's OK via a web browser. Seems to simple at the very beginning, but it's a strength in fact.

Paul
Engineering Consultant in US
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The work organization tool I always wanted

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I was using Symphonical a while ago, then Upwave was launched and took it to a whole new level! Since I've started using Upwave, my entire company has started using it as our main task management and planning tool. I have basically zero problems with it. There was one time I found a bug - I let them know and it was fixed within two days, fantastic! And the price is completely worth the price.

Pros:

Versatility, you get to choose how to set it up. Teamwork capabilities, assigning things to other people, comments to communicate. Setting due dates and seeing a personal agenda.

Cons:

Uhhh...Ok if I have to say one thing, when you double click a card on your weekly agenda, it opens in the board where that card lives instead of right on the agenda.

Lorenzo
Programmer in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Organizational Software with room for growth

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've been using UpWave for a little more than a month now and I have to say, it's great! There are a few improvements that I'd like to have myself: -Having assigned cards show up in my personal board, rather than having to manually copy it from the source board. My coworkers assign me tasks from their board but it's a pain to manually copy it over to mine so I can have everything in one place (unless I'm unaware of some functionality of course!)
-Assigned cards showing up on a separate screen. This is just a personal gripe, but I want that "due date" feature on the assigned cards board to show up on the same screen as my board. Maybe a pull out menu or something. I don't like having two upwave tabs open, one to view all of my notes and cards on my board and the other to view my assigned cards and due dates for the day/week.
Other than that, there's a wide selection of customization options similar to Google Keep, but what separates UpWave is its focus on collaboration. It's very easy to get things done within your group when you know what to do, and it's very easy to get someone to finish a task when you know who's doing them!

Pros:

Collaboration functionalities and ease of use

Cons:

Just a few personal gripes with assigned cards

Raffaele
Owner in Italy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very very happy. I avoided buying a software from a software company as upwave is very simple.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very easy. Helps you to develop your ideas in a very simple way. There are infinite ways to personalize the dashboard

Cons:

The only difficulties I found is when you have to cancel a dashboard. There should be something like a flag to choose the items and finally cancel or modify them.

Trent
Service mechanic in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Makes service calls much easier

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Upwave has helped make my day so much easier. There is no longer a need to call back and forth for each incoming service call, and no need to write everything down. All the calls are neatly stored with all the info related to them. I know the priority of each call, and their history. Upwave saves time not only on my end, but also with my office. I just can't imagine work without it anymore.

Pros:

The ease of use and consistency. Always works properly to have easy access to my workload and everything related to each call.

Cons:

Wish that it would store calls for longer after they are completed, just for future reference.

Adela
Senior Purchasing Specialist in Germany
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Time Management app you need

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I am using the app now for over 1,5 years. Its easy to use tool to manage your time and tasks no matter if solo or in a team. Interface is really easy to use, weekly reports helps you a lot to push your weekly performance. I only give 3 stars in features, because I miss the android /iOs app.

Pros:

Easy to use, available as google addon.

Cons:

I lack the android, iOs app

Tushar
Sr. Software Developer in India
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

likely to use bcz every task and ticket maintain and trcking easily

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: benefits is higher level authority and senior easily know which person work on which task or ticket

Pros:

i likely to generate ticket also maintain ticket completion time and Track easily which stage ticket is process and how much time and what issue we get it.

Cons:

in this the when we working on one ticket then we forward to other user then they are some complected and confusing .

meghan
Devloper in India
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

best good for The Easy task

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: more benefits good To handle task For The Grate to Use It

Pros:

this easy to handle workload and so The task list in specific date and day to day list generate For The Work easy understand for The use it

Cons:

Handel card and easy to saw The List For The Working Condition For Day to day good For The Multitasking for The easy

Hans Kristian
CEO in Norway
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great agile tool for teams

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

User experience. Ease of adding external collaborators. Stability of the system. Responsiveness of the team

Cons:

I have no real problems with the software really. It fits the needs of a distributed team quite nicely. As a quite horizontal tool it may be lacking in some respects if you have specific domain needs