15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

HighQ Reviews

4.4 (39) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About HighQ

Switch on powerful workflows for legal professionals with Thomson Reuters® HighQ.

Learn more about HighQ

Pros:

Easy to use once you learn how. Consolidates into one interface.

Cons:

It crashed once but this may be an end user problem rather than a system wide issue.

HighQ ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

HighQ has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 39 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used HighQ before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (39)

Chi Wai
Chi Wai
Product Consultant in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HighQ for Contract Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Please add a tracking feature to notify the expiry date of the contract.Then I will know when to renew a contract.

Pros:

Single portal to manage all the contract which provides easier management.

Cons:

The email notification does not has any value to me. I have no idea what it is for!Please improve the notification with meaningful description and a valid link for me to follow up.

David S
Sr. Business Analyst in US
Legal Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ Collaborate-Exceptional for Internal and External Team Collaboration

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I can only provide high praise for the solution - which is simple, robust and elegant - and for support and client success representatives that we work with.

Pros:

I and our Firm have used HighQ Collaborate since the fall of 2014 and have found it and the support team behind it to be consistently exceptional. There just isn't any other solution out there that truly measures up for administrators and end-users alike. It is both robust and user friendly. We rarely have to provide end-user training for this solution and have not sacrificed but only gained functionality. Few software solutions measure up to this one.

Cons:

I promise that I am just a client and am not on the payroll for TR/HighQ. This solution has very few flaws and TR/HighQ support does a fantastic job of listening to their clients and providing regular updates that are based on user community recommendations. They have excellent systems for this which include an online dev community and a solid knowledgebase that can be searched and referenced. That being said - there is one thing that I still wish they would get right... When creating a "choice list" for an iSheet there isn't an easy way to add a long list of items (something that SharePoint lists do exceptionally well). This would be beneficial if you wanted to create a list of 50 states for a choice list or if you had a client that had 100's of facilities that you wanted to make available in a choice list drop menu. These unfortunately have to be entered individually and manually. Also when adding a new entry (e.g. if a client acquires a new facility) the admin has to add it to the bottom of the list and then manually sort it up to its proper alpha-order spot in the long choice list. These tasks can be time consuming but are usually rare and one-off activities. While they are annoying - they are miniscule concerns and the massive benefits of this tool far outshine these small burrs.

Thomson Reuters Response

2 years ago

Hi David - Thank you for your positive review of HighQ! It's great to hear that our solution is intuitive for your end-users to reduce the need for training. We will pass along your helpful feedback for a more simplified iSheet "choice list" experience to the product team. We appreciate your continued partnership and for being a valued Thomson Reuters HighQ customer.

Sandra
Broker in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Horrible service

1.0 5 months ago

Comments: i contracted with them to deliver ISA services, i was given a commiment of when to start and how many calls and hours to prospect, none of teh agreemnt was deliver, they came with a full of excuse, as to why they had not stared, cancel apts, refused to respond to my questions and concerns when i cahllenged them

Pros:

i reach out to them they made tons of commiments which none were deliver

Cons:

they lied, they make empty primises and never deliver

Emily
Program Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Can't live without it!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience has been hugely valuable to our department. It has saved our team hundreds and hundreds of hours over the years and we can't imagine going back to the way we worked before.

Pros:

We use this software to automate client intake and to generate Official Rules for game promotions. It has enabled our team to handle our large workload in a faster, more efficient, and streamlined way than ever before. We love being able to have a plain-language, easy to understand, questionnaire that still gets us the information we need to populate legal documentation and our clients love it too! Utilizing business rules for different templates allows us to calibrate and spot higher-risk legal issues and ensure we are spending our time on higher business value programs.

Cons:

We have had a great experience with Contract Express and there really aren't many negatives. To new users, I would say that the coding can take some time to learn if you are going to do it yourself. There are also some limitations in the design/flow/customization of the questionnaire but it's things that would be more "nice to have" and are not a requirement to using this software successfully.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Dear Ms. Peck, Thank you or your glowing review of Contract Express! We are elated to hear the software has enabled greater efficiency for you internally and for your clients as well. Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Maria
Senior Paralegal in US
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Digital River has very complicated contracts. This tool has helped us and our sales team more easily, efficiently, and quickly generate their own contracts, with all of the right reviews and approvals to ensure full compliance.

Pros:

The ability to (1) easily generate complex contracts; (2) the negotiation feature to ensure all changes are caught and accounted for; (3) the manner in which generated contracts are able to be routed for approval to different individuals/teams, if/when it is required; and (4) the great help and support from their customer service team.

Cons:

It is a little difficult to learn how to create contract templates without some training.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Hello Ms. Kouchis, Thank you very much for your positive review of Contract Express. We are delighted to hear it's been instrumental in self service contract creation while ensuring compliance as well! Thank you for being a valued customer!

Rachael
Associate General Counsel in US
Consumer Goods, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Worth it for small law departments

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very positive experience! We are doing work of a senior paralegal/junior attorney through automation and administration by a legal assistant. Highly efficient and once heavy lifting on automation was complete, easy to implement with users as very user friendly.

Pros:

I know that the contracts being signed are done properly without attorney oversight. I can spend my time doing actual drafting work vs. more administrative customization work. Made contracting more self-service to the business and will continue to implement this more over time. High version control and easy to update standard language and know the next contract to be signed will include it without version control issues and training the business.

Cons:

Wish there were more contract management features for organizing and managing existing executed agreements. Had to complete work around through Datasheets.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Hi Rachael, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Contract Express! It's fantastic to hear that document automation is freeing up your time for higher value activities and standardizing your document creation process. Thank you for giving the software a try and for being a valued customer! Best Regards.

Marya
Director of Innovation Technology in US
Law Practice, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ is Easy to Use and Very Versatile

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are building client-centered sites for all of our company clients. We also plan to use this as our intranet and extranet.

Pros:

Super easy to use and feature rich. Good customer support. Versatile, no-code software.

Cons:

We'd like to see better integration with our legal document management system, more versatility in the dta visualizations.

Thomson Reuters Response

2 years ago

Hi Marya - Thank you for your great HighQ review! We're pleased to hear that the solution is versatile and easy to use. We will pass along your helpful feedback regarding better legal document management system integration to the product team. We appreciate your continued partnership and for being a valued Thomson Reuters HighQ customer.

Robert
IT Director in US
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Contract Express - Best Document Automation Out There

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We're capable of generating estate planning document packages that can contain up to 15 documents and total more than 200 pages, and they're all driven by a single questionnaire within Contract Express. The days of manually assembling complex documents are over.

Pros:

Contract Express makes it very easy to automate documents. You can program small, simple documents in a very short amount of time. It's so intuitive that your average power user could learn how to automate a document in 20 minutes, so not every project requires someone with programming experience. However, the software is also capable of scaling up to handle complex, multi-document packages with complex branching logic as well.

Cons:

This is a minor quibble, but the documentation at the time (back in 2016) was somewhat lacking. While their training and support teams were amazing and responsive, we sometimes just wanted to dive in and read a manual and learn for ourselves, but we had a tough time finding the answers we needed without getting a person on the phone.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Dear Mr. Sawyer, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a favorable review for Contract Express. It's great to know that you've successfully scaled the software to suit your needs and have experienced major efficiency gains as a result. We are thrilled to hear you call it the best document automation out there! Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Tony
Business Solutions Analyst in US
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HighQ empowers the business side with IT-like ability!

5.0 last year

Comments: It gives me a very satisfying feeling when I'm able to build a site for a client/customer that is highly customized to their particular needs. In other words, they don't have to settle for a cookie-cutter solution with elements of little value.

Pros:

The unlimited potential to create unique dashboards & visualizations that are powered by very versatile iSheets & Rule Builder Work Flows.

Cons:

It can be very daunting to start out new with HighQ never having seen the product. Some aspects are not that intuitive.

Chris
Senior Paralegal in US
Investment Management Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HighQ Review

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We developed our HighQ program almost 2 years ago and we have found it extremely valuable as we transitioned to a remote work environment. It allows our department to enter tasks and assign them to specific individuals and to follow the workflow. We also have set up Templates/Forms and that has been very useful.

Cons:

The creation/implementation process was frustrating at times.

Jason
Senior Shareholder in US
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A must have technology

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

This software is a must have for any law firm or in-house legal department. It is well designed, functions without material flaw, and continues to be improved. It materially increases the speed and accuracy of contract deployment and that is just the begining.

Cons:

The written knowledge base/manual could and should be improved.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Dear Mr. Stone, Thank you very much for your positive review of Contract Express. We are elated to hear you refer to it as "must have software". I will pass along your request for a better knowledge base user manual to the product team. Thank you for being a valued customer! Best Regards.

Prasun
IT PM in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cisco Legal’s go to tool for templates

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very happy with the tool as we use this with our home grown solution to serve Legal community for various use cases.

Pros:

Ease of use, setup, flexibility, cost & available features

Cons:

Need UX improvement and more robust workflow and repository management

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Dear Mr. Kumar, Thank you for your positive review of Contract Express. We are happy to hear that it's been a great solution serving the legal community in our organization. Thank you for being a valued customer for Contract Express!

Kevin
Information Systems Solicitor in Ireland
Law Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hos LLP

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: The completion of large business mergers.

Pros:

The ease of uploading document's to the platform.

Cons:

Assigning Permissions for groups and the fact that our subscription has not been updated to its most recent revision. The administration portal is not user friendly.

Amy
Paralegal in UK
Law Practice, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use with lots of good features

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, automatically updates for all users so can use in 'real time'

Cons:

Sometimes slow/crashes but very infrequently

Anne
Associate in UK
Law Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, secure data

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Sharing documents in a secure way is easy with HighQ. I am confident that the data put onto the system is secure, and I am also confident that only the users granted access can see the documents I want them to see.

Pros:

Uploading and structuring documents was very easy, which is key when sharing important legal documents with a client.

Cons:

Sometimes the software doesn't work, as in access to the web browser is down. This is less than ideal if you need to share large documents with clients urgently.

Amelia
Legal Editor and Document Automation Specialist in US
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

So far, so great!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have only been using ContractExpress for about 2 months, but it has been extremely beneficial in helping our customers streamline creating forms for their clients. Looking forward to many more months!

Pros:

The customer service has always been second to none. I've sent over a handful of questions, and I always get a response back the same day!

Cons:

Using this software was a steep learning curve for me, but with only a couple of hours of training, I caught on very quickly.

Thomson Reuters Response

4 years ago

Hello Ms. Finch, Thank you for your review of Contract Express. We are delighted to hear out customer service has been great and that you've been able to learn how to use the software quickly. Thank you for being a valued Contract Express customer!

Michael
Associate in US
Law Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 last year

Pros:

Easy to use and learn platform, very intuitive

Cons:

Notifications regarding transfers and uploads could be improved

Elaina
Paralegal in US
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

HighQ - Taking shape and working great

5.0 last year

Pros:

Intergration was easy with business applications, document storage, and document template building.

Cons:

Program is great, no complaints and no changes are recommended.

Daniel
Lawyer in UK
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

High Q Review

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: A very helpful app to log into legal research platforms

Pros:

It is great for logging into PLC for legal research

Cons:

Having to find the thomson reuters log in page was difficult at first

will
Solicitor Apprentice in UK
Law Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HighQ - Fit for purpose and user friendly

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is really useful and easy to use which is great for me as I often need to be in and out of the DR.

Cons:

Some of the log-in provisions are long and frustrating but I understand the need.

Vicki
Vicki
Paralegal in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

User friendly

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good

Pros:

I am beginning to use but so far it is user friendly

Cons:

Too soon to tell but hopefully will know soon.

Aino
Senior Associate in US
Law Practice, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

More experience sought

4.0 last year

Comments: Not very extensive so far but I hope to work on it more in the future

Pros:

I need to use HighQ more to become more familiar with it; I would wish to get an introduction to the proper use of this service

Cons:

Not enough experience yet to determine this

Rita
Paralegal in US
Law Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

HighQ is another great product from Thomson Reuters

4.0 12 months ago

Pros:

The progress tracker and the resources provided are extremely useful

Cons:

At first integration seemed like it wasn't going to be worth the effort, but once we had everything set up, it was.

Shmuel
Ceo in US
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

ceo

4.0 last year

Pros:

Great info, clean cut really liked how much info it provides so fast

Cons:

it wasn't easy to use. Many software programs can be complex and difficult to navigate, especially for users who are not familiar with them. This can lead to frustration and a decrease in productivity.

Sophie
Counsel in US
Legal Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

useful tool

4.0 last year

Pros:

integrated platform, easy to use, friendly.

Cons:

nothing.