15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About DNSFilter

DNS-based threat protection & content filtering. Driven by realtime A.I. Built for MSPs and Enterprise.

Learn more about DNSFilter

Pros:

Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure.

Cons:

I would not be telling the truth if I would claim there is something is company is doing wrong.

DNSFilter ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

DNSFilter has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 84 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DNSFilter before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (84)

Gabino
Gabino
President in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Simple to install and it actually works !! Support is excellent always prompt and knowledgeable. And the override button sorts out any issues

Cons:

No fixed per month fee and sometimes bank websites don't work and need to be whitelisted. Otherwise it would be nice to have separate password levels for accessing websites

Kevin
CEO/President in US
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

DNSFilter is a great solution for the first layer of security

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The ability to offer it to my clients and their MSP program. It is very easy to deploy it to my clients, easy to bill and manage.

Cons:

In the beginning the reporting wasn't as well as I'd like but it has evolved.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product - but if I wanted to be stuck with email-only support I'd use Umbrella

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Content filtering with exclusions (teachers can get to facebook but students can't)

Pros:

Flexible deployment with a mix of DNS and software client base deployment options...

Cons:

Support is email only - and inadequate when you have a K-12 client who needs an answer quickly.

DNSFilter Response

5 years ago

I apologize for your thoughts on e-mail only support. For what it's worth, please note that for customers who are Tier 2 and above we do start to offer chat and phone support.

Gregg
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great filter for MSPs to offer

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using the service since day one and it has been great to see how far it has come over the years. Truly a great service.

Pros:

With one panel we can admin all of our clients and protect the users from many different threats.

Cons:

With the addition of the client on the workstations giving detailed reporting, there is not much else we could want other than maybe even more detailed reporting.

Ali
Network Administrator in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

DNS Filter review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: DNS Filter is amazing tool to have as a MSP. It adds another layer of security for our clients. We have been using it for past 2-3 years for all of our clients and it seems to do its job.

Pros:

Easy to implement. Easy to navigate GUI.

Cons:

Reporting can be better and better granular reporting per end point.

Fabian
IT Staff in Spain
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good value

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far, so good. We have tested several alternatives (Umbrella, TitanHQ, Qustodio), and DNSFilter is the best overall.

Pros:

Easy to deploy to our 600+ iPads. Great integration at JAMF School. The management console is full of useful features.

Cons:

Query log should be longer than 24 hours. Also query log search is a bit slow.

Anthony
Anthony
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Went from usage to user pricing... Not impressed

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's easy to use. Cloud DNS filtering that was cheaper than an appliance? Great!

Cons:

They changed the pricing model from usage based (Which they were so proud of) to user based. We have lots of users and many volunteers with little usage. This pricing strategy invalidates any reason to use this company over the competition.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and very helpful

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Filtering at a great price, It is easy to setup and select the filters you need for that particular site and I love the branding feature

Cons:

Does not have an option for School Filtering, I use this application to filter schools and home internet but I have to also use K9 filtering because this doesn't cover it all and sometimes SSL could not be filtered

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple cheap content filtering

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: DNSFilter provided a quick and easy way to add security to our company network.

Pros:

Very easy to setup, cheaper than the competition, and provides an easy way to secure your network

Cons:

We had a few problems with the chrome os support, but dnsfilter were helpful resolving them.

Levon
Levon
VP in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Layers of Security

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use DNSFilter at our clients sites as part of a standard "Border" security set. It is used along side Hardware Web Filtering, Malware/AV scanning, etc. It is great to add as an additional layer, as well as having the client software on roaming laptops help us protect these devices when they are on the go!

Pros:

Ease of integrating into customer sites.

Cons:

At this point, there is nothing I do not like.

Christopher
Helpdesk Manager in US
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The product has been solid and works perfect for our needs so far.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Malware protection, end user surfing auditing, and general organization protection.

Pros:

Ease of use and the fact that there is an agent that allows me to create filters per user. This is very useful.

Cons:

There is no way to submit requests to a "wish list" in the panel or in general. If possible I would like a button in the panel where I could submit ideas for improvements. I would also like to be able to add my own RBL servers to the filtering.

DNSFilter Response

6 years ago

Hey Christopher -- Thanks for your feedback! Actually we have always had a feedback function on the site where you can suggest, and upvote features. If you click your image in the upper right, there's a 'Feature Request' dropdown. You can also visit it directly here: https://app.dnsfilter.com/feature-request

Jason
Comp. Sys. Spec. in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing value and an effective reliable service.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very good value and constant improvement of services offered. Service has never been down and easy to implement.

Cons:

Filtering sometimes has false positives but support is quick to respond. The interface Is light on details in the account management section.

Andrew
Director of Information Technology in Canada
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great, awesome service, does what it describes

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Security and reporting

Pros:

Its quite easy to use and the dev team has a great plan for the future. They are actively listening to their customers and I personally hope to increase my 'Features and Functionality' rating to 5 in the near future!

Cons:

Some of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult. Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).

Joseph
President in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great, very reasonable cost, and just works!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Filtering our internet connection.

Pros:

Compared to the competition their service cost is very reasonable! The features are great and everything just works.

Cons:

*Needs a mobile client (they are making one though) *Does not currently support IPV6 (however neither does most of their competitors)

Brett
Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy, helpful and effective

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This has been a great experience, as we did not have any type of specific dnsfilter that was near what dnsfilter is. This is a great product and I look forward to continuing to use it in the future.

Pros:

DNSfilter's services are so helpful because it adds a layer of protection between the clients on our network, and what may be trying to get on their screens or devices from the web. This also prevents people from using our internet service for purposes that are not in line with our organization.

Cons:

The router we use on our network is a big step above a simple home router, so it took some research to make sure I was setting it up properly. Even in that, the dnsfilter team was helpful in directing me to some online articles to help guide me through the process.

Scott
IT Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good bang for your buck

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: So far its filtering has been less intrusive than previous products that have been tried. Other products that were attempted also did not have a Domain Lookup tool to see whether or not a domain might be getting blocked without a block page to display it (like for mobile apps).

Pros:

It is effectively turnkey. There are enough categories to filter that it feels granular, and the reporting features are a good start.

Cons:

Currently there is no Chrome OS app. At this point deployment of different policies, like for a Guest Network, is difficult as it requires changes to the DNS server of choice for those devices (either on a network or device level).

Nicolas
Network Administrator in Guadeloupe
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Alternative To "Package Selling" Cisco Umbrella :)!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The fact that i can protect users connecting to our free wifi system at a short price is a real benefit !

Pros:

Adding Networks is easy ! Dashboard is responsive ! A lot of informations ! Great pricing ! And Whitelabelling Options making it as yours ! Glad i found them !

Cons:

Look like More and more features will come and dnsfilter will be even better in the future ! DNS over https is here ! but DNSSEC Please !

William
It in Canada
Farming, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A DNS solution worth paying for.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: So far I have enjoyed DNS filter to the fullest. They offer everything that I have been looking for as a company.

Pros:

This DNS Solutions is diffrent then other old school providers. With their AI technology they can instantly calagorize website. Which is what others lack. They offer the option to enable safe search and they are a very transparent company that is willing to adapt and work with their customers.

Cons:

I would not be telling the truth if I would claim there is something is company is doing wrong. Simply no cons.

Lucas
Lucas
Director in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great DNS security product for endpoints and routers

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

We wanted a product we could deploy at the router level, DNS Filter provided that ability and a very easy to use UI and Dashboard.

Cons:

At this stage we are yet to find anything we do not like.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Dnsfilter review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have a very good experience with DNSFilter and it's very easy to use

Pros:

I liked that their website explains very clearly what how their service works and has a very tech oriented approach. The road map is a very open way of seeing progress and when certain features will be available. The DNS response time and filtering is also very good

Cons:

IOS and MacOS agent is not released yet. Hopefully will become available soon

Dustin
Dustin
IT System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Superb product which is easy to manage!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: DNS filtering without breaking the bank. Ability to rapidly deploy to potential clients with minimal configuration. Love the continual development as well.

Pros:

Continual development of new features, dead simple pricing, granular configuration and reporting mechanisms.

Cons:

Lack of transparency when choosing a particular category to block. Would love to have granular control over items in blocklists, with the ability to add my own to the category (or create my own category)

Mahlon
Owner in US
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

No "Fun" at Work

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like the easy implementation, specific categories, and the user interface. The default network filtering page when you visit a blocked site is really clean as well.

Cons:

None, I'm super happy with the service and haven't run into any issues yet.

Mickaël
IT Manager in Switzerland
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A a good price/quality ratio adapted to our infrastructure

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The dashboard is clear and easy to use.

Cons:

The obligation to deploy on each workstation of the network the SSL certificate in order to see correctly (without browser security warning) the block page.

Shaun
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Some companies make being a tech easy - this is one of them!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Additional layer of security for my clients.

Pros:

Soooo easy to setup and use. Quick to develop and release new features. The price!

Cons:

I have not found anything to dislike....

Timothy
IT Manager in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent value. Love the extra security and content filtering for our business.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Love the extra level of security by blocking malware and threats. Content filtering was easy to configure.

Cons:

Nothing of any real significance or impact.