15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Picnic Reviews

4.7 (13) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Picnic

Large community enterprise solution built by veteran video game designers. High-performance engagement, recognition, loyalty since 2008

Learn more about Picnic

Pros:

Their platform's flexibility in targeting our segments and moving them through key customer journeys was a critical factor in our decision. Scalability and integration were also important.

Cons:

Hence any issues with the product should be taken care by the PugPharm team only. We certainly did not encounter any major breakages, but this model can be quite frustrating to fix issues.

Picnic ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.3/10

Picnic has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 13 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Picnic before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (13)

Juan Pablo
Juan Pablo
CEO in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great gamification / customer engagement platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Better than expected!

Pros:

Picnic has helped to keep customers engaged by having enough fun mechanics that challenge them but help us achieve our business goals

Cons:

While the integration is not difficult, it may take a few weeks to get the most out of Picnic

Jeff
COO in Canada
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

New and better way to think about engagement

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: PUG is a solid combination of technology and subject matter expertise. They know engagement and how to create strong brand-customer relationships. Going with them was a good decision for us.

Pros:

We found that other technologies we evaluated were too niche. We were looking for a solution that would enable us to solve broad engagement challenges across all our segments and channels. Their platform's flexibility in targeting our segments and moving them through key customer journeys was a critical factor in our decision. Scalability and integration were also important.

Cons:

Onboarding took some time. In all fairness though, not their fault. We chose PUG for their flexibility in personalizing engagement across our segments. We understood that level of flexibility comes with some complexity in execution. Their team was great, though, in helping us ramp up the skills we needed to support ourselves longer term.

Andrea
Student in Ireland
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great way to explore engagment

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This gamification system is a great way to better understand engagement across a range of contexts. It is easy to use, with lots of features!

Cons:

It is an expensive program, but once the investment is made and it is in use, the dividends will pay off!

Vamsi
Vamsi
Senior Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Picnic is the best product to build rich Gamification aspects into your product

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were able to provide impressive Gamification Systems to our Client, based on this product. The PugPharm team are very knowledgable in the Domain, and are very good at advising you about the overall Strategy for you gamification needs.

Pros:

PugPharm provides a comprehensive end to end service to build Gamification into Products. Picnic is the product that is heart of this enterprise. Picnic helps you define Artefacts, Milestones, Rules that power your Gamification workflows. It scales very well to spikes in loads, and is easy to compose / edit the rules. The team behind the product is certainly the best thing about the product. The team does a good job at on-boarding you with the product, as well help you shape up your Game play aspects. We used Picnic to build Gamification Systems for our clients and the results have been very satisfactory. The team helps with functional aspects of your Gamification story and helps you build a good engagement platform.

Cons:

The product is very blackbox style to begin with. The documentation can be improved a lot. More examples of using the product will also be useful, and give the users ability to understand product scope. The product we used was in a SaaS model. Hence any issues with the product should be taken care by the PugPharm team only. We certainly did not encounter any major breakages, but this model can be quite frustrating to fix issues.

Phillip
Digital Principal in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PICNIC has been great for our product

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We've been using Picnic for almost 2 years now for our product that targets foster youth. We use it for badging and keeping track of rewards that our members have earned. We worked quite closely with the Picnic team and found them to be professional, helpful and timely. I would say that the model we worked on with them was different than their usual model, as we got into a lot of the development on our side to integrate with theirs. They didn't build all of it which I think is their usual model. So, there were quite a few learning curves in integration from both teams, but I think we all learned a lot more. Certainly didn't put me off working with them, just had some bumps to overcome. Hopefully our experience will feed into others into the future working in the same way. As for features, I think I'd like to see more reporting as it is pretty basic, but I think that it is available with more money to support that, so not sure that is really their issue.

Pros:

I think it's got a comprehensive feature set that works well overall with a lot of the engagement pieces we wanted for working with our members.

Cons:

It's $$, but I would say that when we reviewed similar projects, it seemed to be cheaper than some and about the same as others. Still feels expensive as an ongoing license. However, they need recognize our project's non-profit status so that helped.

FEDRICO
PRESIDENT in Mexico
International Trade & Development, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform for Kotex, meaningful engagement and loyalty

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Picnic was our chosen solution for Kotex's customer engagement program. It is very flexible, stable, and scalable. We delivered much creativity through its capabilities while still driving business success metrics.
The end to end experience between customers and the brand throughout the duration of their relationship was exceptional.
It printed to the end-user a meaningful connection with the brand.

Pros:

Kotex was looking to deepen our customer-brand relationship, especially as it relates to our online audiences. The repeat participation rates and drives on calls-to-action have been the biggest benefits.

Cons:

The reporting tools were initially somewhat basic, but these improved as we got deeper into the program and they understood and responded to our data analysis needs better.

Warren
Digital Community in Canada
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable, flexible, well-supported

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Lots of features, flexible to create a wide range of projects and campaigns. Support staff very easy to work with and documentation was clear and up-to-date.

Phillip
Principal in Canada
Online Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fit the bill for gaming

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were able to get it up and running quickly which met our user goals. It also did a bunch of things that we would have had to spend a bunch of time building. We got what we needed from it.

Pros:

We looked at a number of different software packages before deciding to use Pugpharm. It was a good choice for what we needed, which was a quick implementation. We also needed integration with our Drupal website. Their team was pretty flexible and the gameplay understanding was great. We learned a lot about what was needed for our users.

Cons:

Probably the dashboard, as while functional, it seems like it could be more friendly. Probably something that will be improved and to be honest, it didn't impact functionality. The integration was also a chance for both teams to learn though, as I think we were the first Drupal implementation.

Mirna
Marketing Manager in Mexico
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software and team!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: So far, so good.

Pros:

Is the best alternative that we found on market, and we looked a lot!

Cons:

I think it's just a matter of time for us to get engaged with the software, so we can explote much more the potential that it has.

Arturo
VP comercial in Mexico
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Miniso

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good.
They have acomlished every objective we set in the time that we agreed. everything has been working great. Still at the begining of using the software but for know no complaints.

Pros:

Easy to use and manipulate. Already tested with hugh results. very freindly for the customer.

Cons:

Diferent country so its not easy to get together and the language difference. Our company is from Mexico

Alfonso E
CEO in Mexico
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Picnic helped me a lot, simplifying and accelerating the gamification process.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I will help a lot in the implementation that Picnic will have more examples of how it is used and more documentation.

Pros:

Picnic is a reliable and safe tool, which allows me to concentrate on other details of my application.

Andreia
Business Development in Brazil
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

best cost benefit

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Strong point: customizable and adaptable interface

Cons:

Improvement point: integration complexity

honey
Consultant in US
Public Relations & Communications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Gamification for Environmental Outreach

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Love, love, love them, in the most professional way.

Pros:

This platform allowed us to set up the game as a seamless branded activity for our ongoing environmental education and outreach effort.

Cons:

It's extremely complicated. Still, the staff are available for ongoing support. They have been there for us since we began interviewing companies to consider this approach. They were most interested, ever-patient with our big learning curve and actively interested in making our game a success.