15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About ServiceNow

ServiceNow automates daily support tasks and help you to track, measure, and process any unit of work. It's easy to use and scalable.

Learn more about ServiceNow

Pros:

The cost per licenses is a bit high for a fulfiller and hope service now can bring it down a bit.

Cons:

ServiceNow has a steep learning curve, and I'm not sure how necessary it is. There are a lot of features sure, but finding what you need can be very difficult at times.

ServiceNow ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

ServiceNow has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 229 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ServiceNow before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (229)

Evgeni
Evgeni
ServiceNow Developer in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Best-in-class ITSM platform

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

All-in-one product for the organization's digital transformation. ServiceNow offers a variety of solutions for ITSM, ITAM, ITOM, CMDB, HR, etc.

Cons:

ServiceNow doesn't provide a free trial period. The license cost may seem expensive as well as annual fee for developers/administrators/architects to keep their certification valid.

Terry
IT manager in Australia
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow is very advanced tool but very expensive.

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

ServiceNow is the leading ITSM tool in the market. It offers a comprehensive range of features and capabilities that can meet any business needs. It is constantly updated with new versions that bring more innovation and value to its customers.

Cons:

ServiceNow is not a cheap option when it comes to ITSM tools. It can be a significant expense for organizations that have limited budgets and need quick results. ServiceNow requires a long implementation process that involves multiple stages and customizations. It also demands a dedicated staff member to maintain and manage the tool effectively.

Mihir
Information Security Intern in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to setup but limited features

3.0 last year

Comments: We use service now every time a change request needs to be raised our experience has been fine but the UI is very bad.

Pros:

It's easy to setup and has limited features without overwhelming the user

Cons:

The features are limited and UI is very bad

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow helps us centralize our processes

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Our distributed crew was able to get together and focus on a single source of information. Now that all incidences are being recorded in one place, we have more insight into how things are progressing.

Pros:

Thanks to ServiceNow, our processes are much more streamlined. Assisted in creating a streamlined operation. Our remote team's efficiency increased once we established a central hub where everyone could access the same, reliable information.

Cons:

There is some lag time when utilizing the dashboard, but I'm sure this will be addressed in a future update. In addition, I think the report function may use some tweaks.

Brandon
Brandon
Press Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I used ServiceNow in a Desktop Support Role

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used ServiceNow daily, almost hourly to be honest, as a Level 2 Desktop Support Agent. It replaced vFire which was getting slow and agonizing to work with. Tickets would come in and we would perform the work and move the ticket along and/or close it altogether depending on the job. I liked using it and felt it was very robust and powerful while still being nimble and problem free.

Pros:

ServiceNow is fast and issue free so long as it's setup correctly. The interface is simple and easy to understand. The learning curve, unlike older software, is practically nonexistent.

Cons:

Sometimes tasks can have subtasks that are nested so deeply that they can be missed on first glance. I wish the software had a simpler nesting system.

Asad
Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Service Now Product Review

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: This is an awesome product which can be customized for any business.

Pros:

I like the ticket management, change tracking and reporting options of this product.

Cons:

As this is a web-based, we need to have a good WiFi connection to connect the VPN

John
John
Game Release Support in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Review by a Former Helpdesk Technician

5.0 last year

Comments: its all good, the best ticketing software for me. also Jira

Pros:

Everything, I love ServiceNow. I used it in 4 different IT BPO companies here in the Philippines.Integration to other systems is really good and helpful.

Cons:

I can't think of any Cons using ServiceNow, it really depends on the Management or Admin that handles ServiceNow. some management can't utilize ServiceNow's great features.

Rishabh
Rishabh
Director - Customer Success in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A decent tool to manage enterprise operations

4.0 last year

Comments: The overall experience with ServiceNow has been pretty neutral. While there is no denying that the tool serves its purpose, it must evolve on all fronts to stay in the competition. Support, Interface, Design, New features, everything.

Pros:

The pricing of the software, in comparison to JIRA, Zendesk, etc.

Cons:

The interface of the software can be worked upon.

Madilyn
Senior Research Associate in US
Biotechnology, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform for tracking issues

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

ServiceNow makes submitting tickets for issues across teams extremely easy and comprehensive. This platform allows detailed handoffs, easy timeline tracking, and simple commenting/chats between teams.

Cons:

There was a slight learning curve with this platform and initially figuring out how to use all of the features but after that it's easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow as a help desk

4.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, it is an easy to use software, with many functions that supports efficient work.

Pros:

The transparent and clean UI experience.

Cons:

A bit slow loading speed when there are multiple tabs open

John
Helpdesk agent in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Main ticketing tool for a company present in over 60 countries

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: From perspective of a Service Desk Agent, Service Now is a solid ticketing tool with lots of customization and integration options, and decent monitoring capabilities. With regard to reporting - it is no match for an Excel spreadsheet, but the option "Export to Excel" is available in any report table :)

Pros:

Customization options and integration with with other tools (Nagios) as well as separate instances of Snow. As an example: one of our customers is running their own instance of Service Now. Their users interact with their own instance of Snow: log incidents, create service requests, receive and respond to mail communication. Snow objects from customer instance are then bridged (synced) into our instance of Snow, where they are actioned by fulfillers. User communication, ticket status etc. are then bridged (synced) back into customer instance of snow and reach final users.

Cons:

There is a learning curve for agents coming from other ticketing tools as well as for new joiners - which is expected. A lot of user guide/process information is openly available, however not all the options described (especially reporting) are available in the version currently deployed by the company, which leads to some areas of tribal knowledge.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A wonderful and probably the best ticket and change management tool

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Search feature is very powerful and easy to use as it is globalized search. Allows me to see the ticket distribution across my teammates. Supports customization of the change management process.

Cons:

The frontend design looks a bit old and not much attractive to me personally. Also it is little bit costly. Apart from these 2 things, everything else seems great about ServiceNow.

Vinayak
AGM in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best IT service management software

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The most advanced and easy to use software for all Service management needs.

Cons:

The cost is going high and becoming heavy software which might be a differentiator for the future

Ryan
Analyst Developer in Canada
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

As Flexible as it is Functional

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been using ServiceNow for 5+ years and it has really transformed our Service Desk and Customer Service teams ability to work with the customer.

Pros:

ServiceNow is such a user friendly product. Their out of the box modules require very little customization to get you up and running using a wide suite of available modules, there's not a lot ServiceNow can't do.

Cons:

Over-customization can make upgrading time consuming but there are plenty of guides to assist you with this process.

Ashish
Solution Architect in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best software for ITSM management in IT world

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Service Now is best software for current ITSM needs in IT world. ITs easy to stabilize day t day ITSM needs and specially Assets and Incident management which can helpful to many companies to provide and set up effective resilient ITSM business model. It is very user friendly and no need to provide detailed education and training to users as its inf9rmation and educational videos are available on portals.

Pros:

It have Selfserve option like serviceNet and different ITSM modules where Users can select required option and go for their ITSM needs without struggling for technical team. It gives ability to user to create their own report and dashboards for better visualizations and daily reporting.

Cons:

It require VPN connection within company premise due to policies. Its difficult to manage it through mobile devices.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

ServiceNow is better than Remedy and HPSM

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I have been avid ITIL practitioner and have been using various products in various companies of my job experience. ServiceNow supports ITIL processes completely and most efficiently where there are minor drawbacks. The level of compromise required to enable processes efficiently is less as compared to Remedy and HPSM. Service Now has harnessed the power of virtual assistants which is yet being explored by other companies. The ease of set-up and manageability makes configuration of ServiceNow a cake-walk.

Cons:

If you are new to service management processes, the plethora of services will leave you confused. Configure one process and explore them in and out before moving into another process. Capacity Management is still a missing factor in ServiceNow though demand management can be somehow captured through projects. integration with risk management could have been made simpler to show the mapping of technical risks to business risks.

Santosh
Sr Salesforce Developer in US
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Now - Excellent Ticket System

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: - The overall experience with ServiceNow is excellent for various business use-cases and functional use-cases

Pros:

- The most critical feature of the ServiceNow feature is, the customizations that we can make to the tool for ticketing purposes, routing purposes and integrate other applications for business flow to seamlessly work. - The UI of the tool is very intuitive and self-understandable for any user to quickly navigate without any confusion - The OOB features available for this tool are wide-range and can be leveraged for various business use-cases

Cons:

- The ServiceNow team can include more customizations and OOB integrations to avoid any over-head for the customers to implement themselves in-house - The support can be more helpful and available at all times in blocker issues

Oscar
Spanish service desk agent in Portugal
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Now is the best ticketing tool for IT Helpdesk / call center with technical support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: it is a good ticketing tool, will help in any help desk to to the job in a professional way, with fast results that you can check with reports, the track of the records of the users makes easy to be able to found issues and patterns. From all the ticketing tools that I´ve ever used, Service Now is my favorite.

Pros:

it was simple to understand , easy to use, the interface is not just squares with information that makes you feel super bored. you can customize your own interface with colors, that makes you to feel more comfortable with the screen with a tool that you use 8 hours a day. the functions are designed for you to be able to extract information needed for planning, the reports are accurate.

Cons:

That when a new feature need to be adapted for a project specific can take some time before the implementation of it

Ankit
Assistant Manager - IT in India
Airlines/Aviation, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for all of your IT requirements.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall experience is good and we have mapped our multiple application with servicenow through which we are enabled the auto ticketing and monitoring the applications.

Pros:

-You can create multiple dashboards.-Customized chat integration.-customization capabilities.-inbuilt plugins to integrate the 3rd party applications.-Report customization facility.- Work flow customization.

Cons:

-Due to lots of module, Sometime its confusing to select the particular module.-Page loading took time.- Implementation took time and required ServiceNow expert to implement.

Eldose
Manager in US
Financial Services Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great ITSM tool available in the market

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great experience

Pros:

This is one of the great product available in the market. Cannot compare some of the other products. One suite for all. Love this product

Cons:

Adding each module is very expensive. Small companies cannot afford

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Incident tracking Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent tool and request & Incident tracking and reporting purposes

Pros:

Ease of use, User friendly and good User Interface.

Cons:

Having autorouting feature will greatly help manual assignment

Doreen
Customer Service Advisor in Uganda
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow review

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It helps in escalation of customer queries to support teams. Follow up on issues that are highly logged.

Pros:

ServiceNow is easy to use to escalate customer issues to support groups incase a fast call resolution is not given. You're able to track the resolution given to the issue logged by searching the incident.

Cons:

I like all the functions of servicenow so i have nothing negative to say.

Vincent
Vincent
IT service manager in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Really helped our team manage requests and tickets

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great. Definitely recommend this for large businesses with multiple different departments and employees where you need to have a reasonably large IT department to hep process application requests, troubleshooting and equipment requests and more!

Pros:

The ease in which it kept track and managed IT ticket requests. You could easily see the queue and also do tons of data analytics from response times, to ticket requests per month per department, and how often tickets had to be escalated. The cloud-based platform really helps your reomte workers have access to a live database that was updated and always "correct." This was also extremely affordable for all the different capabilities it added.

Cons:

The service technicians aren't always available as spelled out in the service agreement. Luckily we didn't have issues with this often and we were able to resolve issues on our own or could wait it out until it was fixed.

Erick
IT Consultant in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow impressions and feedback

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use it for my job on a daily basis to create and fill incident tickets and escalate them to the proper channels if needed.

Pros:

As a cloud hosted software, it is easy to track incidents, any depreciation and assets that belongs to users.It also can be customized with multiple support options. The reports are also easily customizable and easy to understand.

Cons:

The navigation panel can be a mind-boggling experience to use plus the software does not offer On-premises features plus it is relatively expensive upcost wise.

vidya sagar reddy
Cloud Support Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow a great way to track the ITSM requests

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall its a great tool to have experience with when working as SME or platform engineer as its the widely and extensively used tool for tracking purposes.

Pros:

I like the level of customization it offers to each organization and custom features that can be developed and integrated to the tool based on the needs of the company.

Cons:

Its very complex with multiple development modules, sometimes its very heavy to load and it takes time opening few links.