ServiceNow Reviews

4.4 (148) Write a Review!

About ServiceNow

ServiceNow automates daily support tasks and help you to track, measure, and process any unit of work. It's easy to use and scalable.

Learn more about ServiceNow

Pros:

The cost per licenses is a bit high for a fulfiller and hope service now can bring it down a bit.

Cons:

ServiceNow has a steep learning curve, and I'm not sure how necessary it is. There are a lot of features sure, but finding what you need can be very difficult at times.

ServiceNow ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

ServiceNow has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 148 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ServiceNow before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (148)

Matias
Matias
Change Manager in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Modern, integrated, and safekeeping of daily communication exchange

4.0 last month New

Comments: At first, feels complex and redundant, but while you pour into it, it starts feeling like a solution and keeper of daily work, management, and tasks. It is also incredibly functional.

Pros:

Self-sustained, full environment solution, almost without the need for complementation with other gears.

Cons:

Different user experience takes a while to learn how to navigate it.

Verified Reviewer
Project Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

as a Project lead we customize and use this Product extensevely.

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: I love this Tool because of its ease of use of the tool.
The way they develop the feature is great.
KB and Articles for support documents are good.
ServiceNow Community is great Help and they resolve most of the Issue there the way the Technical person explain and presenation is good.

Pros:

all the Modules that we used are ease to use. Documentation is well maintained. Easy to implement. easy to track the changes for Admin Team. Reporting Module is Great for BIz team.

Cons:

Cost and Product Support. Product road Map dates are not clear.

Chetan
Chetan
Customer Experience Director in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The super-APP for a large organization

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with SNOW has been good. There are platforms that are equally good, if not slightly better, but this would be my choice if I was running an organization of 1000+ employees. The user journeys can be confusing but if the pages are set up correctly and maintained, this app can be a boon for companies who are encouraging using SNOW and treating it as a homepage for all internal sites (like a company intranet). The platform allows third party integrations with Okta, Slack and Salesforce and also custom applications that can be hosted and run off SNOW.

Pros:

I have been using ServiceNOW (SNOW going forward) for over 3 years at Nielsen now. The platform holds together a ticketing platform, a custom-built application, self-help, service desk contact information, and knowledge base articles. Our organization also has some integrations with our HR, IT and Finance systems and require a little more maintenance as we are currently committed to another well-established platform. My tickets are always visible, my approvals, etc widgets are very useful too. The portal is light, so it is fast and it also connects seamlessly with Okta.

Cons:

Employees tend to get confused if the widgets are not correctly set up under the relevant sections of SNOW. The roll out time is quick, but the set up is the larger task. Custom applications running on SNOW can be a little buggy at times. The platform can turn into a administration nightmare if it is not maintained well.

Avinash
Principal Program Management in Malaysia
Computer Networking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best in Class ITSM tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is one of the best ITSM tool. Aviable as SaaS and can be easily integrated with the SSO. Self service is a good feature . Its just the regular upgrades and getting the data/configuration missing from the tenants during the upgrade is a concern. No need to backup , high availability and best resiliency..this is one of the best ITSM tool in the market.

Pros:

A brilliant ITSM tool and available as SaaS. The licensing mechanism is based on the fulfiller and approvers . The cost per licenses is a bit high for a fulfiller and hope service now can bring it down a bit. The best modules are :- Incident management , Change Management , Problem Management and CMDB.

Cons:

The upgrades , every 6 months are something that always keeps us on our toes. secondly it Whatsapp and telegram can be integrated with service Now...

Verified Reviewer
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Ticketing Tool!!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: On a daily basis, we had to pull a lot of reports and create graphs for the same. With Service-Now, it's very easy. We have saved all the filters and created a dashboard on Service Now. Now, we have shared the link to the dashboard to the client and all our work is taken care by the tool. Relative time period is one top-notch filter, which has drastically reduced the time we were spending on creating the reports. It would take close to 4hrs to pull them and draft it for the client. Now, Service Now is doing the job and that 4hrs are saved for us.

Pros:

The best thing about Service Now is the way we can handle all data and reports directly on the tool. It is really well designed in getting approvals and assigning tickets. We can also set the ticket assignment groups based on certain rules or configuration items, that really saves us a lot of time. It is user - friendly too. Very easy to navigate and also has some built in buttons that are really useful.

Cons:

Not a major flaw, but if it can create aging tickets report in the form of a pivot table, then there is nothing to beat this tool. We really don't need to rely on excel if we can integrate some into the reporting feature on service now.

Ewan
Ewan
Sr. Manager, IT Services in
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Top Dog among Service Management Suites

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: An extremely robust platform with customization galore and full features comes at a cost but with very little holding it back. ServiceNow can really help on any ITIL initiatives and centralization of services. The unique focus of ServiceNow beyond just IT, is where its strengths lie. Most Service Management suites do ITIL for IT. ServiceNow takes the lessons learned from ITIL and extends them to the rest of the org (especially but not limited to Facilities and HR). Really built for Mid to Large Businesses.

Pros:

ITIL based Service Portal (Self Service Portal for quick searches spanning instance or specific areas) Knowledge Base (despite that not being checked in the available features) Full Service Management solution for the ENTIRE organization Strong Workflow engine Visible Table structures for clean data flows Extremely customizable (Forms, Fields, Tables, Applications, Portal, Workflow, Knowledge Base, etc...) Best in the business system architecture (fully redundant instances) HI Administration portal and ServiceNow support are top notch Service Now community is extremely active Docs site (formerly wiki) well updated and complete. Great organization and User groups You get a cake upon launch! Extensive Integration capabilities

Cons:

Cost Some out-of-box examples really don't match up to any organizations needs and leave you wanting more Email rules are more complex than they need to be (some of this can be mitigated by free add-ons like Postmaster) Configuration can sometimes be limited and requires some Javascript to get past basics Mid Servers for integrations can be more work to maintain than desired

Soumalya
Architect in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Proper Categorization of tickets and Managing CIs properly

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It’s far better than the last ITSM tool- Remedy on terms of efficiency and usefulness
Integrating with other tools is most popular in SNOW with easy REST API
Fast and Managing/Navigation are very easy
Most of the things can be done in IT user level with a configuration changes

Pros:

Proper managing of incidents to respective teams with 3 tier architecture starting from Help Desk Efficient management of system changes with agile methodology through proper state transition until deployment Categorization of CIs based on CI class and their relationship like Application, Database Instance, Servers

Cons:

System performance can be far better on node restarting OOB baseline does not support some level of access control for change which it should have Changes created by “Copy Change” can not be tracked separately Can have more option of customizing service portal in configuration based way rather than angular Reporting on Standard Template field values should be more user friendly

Chris
Manager, Apps Development in US
Higher Education Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Is the Best Incident Tracking Software I Have Ever Used

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Incident management, configuration management, service documentation -- all are easy to use and critical to support our day to day support of our customers.

Pros:

Easy to log incidents, update status and communicate with the customer about their tickets. Great for storing service documentation -- all of our services are documented in ServiceNow so that as tickets come into our queue, we have a repository of knowledge base articles to refer to in order to resolve the issue. The visual task board facilitates daily team standups to discuss status and priorities.

Cons:

The only thing I could think of is it would be great if the visual task board had more Trello-like features, especially their power ups (custom fields, burndown chart, etc).

Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A wonderful and probably the best ticket and change management tool

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Search feature is very powerful and easy to use as it is globalized search. Allows me to see the ticket distribution across my teammates. Supports customization of the change management process.

Cons:

The frontend design looks a bit old and not much attractive to me personally. Also it is little bit costly. Apart from these 2 things, everything else seems great about ServiceNow.

Vinayak
AGM in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best IT service management software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The most advanced and easy to use software for all Service management needs.

Cons:

The cost is going high and becoming heavy software which might be a differentiator for the future

Verified Reviewer
Improve & Standardization Manager in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very flexible ITSM Tool

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This tool is very flexible and allows even Business Users to configure processes and worfkflows.

Cons:

The license is rather difficult to understand and must be re-considered over time.

Dakshina Singh
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review by DB - ServiceNow

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

This feature is very very impactful in day-to-day IT business. From incident management to customer engagement, it provides end-to-end solutions. You have multiple options to display your data in graphical or list formats. It gives multiple filters to generate effective reports. It provides a very easy and feasible way to onboard the users and manage the customer accounts and their cases. Our IT department uses ServiceNow helpdesk services to manage the employee data. The support features from ServiceNow makes it easy.

Cons:

I do have a few things in mind that ServiceNow can upgrade: 1. They should give the option to edit the comments we make on cases/incidents/changes etc. 2. They should provide the option to perform the search specifically on comments and it should be optimised. 3. There should be option for grid view instead of list view, such that user can go to the next case or incident and update them side-by-side. Currently if we filter out 10 cases, we have to open them all in separate tab to work on it. It should be managiable using same tab only.

Verified Reviewer
Service Desk Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Gets You Working Now

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I love the software and use it daily. It is performing well and never is down or unavailable for use. It is a reliable and effective tool for our organization.

Pros:

The software is easy to use and read exactly what details you need. It is customizable to run various reports, as well as for automated actions for things you need done when some steps are completed.

Cons:

It does require someone to be an administrator to really learn the platform and be able to configure it the way it is needed. It is not as mobile device friendly as it could be.

Earlie
IT Supervisor in US
Retail, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

More than a Ticketing System

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I enjoyed Service Now and believe it's the best ticketing system tool out there.

Pros:

Loved Service Now! This made managing our help desk easy and our tech were able to work efficiently and effectively. The interface is VERY easy to read and user friendly. The application has so many different functionalities like: Knowledge base, Equipment tracking, RMA, chat, etc. I even enjoyed the Mobile App!

Cons:

I wish there were different/more theme colors you could customize/choose from. Also the mobile app was complicated setting up.

Monika
freelancer in India
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Ticketing tool for IT Helpdesk

5.0 last year

Comments: I was utilizing ServiceNow daily, as a Level 1 support executive. We can easily customize the dashboard according to our choice. Exceptionally simple to create change requests. I loved utilizing it and felt it was incredible.

Pros:

It was simple and easy to understand. User friendly. Easy to customize the dashboard. We can keep track of tickets according to the ticket status, which made my life easier. It is the best tool for maintaining incidents, SCTasks, change requests, and organizing work. We can have the history of work done.

Cons:

New clients should be situated on the most proficient method to explore through this device since it is very confusing to clients from the beginning.

Ryan
Analyst Developer in Canada
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

As Flexible as it is Functional

4.0 last year

Comments: We've been using ServiceNow for 5+ years and it has really transformed our Service Desk and Customer Service teams ability to work with the customer.

Pros:

ServiceNow is such a user friendly product. Their out of the box modules require very little customization to get you up and running using a wide suite of available modules, there's not a lot ServiceNow can't do.

Cons:

Over-customization can make upgrading time consuming but there are plenty of guides to assist you with this process.

Venkatesh
Lead consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effectively manage your ITSM

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Great ITSM management through Service now product

Pros:

Service now is part and parcel of our ITSM system over the years. We have migrated from other vendors to Service now.Its very critical for IT enterprise to handle incidents, requests and to daily business as usual activities .Its also Critical for reporting metrics to management on a periodic basis. Service now also provides robust usage through Service now anywhere web interface. It just provides ease of use anywhere in a remote work setup for the larger team.

Cons:

Service now customer support can be improved.

Satish
Satish
Assistant Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

one stop shop for all type of tickets

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

one stop shop for all type of tickets, easy to use, fast to search

Cons:

Performance need to be tuned a little more

Brandon
Brandon
Press Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I used ServiceNow in a Desktop Support Role

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used ServiceNow daily, almost hourly to be honest, as a Level 2 Desktop Support Agent. It replaced vFire which was getting slow and agonizing to work with. Tickets would come in and we would perform the work and move the ticket along and/or close it altogether depending on the job. I liked using it and felt it was very robust and powerful while still being nimble and problem free.

Pros:

ServiceNow is fast and issue free so long as it's setup correctly. The interface is simple and easy to understand. The learning curve, unlike older software, is practically nonexistent.

Cons:

Sometimes tasks can have subtasks that are nested so deeply that they can be missed on first glance. I wish the software had a simpler nesting system.

Gajendra
Gajendra
IT Specialist in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Now Review

5.0 last year

Comments: For me it very good, specially the change.very easy to create change and follow up with the different parties.

Pros:

Amazing tool for change incident and CMDB management. I am using this tool for change and incident and I found it best among the tools I used. Design the too the way you want. Very simple user interface and make process very easy. With any experience user can use this tool

Cons:

Nothing as I am aware of as for me this is best and the way service now is improving , I have nothing what I can this as an improvement.

Ashish
Solution Architect in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best software for ITSM management in IT world

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Service Now is best software for current ITSM needs in IT world. ITs easy to stabilize day t day ITSM needs and specially Assets and Incident management which can helpful to many companies to provide and set up effective resilient ITSM business model. It is very user friendly and no need to provide detailed education and training to users as its inf9rmation and educational videos are available on portals.

Pros:

It have Selfserve option like serviceNet and different ITSM modules where Users can select required option and go for their ITSM needs without struggling for technical team. It gives ability to user to create their own report and dashboards for better visualizations and daily reporting.

Cons:

It require VPN connection within company premise due to policies. Its difficult to manage it through mobile devices.

Hamzat
Application Support Analayst in Nigeria
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best ITSM tool

5.0 last year

Pros:

Service now makes integrating workflow automation easy. I am able to carry out multiple IT Service management activities, ranging from incident management to Change management. it helps to aid accountability, you are able to view the work effort of each employee and the time it takes for incidents to be resolved in line with SLA. With Service now, I am able to view all task and incidents raised to my team at every particular point in time, assign them to appropriate team for resolution and also follow up on resolution. It also provides a platform where i am able to identify trends and recurring issues. The dashboard allows me to view all related activities at a glance, for me it is the best ITSM tool .

Cons:

From NON -IT user perspective, it is difficult to work around the platform, it needs etxra training to educate users on how to use it. Asides that it is a great ITSM tool.

Verified Reviewer
Principal Solutions Architect in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

ServiceNow is better than Remedy and HPSM

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I have been avid ITIL practitioner and have been using various products in various companies of my job experience. ServiceNow supports ITIL processes completely and most efficiently where there are minor drawbacks. The level of compromise required to enable processes efficiently is less as compared to Remedy and HPSM. Service Now has harnessed the power of virtual assistants which is yet being explored by other companies. The ease of set-up and manageability makes configuration of ServiceNow a cake-walk.

Cons:

If you are new to service management processes, the plethora of services will leave you confused. Configure one process and explore them in and out before moving into another process. Capacity Management is still a missing factor in ServiceNow though demand management can be somehow captured through projects. integration with risk management could have been made simpler to show the mapping of technical risks to business risks.

Edrick
Process Associate in Philippines
Human Resources, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Ticketing Tool!

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, this is a great software to organize and manage requests and concerns in mid to large businesses.

Pros:

This software have extensive features which allow us users to work more efficiently. Managing request and concerns of our employees has been easier because they can create raise it through chat or ticket/case in this software anytime. Communication by users and administrators have been easy because they can follow-up through the software or even via email. Dashboard also can be customized depending on the user's needs. It also has a Knowledge Base Management attached to it which allow administrators to clarify or countercheck their responses/resolutions to the tickets/cases.

Cons:

New users need to be oriented on how to navigate through this tool because it is quite confusing and intimidating to users at first.

Victoria
Global Service Desk Manager in UK
Philanthropy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Using SNow since 2012

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Considering how long I have been using the product, I find comfort in the fact that I know more on its capabilities so pay less attention to the limitations.

Pros:

I like the scalability and possible capability to do more configuration and development for custom use.

Cons:

The fact that I can not use SNow links for imbedding