15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Hostaway

Hostaway helps you grow and manage your business with the help of advanced automations, marketing, communication and reporting tools.

Learn more about Hostaway

Pros:

The thing I like most about Hostaway is the ease of use. I manage my properties while working another job, so I need automation.

Cons:

Export function to Booking.com somewhat limited - can not create extra rooms via hostaway, bed setup not ideal for representing non-traditional bedding.

Hostaway ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Hostaway has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 932 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Hostaway before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (932)

Carlos
Carlos
Owner in Switzerland
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very satisfied

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It is quite intuitive and if you have experience with other systems you adapt quickly.

Pros:

It is really designed for Vacation Rentals and has a very user-friendly functionality compared to other similar products. I love the functions with regard to financial reporting and owners. It's amazing.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to manage more rates in the Booking Engine and to have the possibility to translate the content ourselves as well as different languages for the system (as well as being able to change the format of the dates). The calendar and the price editing functions are good but they are missing some small details.

Alternatives Considered: Easybooking, Guesty For Hosts, iGMS, Hostfully Property Management Platform and Lodgify

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: It was not me, but one of my clients. The main reason was that they needed a professional and "all in one" property management system.

Switched From: Smoobu

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: I have been following the webinars on youtube for some time now and I was particularly intrigued by the ability and desire to improve and continue to innovate.

Sherri
Owner in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simply BLOWN AWAY

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: GLOWING! Truly a PARTNERSHIP w/ GREAT PEOPLE!

Pros:

[sensitive content hidden]!!! I LOVE [sensitive content hidden] O!! He has been the most amazing guide! Incredibly helpful, funny, nice, intuitive, and friendly mentor in this setup process I could’ve ever asked for!! I didn’t even dream that a person like this existed in my industry. I dreamed of having STRs & unfortunately, I have been struggling to streamline the backend processes of this business with Guesty for Hosts. I have felt solo the entire time learning on my own by desperately surfing the Internet and researching resolutions. Guesty offered me ZERO assistance setting up, and long waits to speak with uneducated employees who could not easily answer my questions. [sensitive content hidden] took away ALL of those issues! He eradicated all of those concerns and easily handled any questions that arose, I just am soooooo thankful to have found this company, the intuitiveness of the software, and the people that you have hired are simply amazing. [sensitive content hidden] was amazing, everyone I’ve encountered has been amazing, punctual, friendly, & professional. If I could give 20 stars, I would! I feel as though I have partners now, and I am no longer alone, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

Cons:

Haven't found anything yet. Maybe HTML abilities in the message templates & automation? Would be nice to have a preview of them before sending them out? But I am sure you all are working on this already!

Keith
MD in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hostaway - good but painful!

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We moved from Hostify to Hostway due to the greater amount of features available. Whilst we still believe we did that right thing it has taken a time, effort and money to get things working well. Even now, 2 months later we are uncovering syncing errors which have cost us dearly. Anyone thinking of using this product needs to make absolutely sure that data is being snycronised correctly. It's also worth noting that whilst Hostaway has a very in depth online help centre the actual customer services is frustrating whereby agents don't seem to understand the problems.

Pros:

Amount of Features Owner Statements Guest Portal Booking Engine

Cons:

Data Synchronisation Payment Processing Customer Support Task Management Analytics Financial Reporting

Alternatives Considered: Guesty

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: We moved from Hostify to Hostway due to the greater amount of features available.

Switched From: Hostify

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: We chose Hostaway over Guesty due the the price difference.

Chris
Owner-Operator in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hostaway is hands-down the best channel manager I've used to date...

5.0 last month New

Comments: I really enjoy using the software and find the customer service to be superior to what I'd experienced so far from software services like this previously. I also want to note that this is a complex piece of software and does require some dedicated setup time... however, the customer support staff is really patient, a readily available, and are very friendly. I haven't ever been turned away by them without having my issue resolved - they're pretty great!

Pros:

Top level functionality, great customer service, intuitive controls/menus/interface.

Cons:

It's slightly expensive, but far cheaper than the past channel manager I've used; it also includes most/all of the add-on features from the 'other' channel manager but they are included in the service rather than additional services.

Michael
Owner in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hostaway is Best in Class!

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: 5 Stars! Excellent platform so glad I chose it!

Pros:

Versatile. Like the calendar layout. Very detailed. Lots of fields. Nice Google booking engine - easy. Prices and fees are great. Best in class customer service - awesome!!

Cons:

GENERAL: Missing Hide button (you have to block your calendar before going live). Go live button. Mass email function? Does it feed inbox to Breezeway and vice-versa? Automated Messages: SMS Message cannot be longer than 140 characters. Missing guest book that has a UI and is an app. No workflow notices to PMS manager if owner makes a rate change in their own calendar – no approval process. Missing an automated message for modified reservations. No way to import previous reviews with past dates. Owner statements are not automated to owner emails. Cant upload videos. CALENDAR Preset holidays names on the correct dates, or allow owner to enter rolling date events such as their birthdays, etc. Variable date increases button (All Listings) so I can increase all clients rates on certain dates. Owner increases the rates, but we approve. TASKS: No pictures, videos allowed. No payment method for completed tasks. No requiring photos when done.

William
CEO in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hostaway Property Managment System

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: I have tested out 2 other PMS systems in the past year and by far this is the best experience I have had. The onboarding specialist Mateo was professional and knowledgeable. The customer support was attentive and quick to respond.

Pros:

The setup is super easy and the support is amazing. The features are incredible and you get what you pay for.

Cons:

No, I would not change anything. The experience was great.

Alternatives Considered: Guesty For Hosts and Lodgify

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: Poor support and onboarding process. I didn't get a chance to really use the product because I was discouraged at the beginning. You had to do everything yourself.

Switched From: OwnerRez

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: Features and most importantly support and onboarding process.

Bogdan
Ownere in France
Hospitality, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good property management software

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

All the features needed for a PMS + tons of integrations Good price per unit Growing number of features

Cons:

It doesn't allow for a full customization of the checking experience (guest id scanning, conditional triggers for releasing virtual keys) which requires the use of a 3rd party software - but they do have plenty of options

Diana
Vacation Rental Business in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best property management software out there

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Kyle initially called me to pitch Hostaway, but I wasn't really interested. Once he told me all the options Hostaway offered and the low cost per property, I agreed to a consultation with Alex. The consultation with Alex was great, I signed up later that day. It wasn't a high-pressure sales pitch, which I really liked. I also liked that it is a month-to-month contract. That really tells you how confident Hostaway is in its product. Gabriel was our onboarding specialist, and he was outstanding! Super patient and extremely helpful.

Pros:

It is a complex system, but once you finish onboarding, it's a simple process. Gabriel was our onboarding specialist and he did an outstanding job.

Cons:

Nothing so far, it's been a great experience.

Arlyn
Property Manager in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Onboarding Service

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, our experience has been great. The onboarding process was made easy due to having amazing guidance from [sensitive content hidden]. Now that everything has been completely set up for us, it will only get easier and more comfortable to use.

Pros:

Noe that we have used Hostaway, we like the messaging center, the ease of integration with the APIs, and guest portal feature. Thank you for having an amazing onboarding process. [sensitive content hidden] was very helpful & patient with all of our questions and customization.

Cons:

The calendar was a little hard to get use to. Also, setting the seasonal pricing was a bit of a pain because there is not feature to automate that across our units.

Brittany
Owner in Panama
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Deceiving Sales Proposal & Lack of Customer Service

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I was really excited for Hostaway. I loved the look and feel of the system, the features seemed great, although I didn't get far enough to use them.

Cons:

I manage properties with several owners, so I need reporting at the unit level. This was a specific feature and requested and repeatedly spoke about with my sales representative. $500 later between onboarding fees & first month, I was told that that wasn't available, no money back. Disappointed to say the least! Onboarding can take 10 days to 2 weeks for your first session and time between onboarding sessions is too long considering they only give you a short period of time to access it.

Aleksandra
Manager in Czechia
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

This is what you need for your business

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I have used another channels manager before and to compare to them this is the best! I don't have any problems with synchronisation, no overbooking, that makes my life much easier )) As well I save lot of time on messages. Because you can use automations in Hostaway. This software is easy to use, big advantage is app for your phone. And I would like to mention that this team is really working hard and they always improve this software, they listen you! You don't need 80 channels to sell your apartment. Hostaway has enough channels for max occupancy rate.

Cons:

May be would be good to make an option to copy prices for another apartment (because I have 4 same apartment in the same building), so I don't need to spend my time to make prices for similar apartments.

Hostaway Response

3 years ago

Dear Alexandra, thank you so much for your kind words and recognition for our mobile app. As you can see from older reviews, we take customer feedback personally and always strive to build tools that help our customers grow. After all, one of our company values is Our Customer's Success is Our Success.

Jack
Director in Australia
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sophisticated Channel Manager

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, this has been a good experience. I signed up with them a year ago and periodically I do a review of the competition and new entrants to see if they stack up and so far, this is the best solution for us.

Pros:

It does a lot of really great things that suit my business model perfectly. It is the best software system I could find for our budget and requirements. My personal favourite is the webhooks and open API that I can use to build my own functions on top of.

Cons:

It really needs the functionality to be able to automate the security deposit for guests. That is my one problem. I would have said the financails could be improved but they just released a major update to this and it looks great. Finally, I'd like to see some custom reports for business metrics. I currently have to download to a .csv and manually figure things out. The overview dashboard does have a decent set of metrics, but I want to see them over time.

Alternatives Considered: Uplisting, OwnerRez, Smoobu, MyVR, Guesty For Hosts, Guesty, Hospitable.com and Lodgify

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: Expensive and you had to pay extra for the actual channel manager. It was a good PMS, but it's only really useful if you have a lot of call ins or your own direct booking website that people have to enquire before booking. I wasn't a fan.

Switched From: 365villas

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: By far the best value for money and the best suited to my individual needs.

Daniel
Owner in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vacation Rental Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been quite satisfying. I really like their communication when I have issues or concerns. While the PMS isn't quite what I would consider optimal or perfect, the company seems refreshingly committed to improving their product to meet the needs of the community.

Pros:

Value, great bang for your buck. A dedicated, response customer support platform (primarily email), who are responsive to concerns and suggestions. Intuitive features that are both efficient and elegant: channel manager, calendar, and listing manager A company that seems keen on evolving to continue providing a solid, affordable product.

Cons:

A little lacking on the direct booking side (which may be more valuable to me than most). Hopefully they will add line item charges soon. Other weak points have continually improved or been added including messaging, invoices, and other listing/channel management features. So some still exist but I imagine would be address if requested.

Alternatives Considered: Cloudbeds and Lodgify

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: I have a bit of a unique property/situation and ResNexus, although nice, was ultimately too much for my property.

Switched From: ResNexus

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: I did a pretty thorough search for my unique situation and while Cloudbeds came close, Hostaway at least equal but better valued. Honestly, Hostaway wasn't quite all I needed, but they continue to close the gap of what I would consider an ideal PMS (sleek and efficient).

Arianna
CEO in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software and Support For Superhosts

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] is an amazing customer care agent. He responds very quickly and is very kind and patient. He is also an expert in Hostaway and very sharp. He has helped me solve my questions or concerns on a few occasions now, and he provides excellent customer care every time. Customer care is a considerable component of any PMS so I'm thankful for Hostaway's great consistent support.

Cons:

N/A. The only recomendation I have would be more automated SMS notifications to users (cleaners) such as "New Cleaning in Addition for {listing} on {checkout date}" or "Friendly Reminder of Cleaning Today {check out date (sent day of, 3 hours prior checkout)}. And also a better visual view of the calendar specifically for cleaners. Such as a monthly calender view with all the users (cleaners) assigned tasks (cleans).

Alternatives Considered: AirHost

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: Too many tech glitches.

Switched From: Guesty For Hosts

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: Airhost is a little behind in their features and integrations. For example, they don't even integrate with Pricelabs yet.

Hostaway Response

last year

We at Hostaway would like to thank you for the great review of our software. We appreciate that you had such a great experience with one of our onboarding specialists and that you see customer care as an important as we do! We are also thankful for your recommendation to add more automated SMS notifications to users, such as those you mentioned, and a better visual view of the calendar specifically for cleaners. We will take your feedback into consideration and aim to make our software as helpful as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to review our software and for providing us with feedback. -Josh from Hostaway

Jacky
Owner in Portugal
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great and robust software with an outstanding onboarding support

5.0 last year

Comments: as mentioned, Outstanding. Customers feels since day one that he is dealing with a reliable company. very hand driven and well organized. I am very (so far) happy. After the onboarding ends, I do hope the customer service support would be the same. Hope so..

Pros:

I was very impressed since day 1 and how the kick off has been planned and managed. Very professional. The software is capable to do 90% of what you need and it is user friendly. The remaining 10% should be focused on what the property manager needs (based on country's regulations).

Cons:

Booking engine, when you are about to built your website and you are only able to use google translations. which is for me, based in Portugal and being Portuguese, having a Portuguese / Brazilian translation. No good at all.

Alternatives Considered: TalkGuest and Avantio

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: Very basic, they sell you a product that in fact it is not like this when you in. connections are very poor and you must share your passwords to them to sync. really bad customer support, only emails and tons of tickets that at the end you are completely lost.

Switched From: YnnovBooking

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: The way the sales team approached me (not aggressive but as a selling position). They understood and were capable to answer to my needs and concerns (in all terms) which is a great value and respect for me. I will grow thanks to you but you ll also expand your business because I am an happy customer.

Rafael
Relationship Manager in Brazil
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Meets all needs and outperforms competitors

5.0 last year

Comments: Our experience with Hostaway has been very positive. We have over 30 properties being managed through the system. The cost benefit has been great and the possibility of integration with several booking channels has been a big plus.The management of guest charges and the possibility, the control and communication tools are excellent!

Pros:

Hostaway has fast integration with all leading booking channels in the market. Exporting and importing listings is quick and simple.Furthermore, the management of formulas, charges, reports and information for properties is customizable and very dynamic.

Cons:

When we started using Hostaway, we noticed a certain delay in getting a response to open tickets for the support team. However, from 1 month to now the waiting time has dropped drastically and it has also become easier to contact support by phone.

Alternatives Considered: Guesty For Hosts

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: We've been using IGMS for a while and we've also used Guesty, and Hostaway is definitely better. Guesty, despite its size and popularity, has a somewhat rigid system and all the commercial consultants who assisted us through Guesty were not helpful!

Switched From: Guesty For Hosts and iGMS

Craig
Owner in US
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Hostaway streamlines channel management

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Once onboarding began, I felt well supported. My onboarding specialist was clear, patient, and explained things thoroughly as well as answered my questions and reviewed things with me when I asked for more clarification. As I explore the platform, I feel confident that Hostaway will help me put my business in front of more clients through other booking platforms and my self booking site.

Pros:

Being able to easily port your AirBnB listings to Hostaway and other channels, guest communication, calendar and changes all done within the Hostaway platform.

Cons:

I felt there was a disconnect between when I shut down my previous platform (Evolve), and when Hostaway could get me running on their platform. For close to 2 weeks, I was running on AirBnB only and had lost my other booking platforms because Hostaway advised me to get disconnected from Evolve so I would be ready for the onboarding. I also was not aware that I would not be able to set a user name and password with Hostaway, and therefore not have an account with them until the day onboarding began. This made for a bit of a rough start.

Amanda
CEO in US
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New Hostaway Client!

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Our Hostaway experience has been great so far. We met with the Hostaway team at the VRMA conference in Orlando in late October. We met with [sensitive content hidden]
and they were quickly able to answer all of our questions. We signed on with Hostaway during the conference. In about 2.5 weeks, we are now fully integrated. We have been very impressed with the process and [sensitive content hidden]
has been awesome! We learned so much from him and he was great at keeping our integration moving along quickly. We were previously integrated with another PMS software and the process took 3 months and we had lots of challenges. This experience was far better than we could have imagined.

Pros:

Hostaway offers more features and better functionality compared to other PMS programs we have used or looked at. Hostaway's onboarding program is far better than the competition. Features that were critical for us: mobile app, ease of use, reporting, listing management.

Cons:

We haven't found anything that will create issues for us yet.

diego
CEO in Brazil
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Stay away from this system. I wasted time and money with them.

1.0 4 months ago

Comments: I started using the system because the sales team was very attentive and sold me a service level that would be a dream come true. However, during the implementation, I realized there would be problems because the person chosen to carry out the implementation lacked the necessary minimum knowledge. When I carried out the implementation, many calendar and pricing configurations were altered without them notifying me so that I could validate in time. Furthermore, any issues I encountered took days to resolve. While they were quick to answer the phone, the representative had to escalate the problem to the responsible team because they didn't have the answers. So, this 24/7 support is deceptive. They do respond immediately, but they document the issue and open a ticket. The only good team is the sales team. Stay away from this system. I wasted time and money with them.

Pros:

There are no positive aspects because, from the implementation process onwards, you are assisted by unprepared individuals, and thereafter, support is non-existent

Cons:

The system is not designed with the property manager in mind; there are serious interface issues that, once discovered, have already caused significant losses. To make matters worse, the support team's response falls below the minimum expectations for a hospitality business.

Alternatives Considered: Guesty For Hosts

Switched From: Lodgify

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: Sales team is very good, the price was better. Buts didn t works

Kim
Property Manager Assistant in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Top notch customer service

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

We found Hostaway to be the perfect option for our property management side of the business. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] went above and beyond meeting with us to get us started and through the first few months of operation. Now we deal primarily with the customer service via the app, and they get back to us immediately. They will either fix the issue we're having or we dialogue and troubleshoot to fix. They are constantly working to streamline the program for property managers in terms of calendar updates, updating listings etc. We host between 20-30 properties and they've been great to work with. Highly recommend.

Cons:

Sometimes the updates are glitchy, but customer service immediately attends to the issue. It's a newer software and very inexpensive compared to its competitors so minors issues are is to be expected, but they troubleshoot and update constantly.

Alternatives Considered: Hostfully Guidebooks and Hostfully Property Management Platform

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: We liked [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and our interactions with him. The price was definitely what caught our eye, but our overall customer experience has been top notch. When we dealt with Hostfully we didn't care for our sales rep. He didn't listen to our needs, didn't send out time reminders and links for meetings, and was overall no where near as responsive as we needed them to be. Hostaway won us over.

Mike
CEO in Australia
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PMS Solution

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Overcoming the integration with other OTA's. Simplifying guest interactions and automating repetative tasks.

Pros:

App allows some functionability on the go. When everything is set up correctly, facilitates property management and guest interactions.

Cons:

Support response in the last 12 months. Seems to be improving now. Too many features to implement on own.

Alternatives Considered: iGMS

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: The attractive nature of the platform, its possibilities and straightforward use.

Switched From: Guesty

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: The onboarding and training process initially available

Barbara
Property manager in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very Helpful

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall good experience but expensive

Pros:

The guest portal is a big plus! Having the option of EXTRAS for guests is very good. They can add-on rentals and requests easily.

Cons:

+Not allowing same guest, same credit card information to book more than 1 unit per time. +Not having option to manual customize my website cancellation policy similar to VRBO would be nice! (we refund 100% minus a $100 fee)+Not having the option to have multiple daily "rates" (ex: non refundable, pay upfront rate with discount and one normal rate that is refundable)+For the price, it would be very nice to have the pricing tool and smart lock integration. On the demo, before purchasing, I thought it did and I did not know it was extra.+VRBO messaging/Integration has some issues

Alternatives Considered: Guesty For Hosts and LOGIFLY

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: Change on management team

Switched From: Checkfront

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: From the demo, I thought it had everything. I did not know I had to have additional subscriptions to have access to smart locks generation and pricing tools.

Simon
Property Manager in UK
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Direct2hosts.co.uk review for Hostaway

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, very good so far, apart from the customer service issue. The more i se it the more proficient i become

Pros:

The message automation is a great feature, and has really helped to create efficient workflows we send Q&A pre/ post check in and pre check out messages. I want to run a low touch business, the messaging in addition to the autoreviews and task automation. The onbarading process with Marlou was excellent from start to finish. I knew after my first call with Marlou she was going to be excellent and she did not disappoint, Very knowledgable, patient and pleasant to work with

Cons:

We have had issues synching our pricing to such an extent, we do all pricing updates with the OTAs. Also when we had the issues with the synching we had zero customer service response for well over a week, in the end Marlou was kid enough to respond to my query. It was a bit of a concern though, the customer support is pretty good generally but on something as vital as pricing you simply cant go 'missing' in this way

Alternatives Considered: Hostfully Property Management Platform

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: not fit for purpose

Switched From: Zeevou

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: far cheaper, an seemed just as good

Henri
Managing Partner in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Mislead during sales process and overcharged, refused refund

1.0 last year

Comments: It's been a very bad start to be totally transparent. In addition to issues with the software and the overcharges, it's really been the absent support. I had to message an executive on LinkedIn to get anyone to respond. But they have no problem charging me (more than they're supposed to).

Pros:

The best thing hostaway has going is it's automatic responses and integrations. With that being said, the automatic responses do NOT work on VRBO and, despite claiming to be a preferred integration partner, the process to integrate with VRBO took over 1.5 months and resulted in dozens of double bookings

Cons:

1) Inability to integrate with VRBO / Booking.com 2) If you need help, forget about them answering the phone or returning your voicemail. One of the key selling points was their promise I could always get someone on the phone. It's been 2 months and I've called about a dozen times, not 1 single time has anyone answered or returned my call3) Automated messages don't work with VRBO. This was confirmed by both sides but not presented upfront. So you still have to manually monitor VRBO 4) Their accounting is VERY limited. You cannot invoice / charge / or easily track charges 5) Be VERY careful when you onboard, I had 26 properties but they charged me for 32. Not only have they refused to refund me for the extra 6 units, but they keep promising to get me in touch with a "VP" or "Manager" - it's been weeks, no one has contacted me.

Alternatives Considered: Guesty

Reasons for Choosing Hostaway: 1) More integrations 2) message functionality 3) "same day support" which turned out to be false

Reasons for Switching to Hostaway: Price

Hostaway Response

last year

Henri, We apologize for any issues you may have encountered during the sales process and for any overcharges you may have experienced. I've personally taken this issue up and have refunded the amount requested, even though the contract that was signed was at a higher amount so that we can hopefully move past this. We take customer satisfaction very seriously and never intend to mislead or overcharge our customers, which is why we have contracts that are signed by both parties before any implementation starts so that both our customer and our team are on the same page. In regards to Vrbo, unfortunately, at the time there was an issue on the Vrbo side that was creating a backlog for integrations. This has since been resolved and connections are now much quicker. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. -Josh from Hostaway

Melissa
CEO in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Continuous excellence in customer service

4.0 last year

Comments: Great experience so far, thanks to:- An excellent customer support- Constant innovations - Incredibly helpful webinars - Tons of user guides to setup listings across all channels

Pros:

Customer service is outstanding! [SENSITIVE CONTENT] especially always takes time to understand and resolve all our issues/questions The booking engine is super easy and efficient, easy to plug into our website

Cons:

If we could get a phone line to call when we experience an urgent issue, it would be great. Instead of waiting on a ticket to be addressed I would be really interested in a model where I pay a fee that includes all integrations (with a noise sensor provider, a smart lock provider, a dynamic pricing tool provider, and a ops integrator like Breezeway). A fee that would be negotiated at high level by Hostaway and that would cost less than having an account with each partner and pay them directly. I recently had a call with Jurny about this Saas integrated model, and I liked it because it seems to save a lot of time in ops and reporting, and a lot of money too.

Hostaway Response

last year

Our team is happy to hear that you have had an outstanding experience with one of our onboarding team members. We've passed those kudos along! We actually do have a support phone line, just takes a look at our website it is at the bottom or in your Hostway dashboard it is at the top left. If you have any questions or need assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out. -Josh from Hostaway