15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About BrightHR

BrightHR: smart software that transforms people management. All the tools you need to remove the HR burden and give you peace of mind.

Learn more about BrightHR

Pros:

Clean, mostly well-laid out web interface makes most operations simple.

Cons:

At first overwhelming but had someone come in and broke it down.

BrightHR ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

BrightHR has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 77 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used BrightHR before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (77)

Aaron
Aaron
Finacial Director in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great System

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has helped streamline or holiday system as it has often been troublesome trying to organise them around each other when you've to keep a minimum number of staff

Pros:

It keeps all of the information in an easy to use space and helps reduce the amount of paper needed for records. The leave request system is great and being able to notify staff when you've uploaded documents removes the hassle of ensuring everyone receives the information.

Cons:

The rota system is a little clunky. It would be great if you could copy a previous published rota or have some way to save the shift times so as you don't have to enter the start and finish time for each staff member on every day. You should also be able to change staff between fixed and variable shifts.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review! We're always looking at how we can improve what we do so keep an eye out for updates to the rota.

jenny
Manager in UK
Airlines/Aviation, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review after help given.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great, clear, help when needed, the team have all set themselves up without any dramas and now using daily. Also really handy with the absent request which comes through on my email. Just a lot smoother running.

Pros:

The easiness of setting it up and that I can monitor all of the teams clocking in and out. This has helped immensely in making sure we are all on time and what happens when there is an over run.

Cons:

Getting used to it, Ive signed up to the seminars as I don't feel like I am using it to its full potential. In the first form, I could not find our "industry" and have clicked the top one. We work in Arboriculture (trees).

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review. Great to hear this is something you're now using daily within your business!

Joanne
General manager in Ireland
Primary/Secondary Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Move from HR Online

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have requested to cancel our contract and go back to HR online which we felt was a much better platform for our needs.

Pros:

Nothing. There is nothig that me or any of my 75 employees like about this app

Cons:

Everything - there is much less functionalitiy than we had with HR Online and this is supposed to be an 'upgrade' • User interface is complicated and too many clicks needed. • TOIL must be logged by Managers and not employees. • Approval notifications can only be ‘all’ or ‘no one’. • The notes section is not as detailed & does not retain historical information. • The Managers cant see the notes. • The salary section does not retain historical information. • The roster is time-consuming and cumbersome. • The reports are not as concise as they were and we have less options. • Leave requests do not seem to take account of the weekends or public holidays as they did on HR Online. • The app is not downloadable on ALL android phones.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Sorry to hear this. We've contacted you directly to get this resolved.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Industry leading HR software

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Lots of features, especially the employee tracking app

Cons:

Is pretty expensive compared to other software

Kevin
H.R Manager in UK
Cosmetics, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Support

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: If your stuck on anything or unsure how to operate it, the Bright HR team are always on hand to take your call to support you. They are always happy to talk to you, it feels personal.

Pros:

its very easy to use, and the dashboard helps you navigate through the platform

Cons:

All the features are easy to use and keeps all holidays etc all in one place

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Great to hear this wonderful feedback.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple interface, easy to use

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

User-friendly, simple to use for office staff and field staff. App works well.

Cons:

Nothing stands out, we thought it was a good system

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent product and customer service

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: No requirement for physical calendar which is prone to errors, staff can access planner anytime and anywhere, approvals for annual leave are straight forward and managed more effectively

Pros:

Very easy to use, straight forward setup, very quick to answer queries, customer support has been excellent so far - definitely the way forward to outsource HR for small businesses!

Cons:

Some areas needed a bit more explanation and guidance on how best to use

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! If you need any more support in the future just get in touch.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

This makes HR a breeze!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Asking for time off and coordinating the team's holiday schedules has never been easier. I like how simple it makes it for me to ask for time off and to choose which dates will be my holiday time off.

Cons:

I don't like how sometimes there are a couple of minor glitches in the calendar when trying to go back a page.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! If you do run into any issues just get in touch with us, we're happy to help get these resolved.

Dan
Group Reputation Officer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great piece of kit

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use which allows us to focus on other aspects of work and allows employees to book holidays via the app which they find really useful.

Cons:

Some say its limited in its features, but I find it suits my needs and we're kept up to date from the sales/service team at bright of the up and coming features.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review! Great to hear your positive feedback.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Keeps all your HR info in one place

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love the request holidays function, that you can store files such as employment contracts on Bright HR and that you can view the calendar for your whole company/department - all this is one place!

Cons:

This nothing I don't like about this software!

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Fantastic! Thank you for this wonderful feedback, just get in touch if you need any support in the future.

Chris
FD in UK
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It is fine but limited

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is cloud based and has a mobile app

Cons:

Your receipts don't have your VAT number on - how hard can it be? I want to be able to export all data so that I can see what fields are missing for which employees

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your feedback, we're always looking at ways to improve what we do and will pass this feedback onto our development team.

Richard
Operations Supervisor in UK
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Bright HR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Bright HR has brought a whole new professional image to our company and as we have grown this is exactly what we needed.

Pros:

So easy for my members of staff to book their holidays and see all of their HR files in one place.

Cons:

no real cons as is 100 times better then our previous system.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

This is brilliant to hear! We're glad you're enjoying to software, just let us know if you need any support in the future.

Rachel
Centre Manager in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Really easy to use system

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Everything is so intuitive and easy to navigate around. I love the idea of moving to a paperless system for my employees. Customer support is excellent - very helpful and approachable.

Cons:

I can't think of anything that I dislike.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your 5* review! Wonderful to hear about your positive experience with BrightHR.

Karen
General Manager in UK
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

FT review of Bright HR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We currently use excel spreadsheets to record everything. Just messy. This will improve systems and save time.

Pros:

Ease of use, everything in one place. Backed up to the cloud.

Cons:

I have not found any cons. we are very happy with the software

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Amazing to hear this positive feedback! Just get in touch if you need any more support in the future.

Geraldine
Manager in Ireland
Individual & Family Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Community Addiction Team

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience so far has Been positive. The setting up was very straight forward

Pros:

So user friendly ease in navigating through the system.

Cons:

Nothing so far the support i received in setting it up was excellent

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Great to hear you're finding the software useful! Just let us know if you need any more support in the future.

Demi-Louise
Manager in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Training

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: training very good and useful.

Pros:

system seems very self explanatory, easy to use, user-friendly. e-learning courses included.

Cons:

Rota system seems very basic, unable to use for health care settings - means we need to pay separately for secondary roster system. does not include invoicing customers.

BrightHR Response

3 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We would love to know more about how you would use the rosters in your sector and how we can improve the functionality to support your business. If you could get in touch at [email protected], we would love to hear more.

STANLEY
Director in UK
Security & Investigations, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

BRIGHT HR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: SIMPLIFIES OUR HR SYSTEM.

Pros:

EASY TO USE, AND VERY EFFECTIVE TO OUR ORGANISATION.

Cons:

CAN'T UPLOAD SHIFTS ON IT FOR STAFF TO BOOK.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review!

des
Managing Director in Sweden
International Trade & Development, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New User

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Had considered alternative products but Bright HR was highly recommeded by an associate organisation. The experience thus far has been exceptional from the initial contact up to where we are now.

Pros:

Ease of use, but more importantly the level of professionalism which which the product has been offered, implemented and supported.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike as yet - will keep you informed

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

This is fantastic to hear! Glad to hear about your positive experience with BrightHR.

carl
Owner in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nev's News & Booze

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good

Pros:

Straight forward once explained! Great to have software to help my business to run smoothly.

Cons:

I don't really use any software as were only a small business I'm hoping it will help me run my business run much more efficiently. The only thing I can say I least liked about the software was the price!

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! If you do need any support in getting started just let us know, we're here to help.

Penny
HR Administrator in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Bright HR

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Looking forward to using the software soon.

Pros:

Really easy to use the software and it seems to be flexible, which is really important in my non-standard business.

Cons:

For the annual leave, it would have been good to have an option to allow people to view everyone's annual leave without being able to authorise requests.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review! Great to hear your feedback.

Rachel
Rachel
SEO Consultant
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: As a small business, we've found this app incredibly useful and a great addition to the whole BrightHR package. It does exactly what it promises with a really easy to understand user interface; can't fault it really!

Pros:

Easy to use with a fun and simple design, plus it helps us out with our HR!

Cons:

None actually...we really like this app!

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! Just get in touch if you need any support in the future.

david
director in UK
Civil Engineering, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

life saving company

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: great . i really feel that they have put the company in a better place

Pros:

apps and easy to follow structure helped me create all docs and saved it online

Cons:

at first overwhelming but had someone come in and broke it down

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

This is great to hear! We're always happy to help if you do need any support in the future.

Denis
Operations Manager in Ireland
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pleasant

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Clean, very user friendly, with good features.

Cons:

A tool to import data into the system would be much appreciated, also connectivity with Bl!p

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Great to hear this positive feedback! We're always looking at ways to improve what we do and have passed on your great feedback to our development team.

Jo
Owner in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great help

Pros:

Helps people that’s new with dealing with employees with simple software package with all you need.

Cons:

There was nothing I didn’t like about it.

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Brilliant to hear! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Jamie
Director in UK
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Future Proof

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good

Pros:

Very easy to use and perfect to future proof us as a business

Cons:

Having to input data, But once its done its done!

BrightHR Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5* review!