Canada Local product

Payment Evolution Reviews

4.1 (38) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Payment Evolution

Payroll solution in Canada - process payroll quickly and efficiently.

Learn more about Payment Evolution

Pros:

Vendor payments are simple too. Integrations with accounting software make our lives easier: no manual journal entries.

Cons:

It's very difficult to rely on something as critical as payroll if they lock your account -while- you are upgrading.

Payment Evolution ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Payment Evolution has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 38 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Payment Evolution before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (38)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Individual & Family Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

I am very pleased with this product

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: After using a PC based software which was difficult to use and didn't report the way we needed, this is a dream! We had an accountant and Point of Sale system and just needed a payroll component. This really fit the bill and so far, is working beautifully. It's so automated and yet, there are many ways to customize it (for example, vacation pay calculations for your province). I haven't found a way that it will calculate stat pay though. Remittances were a breeze with this easy app.
Each employee is sent the pay advice into their email or it can be printed for them.
As one starts the payroll run, all the information is filled out: the pay period dates, the hours if the employees are paid the same every pay period (so just change it to the hours they actually worked), their pay rate, etc.
Since it is cloud based, it can be run from anywhere around the world.
I am very pleased with this product. I actually look forward to payroll now.

Pros:

Easy to use. Product support was amazing for the couple of questions I have had. Cost effective at $17/month (no hidden add-on fees) Communicates payroll effectively with employee

Cons:

I couldn't find a way to export employee information from my software to Payment Evolution, so had to enter it manually. With 10 employees it was fairly simple and just had to enter YTD amounts along with employee information.

Kyle
Director in Canada
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Biggest mistake was leaving Payment Evolution...but they took me back

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Payment Evolution was my first experience with online payroll, and it beat the pants off Quickbooks! I halfed my payroll entry time, quartered my time spent on ROEs, and getting rid of cheque payments to staff while providing them with online record keeping all was good.
Then came the price restructuring and I found myself one staff member into the higher tier, and the competition offered a 'we'll match PE and save you another 10%'. WORST thing I have ever done was leaving PE. 8 month of inflexible software, overly complex user interface, errors, painful online reporting for staff, & customer service nightmare! I am so glad Payment Evolution was willing to take me back. Completely the opposite experience: support that knows what they are doing, that proactively offers assistance in a timely manner, intuitive software that is simple enough that I can usually find the answers I need on my own. They have written code just for me. I can't say enough good things about them.
My only pain (other than inconvenient for me pricing tiers) is that they haven't made their Business Payment service available to us Quickbooks offline folks yet. Yet.

Pros:

Intuitive. Everything is simple and straightforward. I can figure out 90% of what I need to do myself, and in those 10% situations the support forum has descriptions detailed enough to get me back on track.

Cons:

There is one text box that doesn't trigger when you press enter, instead you have to press the send button...grrrr...and its logout for inactivity is slightly too short for my liking.

PaymentEvolution Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the feedback Kyle! We're really to happy to have you back and appreciate the feedback you've given us on pricing plans. QuickBooks (desktop) integration is available for payroll but not for business payments as you've pointed out. We're continuing to look at the business case for supporting QB desktop for business payments - it's a bit of a challenge given the offline nature of the product. - Kinga Jasek

Cal
Owner in Canada
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Unnecessary fees / Long processing times

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Honestly I wish there was another system I could use, but payment evolution will continue to get my money until something else comes along.

Pros:

Processes payroll pretty easily and stat holidays are easily inputted. Saves a lot of time on T4's. Employees get their own log in portal so they go there instead of to me directly for pay stubs.

Cons:

You only have a 1 day window to process your payroll so it comes out on the day you want. My pay period ends on Saturdays so I only have Sunday to do it for it to be deposited on Friday-Because it's an unnecessary 5 day processing time. This also means if there is a holiday on a Friday, the employees pay ends up being 3 days late. They also charged me $60 because an employees bank account was unknowingly suspended. Paying a pricey yearly fee and with having a large number of employees, this is not something that I should be charged for. I lost all trust in PE after this charge, especially when they only let me know AFTER I had processed another payroll for this employee so I actually got charged the fee TWICE- the employees pay wasn't even this amount before they charged me again. Super disappointed. Reports are a little over complicated as well. I create a custom report for payroll monthly and its usually missing weeks and makes life hard.

Nancy
Operations Manager in Canada
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product and Service

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been using the software for a few years and it is very easy to use. We appreciate the helpful emails with online seminars for generating T4's at year end. The customer support staff are very friendly and always so helpful.

Pros:

It is an easy software to use for those just starting up a business. It also provides a lot different reports that are helpful.

Cons:

I think the only con would be the section where you have to close off a month when generating payroll. It sometimes gets confusing and it splits out the source deduction amount by pay rather than month. We pay per month, so it would be beneficial to have the total of the 2 or 3 months deductions noted in one amount for submission.

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Nancy! we are always looking for ways to better our product. Closing a period can get confusing and because everyone has a different way as to how they would like their period closed, we are working on a way that works for everyone. Thank you for your feedback!

Kelly
office manager in Canada
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

payment evolution

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

This software is a great way to prepare and keep track of all your year end and day to day payroll needs.

Cons:

Can take a bit of time to learn how to properly use.

Tracy
Accounting in Canada
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Payroll Review

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have been using payment evolution for over 1 year. I find it user friendly and if I do have a question the customer service is fantastic. I love the webinars as well, I don't usually need them but the few I have joined were great!

Pros:

very user friendly

Cons:

sometimes things always as clear as they could be ex. the vacation pay, when paying everything out it puts a zero which when it is your first time doing that can be quite confusing.

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Tracy! We are so happy to hear that you frequent our webinars and find them useful! We will definitely be looking for a way to make the vacation payout much more clear. thank you for the feedback!

Alexander
Tax Professional in Canada
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good decision for Payroll for small business.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: No problem with Payroll (at all) + direct deposit + XERO integration.

Pros:

Super Payroll software for small business firms. Free version for simple payroll till five (5) employee! Free XERO integration.

Cons:

Really I don't know. May be it has some inconvenient things for difficult (complicated) Payroll, but for simple Payroll - it is great!

Ange
Global Payroll Manager in New Zealand
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Makes running your payroll a breeze

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have recently transferred our payroll to Payment Evolution and it is a breeze to use. Once you have set up the basics (which is very easy to do) you are away. I am based in New Zealand so am not fully familiar with Canadian payroll legislation/benefits but the team at Payroll Evolution are extremely helpful and explained everything to me in plain English. The reporting is pretty good too and our employees have been blown away with PayChequer. I would definitely recommend this payroll system!

Pros:

I love having control of our payroll PLUS it tracks vacation!

Cons:

The reporting could be better - there are some reports that are only produced in .pdf format. All reports should be downloadable in Excel!

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Ange, We are so happy to hear that your employees have been blown away with our PayChequer services and that our payroll has been a breeze! Thank you for your feedback in regards to reporting as well. We will definitely be looking to improve them and make them more accessible.

Alan
Alan
Co-Founder in
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
4.0 7 years ago
Helina
Helina
CFO, Management Consultant in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Payroll App from an Awesome Company

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy payroll runs.

Pros:

Easy to set up and run payroll. The team is very open to feedback and making the product awesome for its users. Vendor payments are simple too. Integrations with accounting software make our lives easier: no manual journal entries!

Cons:

Stat holiday pay is not handled in the app yet. The data table for entering the payroll hours, etc. for the pay period is clunky and needs to be flipped vertically.

Travis
Founder and designer in Canada
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product idea  needs serious design investment

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's great that you guys have this service, but to be honest, I feel very uncomfortable actually using it and sort of regret paying for a year (we haven't done a full payroll yet, despite nearly completing the process several times). The main issues for me are the overall user experience, buggy/sloppy interface, and confusing flow. It really feels like you don't care about the design of the interface, which reduces my trust in the system. Also some big functional oddities, like requiring separate accounts for the admin and their own employee account, is a huge pain. There's also little explanation of how the flow needs to work, and which info is required before you start the payroll process. And lastly, having to run payroll a few days in advance makes it awkward to get started if you're accustomed to doing it the day before which may be a bad habit on my part, but does prevent me from committing to PE. If I were you, I'd suggest investing in some great UX and UI design. It would really make all the difference in the world for us. It HAS to be better than our current method of running payroll (have our accountant help us with the proper deduction amounts and manually paying everything via our online banking) which actually isn't that bad. Even a tightening of the UI would go a long way. I have to be honest, I can't see us renewing again. I wish there was another alternative we could use in Canada, but unfortunately, we'll probably just stick to what we do now.

Pros:

The actual function of running payroll and calculating deductions is a great and useful idea.

Cons:

The design needs some serious polish and improvement. (not just the aesthetics, but the overall userflow, experience, etc)

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Thank you Travis for your review. We are grateful that many of the features of our service benefit your business and have saved you time. Our goal is to ensure PaymentEvolution is one of the easiest and most robust services to automate your back office. We appreciate your candid remarks about the UI not being as intuitive for you and our team is looking at how to make the process even better. We'll be in touch shortly to get some specific recommendations from you. This and the requests we receive in our public help forums drive the development of our services. Again, thank you for your feedback - we love hearing how we can do better.

Stephen
Founder in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deeply flawed, too many costly mistakes

1.0 10 months ago

Comments: It started great, but straight-forward mistakes that a competent system would catch have eclipsed any potential savings. Just get some decent software. Maybe this will work for you, maybe it wont, but you won't know until it's way too loate.

Pros:

Easy to setup. Mostly friendly interface for the small business owner

Cons:

Way too many hidden fees. We signed up for the free plan (not a trial), 6 months later that plan must have dissappeared because suddenly we were forced to upgrade to paid plan. I wouldn't have minded, but our account was suspended and I was unable to process payroll until we upgraded. There were issues with the KYC which meant I was unable to process payroll for several weeks. It's very difficult to rely on something as critical as payroll if they lock your account -while- you are upgrading. The software also failed to remit to Revenue Quebec for employees who don't get direct deposit. On weeks where only cash-based employees were working, PE charged us the for remitting & then sent a $0 RQ. This year I was pleased to find automated submission of year-end files to CRA & RQ. Unfortunately, PE generated an invalid XML file and so the submission to RQ failed. I would be happy to do the submission myself - I could hand-edit the xml file to be correct - but there is no way to download the files. Support would be great, but it's only for paid plan. This would be fine, if PE didn't charge you for every action at every step of the way already.

PaymentEvolution Response

10 months ago

"Stephen T" - we encourage you to contact us directly with constructive feedback so we can continue to enhance our services for the community. "Gartner Digital Markets" / Capterra currently does not verify that reviews are from actual clients. All reviews on this site are subject to their "privacy" policy which encourages anonymous and potentially non-factual reviews. For verified reviews and honest feedback, please get in touch [email protected]

Verified Reviewer
Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Use a different payroll software

2.0 4 years ago

Pros:

They will remit your taxes for you if you pay for that option. In terms of use for running the payroll it is fairly easy.

Cons:

I've had it with PE's program. My last straw was just pulled. I spent the last 2.5 hours entering T4A's manually thinking it was saving each one each time I hit save and it said it was saved. It didn't save any of them. This is stacked on the fact that their software had a glitch and showed bills weren't paid when the payment actually did go through the first time. This technological error resulted in a substantial double withdrawal from the bank account. I also think it is a ripoff that it costs money any time you have to make a change. With other payroll software where the Bookkeeper is in charge you can amend and delete things without it costing $30-$100 each adjustment. Overall, I think there are way better options out there, and I know because I have used them. Just having 2.5 hours of my work go down the drain when I still had another 3 to go is my final straw. I will be using other software for clients going forward. I had come to this conclusion years ago, but was forced to use it again when a client had already been signed up with PE.

Tina
Office Manager in Canada
Financial Services Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent software and great customer service

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have had an excellent experience using Payment Evolution for the last year for our companies payroll. The system is beyond easy to use. They are always offering webinars to help with common questions or issues. Their customer service is absolutely amazing. They are fast and I have never had an issue they couldn't help me resolve.

Pros:

Easy to use Great resources on site to help with problems or issues Great customer Service

Cons:

Reports are not the easiest to interpret and some critical reports are not offered

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Tina, Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that PaymentEvolution has been helping you with your payroll! Thank you also for your feedback. We will definitely be looking into ways to make our reports more accessible to our clients.

Tina
HR Coordinator in Canada
Insurance Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Payroll Made Easy!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our business has used Payment Evolution as our payroll provider for over a year now. We love the platform because it is so sophisticated yet easy to use - we save time, money and appreciate how simple it is to pay our employees!

Pros:

I like the look, cost, customer support

Cons:

Wish the reporting function was more detailed. Looking through pay stubs needs to be updated - there should be a drop down menu instead of a click to go to the next employee

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Tina, We are happy to hear that you love our platform and that we are saving you both time and money! Thank you as well for the feedback that you have provided. We will definitely be looking into our reporting to help make accessing payslips much easier. Look forward to working with you!

DeeDee
CFO in Canada
Fund-Raising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy Payroll

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Thank God for Payment Evolution. It has made our payroll and T4 time much more effective. Our payroll takes about 1/2 the time. Every support email has been addressed quickly. I have always been satisfied with this system.

Pros:

How easy it is to do payroll.

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi DeeDee Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that we helped cut your payroll time in half! We hope business is going well and look forward to continue to work with you.

Aly
CEO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An amazing software, built by amazing people!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The team at Payment Evolution has created a simple and intuitive platform that helps make our lives easier. More importantly, any time we've needed support, the team has been quick to respond and are incredibly friendly. I'd highly recommend Payment Evolution!

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

none

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Aly. Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that PaymentEvolution has been making your life easier!

Trina
General Manager in Canada
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Program

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I love Payment Evolution! The only recommendation I have is the printing of pay stubs - perhaps I am not doing it correctly, but the way it prints is not the most appealing.

Pros:

Cost and ease of use

Cons:

Printing of reports

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Trina, Thank you for your kind words. There are ways within the system to modify the way you print your cheques to match your cheque stock. If you need a hand on completing this, feel free to contact us directly, we are happy to help.

Robert
President in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Payroll Review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Quick and easy to use. Great support as well. Save me time doing my paper work and makes it easier for employees to get paied.

Pros:

Quick and easy to use

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Robert! Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that PaymentEvolution is making it easier for you to pay your employees!

Todd
owner in Canada
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Payroll needs too many days notice to run with direct deposit

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: wouldn't recommend, there has to be an easier, and more cost effective way to do payroll, I'm thinking of going back to cheques because it is easier. I don't see any benefit of this system over a standard system like QuickBooks.

Pros:

does the taxes... allows direct payments to vendors, however, I would NOT recommend the service, you have to pay for a setup fee, the transaction fee is the same or more than the bank.

Cons:

need to submit payroll too far in advance to allow direct deposit to work. popup after every change slows the entry process cant change multiple items then click save reporting is clumsy all of naivgation is clumsy not very good instructions on how to run a payroll or hoe to set up properly, maybe better for an accountant but not for a general business owner

Alexandra
Owner in UK
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to set up and use. Put the control back in our hands for payroll management.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cheaper, faster, easier and more control over payroll!

Pros:

We took our payroll in house a few months and so far we are really impressed with how easy Payment Evolution has been to use. Training and setup were easy and quick. We were able to customise all kinds of aspects of the system from the content of the pay stub emails to the various deductions for full time staff members. Not having to pick up cheques and distribute paystubs is way more time effective and we feel like we have greater control over our company's payroll.

Cons:

Some of the areas of the software are not intuitive for users who are new to payroll.

Olumide
Canada
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I find it relatively easy to use even with little knowledge about payroll/remittance to CRA. Needed something fast and efficient to do payroll and remittance for 1 employee and my experience has been excellent so far. Like the idea i can find all previous remittances in one place and the fact that T4 generation at year end is a breeze. In addition, employee gets a customized location where their payslips are stored for easy access.

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Thank you for your feedback! we are SO happy that you are finding our system fast and efficient for your business. We are so happy to have you on board!

Charlotte
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Really easy to use payroll

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: With the new year we decided to look for a new payroll service to manage payroll for our 17 employees. We were using QuickBooks but the price kept going up. We took a look at PaymentEvolution payroll and were immediately impressed by the simple interface. I actually learned how to use it within just a few minutes - and within about 15min of registering, we had finished our first payrun. Best of all, PaymentEvolution sends the payroll information to QuickBooks so our accountant is happy. Pros:
- easy to use
- fast to setup
- integrates with QuickBooks
Cons:
- Canada only (for now we're told)

Marissa
Executive Director in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Andrea's help with Year-End/T4 Generation

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Andrea's support was amazing, we could not have done it without her. Her knowledge and sense of urgency was very much appreciated. Thank you for everything!

PaymentEvolution Response

6 years ago

Hi Marissa :) thank you for the great feedback! we look forward to working with you in the future.

Michelle
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Really a very easy and user friendly solution

5.0 11 years ago

Comments: For any SMB living in Canada, PaymentEvolution is really a very easy and user friendly solution to use. With the exception of adding in employee information and salary amounts, the program basically does all the calculating and hard work for you. PaymentEvolution also offers different ways to pay employees as well as allows you to customize your payment options. Therefore I would recommend this program to any Canadian-based SMBs, with one caveat – that Vassa and his team think about taking this solution slightly to the south…

Pros:

it is scalable and customizable

Cons:

Limited to Canada