15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Suralink

Simplify the audit process while improving the client experience through automated PBC request list and document management.

Learn more about Suralink

Pros:

The integration with PFX Engagement has been invaluable.

Cons:

I did find it hard at first to locate where to gather the requests and enter them. I also found it a bit annoying to have to log in and monitor what came in.

Suralink ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

Suralink has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 398 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Suralink before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (398)

Mike
Mike
Partner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Suralink Enhances and Simplifies Audit Evidence Collection Process

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall we've really enjoyed using Suralink and recommend it to all. Support is great too. Easily add licenses as needed.

Pros:

Gone are the days of having a DRL or PBC that you manage in an Excel spreadsheet over e-mail or in a Dropbox, Box, or Sharepoint. Suralink does it for you with individual line items for each request, easy drag & drop to upload files, easily download all or just new files, track status, assign owners to requests, make requests private, and more. Can be used for any audit or advisory project where you need evidence from the client. Pay per firm user. Storage is unlimited, client engagements are unlimited.

Cons:

Suralink is still developing new functionality. Just released some new APIs that should help. Security only has 2 levels: Staff or Manager.

Alternatives Considered: Dropbox Business, Box and Smartsheet

Reasons for Switching to Suralink: Suralink was the best solution for managing an audit engagement's evidence collection process. It's specifically designed for this.

Suralink Response

4 years ago

Thanks for such a great review, Mike! We're glad you're finding value from Suralink. We're also happy to discuss new feature requests anytime. If there's ever anything we can do, please don't hesitate to reach out!

Christian
News Editor/Journalist in Denmark
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Seamless Collaboration with Suralink

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, I am very pleased with my experience using Suralink. The user-friendly interface combined with the powerful collaboration tools make it the perfect choice for teams that need to get work done quickly and without any hassle.

Pros:

I recently switched over to Suralink for all my online collaboration needs and I have been very pleased with the service so far. The interface is incredibly intuitive and the features make it easy to work with my team. The real-time comments and editing features are especially helpful and make it a breeze to get everyone on the same page quickly.

Cons:

The only downside I have experienced with Suralink is the occasional bugs. I have had a few documents take longer than normal to load or had some formatting issues when sharing a document with multiple users. However, these issues have been few and far between and have been quickly resolved with the help of the customer support team.

Dominick
Senior Account Manager in US
Accounting Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Suralink: Wiss/WEST Growth

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It works. I do not have experience with other software's so not certain how to compare. It would be great if it could integrate with iChannel

Cons:

I work for WEST Growth, LLC which is a subsidiary of Wiss and Company, LLP. I do not have any other experience with secure portal except for Suralink so I am not sure how useful my opinion is, however, I have several clients who complain about the UI. Basically, it is not very straightforward/learning curve involved.

Michael
Senior Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best PBC Request/File Share Site I Have Used

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Exceptional. I've used a few different PBC request/file share sites and none of them have come close

Pros:

Very simple to use, the client view is just like the audit team view so I can walk them through the site, easy to upload, has almost every feature we were looking for, and they are constantly upgrading based on my feedback

Cons:

No setup to send automatic status updates to clients throughout an engagement. Must remember to send them manually

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Suralink: Suralink had everything we were looking for. Internal softwares were clunky and no one knew how to use them

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to Suralink: Much more suitable for an audit engagement, easier to use

Bryce
Audit Manager in US
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficiency and Clarity

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am all in on this app. My clients are appreciating it too.
Efficiency on our side and theirs is up.

Pros:

I really like the ability to go in, as an audit manager, and get an idea of the status of the audit is. I can see how responsive the client is. I can see how responsive staff is being. This allows me to focus on my attention on the clients that are being responsive. This is very important during busy season. I am constantly in Suralink during busy season, even if staff is doing the interacting with the client. I am also quickly finding the power of the status reports that are sent out to the client and I am beginning to only send communication to the client through the status report function rather than email from Outlook.

Cons:

The process of switching from one engagement to another takes one or two steps more than I would like. Maybe having a tool/navigation bar on the side could help.

John
Business Technology Manager in US
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Completely streamlined audit process

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Our organization is extremely complex due to the fact that we have a large number of Legal Entities. The ability to create Audit PBC templates and simply copy those across all our entities in mass has reduced the administrative burden to near-zero time spent by our IT team. The administration is simple enough that our External Auditors own 95% of the process. Prior to adopting Suralink, this process was maintained on SharePoint and was an extremely burdensome process for our organization.

Cons:

It would be nice to create dynamic PBCs based on a questionnaire. Often times the nature of our legal entities will create additional PBC items. This is ruled base and could be automated, but is manageable to manually track.

Elizabeth
Audit Senior Manager in US
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Suralink daily to send and track audit document requests from clients and it works seamlessly and quickly.

Pros:

This product is easy to use, timely, and helps immensely in tracking information and client requests.

Cons:

Often the notification summary in the website gets too overwhelming due to all the info it tracks--a different way to present the summary would be very helpful.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Suralink: Firm chose for us but it has been very beneficial.

Emily
Audit manager in UK
Accounting Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Making everyone's life easier!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has helped us have greater oversight of audit queries and requests for information and how the client has fulfilled these requests. Organisation and efficiency has greatly improved.

Pros:

The ease of use, the user-friendly interface which provides just the right amount of information for both us and the client.

Cons:

If someone else set's up the client then it doesn't seem to appear on my dashboard when i'm invited to it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Suralink offers structure and a visual representation of the project progress for internal and external users. It allows us to track at any level of granularity depending on the project and the client.

Pros:

Suralink offers the flexibility needed for any size company to properly customize the product to reflect core processes. The visual representation of the project progress is very appealing to me and my customers.

Cons:

Depending on how structured the existing process is, it can be a little time consuming to setup the initial templates. But once the templates are configured, it is very quick to spin up a new project.

Katy
Senior Staff in US
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Audits!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sometimes the clients are slow in adapting, and still try to email documents. I continually nudge them to use Suralink, and it's working well.

Pros:

It allows both the clients and the audit team to track the status of the engagement. You can make comments, upload files, and watch as your audit goes from 100% outstanding to 100% complete!

Cons:

That I cannot delete comments on the engagement once the area is fulfilled.

Elisabeth
Sr. Project Coordinator in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and Customizable

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Because our product and process can be a bit complicated or hard to keep in order, Suralink is helpful to compartmentalize different aspects of the process. Marking requests as resolved or rejected is helpful to help our customers focus on the things that are most important.

Pros:

Suralink is easy to learn; I haven't had any customers who are new to the software need help from me on how to navigate or upload/download documents which is a huge win! Our product that we provide to customers is totally unique per client, so having a fully customizable interface is required. Suralink allows this to happen quickly and easily with the option of cloning specific requests or engagements, if applicable to make work more efficient.

Cons:

There are a few buys as far as display that could be improved: - Comments sometimes post or reload with huge bits of gibberish as part of the text and remain that way indefinitely as far as I can tell. The text will run off the window making the comment much less useful. - The functionality to mark the notifications as 'read' often doesn't update so it still has the unread icon even after confirming that things have been read multiple times.

Marcus
Security Analyst in US
Security & Investigations, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great, but could be amazing

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love it. It could be slightly better, but so can everything else. Every customer that I work with love that it is so much easier than what some of their other audit companies have used.

Pros:

The ability to organize and manage my audit engagements with each of my customers. It is fairly simple for every company that I have worked with to see what tasks were needed to be completed and what tasks were complete. The tracking feature at the top, the one that displays the percentages, is really useful for keeping the customer focused on completing tasks.

Cons:

The management side of things. It is difficult to change requirement number, reorganize requirements, format wording in requirement descriptions, and filter requirements based on assigned users. Each of these features would help me customize each project and manage my customers. The filtering of requirements based on assigned users comment came directly from a customer. They had different users with client accounts in Suralink and the customers project manager wanted to filter requirements based on which employee he was talking to. I realize that this would be helpful to me as well.

Bradon
Accountant in Canada
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Suralink Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are solving the problem of clients taking a long time to upload documents. Having Suralink notify clients that we are uploading documents or changing requests reminds them that we are doing an engagement and they need to provide us with the information to complete it.

Pros:

I like that you can roll forward engagements that have been completed in previous years. I also like that we can keep all our documents in one place, and it tells us when clients have downloaded or uploaded documents to the site. It makes it easier to keep track of our engagements.

Cons:

it is difficult to navigate and hard to find resources to know how to solve something. For instance, we need to be invited to an engagement before we can see any or upload any documents that we need for an audit. I would like to be able to search for client and request to be part of the engagement team. It is hard to know if the client has a suralink set up or not because this is not an option.

Chace
Senior Auditor in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent for privacy for your clients

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would recommend using Suralink as a private document upload site for any company that wants to give their clients more sense of security.

Pros:

I appreciate that this software gives your clients peace of mind and a very private way to provide information to your firm and give them reassurance that their employees information won't be leaked on the web. It also is a great way to customize your requests to your client to get exactly the documents that you need from them.

Cons:

A few times the system has a glitch where I was not able to see my side of the Suralink and thus not able to download the documents that the client had uploaded.

Marquet
Audit Manager in US
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Suralink Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Suralink has been an extremely effective tool for my team and me and has created a significant amount of efficiencies. I have had the best experience with the customer support feature as well, it easy to use and my issues are resolved within minutes most of the time.

Pros:

How easy it is to use (for both my clients and my team), how organized it keeps document transfers between the client and my engagement team, the customer support feature, the ability to clone previous engagements' document request lists

Cons:

I don't like not being able to move requests around within a section, once you add a request to a category it automatically goes to the bottom of that section and I can't drag it to another location within the section

Megan
Manager in US
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Suralink is a Game Changer!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We receive documents faster, we eliminate long email chains, and we have a clean request list experience. All of our clients who use this have given us our request items fast than ever before and I attribute that to our ability to keep track of documents and provide status updates.

Pros:

Suralink has completely changed the way we receive audit documentation! Our clients love the ease of use and how they can drag and drop documents and leave comments. Our team loves that we can easily send status updates that are kind and still informative and reply to comments while eliminating long email chains. I will never go back to an excel list!

Cons:

I don't really enjoy having to format in a certain way, but I understand the need. And our clients would like to be able to add their own users instead of us having to do that every time.

Mike
Manager in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product. I'd Recommend It to Anyone

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is really easy to use for both me and my clients to use. No more losing files or wondering if files got lost in email. It's all there for both of us to see. It is easy to set up and modify your request list and categories. And when I forget how to use a feature, the customer service chat can help me resolve it very quickly.

Cons:

It is hard to think of anything. Sometimes I can't remember how to do something and I can't figure it out just by looking at my dashboard. But customer service is quick to respond to my questions and remind me how to use certain features so any problems are resolved immediately.

Dick
Principal Security Analyst in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Suralink made our job easier

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As a secure method of attaching lots of evidence for a large number of requests, Suralink has proven easier for both our firm, and our clients to use, than other much more expensive solutions.

Pros:

Being able to customize the excel template and upload a client-specific template each year. Also the search function is invaluable. We like that the reports can be made visible to a subset of the client users.

Cons:

Resequencing the requests is problematic, the sort function needs work.

Angela
Audit Associate in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

By FAR one of my favorite accounting tools

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

What is NOT to love about Suralink? It makes it incredibly simple to have my clients upload documents that we need, and that the whole team can access the documents in one place, instead of CCing each other on group emails, or forwarding audit support. It also is very helpful in that it tracks who uploaded specific documents and when, as that has helped our team more than once prove that something a client was saying was incorrect, and we had actual evidence to support it. Thank you Suralink team!

Cons:

Our firm had an issue with the way Suralink was rolling the documents from year to year, which caused hours of headache once I'd discovered it. We have thankfully since resolved the issue.

Stephan
Associate Partner in US
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unrivalled convenience

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Suralink has made requesting and receiving of large data files, easy, organized, user friendly and convenient with the ability to restrict access only to specific people in the same request setup. It has made a real difference to all in the public accounting industry.

Pros:

The ability to transfer and receive files too large for email, combined with the ability to limit access to specific persons. It is also super convenient that clients can drag requested files specifically to each request.

Cons:

There is very little to dislike. Since we started using it, PBC requests have been a total game changer compared to prior products.

Brittany
Senior Audit & Accounting Associate in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Functional & Fun!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Suralink is a great solution for safely and securely sharing files between associates and across networks. It is overall very convenient and user-friendly.

Pros:

I appreciate how easy it is to import lists and drag and drop items into categories. I also appreciate the fun quirks like jokes and messages when signing out!

Cons:

Some clients seem to have an issue with figuring out how to use Suralink. Perhaps there could be a better training or demo when users sign up, are invited to use, or log back in to use the software after a longer period of time (ex. 6 months).

Allison
Audit Director in US
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's a good product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are moving to paperless audits and tax work, which is a big deal for a public accounting firm.

Pros:

Clients love it. If our clients are happy, then we are happy.

Cons:

I wish there was an Administrator dashboard that showed me all of the uploads/activity since my last log on.

Henry
Senior Accountant in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient and easy to use!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The part I like most about Suralink is its ease of access and simple-to-use functionality for both auditors and clients alike. It's really helped to simplify the PBC process and create efficiencies.

Cons:

The part I like the lease about the software is the fact that, when you rollforward a request list, it does not rollforward the dates in the requests themselves. Other than that, I do not have any qualms with the software!

Noah
Director in US
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The Suralink team has developed an incredible tool that works flawlessly. This tool is a game changer. If you are using excel sheets and shared folders you are living in the stone age.

Pros:

Ease of use and user experience is awesome. Reliability is very high.

Cons:

Nothing to note. The software has performed well for us over the past 5+ years and the team has continually improved features.

Jordan
Associate in US
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use is off the charts

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall experience with Suralink has been great. I have been able to begin my job with less worries because Suralink was so easy to grasp.

Pros:

The ease of use of this software is what I enjoy the most. The software is very intuitive and easy to follow even for first time users, as I was. The Suralink software allows for communication and transfer of documents securely in as easy of a format as there is.

Cons:

The feature of Suralink that I like the lease is the DUO authentication that must be entered before logging on every time. Other apps in my organizations use allow for connect DUO authorization so it must only be entered once for all apps. Suralink requires an additional authorization to the one I must already enter.