15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About HR Partner

Simple, all-inclusive online HR Management system. Start this month to get 50% off for 6 months!

Learn more about HR Partner

Pros:

The team are available via email, on-line chat and even phone, which is rare and wonderful in an industry which is rapidly becoming very depersonalised.

Cons:

If a leave request is initiated by an Admin rather than an employee, the leave request will not display on the employee's recent leave requests.

HR Partner ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

HR Partner has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 77 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used HR Partner before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (77)

Catherine
Catherine
Office/Acct Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Online Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Human Resources is now efficient and company risk has been dramatically reduced with HR Partner

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As a growing organization, we have gone from no official HR tracking to having HR Partner fully implemented and scalable across our organization. This is complete with 'signable' employee handbooks, employee records for payroll, electronics and equipment tracking, recruiting and on-boarding, etc., all in one space. Implementing HR Partner has alleviated stress across management not only due to the ability to collate documents and time-off requests in one central location, but the ability to have checks and balances in place company-wide.

Pros:

The overall ease of use, layout and functionality was my main attraction to HR Partner. The platform is intuitive, with a plethora of options and the ability to personalize features was wonderful. The support from the team and online tutorials only made the set up process even easier.

Cons:

Nothing. Any time I had a question, the support team was readily available.

Alternatives Considered: Built for Teams and BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: Ease of use, responsiveness from the team when starting the demo and trial.

Gabriella
HR Officer in UK
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Wonderful!

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: HR partner has been an excellent software for our organisation. It has transformed how we manage and look after our employees. All the features are really useful and intuitive, and we have really enjoyed finding out what the system can do and how it can help with both our daily administrative tasks and wider strategy objectives. The system provides a great user experience for all staff as well, particularly when booking leave. We have had a fantastic onboarding process with [sensitive content hidden] who has been incredibly helpful and is always quick to assist us with our queries. The support team as well are brilliant and reliable and we would recommend this system to anyone who asks. The team behind HR Partner are always searching for ways to improve the software as well and listen to any feature requests we may have which is great. After searching for an HR system to use, we are very glad to have happened upon HR Partner!

Pros:

The approach to being introduced to this product was great by the support team. It was really easy to book a demo and find out all of the information. The support team didn't push the sale on us (as we found other companies did), instead they just showed us what it could do and we went through the various features and discussed how it might be a good fit for our organisation. The implementation was really good as well and we felt supported throughout. It also has great integrations with payroll and recruitment softwares as well.

Cons:

With any software there are a few things that can't be done however what we like about HR partner is that they always can find a way around this for you and if not can put through a feature request for you.

Alternatives Considered: Factorial, Softworks, BambooHR and Sage HR

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: A lot of these softwares have similar features and functions however HR partner felt much more tailored to a smaller organisation which we are and so felt more suitable (not to say that it isn't appropriate for larger organisations which it is as well!). As mentioned, we felt the demo session was great whereas a lot of the other softwares we looked into felt very much like a sales call and in cases quite pushy. Overall we really liked the look of HR partner as well and how it was very intuitive and user friendly.

Tobi
Governance, Risk and Compliance Manager in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great HR Management System for Small-Medium Businesses

4.0 last year

Comments: The customer service from HR partner is amazing. The team are very responsive to feedback and implementing improvement changes based on the user experience. It has been a pleasure working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] over the past 11 months. They are fantastic and always give tailored advice to work with our business needs.

Pros:

- Use of checklists and e-signatures modules for distributing policy/procedure information across our business as it allow's clear employee attestation.- Organisation chart at a glance- Ability for managers to track leave balances, education and training needs, add in important notes.- Adding reminders for tasks and expiry dates for training e.g. OH&S obligations

Cons:

- It would be great to be able to have approval or action workflows attached to Forms so the person the form is submitted to can then action it e.g. Company Expense Form submitted to a direct manager to then approve or reject.- Performance management module is very new to this software so further improvements are required re: automation of scheduling so that the review is actually assigned to the employee , improving notifications to managers re: tasks they have to complete .- Performance review forms cannot be modified without losing data already entered against the form, so a new form needs to be created each time a small change is needed.

HR Partner Response

last year

Hey there Tobi! Wow! What a glowing review of our support team - thank you, it means a lot! We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear all the things you love about the platform, but it's equally good for us to gain insight into those areas you feel could be improved. We fully take on board your suggestions and they've been added to the feature requests list. I would like to just pickup on a few though. First, it sounds like you may be using the Custom Forms module for expenses, rather than the Expense module itself. The Expense module allows you to build in very specific approval rules meaning claims can go straight to a person's manager and then potentially onto an Admin in Finance for example. We're sorry that changes to Form templates can cause them to break, though this will be the case with many form building tools out there. To help ease the frustration this may cause, you have the ability to create a duplicate of an existing form, so that you can just jump in and change what you need to change in the new version, rather than having to build the entire form from scratch. We'd be very happy to pickup either of these things on a call if you'd like, Tobi! Best, Cara

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HR Partner helped us scale from 50 to 500 employees

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Ease of use for our team to get started using it right away. Not to mention their customer support is top notch! They really care about their users.

Cons:

Not quite there as an all in one HRIS and recruitment software when it comes to feature set. But they are improving on this all the time coming out with new features.

David
Head Of Finance in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A leap from the past

5.0 last month New

Comments: Am having a really positive experience and easy access to support when needed has been really appreciated. Thanks.

Pros:

For the first time in the history of our company all HR can be found within the same space, no more spreadsheets, paper records, multiple people moving the same data around. I'm not HR manager but was able to set up and mostly configure the system within the 14 day trial period, and with the support of HR Partner was able was to roll out to employees within 3 weeks. So far team feedback has been very positive on look and feel.

Cons:

Nothing to add about the modules used so far.

Pauline
HR Manager in Singapore
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using HR Partner is definitely recommended!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Since we are all WFH, it very easy to manage our employees via HR Partner.

Pros:

HR Partner is easy to use and it's also easy to convert to from your current HR system. Their support desk is also quick, friendly and helpful and a lot can also be found in their manuals too.

Cons:

Integration with more job boards would be much appreciated and creating an app for smartphones too.

Alternatives Considered: BambooHR

Reasons for Choosing HR Partner: HR Partner has is a more complete HR system.

Switched From: OrangeHRM

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: The applications looked exactly what we needed for our available budget.

Rachel
Office Manager in UK
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing value

4.0 last year

Comments: A big improvement from our last system, excellent value and cannot fault the service we've received.

Pros:

This is a great product for SMEs wanting to streamline HR processes and save time. Really good value for the number of features that are included and compared to other HRIS on the market. Their support is second to none, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] always gets back to us super quickly.

Cons:

Annual leave seems overly complicated. Most other HRIS I've trialed, the leave has been straightforward and quite automated whereas this needs quite a bit of manual intervention

Alternatives Considered: Access PeopleHR, Bob, Personio, BambooHR, Moorepay (Formerly Natural HR) and Employment Hero

Reasons for Choosing HR Partner: Growth of the company, needed to streamline HR processes and reduce admin

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: HR Partner has a lot of features that others charge additional fees for. It's comparable to the most expensive on the market but for a fraction of the price

HR Partner Response

last year

Hey Rachel, Huge thanks for taking the time to write a review for us! It's so nice to hear that you're happy with the service we provide and that you see what great value HR Partner truly is. Setting up Time Off & Leave is usually one of the first things a new customer does, and it is one of the most complex areas of the system due to the amount of configuration options available to you. Perhaps you'd like to book in a training call with one of our Customer Success Team so that we can take a look over your policies and see if there is a way we can automate more within the module for you? If so, please send an email to [email protected] and we'll get something booked in! Best, Cara

Angela
Executive Assistant in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like the ease of use and the variety of features. HR Partner is well designed and intuitive for new users. It also has a lot of the features we need, which is what made it stand out against its competitors. Their support is also quick and helpful, even with the difference in time zones.

Cons:

There are a few features we wished were available like automatically calculating for federal holidays that all employees are given off and setting a maxed amount of hours per person without a new leave policy for each person. However, HR Partner has taken our feature requests and implemented multiple of them and we appreciate that collaboration.

Alternatives Considered: Jostle, MyHub, Igloo, Noodle and Papyrs

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: Price, responsive customer service, storage rules

HR Partner Response

5 years ago

Hi Angela, Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear HR Partner is helping make your job easier. With the federal holidays, you can now upload all the holidays for your country. See here - https://prnt.sc/oxz4p2 I hope this helps and please feel free to continue making suggestions :) Regards, Fiona

N'Teasha
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Purchase of 2020

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I'm an a startup and the process of setting up my business for new employees was daunting to me. Finding HR Partner eased the anxiety of how to properly set my business properly. Their training is great and clearly presented. It just solves my problems.

Pros:

I love everything about HR Partner, from how easy it is set up to how easy it is to onboard and manage employees.

Cons:

I wished it integrated with Quickbooks Self-employed

Alternatives Considered: RemoteTeam.com

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: The webinars are excellent in explaining the benefits of HR Partner and once you login the setup is so easy.

Chantal
Director in UK
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic comprehensive product with excellent support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Can't fault them, they're so easy to work with and I love the software.

Pros:

- the comprehensive functions, brilliant for small businesses - support is really responsive 24/7

Cons:

I'd love to see Zapier integration and there are a couple of features we've requested, but the company are really good at listening to feedback and do have a roadmap of functionality additions based on requests.

Stephanie
Owner in US
Facilities Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, and lots of options

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are loving it so far

Pros:

I like that it is a ONE STOP SHOP for all HR needs

Cons:

Learning curve. With the tutorial videos and help it has helped a lot.

Alternatives Considered: BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to HR Partner: App Sumo

Jimmy
President in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Decent HR Manager

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: it's good enough for the basics and for the price that I paid on App Sumo.

Pros:

I like that it's cloud based, mostly user friendly and user intuitive, so setup is easy, instructions are good enough

Cons:

it's not a full HR app, we still have to use Microsoft excel to track some things and then print it out and scan into HR partner, this is mainly for performance bonus tracking. Wish there was a way to have a bonus tracking function on the app. Maybe some type of excel function would be awesome

Rachel
Business Support in Australia
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Top Tier HR Management Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The support has been amazing. the team are very quick to respond to any questions. Overall I am support happy we picked HR Partner!

Pros:

The software is extremely easy to use and manage, which made implementing it to the whole team a quick and easy process.

Cons:

The only con would be that i wish the dashboard is more customisable, but I believe that is being looked into.

Stefani
Talent & Culture Team Leader in Canada
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Your all in one HR Software!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love so many features about HR Partner, so it's definitely hard to choose one, BUT if I had to choose, I would choose their leave feature. We are at a point in our organization right now where we were using SO many documents and files to keep track of all of our team members' leaves and it was just way too out of hand. With the leave feature, it definitely helps take a load off of our talent & culture team because we were able to add in managers as admins to now approve leaves.

Cons:

So far, I would say the display of the organizational chart could be better. If you have a lot of team members, the organizational chart cuts off and doesn't show the whole organization unless you change it to another view.

Violaine
Violaine
COO in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good software, affordable

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: great

Pros:

the onboarding is good, and the customer service is very friendly

Cons:

the recruitment and application tracking could be much better

Neil
HR Advisor in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product for small to medium sized businesses.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It has been great for us. We were looking at products which were available which were in budget and met our needs. HR Partner exceeded our requirements, and is within budget. The support is fantastic as well. I don't feel like a number - but a client who they care about.

Pros:

Easy to useEasy to implementSupport is fantastic and quickBespoke options are not expensive (for what we have required) Just a fantastic product

Cons:

Anything missing has been built or sorted for us.

Iris
VP, Finance and Operations in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Managing staff leaves

Pros:

My team members are very pleased with this software because they find it to be user-friendly and a great way to help them manage their leaves. Our company uses it primarily to streamline leave management and tracking processes. We will be exploring its many features in the near future with the goal of using them on an as needed bases. I highly recommend this software for any HR group!

Cons:

I wished I had learned about it earlier. It would have reduced a lot of unnecessary paper work.

HR Partner Response

5 years ago

Thanks so much for your review, Iris. Streamlining your leave management and making your job easier, is exactly what we set out to do :)

Jacob
Chief Operating Officer in Australia
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive and easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

HRPartner is simple to use, and helps contain a number of key human resources functions within the tool.

Cons:

User Management and permissions between Users and Administrators can be complicated / unclear.

John
Chief Financial Officer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

HRPartner

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: HRPartner are a very customer focused organization and are very responsive

Pros:

This is a very user friendly system and the support given is excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and the time have been brilliant in supporting us and are extremely responsive. I can not praise [SENSITIVE CONTENT] enough for her help

Cons:

Nothing - there is nothing I do not like about the product. Yes there are a few gaps but they are on the road map.

Jeremiah
Director, Digital Media in US
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helps me grow and organize

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I program my week in, and then HR Partner takes care of the rest. It is easy and helpful. Just keep adding features and keep the roadmap alive and this will become the top tier HR solution.

Pros:

This software lets me send automated reporting to my employees that sends reminders to their inbox. It also lets me track hours and checking so I can track my freelance staff.

Cons:

I wish there were more color schemes available to I could continue to customize the look. I also wish I could use it for multiple companies

HR Partner Response

3 years ago

Hi Jeremiah, Thanks so much for taking the time to review HR Partner. Please note that you CAN easily use HR Partner for multiple companies. When this is setup correctly you (and any other admin users you like) can easily switch between the different companies you have access to. You do need another account though. Please contact us if you'd like to discuss further. All the best, Fiona

Marigona`
Business Analyst in Albania
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best HR tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to use. And it works great without any technical issues.

Cons:

Its structure. The way how it processes the data.

Carlada
Owner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent product for small business

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

HR Partner is well suited for my small business. It helps with the recruitment to onboarding of a new staff member.

Cons:

I would love to see more integrations with some of the payroll processing systems and more reporting functions.

Shannon
Director in Australia
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for managing teams

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The features I like most about HR partner at the on boarding and interviewing process, centralise staff tracking and team evaluation.

Cons:

Only thing it doesn’t do is monitor time for our offshore team.

Nadine
Nadine
Founder in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Intuitive, Affordable and Complete HR Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It shows me everything I need to see in a snapshot, whether it's employee specific or company-wide. We save so much time bringing what used to be across so many SharePoint folders is now in one place with HR partner. I also love their super dedicated customer support, it's been ace since we joined.

Cons:

Nothing so far! It's growing with my company and allowing me to focus on my business.

Emily
Founder in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

What every small biz needs!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The layout and user experience are excellent.

Cons:

The recruitment feature could use some buildout.

HR Partner Response

3 years ago

Hi Emily, Thanks for your review - we're glad to hear you're enjoying using HR Partner. If there is anything you think could be improved with the recruitment, please let us know. Our platform evolves based on user feedback so we really love getting these types of insights.