15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About HelpCrunch

HelpCrunch is a top-rated customer communication platform. Increase conversions and sales, improve support, and grow faster!

Learn more about HelpCrunch

Pros:

Easy to integrate in my app. Mobile app so I can answer customers asap.

Cons:

The Widget looks sort of hard on the edges when using it on pc.

HelpCrunch ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

HelpCrunch has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 183 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used HelpCrunch before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (183)

Lana
Lana
CEO in Ukraine
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The software that really helps

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: HelpCruch has everything we need to automate the process of catching leads, providing necessary information to them and don't let them forget about us after we had a chat.
All the features are pretty detailed which helps to create what you really need. For instance, a pop-up. You can select different styles, colors, there is no limit on what you do. That's why your work with HelpCrunch is a pleasure.
One more thing, that will definitely win your heart is outstanding online customer support HelpCrunch has. They treat you not as a random user, but like a friend. Furthermore, they do release the features you request. They are just fabulous :)

Pros:

HelpCrunch has a user-friendly interface with all necessary features supported. I would say, the team has thought for us by creating top-notch functionality. It was a great surprise, uniquely different pop-ups, and automatic follow-ups. I would recommend to each new user to set up a demo call to see the full set of functions the HelpCrunch chat platform has.

Cons:

There is nothing I can list here :) Like... really nothing :)

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Lana, you made our team's day. Thanks for all the love! We're super glad to have you and supporthunt team as our loyal customers.

Thomas
Client Success Director in France
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent value-for-money Software for our SaaS business

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: While we were only looking for a chat solution, and had two bad experiences with competitors who had "automated solutions" where no-one was actually there to sort their bugs out. Helpcrunch, on the other hand was reactive from day 1. We were pretty quick to install it on our system (both website & SaaS). We programmed dozens of automated messages, also use it to push product news to our customers, and get quick feedback through the chat for our on-trial customers. Overall, I recommand Helpcrunch for Chat Messenging and E-mailing, though I have not tested all the options that are part of our package (such as the integrated Resource Center) I look forward for further developments of the solution in 2020 !

Pros:

- Complete suite for emailing and chat - Simple enough, yet highly customizable - Very reactive customer support teams

Cons:

- No Drip email marketing implemented (well, not yet as of 12/2019)

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Hey Thomas! Thanks a lot for all the comments. We're pumped you're with us. Would love for your to explore the Knowledge base (Resource Center) as well - it's really helpful if you want to automate your support and provide a self-service option for customers. If any questions, we're always there to assist you.

Andrew
MD in UK
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Web software ok. Mobile app non-functional. Service non-existent

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Refused to allow me to cancel, even though I attempted to do so on the renewal date, and even though their app isn't working, so I can't respond to customers through the app. They suggested that I could enable email notifications - completely negating the point of instant response.

Pros:

It was reasonably easy to install, although took a while to configure.

Cons:

Mobile app didn't work, so when I did get enquiries I wasn't able to respond, making it look like I didn't respond to my customers.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Hi Andrew! We really appreciate your review. Indeed there were some issues with the mobile apps in the last few weeks which a very small part of our customers have, unfortunately, experienced. You were one of them. We do realize that this has affected your communication with customers and your business. We're terribly sorry for that and just wanted to let you know that we listen to all the feedback and try to react asap. We're rolling out a new update already this week which is aimed to dramatically improve both iOS and Android apps performance and overall user experience, fix the issues you've experienced + provide some new exciting features. We really hope you'll be able to try out the updated apps. Our team would be looking forward to your feedback! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at any time. Take care!

Bhushan
Bhushan
Marketing Head in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sales Acquisition and Retention With HelpCrunch

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Initially, we tracked our user behaviour of users coming on to the page. With this we tried to figure out what time most of the user are active and online, this helped us to followup with the user effectively and also helped us to improve our conversion rates to 12%.
Now, we are trying to send multiple follow up messages from the start with strong CTA's and have seen significant growth in sales.

Pros:

Iam a noob developer and i have a responsibility of finding better customer relation management chat bot which improve my sales, i was on hunt for chatbots which is easy to use and customise, this is when i came across helpcrunch as i saw it gives me many integrations like mail and text where i get notified when an user has any concern. Along with this i also liked the customisation menu which is properly structured so that every entity can be changed with ease. As it also give 14 day free trial, this will altogether will get a customer and retain them effortlessly.

Cons:

I liked pretty much everything, only thing i feel like can be improved is widget customisation along with the sizes and colours, this will make completely handful to the user.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Hi Bhushan! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with HelpCrunch. Seeing those conversion, sales and retention metrics improve is what it's all about. As to the widget customization, we've looked at dozens of other live chat solution and couldn't find a more customizable chat widgets. On HelpCrunch you can change widget size, colors, and there are many other customization options to play with. Nevertheless, we're constantly adding new exciting tweaks and features to the live chat. Feel free to reach out to our team to share your suggestions. Cheers!

BJ
News editor in US
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very good software that drives customer interaction

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very pleased. Nice people, good software and good value for money.

Pros:

I love HelpCrunch. I have tried literally 50 programs out of the 200 or so that are out there. HelpCrunch was my choice after a long search, and I am so glad I did. The ease of use is extraordinary, and I am thrilled with the help I have received. I am a news editor so trying to actually launch a new software program is often hard as I found out doing free trials on other programs, but I was able to set up HelpCrunch in two hours one evening. It was a great use of time, because now I am finally seeing results when other software would draw crickets. So I would suggest HelpCrunch to anyone serious about communication.

Cons:

I would like to see Facebook Messenger integration which I know will be coming soon, but I would like it now.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thanks so much for the detailed review, BJ! We're looking to improve our user onboarding soon so it takes even less time to completely set up your account. And yes, facebook messenger integration is coming soon. Stay tuned! Appreciate your business.

Mitch
Mitch
Co-Founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great platform to directly connect with customers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far it's been great. I saw many people raving about their customer support and yes, it is legendary! So far I've only interacted with them twice and it's been great!

Pros:

I'm loving the macro systems which makes replying to help requests quick and easy, also the fact that you can connect and extend the functionality inside your app is going to be helpful. The best thing however I think is just how easy it was to get setup and start having real conversations with people.

Cons:

It's really a small thing, but I'm looking forward to when they can allow us to send verified email from our own domains. For the moment this isn't a deal killer for us, but it will be nice to have the highest deliverability possible using our own custom domains.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Thanks so much for the kind words, Mitch!

Jelena
Jelena
Sales manager in Lithuania
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I have been using and testing numerous apps so far, and Helpcrunch is truly a winner.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The best option for small businesses

Pros:

User-friendly admin panel, great price, very helpful support, best-written knowledge base. The best alternative to Intercom. Lots of options. I am not even sure if I need a chatbot anymore, as there are enough options for using messages and popups. Easy to use for anyone. My newly hired inexperienced customer support agent just turned it on and understood all the features immediately.

Cons:

Sending verified emails from our own domain would be good to have. However, support agents say it is coming.

HelpCrunch Response

3 years ago

Thanks for your review, Jelena! Custom email domains feature will be added in the future for sure.

Sumeet
Sumeet
Founder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Intercom Slayer is Here

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We're very much satisfied with the HelpCrunch and it was our wise decision to switch from Zendesk Suite. They really helped us in the migration and setting up our accounts. The pricing is very affordable.

Pros:

What did I like most? Everything! Literally from the white glove support to user-friendly APIs. Plus the Android App is so amazing and very developed.

Cons:

Nothing as such though we're looking for many more direct integrations with Salesflare and Platformly. Plus an SEO friendly Knowledge Base.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thanks a lot for the review, Summet! We really appreciate the kind words. Our SEO-friendly Knowledge base is coming already this month - we will for sure let you know when it's released so that you can implement it for your business.

Francisco
Francisco
CEO - Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid, stable and easy to use platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have increased the speed of our customer support team, happy customers and happy support agents.

Pros:

Bugs free Easy to setup Affordable Stable and reliable Support Team Trustworthy

Cons:

Lack in some integrations to extend functionalities and integrate with CRM's.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

So great to see you've improved customer support team results with HelpCrunch! Be sure more integrations are coming later this year ;)

Susan
Susan
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Software With All the Bells & Whistles Included

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our overall experience with HelpCrunch has been stellar and we've already made several extra sales that could have been lost because we were able to proactively reach out to website visitors and guide them along.

Pros:

I've been looking for a help desk tool that combined the functionality of a helpdesk with the proactive in app messaging like Intercom. I've used both ZenDesk and HelpScout in the past and they just kept getting more expensive as they added features and functionality and it was getting cost prohibitive for our very small company. Now we have a solution that has everything we were looking for at a fraction of the cost.

Cons:

The only issue we've had is that there are so many features, the learning curve to understand and implement everything is a bit steeper than previous solutions. But that will go away as we continue to learn about and implement the tool.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Fantastic to hear about your results, Susan! We're looking to improve every feature onboarding very soon, so that you can learn quicker why and how you may want to use certain functionality.

Rodney
Ceo in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Has promise

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Support wasn’t great for a support software company. Very Slow software, they need to invest in a CDN of something.

Pros:

Price is the best feature of this software. Overall the software has promise but isn’t quite ready for prime time. They are trying to Copy intercom so if you would like someone similar to intercom this software could suit.

Cons:

Support was ok to poor and they are over charging for importing data into the system (quoted me $300+). Their iOS app isn’t the best, does not refresh correctly and isn’t that user friendly compared to intercom. The part that annoyed me was the speed of the system in Sydney Australia. 6 secs to load images on their site (confirmed with speed test sites too). Just too slow and support the fact they are not quite ready for prime time. Maybe another year they will be

Max
Managing Director in New Zealand
Airlines/Aviation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ever-improving, powerful alternative to Intercom

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great customer service, willing to listen to any and all requests.

Pros:

HelpCrunch was the clear choice for me because of their value for money services, compared to other expensive Support systems. They are continually improving and adding features which is great.

Cons:

I've been a customer for a couple of years and it was originally a more simple Chat solution but now they have developed and extended their platform with other features.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

It's awesome to have you with us, Max!

Puneet
Puneet
Assistant Manager - Digital Marketing in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are trying to automate the email communication to be sent to our seller base based on actions they perform on our platform. Helpcrunch offers a great way to achieve our marketing as well as business goals.

Pros:

The platform is easy to use and it's auto message functionality lets us connect custom data variables in our backend to theirs. And we are getting good email open rates so far.

Cons:

We are expecting some features around: 1) Connecting a custom email domain. 2) Reports for auto messages.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review, Puneet! We're pumped you're seeing success with your marketing automation campaigns. We're definitely looking to add more features to our marketing software pretty soon which will help you in increasing your user engagement. Stay tuned!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good alternative to Intercom

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Feature packed and with good support, HelpCrunch is a great alternative to Intercom. It has chat, notifications, emails, and targeted data triggers which helps you improve both product and onboarding users.

Cons:

It can get pricy too if you have a lot of users (operators) answering the chat.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Thank you very much for your review. I'll forward your thoughts on pricing to our product team for review. Of course there're some services that are somewhat cheaper than HelpCrunch and even free, however comparing to Intercom we're more than affordable :) It would be really great if you could share your thoughts on other services that provide the same functionality as HelpCrunch does while being cheaper. This will definitely help us.

Tyler
Tyler
Director of Hitting/Player Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Intercom Alternative

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I started out on the free trial and loved it. Ended up getting one of their deals and stopped for a little while because our company was going through some issues. As we got back up, I bought an LTD and am so happy to use them again!

Pros:

They have every function you need and are constantly adding more features

Cons:

I wish the widget had more features to customize the view. Such as the company logo

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thanks, Tyler! By the way, you can definitely put your company logo inside the chat widget. It's the first setting you will find in the widget customization options. In case of any questions, you can always reach out to our support team via chat.

James
Co-Founder in UK
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Highly recommended, excellent support and easy to use

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Better customer engagement and ongoing customer relationship improvement.

Pros:

I first found the HelpCrunch site when searching for alternatives to Intercom and had a brief chat with a live chat agent. I then re-visited 2 days later and was able to continue the conversation exactly where we'd left off. Their support is outstanding. The installation and setup of the software is impressively fast and very and easy to understand. I had it up and running on our site within 2 minutes. Their admin interface is easy to navigate too, I tested a chat message and it popped up instantly. We now use HelpCrunch daily to better connect with our customers. It helps us to onboard, support and retain our users better.

Cons:

It would be fantastic if an Android app was available so I could more easily talk to customers whilst out and about. However, it's pretty easy to respond via email if necessary.

HelpCrunch Response

6 years ago

James, thanks so much for you warm feedback. We expect the Android app to be ready this week. Stay tuned!

Lazar
Lazar
Social Media Manager in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Truly the best software out there

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: 11/10. Thanks to HelpCrunch, I managed to triple the engagement on my personal website and manage to simplify the process of giving stuff for free with a single click. Also, according to visitors, they had top notch thanks to HelpCrunch.

Pros:

I’m using a pro version od LiveChat and I must say it is AWESOME! 🔥 While I was redesigning my personal website, I had a goal to make it truly unique, and HelpCrunch made it happen :)

Cons:

Everything is good, there’s truly nothing I dislike.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Your review made our team's day! Thanks much, Lazar :)

Joe
CEO in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great Concept but needs work

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The idea of 3 in 1 is great , chat, ticket system and email marketing all in one is a plus.

Cons:

It seems to be confusing at times which chats are new and which are old and there are some limitations on how to setup the software, if some basic things were different will make this software much better

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Hi Joe! Thanks a lot for your review. Great to hear that you're able to use HelpCrunch to the fullest. Would be great to know more about what you found confusing about new/old chats and the setup. If you have a minute, please get it in touch with our team via chat, we'd love to learn more about the issues you're experiencing so that we can fix those asap. Thanks in advance!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Nice pricing options and supports migration from previous tool

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It has lot of things bundled(like knowledge base, chat bot, email marketing, etc.) in it with awesome pricing options. Their chat widget is highly customizable to have a consistent look and feel with my website.

Cons:

No such major cons, it is a nice tool. Only thing which they can improve is their basic price option. The basic variant should have some more features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good priced chat platform with great support

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We have used the platform for 9 months and have experienced constant development of features and great support when needed. They also take our feedback into consideration and have released several features that meet our demands.

Cons:

Reporting could be improved. We use tags on the chats to be able to report and learn from the topics, but there is no easy way of doing this at the moment.

HelpCrunch Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your report. We have a few new reports coming soon. Stay tuned!

Konstantin
Konstantin
Marketing Specialist in Ukraine
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to set up and send marketing messages

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We were looking for a reliable communication solution for a reasonable price, and we got what we wanted.

Pros:

We had no problem sending targeted messages to our customer audience through HelpCrunch toolset, it's easy to easy and offers a bunch of beautiful templates which we were able to customize as to our needs.

Cons:

We are quite happy with HelpCrunch features and the seamless way it integrated with the other tools we are using.

HelpCrunch Response

4 years ago

Thanks for taking time to leave the review!

Elena
Elena
Internet Marketing Manager in Ukraine
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for chats and emails

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's much easier for our users to contact us via live chat, and for us, it's great to see all the history of communication

Pros:

Helpcrunch allows us to engage with our users both via chat and email. All the history of communication is gathered in one place, so it's easy to see all the info.

Cons:

It would be great to see some kind of a knowledge base to let me quickly deal with all the features. Anyway, support team is always ready to help me.

Victoria
Victoria
Marketing Lead in Ukraine
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for my business

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: These guys are very responsive to all my team’s requests.
For the price they ask, it’s definitely one of the best software.

Pros:

I love it. Easy to set up and use. I especially like the way it looks like on our website - I was able to set it up exactly like I wanted.

Cons:

0 problems with the live chat in 3 months. Literally nothing I'd change, everything works as expected!

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Very nice of you! Thanks for the great feedback

Jorge
Owner in US
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to set up and cost-effective. In addition to an amazing support system to help you with any flows that may arise.

Cons:

The product has been great so far. I will check back after my first year.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thank you, Jorge!

Annabel
Founder in UK
Arts & Crafts, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Customer support how it should be done

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Really pleased with the software. It's well priced and beautiful.

Pros:

Very pleased with the widget styling and easy way I can integrate the chat widget onto my site. The way in which my business hours can be set saves me from getting unwanted support tickets on my weekend through my mobile application as well, which has saved me a lot of stress!

Cons:

I'd really love a help base that could automatically guage a user's request based on keywords and recommend a help article, further diminishing the amount of support tickets I get.

HelpCrunch Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the kind review, Annabel! Help base feature is already in development. We will definitely let you know when it's released so that you can further decrease the amount of resources involved in your customer support.