Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4 /5

About ChangeGear

Experience the next generation of ITSM. Be the heroes of the organization. Deliver smart and personalized services to knowledge workers

Learn more about ChangeGear

Showing 50 reviews

Robert C.
Vice President - Service Desk
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-02

"Full Featured Product"

Comments: We purchased this software to better understand customer demand and to better document our internal change process. The software meet this goal, easily. Now we're using it so that customers can perform self-help and agents can document and learn solutions to standard problems.

Pros: The ChangeGear software is feature-rich with all the modules necessary to create an ITIL based service management process. Easy to configure ticket workflow with notifications. Customizable data entry screens. Customizable (everything in this system can be customized from the interface to the database) reports and dashboards.

Cons: The software interface is somewhat dated and hierarchical.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-02
Paula C.
IT Help Desk Supervisor
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-01

"ChangeGear Review"

Comments: Currently we are strictly using this as our IT Help Desk Ticket Management System.

Pros: The end users love this software. If you have a good programmer on your team, this product will do just about whatever you want.

Cons: Need someone that understands the "back-end" to program all your customizations. There is a lot of lag time when trying to enter a ticket; sluggish.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-01
Verified Reviewer
IT Director
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29

"Great Potential"

Comments: Our experience has not been positive, so far, but that is largely due to the combination of challenges presented by our non-typical environment and a lack of time/effort to make ChangeGear work. We haven't completely given up yet, because we see the potential.

Pros: ChangeGear provides Flexibility and Configurability in a package with a clear ITIL orientation. It seems to be a good value, considering the balance of sophistication and cost.

Cons: It is very challenging to implement in a non-Active Directory environment; although it can, in theory, work in a non-AD infrastructure, it is far from easy to make it work. The agent-less computer scanning is a nice feature in theory, but it can also be hard to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29
Mike P.
IS Analyst
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-06

"Solid Product and Solid company. Great customer support sales and tech"

Comments: Automation of a lot of routine task right out off the box. a better data tracking and reporting.

Pros: Everything: It's complete solution that can expand and grow with your organization. It starts with the basic solution and can evolve to enterprise level all in one system ( which way to much for our organization) We got the base held desk solution and I found the feature list is way beyond what we need.

Cons: Certain customizations you need to know what you're doing or you can do some damage. To hide some of the default forms I wasn't able to do it myself and needed assistance. as well as few other little mods required direct manipulation in XML files so you need someone who know where it is.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-06
Jerry P.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-16

"Poor communication and not very good for customer facing applications."

Comments: Change Gear is great if you are only using it internally. Despite what their sales team would tell you, it requires extensive modification to even handle anything more than a few email addresses. Attachment handling and things as simple as email CC'ing are not available available out of the gate. The included modules are not very adaptable, inevitably requiring the customer to bend to suit its forms instead of bending its forms to suit the customer. The technical/implementation team is very knowledgeable, when you can get in touch with them. Trying to get them on the phone is more like "leave a message and maybe we'll get back to you." Bottom line, users will be very pleased with this product as long as they a) don't need it for any other department than IT, and b) don't need it to be externally facing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-16
Jim C.
Manager IT Support
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29

"Not very happy"

Pros: Your support staff is wonderful, always going the extra mile

Cons: Your software needs help. The canned reports, SLA's, Dashboards - all have issues. I have had to open 25 support tickets since the first of the year just to get things working

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29
Brian W.
Admin
Financial Services Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-11

"Find a different product than ChangeGear"

Comments: I would rather slam my hand in a door than use this software.

Pros: Nothing. It is the worst I've ever used in my 20+ years in IT. I'm also familiar w/ Remedy and ServiceNow.

Cons: It is overly confusing and a huge time waster. You can't look at it and figure out what you need to do like any other software platform. Every single time I try to do anything my tickets end up getting incorrectly assigned or routed. No one seems to understand the logic of their workflow. Everyone I've ever talked to at my company hates this product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-11
David G.
Help Desk Supervisor
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-20

"Excellent Customer Service Throughout The Entire Process Of Implementing ChangeGear!"

Comments: Our Change Management process was over-hauled and we now have the tools in place to track/manage our changes. End Users now have a knowledge base they can access to assist in resolving their own issues. The email notification and rules within the Email Connector allow tickets to be worked/processed/closed all through email responses. The use of the Service Catalog allows the End User to enter tickets and decide from a list of our services what they actually need to be able to efficiently do their jobs.

Pros: Everything. ChangeGear has made an immediate impact in our facility by allowing us to create relationships between different ticket types, engage with the End User via Self Service/Surveys and has allowed us to enhance our Change Management process. We now have a Service Catalog that details our services and is published to our Customers. The ability to customize the ChangeGear application to meet our environment made the implementation process very smooth. The Sales team did a great job in meeting our financial needs as well as facilitating a smooth transition to the implementation team. The implementation team was quick to answer questions and ensure our initial setup/installment was flawless. The Professional Services Team has been informative and patient while configuring the application and teaching our technical lead. The Support Team has been courteous and diligent in making sure any issue is resolved quickly. Access to their Self Service Portal provides a multitude of knowledge base articles that allows me as a customer to resolve many of our issues by myself.

Cons: There are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket. Sometimes you cannot find exactly what you are looking for in their Knowledge Base but a submitting a ticket to their support team will get you the answers you need to any issue you might encounter. The user manual and administrator manual can lack information; however, what you don't find there you can find in MySunviewSoftware Support KB articles. The manuals need the screenshots updated as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-20
Verified Reviewer
systems engineer
Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-24

"change gear ticketing system"

Comments: goof

Pros: easy to understand the flow and good in getting alerts and notifications .very good as a ticketing system

Cons: upgrade from 6 to 8 6 is 32 bit and 8 is 64 bit move to 7 and then 8

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-02-24
Safi R.
Information Security
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-06

"Change Gear"

Comments: I think software can be used effectively if configured in its full capacity. The customization is nice but requires a dedicated person which e do not have the resources for.
I like the features but did not have time to learn how to make the best use of it.

Pros: ITIL format... that has came handy for us. Service Request to problem Solving to RFC part is nice.
Customization is nice as well.

Cons: Learning curve.. It requires dedication and set up. Probably better to have the vendor set it up for you.
Also software is latent so difficult to use in a high speed work environment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-06
Terese K.
Service and Support Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-26

"ChangeGear is a very user friendly tool that makes ITSM simple!"

Pros: It has modules to accomplish just about everything you could ask for that are simple to use and understand! It fully integrates into your environment and provides tools for you to use to better manage everything from issues and service requests to knowledge and assets!

Cons: I would like to be able to import MS Word documents or PDF's for the knowledge base. It would also be great if it could integrate with the phone system so that when a user calls, a new ticket auto-populates with their information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-26
Laetitia N.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-25

"Training Material and Cost"

Comments: The task functionality needs improvements. For example, notes in task tickets get overwritten as the information get updated. Why? Tickets should keep all historical information.

Pros: Cost is very reasonable. It's is the most important determining factor to why we recommend ChangeGrear to our organization.

Cons: Training material for ChangeGear is not available on the internet. Compared to ServiceNow for example, their "how to" step by step instruction to all their modules is easily accessible on line.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-25
Verified Reviewer
Sr. Systems Analyst - CRM
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-28

"Our go to ITSM tool"

Comments: We have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool. This has helped us streamline our business processes around ticketing system

Pros: Ease of configuration and flexibility of the product. New features that are added recently such as Task Spawning, Multiple Workflows, Intelli Search etc.

Cons: IIS needs resetting after changes made to forms and fields. May be they can do something that it would not require user to reset it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-28
Verified Reviewer
Assistant Project Manager
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-13

"Change Gear - Please Don't Change"

Comments: Change gear, although wasn't the prettiest, was essential to what our company required. Easy to use, appealing interface, fast. ChangeGear was loved by all because of it's functionality. I would say it was my favourite service management application.

Pros: Great functionality and ease of use.
Simple to learn, simple to master
Perfect for our environment
Reminders for outstanding tickets

Cons: Could be confusing for new users.
Not the best support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-13
Teresa B.
IT Business Analyst
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-08

"Customizable, Competitive and Customer Friendly"

Comments: Increased customer communication.

Pros: The Customization and flexibility of options available at a competitive price point. Ability for users to submit their own tickets, monitor the progress and interact with technicians. Support teams that are engaging, quick to respond and knowledgeable enough to identify, solve, or guide you to a resolution.

Cons: User and Admin. manuals can lack information but since the system is so configurable I am not sure they would be able to account of every possibility. More than 1 technician can be in the same ticket at the same time. Modules do not always contain the same basic field options. Each module does have various module specific fields but it would be nice to have a standard set across all modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-08
Donnie C.
CIO
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-07-16

"Sunview Software is a great company to work with. ChangeGear is Great."

Pros: The ChangeGear product has all the tools needed to run a successful incident, change and help desk system. I have been a user for many years and the team at Sunview has always been top notch. Any questions, concerns or issues the support folks were right on it.

Cons: There isn't anything that I have personally come across that couldn't be handled in a timely manner. Not one piece that I would do away with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-07-16
Verified Reviewer
Technical Support Specialist
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-25

"Easy To Use Ticketing System"

Comments: Overall, I have had good experience with ChangeGear as a technical support specialist.

Pros: ChangeGear software is very robust and intuitive.

Cons: Sometimes the machine learning feature causes the software to be a little slow.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-25
Is S.
Project Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-26

"does the job"

Pros: I like the functionality. We used it for helpdesk and change management, worked great in both scenarios.

Cons: Not so sure about the ability to customize, if you have a need for it should look into it, nothing else that was a con in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-26
Charles R.
Server Administrator
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29

"Daily User Review"

Comments: Overall, we are extremely pleased with the software. The support staff and professional services are always on top of their game. When there is a problem, follow-up is quick and resolution comes shortly afterwards. Highly professional across the board. If you meet them at a conference, they are pleasant to work with on your issues and always open to suggestions. It's nice to know that there is a good team behind the product.

Pros: There is plenty out-of-the-box forms that follow ITIL standards which made it helpful for our organization to jump start into it. The simple end-user front-end, the Self Service Portal, makes users feel comfortable with entering requests without the need to look over complicated. We have had no complaints from our end users about the product. It is very "easy on the eyes" with a clear and precise web interface for our service desk technicians. The knowledge base along with the smart technology makes it easy for technicians to find resolutions much quicker than in the past.

Cons: Customization can be a challenge. Creating forms is rather clumsy and if you make a mistake, it takes some time to correct it. Updating from one version to another is also challenging since it is an update in place and not a migration. There is a roadmap where this will be updated in a future release of ChangeGear.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29
Aaron D.
Application Administrator
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-22

"Flexible software that will meet your needs quickly"

Comments: Tracking of all Incidents, Requests, Problems, and Changes in our environments is easy to track and report upon. I'm able to take requests from our business and turn out solutions quickly and efficiently.

Pros: The software is very flexible in what it can do, allowing us to meet business demands quickly and efficiently in an ever changing environment.

Cons: The automation for forms could be streamlined some more, but this appears to be an issue that will disappear, as with each release they're improving the automation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-22
Tylene C.
Supervisor of Technical Support
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-28

"ChangeGear in K12 Environment"

Pros: It is very versatile and IF you know what you are doing, could handle just about any scenario.

Cons: Unless we have a lot of money for services, for a typical technology user, the software is very complex. K12 environments don't have the money or resources to get the most out of this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-28
Ben W.
IT Infrastructure Manager
Business Supplies & Equipment, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-10

"ChangeGear - Great Product Delivered by a Great Company"

Comments: My company has been using ChangeGear for approximately two years. We love the product's ease of use, administration and feature sets. The initial price tag was VERY competitive. We found that the product can deliver Enterprise level capabilities at the price point of a typical SMB product. The support of the product has been great when we have to use it (which is almost never). They deliver the product in many forms including Public cloud, Hybrid or on-premise. SunView is highly committed to product development as evidenced by the latest features inherent to ChangeGear v7. Many would consider them a visionary or leading-edge company in the ITSM industry. SunView is also easy to do business with and you will be treated like a family member. Go just buy it. You won't look back.

Pros: Ease of use (for end-users and agents/admins alike)
Ease of administration
Feature sets
Flexibilty of installation (Cloud, Hybrid, On-Premise)
Pricing
Ease of configuration

Cons: Remote manageability of certain features on full Public Cloud instance (requiring SunView support to interact)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016-10-10
Brandon W.
CIP Compliance Analyst
Utilities, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29

"Easy to manage a manipulate"

Comments: We came from a paper change process before but change gear allowed us to move to digital approvals with an audit trail and a centralized place to store evidence for every change that takes place. Overall, from approval to completion the time it takes is nothing like it was before. We get results instantly.

Pros: I can configure everything in the change management system from the GUI to the backend workflows. Change gear is by far one of the most stable out of the box experiences i have come across.

Cons: The reporting could be a little more detailed out of the box to make compliance easier to manage. although Sunview provided us with a SSRS plugin to give us the details we need to meet our compliance requirements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29
Jean C.
IT Manager, Service Desk
Utilities, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-01

"ChangeGear"

Comments: Our overall experience with the software is great. The vendor is a valued business partner and is always making improvements and asking how they can be better.

Pros: The self service portal for our customers is very well received.

Cons: The version that we are currently on makes it difficult for Service Desk staff to know what is in their workload, but the next version of the software is changing this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-01
Tammy B.
Application Analyst III
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29

"Houston Methodist Product Review - ChangeGear"

Pros: There are many prebuilt workflows which follows ITIL standards which gives the customer a base to design according to their business needs.

Cons: The overall appearance of ChangeGear forms are dated. Would be nice if

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-03-29