15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About UpKeep

UpKeep is an Asset Operations Management solution combining CMMS, EAM, and APM for maintenance, reliability and operations teams.

Learn more about UpKeep

Pros:

Loved being able to just jump right in and create work orders. Keeping track of time and material cost was very helpful.

Cons:

Requester's sometimes log out of it and forget what their password is.

UpKeep ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

UpKeep has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,326 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used UpKeep before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,326)

Dirk
Dirk
Director of Operations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Crucial Team Management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This creates the foundation for extensive maintenance records, historical tracking of problems, inventory, and more. It allows you to monitor your entire portfolio on a macro and micro level.

Pros:

Functionality. This cloud-based task manager functions at the level that works for you. Whether you're assigning basic tasks at a complex you own and manage or inspecting individually tagged pieces of hardware this is essential. The accountability from a required signature showing this task has been done is reassuring. Should there be a hang-up or question UpKeep's customer service is there to help you through it.

Cons:

The initial challenge is determining the depth at which to utilize this software most effectively. Whenever an organization chooses to go with a task manager, it is only effective as the degree to which your staff buys into it.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com and Asana

Reasons for Choosing UpKeep: As we grew we needed better tracking and filtering. We lacked the ability to pull the reports we needed before.

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: The tailored approach to real estate.

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Hi Dirk, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for UpKeep! We're so happy to hear that UpKeep is serving your team for tasks and projects big & small. The fact that the signature feature has provided a layer of accountability for your team is amazing! We're glad that the ability to historically track your work at a micro and macro level is helping you take the team to the next level. If you ever do need assistance in developing your maintenance program using UpKeep, feel free to reach out to your dedicated Customer Success Manager. Our team will follow up with you to connect your team to this dedicated resource. Thank you again for leaving us a great review. We really do take and appreciate your feedback seriously!

Rick
Facility Manager in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Perfect CMMS for my Needs

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Using Upkeep has been an easy process, and it helps keep everything in one place. I also like the fact that our Operations Manager sees everything that I do, from creation of work orders, to updates, and completion of work orders.

Pros:

The free features are perfect for my use. My day is all about work orders, and being able to manage these work orders easily makes my day easier. We used to use paper work orders, which I had to fill out, file, and then track in another file. I would then need to create a separate report to send to the property team for review. I like having the ability to have everything in one place, without having to create so many separate reports.

Cons:

Nothing about this software is difficult to use. I do wish more was offered in the free version, such as reporting. I was able to use it during the free trial, but now am using the free version, in which reporting is only available in paid versions. I understand that this is how the company makes money, and I will be making the switch to a paid version when it is approved in our new budget. One thing that bugs me and hope gets fixed, is during the work order creation. I have over 120 locations and sub-locations. When I create a work order and choose the location, you should be able to begin typing the location in the box and it should self-populate the box. Right now, only the main locations will self-populate, not the sub-locations. I only have three main locations, and all the rest are sub-locations, so I have to scroll to search for the exact location I need. It's nothing major, but just an annoyance, and I hope this will be fixed soon so that any location will self-populate the box when you begin typing it.

Alternatives Considered: MAPCON and ManWinWin

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: Pricing was better for what you get. ManWinWin was way to technical, and made more for factories. Mapcon may have worked and it seemed to be pretty user-friendly as well, and I did try their free trial, but it kept crashing my computer every single time.

David
Head of Service in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent tool for technology company that needs affordable CMMS

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: UpKeep has been very helpful in guiding us through adoption of the platform and providing us the tools needed to expand our capabilities and record keeping. This is an excellent platform that has helped us build our service delivery platform

Pros:

UpKeep is easily configured and very flexible to meet our very unique business model. The support team has been outstanding throughout our implementation and continues to provide top notch service to guide us through new challenges. I appreciate the relatively low cost against the market to all us to grow with the product and add licenses without significant cost

Cons:

The platform is designed for a more traditional break/fix style work force management application. It has forced us to adapt some of our (albeit maturing) processes to meet the capability within the platform in order to capture the data and detail that we are looking for.

Nolan
Buyer in US
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Work orders works well on mobile app.

2.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We began using Upkeep in 2021 at the start up of our new company. Our asset list includes over 300 units, 165 of them needing regular preventative maintenance. From the beginning, the approximate monthly user license fee near $100 seemed high, but not for a system that was sold to us as an all-encompassing platform. As it turns out, Upkeep fell far short of that level. We began using Upkeep prior to the preventative maintenance module roll out they use now, and right away we found that recurring work orders were not populating correctly, most notably re-using work order numbers (which should be unique), and not populating at the correct time. This was mostly solved when the PM roll out took place in 2022, but the amount of labor time on our end to correct this recurring work order problem was excessive to say the least. Tech support was very limited, in that they were only able to train in how to use the new module. It didn’t help that when they migrated away from recurring work orders to PM, the functionality ceased on all our existing work orders. Many of our assets had several months of missed maintenance due to this as we frantically tried to catch up. The PM module still took over a year to establish a working capability, with many bugs found and long delays for fixes. The work order function still worked very well, especially for the technicians using the mobile app. Aside from always requiring an internet connection. It took some time, but we were able to manipulate the software to sort work orders correctly. Purchase orders and parts brought around a host of new problems. The first, and most noteworthy, is that our accounting department, who only required viewing of PO’s that are in the system, required an administrator’s license. This took one of the very expensive licenses away from a technician for a user that didn’t need full unfettered access. In addition, there were no custom security variations that wouldn’t require a full license to simply view purchase order data. Regarding purchasing, inventory control and cost appropriations, it is important to note that to change the pricing of an individual item in Upkeep, one must update the part in their parts/inventory module. There is no function in a working PO that allows for updating of current price. This has two problems. First, as prices fluctuate from vendor to vendor and day to day, an updated last cost is very important. Second, when updating the price in Upkeep’s Parts module, the cost would update all work and purchase orders from the past, thereby adjusting overall costs of every PO, some of which were not due, and making them no longer match invoices to be paid. This also brings up a purchasing question that if costs are not available to be averaged, then a buyer cannot accurately predict and anticipate cost increases and make bottom line dollar saving decisions. Among these issues with parts and POs was the fact that vendor assignments are a secondary thought, taking a distant 6th position to “PO Title”, “Description”, and “Category” among other less important references. These problems truly spoke of a company and designers that had never used a proper purchase order or items/parts inventory control system. These concerns were not rectified by the time we changed software in August 2023. I don’t want to sound completely disparaged by Upkeep. Like I said before, the work order mobile app is very easy to use, and the learning curve is very shallow. Tech support always left something to be desired as well as we were presented with “workarounds” rather than solutions on a regular basis. Our annual “check-in” was with our original salesman, who was more interested in the analytics of how we paid our bill than how the software worked. When said salesman left the company, it took nearly three months to get a new account representative. When we upgraded this year to another company (which will not be named) we got all the features of Upkeep and so much more, for half the price. I wish all the best to Upkeep and all their employees, but I would not recommend this software.

Pros:

Ease of use by technicians (mobile app), preventative maintenance scheduling was very robust.

Cons:

Overall sluggish UI, cloud based requirements (little to no “offline” mode), limited search parameters, limited locations and tracking, lack of aggregate or average cost on items, no PO look up in parts browser, part categories are allowed to be random, no PO dates assigned (unless manually entered and manipulated), limited purchase history, pricing updates are updated on fulfilled purchase and work orders, can only use “inventory adjustments” to remove items outside of work orders, can use the same function to add inventory without PO, lack of PO approval process for management, PO view only available on administrator level security access, lack of internal messaging system.

Elizabeth
Content Producer and Strategist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Upkeep magical performance.You should try it.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: We all need Upkeep if we want to scale into new hights of success.I always use it to create work orders and you always get notifications if anything is updated.It makes businesses business work more effective than before.

Pros:

It is the chief hack for maintenance and management.Helps business to work more effective.It is a user friendly software which is easy to use.It gives it's users control and sovereignty.UpKeep is easily accessible anywhere and anytime you need it.

Cons:

No cons about it.It has been impactful to me.

Jonathan
Clinical Engineering Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best overall usability

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is the best CMMS we have used. I did sample the top 10 for a year before deciding and upKeep was the best because of easy of use in the field. This software saves time by reducing paperwork and admin tasks.

Pros:

I sampled many different CMMS programs and upKeep was the only software that made the cut. This software is actually usable in the field.

Cons:

There are a few additional features I would like to see. I would like to be able to set exact permissions per user. the amount of administrative data available to Limited Technician renders some functionality not usable. Not everyone needs a list of all vendors and customers. There needs be a permissions checkbox to limit some access and functionality per user. Depending on how this software is used, it could cause an issue. would you want everyone in your company to have a list of our all your customers and vendors? for this reason. We avoid using some features and have not upgraded to the business package.

Alternatives Considered: MicroMain, eMaint CMMS and Fiix

Reasons for Choosing UpKeep: MicroMain was not mobile friendly. Their software created a full time position managing CMMS. UpKeep app does most of the work and cuts need of creating this position.

Switched From: MicroMain

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: Usability in the field. Great intuitive interface in browser and app.

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to hear our software is helping you and your team track work orders! Our team is always making improvements and adding new features to the application based on customer feedback. Feel free to visit our support page if you ever have any questions: https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/ Thanks again!

Jeff
Electrical and Mechanical maintenance manager in US
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A great choice for a intuitive CMMS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Immediately we are seeing the benefits of using UpKeep. It has helped to reduce the confusion of where someone left off or waiting for parts to arrive to complete the repair.

Pros:

Uploading our plant information, including over 4,000 spare parts that we have cataloged was very easy. We were able to keep our spare part numbers and mirrored the layout of UpKeep with our own spare parts system, which in turn helped the plant personnel with the implementation.

Cons:

I would like to see the ability to add daily equipment checklists, that can be performed at a minimum twice daily and were generated automatically at a predetermined time. We currently make rounds through the plant and require our personnel to record the check.

Alternatives Considered: eWorkOrders CMMS, Hippo CMMS, eMaint CMMS and Fiix

Reasons for Choosing UpKeep: It wasn’t user friendly and took a tremendous amount of time to manage.

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: Hands down, I was impressed with how intuitive UpKeep appeared. I can’t say enough about how important it is to have the buy in of the plant personnel who use the platform. My guys were very nervous about another CMMS platform, based on their previous experience. They are excited and I have heard nothing but positive remarks about our new system.

Ryan
Maintenance Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A great start!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My experience over the first month with UpKeep has been very positive. The team in California have been checking in to provide support and they've sent us a ton of QR labels for our assets and stock room. I have worked with five different CMMSs over the past several years and have been responsible for two implementations. This has been the smoothest and easiest one so far... configuration has been easy and it's been warmly welcomed by my team and the organization as a whole.

Pros:

The ease of use and functionality check all of the boxes I was looking for. I get updates on my phone, can track work, and share what we're doing throughout our organization in a way that is simple to understand. The cost and very low barrier to entry has been a huge plus as well.

Cons:

There have been little quirks with the system that have taken a little getting used to. Updating PMs or creating a PO, for example, can be difficult when you click off the screen to update a piece of that (check list, asset, or part) and then the whole thing that was being worked on is lost. Having discreet location differences for assets and stock rooms would be nice, too.

Alternatives Considered: IBM Maximo Application Suite, eMaint CMMS, Fiix and Maintenance Care

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: Low cost, low barrier to entry, and the ease of hitting the ground running (fast) is why we've gone with, and are going to continue with, UpKeep.

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We all LOVE your dinks! We're glad to hear our software is helping you and your team manage your assets and facility! Our team is always making improvements and adding new features to the application based on customer feedback. I've shared yours with our product manager. Feel free to visit our support page if you ever have any questions: https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/ Thanks again!

Federico
Federico
CEO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool to Manage your Assets

4.0 last year

Comments: Our overall experience using UpKeep is very good because this solution has provided accountability and transparency in the use of our assets (owned and rented)

Pros:

This is a great solution to manage the assets, we were having issues controlling the location and distribution of our rented laptops and electronic equipment provided to consultants, after implementing the solution we were able to locate, manage and renew our equipment without effort. We also use it to track work orders because their reporting capabilities work very good with out ERP.

Cons:

The main con would be its price, $45 per user is a little high for many small businesses budget. Since this is an important tool the training in using it is a little hard but necessary. In addition we believe the permissions management needs a little more work.

Alternatives Considered: MVP Plant and IFS Cloud

Reasons for Choosing UpKeep: We made the switch because we needed a robust application that were able to track our assets and work with our ERP.

Switched From: MVP Plant, IFS Cloud and Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: We have chosen UpKeep because in our analysis the cost / benefit ratio was the highest.

Charles
Maintenance Utility in US
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Joy of Maintenance

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: I would say it has been very good, UpKeep has been well embraced by the Associates here and the ease they have had submitting work orders.

Pros:

The biggest thing would be communication. Before UpKeep a work order would be put in and no one would know the status of it. With UpKeep we see updates and emails detailing the status of the work order.

Cons:

The only thing that comes to mind is that you provide training for Administrators and Technicians, it would be nice to have a power point presentation for the view only and Requestors. As an Administrator, UpKeep was my task to own, and I had to present it to the group prior to launch. the problem was the Administrator permissions is different than the view only and Requestors, needless to say my 1st class was a learning experience not only for the view only and Requestors but for me also.

simon
Solar Technician in UK
Renewables & Environment, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using upkeep for solar farm maintenance reporting.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Upkeep has helped hugely in showing clients what we actually do and giving them real times as to how long process may take. Before a list of times and costs were all clients received as to now a full report which shows the lengths taken to complete the tasks .

Pros:

The software is very easy to use on many different formats. Being able to report in real time is very helpful in the field and reports can be generated very easy for instant use. The end reports are very professional and and look the part. Photos added to reports are a good for clients to be able to see the works carried out and being able to add many photos to as many different topics i may need is great.

Cons:

The application needs to have either 3g, 4g or wifi for real time this is great in areas with these capabilities but most solar farms in the middle of no where meaning i need to take photos and write my reports after i have done my job and returned to an area with wifi etc. Also only being able to upload 1 photo at a time makes the process drawn out as you have to keep going back to the report and then finding the photo you need...... There have also been instances when working in areas with 4g etc that reports that have been worked on have lost all info meaning they have to been done again.

UpKeep Technologies Response

5 years ago

Hi Simon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm so excited that UpKeep has improved your ability to show all the hard work that you and your team are doing!!! Our mission is to empower you all in exactly that way to help you to get recognition for the work that might otherwise go unnoticed. In terms of the app needing 3G, 4G, or WiFi, the reason for this is to be able to send and receive updates in real time, especially in cases where team members may be spread across different locations. Providing more offline services may be something we can do in the future, but we hope it's not too much of an inconvenience at the time!

Sekou Djibril
Fondateur Président de CSK in Guinea
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

UpKeep: An effective maintenance management tool for your business

4.0 last year

Pros:

User-friendly interface: UpKeep offers a simple and intuitive user interface, which makes it easy to get started with the software for new users. Common tasks such as creating work orders or scheduling jobs can be done with just a few clicks.Proactive maintenance management: UpKeep lets you easily track work orders, service requests, and preventive maintenance tasks for your business. This allows you to resolve issues before they become critical and minimize downtime.Cross-Platform Availability: UpKeep is available on multiple platforms, including desktop, iOS and Android mobile devices, and the web. This allows you to access your maintenance data anytime, anywhere.Integration with other business management tools: UpKeep integrates with other business management tools such as Zapier, Quickbooks, and Slack, making it easy to integrate with your existing processes.Excellent customer support: UpKeep offers quality customer support, with a responsive support team and online training resources to help users get the most out of the software.In short, UpKeep is an excellent choice for companies looking to improve their maintenance management and optimize their processes.

Cons:

High cost: UpKeep can be relatively expensive compared to other maintenance management software on the market, especially for small businesses. Pricing plans start from $35 per user per month, which can be a significant investment for some businesses.Customization limits: UpKeep offers limited options in terms of customizing the user interface and work order structure. If you need a high level of customization, this can be a drawback.Internet dependency: UpKeep is cloud-based, which means you need a reliable internet connection to access the software. If your business does not have a stable internet connection, this could cause accessibility issues.Limited reporting capabilities: UpKeep offers basic reporting options, but some companies may find the reporting capabilities limited. If you need detailed custom reports for your business, UpKeep may not be the best choice.Learning curve: Although the user interface is user-friendly, some features of UpKeep may require a certain learning curve, especially for users who are unfamiliar with maintenance management software.In summary, UpKeep may not be suitable for all businesses due to its higher costs and some limitations in customization, reporting and internet dependency. However, for companies looking for easy-to-use maintenance management software with good customer support, UpKeep can be an attractive option.

Alternatives Considered: Instagram

Jeff
Facilities & Audio Visual Coordinator in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

UpKeep Application Review

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The iPhone application is the best so I can easily update and or log in new work orders as I see them without having to use a web browser or a computer.

Cons:

I wish the recurring events would not show up until they are due so i don't have to weed through them to see the current stuff. this is probably a view filter of some sort but I haven't figured that out yet.

Alternatives Considered: Fiix

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: The iPhone application and price

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Hi Jeff! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Our strength is offering mobility so that you can take and process work wherever you go so we're so happy to hear that you love using the mobile application! I'm sorry to hear that managing recurring work orders has proven a bit more challenging to manage. One cool trick that you or whoever is setting up Work Orders can do to cut down on future work orders down the line is using the "Schedule Based on Completion" toggle option when setting up recurring work! This is an awesome tool to ensure that the next work order will show up only when the first work order is complete! Check out the instructions here: https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/help-learning/work-orders/how-to-create-and-manage-preventative-maintenance-repeating-work-orders/ Again, thanks for leaving us a fantastic review! We really take and appreciate all feedback seriously.

Dave
Director of Facilities in US
Facilities Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent CMMS for Facility Managers

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been great using UpKeep. Our rep did a great job setting me up and getting my technicians trained has been easy as well - and that speaks the simplicity of the application. All my technicians have Galaxy Tab A 7" tablets which they use with the UpKeep app. They're able to receive work orders while in the field, see all info needed to complete the task and close it out from there. Very efficient and effective. No complaints for the team at UpKeep, they really seem like they care about their product and customers.

Pros:

The way it looks. The way it works. Simple, familiar design. Easy to learn and use the interface. A lot about making an application work efficiently and smoothly, is a familiar or simple to use interface, which this meets x 10. Great tools to utilize; from work order requests, to repetitive work, to inputting assets and added users. The dashboard is a great tool to monitor who inputs the most work, or closes the most, to what locations or categories are being worked on the most - and thats all linked with your assets to manage life-cycle of equipment. The support team is very helpful as well. I've had simple questions here and there, and "chatting" on the desktop site yielded very quick responses within minutes of asking. Love the way I can create my own criteria for Assets, ex; Model #, Serial #, Lifespan, Install Date #. This allows my team to custom build the system to work for our facilities needs.

Cons:

Some things still need to be thought out a bit more. A few examples: -Consistency: between the Android app and the Apple app, both are not identical and work a little differently. For instance, the camera interface and drawing options are a lot more extensive on the iPhone. As well terminology doesn't stay consistent, even with the desktop version in an internet browser; "Dashboard" on the app is "Reporting" on the desktop, and within a work order, there are "Details" and "Update" pages on the app, but on the desktop site they're "Details" and "Activity" - but yet they're the same functions. Someone wouldn't understand this until they've used it of course.

Maya
Maintenance and Equipment Operations in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Upkeep is GREAT for our equipment tracking & maintenance. Great value for our company!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Maintenance tracking and work order creation with ease. Logging of parts and assets with alerts when quantities are low. Product is extremely intuitive and easy to use.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use, very intuitive! Everyone had a very easy time learning how to use the product and everyone had positive feedback right away. Upkeep immediately helped us get organized without the need for days of training. We bought this after months of research around equipment maintenance and tracking software which was exorbitant. Upkeep promised very similar abilities for a fraction of the price and without having to train our entire staff. Upon implementation, Upkeep immediately enabled us to track machine hours and create work orders for scheduled maintenance. We were able to neatly log all of our equipment and work orders/specs/schematics. Reporting abilities and maintenance cost are built-in options. We began easily logging parts and inventory with alerts when quantities are low. Everyone using Upkeep found it very easy to set up and use. This product has greatly helped our company better track and keep up with our heavy machinery and its recurring maintenance. Customer service has been terrific and we are most pleased with our decision to purchase Upkeep.

Cons:

We are a large, mixed fleet company and Upkeep lacks an ability to separate assets and inventory by category. Also the employees on the field who are 'requesters' would like a bit more access to our equipments lists in order to log hour meters with ease.

Eric
Maintenance Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I would never again not use CMMS

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love using it and it has streamlined our maintenance department.

Pros:

I am a task oriented person and UpKeep keeps me on task. It allows me to have peace of mind in that I don’t have to remember all my task for any given day, month or year. It has brought a level of organization to our organization that we desperately needed.

Cons:

It can be glitchy at times. But the staff is very helpful and friendly to get it resolved. Most things can be done on the mobile device which I use 95% of the time. However, sometime I have rouse the desktop for certain pieces of data entry.

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Hi Eric, Thank you so much for taking some time to leave a review for the UpKeep team. We LOVE the fact that you have peace of mind using UpKeep to manage your work and are so happy that your team's workflow has become organize and efficient. That is amazing! I am sorry to hear that the app has proven glitchy. As you mentioned, our technical support team is ready to verify and address and technical issues you might be experiencing. We have even updated our availability to extend more support hours for our customers! Check out our updated hours and contact information here: https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/contact-us/ Again, thank you very much for your review. We're happy to hear that this has streamlined your team's hard work. We take and appreciate all your feedback seriously!

jordan
Electrical mechanic in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Android based asset management I've used so far

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was a little challenging as a user to convince my bosses to use the app to it's full potential. They wanted to hire data scientists which isn't needed because it can just generate charts and graphs almost instantly on its own. They wanted to simplify data into symptoms instead of tracking repairs and damage which is the actual data we needed for root cause analysis. The app is remarkably elegant I trust in it's ability to record and aggregate data but it's only as good as the data you put into it. I can imagine so many uses for an app like this in almost every business I've worked in, but it's limitation is the users.

Pros:

The app is easy to use. Mostly customizable. It has built in data analytics so you can find trends and root cause analysis to present your data almost daily. Depending on how well you set up fields you can be as accurate or focused as your like with your data. I would suggest this to any business large or small that needs to manage assets.

Cons:

It can be a challenge on the users end to really iron out what they really need the app to specifically manage, but ultimately it's up to the user to decide what data they want to track. Some example tutorials would be nice showing examples like how a mechanic might use it to manage repair symptoms and repairs or how a business with expensive tools might keep track of safety and maintenance.

Gil
Customer Rep in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Upkeep's ease of use

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: it has been difficult to learn the use of upkeep. I believe that a mandatory intro training should be required when a new user is to use upkeep.

Pros:

I like that the system can be updated when a service has been provided, when the service crew remembers to update the system. Upkeep provides a suggested cost for the service that can be manipulated prior to invoicing. upkeep allows photos and written info for the services completed that day.

Cons:

The upkeep system can be updated when a service has been provided but only when the service crew remembers to update the system. It would be great to have an update reminder alarm for the service crew to enter their info of the services rendered prior to leaving the site, that day. Upkeep should also have an alert text or email warning the administration that there there was no entry for the services by the repair crew that day. Upkeep only allows a few photos to be entered in to the system. Prior to leaving the work order entry port. there should be a question that alerts the user that specific info has not been entered. and is required i.e..... addresses, contact info, date and time the service crew is expected....

Ged
Facilities Manager in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfection

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

For my line of business this is simple effective and efficient. The support is second to none. We could not do without UpKeep.

Cons:

Nothing. There was nothing we don't like about it.

Alternatives Considered: CAFM Explorer

Reasons for Switching to UpKeep: Simple and effective

UpKeep Technologies Response

4 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad to hear our software is helping you and your team! Our team is always making improvements and adding new features to the application. Feel free to visit our support page if you ever have any questions: https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/ Thanks again!

Jon
Operations Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Tool for Small Businesses

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: No more hand-written work orders, the ability to take pictures and draw on them improves communication with team members to execute the work order, response times are faster, employees can track progress, grouping, sorting, and note taking helps us keep each one moving forward. Excellent tool.

Pros:

From my desktop or smartphone, I'm able to communicate easily with my team to quickly address our facility issues. Employees who have an need can stop me in the hall, call me at my desk, or fill out their own request at their convenience. They can check on the status of their work order when they want. It has improved communication and response time, is a breeze to use, and is so cost efficient. We've been using UpKeep for 2 years, field about 40 work orders per month, and highly recommend it to everyone.

Cons:

I really can't think of one thing, seriously. It meets all of our needs and when I have a feature request, the team adds it to their list for consideration.

Steve
Project Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very helpful

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It makes keeping up with work orders much more efficient, the tech can enter what he is doing as he does it. It is also a great help with costs and inventory. Plus, the record keeping part of all the maintenance that has been done on a vehicle, the parts used and the cost are very helpful. Being able to scan barcodes of inventory makes it easier to keep up when deliveries of parts arrive. Great tool!

Cons:

It does require a little bit of a learning curve to find things on the computer app versus the ipad app.

UpKeep Technologies Response

5 years ago

Hey Steve. There are definitely quite a bit of additional features in the desktop app vs the mobile app which give the desktop app a steeper learning curve. However, if you compare it to other desktop apps in the CMMS space, you might find it relatively intuitive. The reason the mobile app is easier to navigate is because it's designed specifically for technicians in the field. The desktop app has substantially more reporting and automation features that are purpose-built for admins (managers, planners, directors, etc). That said, we're always looking for ways to streamline the user experience. User friendliness is a priority for all versions of the app.

John
Maintenance Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Running With Upkeep

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We Are Still In Training mode with the team, the team Is Awesome By The Way. The One Thing I Would Like To See Is Onsite training. With Our Facility I Think To have someone onsite would greatly benefit our learning the system and help get it underway faster as far as getting all of our assets and parts entered and how we go about entering them all.

Pros:

Ease Of Use. We have many employees who are not computer gurus so they normally will fight anything as far as using technology. With Upkeep Being So Basic And Simple For Them They Have Picked It Up In A Couple Days.

Cons:

Upkeep Has A few items that we would like to have which at this time they do not have. A Icon that could be placed on the home screen for request users. And Being Able to extend the asset tabs of your asset page. It Is All Small Items I am sure they can get changed for us as they learn our needs and desires for using this software.

UpKeep Technologies Response

5 years ago

Hello John! So happy to hear that your team is taking well to the software. I've made a note of your feature requests and submitted them to our engineering team. Please know that we take all feedback to heart and will do our best to accommodate for you! As for your point about onsite training, though I'm not sure of your team size, it's more typical for large teams to add a 3-day onsite training while going through implementation. It sounds as though you have a good relationship with our Customer Success team so, if this is something that you feel strongly about adding, please don't hesitate to reach out to them for more information! Additional information about our different implementation packages can be found at https://www.onupkeep.com/customersupport/category/implementation/ and you can go to https://www.onupkeep.com/support for more support. Thank you for being our partner!

Greg
Service Manager in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Impressions on UpKeep

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with this program has been exceptional. If we had a problem and contacted customer support, they get back to us the same day and talk through what we are looking for and they told us how to make it work for us. even upgraded some features like messaging so we can message the Technicians or others in the office using the software. It has been and easy to learn and transition to using the program for what we needed it to do.

Pros:

Easy File sharing, searching, indexing. Provides more capabilities than we actually use. Good for tracking jobs, and the request portal is very helpful for our customers to submit new orders. the dashboard is easy to manipulate to get a Snapshot in time, and can be used to identify trends in the equipment.

Cons:

I haven't figured out how to customize the Colors and the layouts and it kicks out when entering jobs if you click anything outside the box before you get to the end to save the job.

James
Director in UK
Facilities Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is as essential as a telephone or email

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The software is unquestionably great but is only as good as the team that developed it, fortunately they are fantastic too. Even with a significant time difference the Upkeep team manage to keep me informed on updates and react quickly to issues, allowing me to focus on my job.

Pros:

It has completed modernised our process and in such a simple way, it didn't take us an age to get started and the data grows with us. The limited access accounts has allowed us to show transparency to our client base while keeping our data secure and the clients happy. Our site based technicians have the information they need immediately and the real time updating means they can assist each other remotely, sharing skills and knowledge has vastly increased productivity.

Cons:

There are some minor discrepancies between operating systems, but knowledge of them makes it very easy to overcome.

Erika
Operations Manager, West Coast in US
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Customizable + Versatile but needs work on Reporting + Toggling

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This tools allows folks from various departments to gain insight on maintenance tasks for our 500+ locations - whether they're responsible to complete it or simply a stakeholder looking for status updates. It's changed the way we prioritize and view outstanding work, and makes it easier to schedule it out based on resources.

Pros:

Easy to use on-the-go for mobile app; very detailed on assets and locations; love that I can add multiple people to be assigned on a task; love the way tasks filter; love that I can share a link for external users to submit a work order without them needing an account;

Cons:

Reporting isn't very clean or easy to drill-down; can't toggle between workspaces very easily; can't list a single asset but select it for various locations (instead have to put a new asset on each location) ; wish the permission settings were a little more varied instead of opposite extremes of the spectrum; image upload tool isn't great (it takes a long time and you can't drag/drop or select multiple); wish I could add more than 5 images to a work order; inventory tracking is a bit clunky; wish it was integrated with Zendesk; wish there was a resource planning / calendar schedule function in the app