Employment Hero Reviews

by Employment Hero

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.4 /5

About Employment Hero

HR, Payroll and People Management, from anywhere. Connecting employers and employees in the new world of work.

Learn more about Employment Hero

Showing 136 reviews

Darrin W.
Executive Officer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-10

"A great paperless system"

Comments: Excellent

Pros: South West Community Transport have been using Employment Hero for 6 months now and it has improved our H.R. immensly. We are now nearly paperless with all our document controls, contracts, training, Performance reviews and procedures. Employment hero makes it very easy for staff to access their personal files at anytime of the day or night from any location and allows management to deliver compulsory reading, updates and most other things electronically.
The system is great, economical and we are not even using it to its full potential yet.
I strongly recommend Employment hero as an electronic alternative to a paper based H.R. system

Cons: We could use more flexability to change things within the contracts and also to have the ability to advertise casual roles.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-10
Abhi B.
Information Systems Manager
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-03

"Easy to manage HR & Payroll"

Comments: We are really happy with overall progress. EH has reduced our payroll process from 8hrs to 2hrs.
It has made onboarding a very easy and paperless.
Very supporting staff members, quick response to questions and suggest better way of operating.

Pros: 1. Ease of onboarding/offboarding employees
2. Digital acknowledgment of documents
3. Checklist
4. Timesheet & Leave request through app and full audit reports

Cons: 1. Connection with Payroll portal is still very limited - need improvements in area like excluding Apprentice from payroll tax, applying rule set (setup in Payroll) while onboarding through HR
2. Incident report from App not available
3. Give contractor more visibility on HR
4. Not to do with software but overall training provided wasn't great and no handover document was provided

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-10-16

Hi Abhi,

Thank you for reviewing Employment Hero and taking the time to give us such valuable feedback. It's great to see Employment Hero has had such a positive impact on your HR and payroll processes despite the limitations you've experienced.

I've passed your feedback on to our product team. Hopefully we will be able to make these updates in the future.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-03
Matt B.
Director
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-06

"Great customer service, easy to use product"

Comments: Everything about Employment Hero is easy to use and easy to understand. Has helped our organisation do paperless with HR and track/control more with less effort (better than our previous system combination of software/files/folers).

Pros: The ability to upload policies, HR documents and the system tracks the completion/acknowledgment for you in a fast and simple way. The people behind the customer service are responsive and helpful so it's not just "software as a service"..you get great support too.

Cons: It does everything it says it does well. The way people can sign documents on their phones/tablets/computers is a little inaccurate (turns your signature into more of a scribble) which should be improved, but that's mostly cosmetic.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-28

Thanks for taking the time to give Employment Hero such an amazing review, Matt! It's so great to see that you find Employment Hero easy to use and intuitive. We're happy to have helped you go paperless and even happier to see you're pleased with our customer service - we aim to please!

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-06
Ashley C.
Finance & Administration Manager
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-04

"Great Platform"

Comments: We have been with EH for almost 3 years now and it has been great to watch the platform continuously grow and improve. Overall it has been a positive experience for us and has provided piece of mind when it comes to HR and payroll processes. We also really enjoy the Employment Hero News articles.

Pros: EH has allowed us to streamline our on boarding and payroll process while keeping us completely paperless. It has created so much ease for imputing employee information, managing leave requests and processing payroll. Staff love the app and the ease it provides in updating personal details and submitting leave.

Cons: The reporting functionality and the visualisation of the reports could be improved and possibly being able to customise the Security Groups in more detail.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-07-22

Hi Ashley,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review of Employment Hero. It's great to see that you're finding it easier to onboard new employees, manage leave requests and process your payroll with Employment Hero.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the reporting feature. I've passed it on to our product team and as you know, we're always working hard to ensure that Employment Hero is the best HRIS available.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-04
Samantha J.
Financial Controller
Facilities Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-28

"All our HR needs on one platform"

Pros: Onboarding our employees is a simple and easy process. All HR records are kept in one place and we are able to keep paper files to a minimum.

Cons: Some of the reporting features are not as straightforward as they should be - such as not being able to report on multiple leave types

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2020-03-28

Hi Samantha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Employment Hero; Paperless HR is much easier than the alternative! It's great to see that you enjoy the employee onboarding function too.

You are able to run reports on the different leave types via our custom reporting function. I'll send you an email shortly with more details.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-28
Savannah S.
Delivery Supervisor
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-01

"The Employment Hero platform has introduced an effortless and smooth transition to our company."

Pros: Functionality of having the mobile app for employees to log their leave requests, timsheets, view the staff directory and the web-based userface for being able to record, track and manage employees. Also, the on-boarding features are very time sufficient. In the past, our company documented everything manually and printed pages of contracts which would require a physical with signature. Now with Employment Hero everything is completed on the platform and located in one central location and new employees have the ability to login and view as well as digitally sign their employment contract/offer of employment. The ability to review payslips is also a great and private feature of Employment Hero - It is something we are not using at the moment but at looking at phasing out in the near future.

Cons: I don't really have any con's of the software application within Employment Hero. Maybe the opportunity to have a Time in Lieu (TOIL) reporting system can be explored by the developers would assist us more in our operations functions.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-13

Hi Savannah,

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such an amazing review! It's great to see you're getting so much utility out of the platform and finding use in so many different features.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-01
David P.
CEO
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-09

"Makes life simple"

Comments: Employment Hero has made our HR life easier, it provides one place to keep all our staff files and talks to Xero. We are still not using it to its 100% functionality, but finding better ways each day. Customer support is excellent.

Pros: The ease of use and Xero integration and being cloud-based

Cons: can't say at this stage, we haven't found many issues and we are not using the software at its full capacity.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-07-22

Hi David,

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such a glowing recommendation! We're happy to see that you're finding it easy to use so far and if you need any help understanding the features, please shoot us an email at [email protected]

Have a lovely day,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-09
Lisa H.
HR Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-15

"We implemented Employment Hero in August 2017 and it has really helped streamline our HR practices."

Pros: Employment Hero has allowed us to move on from a lot of the manual practices that we had in place. It's so much more efficient for us to send our contract electronically and have all personal details in one place. It has really taken away a lot of manual work and simplified things for us.
We also love being able to pull standard reports quickly such as staff numbers, anniversaries and gender numbers.

Cons: It would be really great to be able to have our International staff on EH as well. And I do find some of the reporting a little tricky but its nothing that I cant work around.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-23

Hi Lisa,

A massive thank you from the Employment Hero team for your review of the platform! We love that we're making things more efficient and the reporting feature is making your life easier.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-01-15
Marie C.
Manager
Renewables & Environment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-08

"Easy Peasy"

Comments: Plug and play software for HR, can upload toolbox or site inductions for remote employees in the field to complete wherever they are! Hero shop gives us as small employers the same advantage as big business we can entice top employees to stay because they have the same benefits and discounts from the platform. A happy employee is a productive employee - Thanks Hero!

Pros: Easy HR Docs, templates in the box software, just add company logos and additional company details or leave out what isn't relevant - easy peasy!

Cons: Integration with payroll is still a little clunky - Admin/owner have duplicate file, ended employees show as errors. Payslips do not show annual leave balances. In time I am sure this will be resolved

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-07-22

Hi Marie,

Thanks for reviewing Employment Hero and giving the platform top marks! We're really excited to see that you find the platform so helpful, especially when it comes to competing with bigger businesses.

I've just sent you an email regarding the duplicate accounts.

Speak soon,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-08
Ashleigh O.
Business Administration Manager
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-07

"Employment Hero Review"

Comments: It has made my job so much easier in relation to HR. It saves me time, money and overall my employees are happier using the system and being able to have everything in one place and online.

Pros: It is easy to use and simplifies a lot of what would be manual processes when it comes to HR and on-boarding of staff.

Cons: There is so much more you could do with this platform - expense claims for example.
Also letting people know when there is another Beta option to try out, I have rung up in the past to find out about any.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-06-25

Hi Ashleigh,

Thank you for taking the time to review Employment Hero. Our passion is to make employment easier for everyone so it's really exciting to see we've been able to help you achieve this!

It's great to see you're interested in our beta testing. I've passed on your details to our product team and they will definitely be in touch in the near future!

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-07
Nadine H.
Operations
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-24

"Love it, really easy to use."

Comments: Streamlined our onboarding & HR document management.

Pros: There's no guess work. The menu options are clear and the interface is easy to use. I love the employee onboarding function, the seamless integration with our accounting software & the ability to store all our HR docs in each employee's file for easy access.

Cons: Can't fault it. It's the easiest system implementation I've been part of and the support team are great.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-04-24

Woah, what a great review! Thanks for giving us such glowing feedback, Nadine. We live to make your world better at work, so to know that we're doing just that for you and your team is amazing.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-24
Mandy B.
Director
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-15

"Love it, saves time and paper and makes life easier."

Pros: The review section and building my own templates, use of timesheets, compliance are staffing credentials and a lot more.

Cons: Takes time to learn how to use all facets of the software, I am short on time unfortunately so I haven't used all.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-08

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such an awesome review, Mandy. It's great to see that Employment Hero is making your life easier at work. We're always investing in the product and specifically the user experience, so we hope that you're better able to navigate the platform now.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-15
Georgie K.
Human Resources Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-15

"Easy to use platform that employees enjoy interacting with - but don't expect customer service or support."

Comments: Good functions and an easy to use platform don't compensate for lack of support or customer service.

Pros: Has cut down on our paper trail. It's good having all the HR documents uploaded in one place that can be accessed by employees.

Cons: Little to no customer support. All correspondence must be by email which is slow and ineffective. EH changed to a 'pay-for-support' arrangement after our company had already signed up - so the appealing point of difference that made EH stand out is now gone. The platform is expensive and can only be paid for by direct debit - which would be okay if invoicing was accurate and correct. We are now looking at other platforms but it's a bit like deciding you want a different breed of puppy after you've house-trained the first one.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-04-23

Hi Georgie, I know I'm a little bit late to the game here but I wanted to address your concerns regarding our customer support team. In the past 9 months, we've worked tirelessly to improve our response times and expanding our support resources. We've also introduced a brand new education tool that guides users through the platform, step by step, reducing the reliance on our support team. I guess what we're saying is, we can still be that puppy!

Hope to see you on the platform soon,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-15
Ellena Y.
HR & HSE Manager
Oil & Energy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-06

"Easy to navigate and upload information. Good help to get started."

Comments: A fully functional HRIS system that improves due to the updates they make. It's perfect for our size business that is growing.

Pros: Has a lot of features and is free of charge when using their preferred superannuation fund for new employees. Amazing system for free!!!

Cons: Would be great to have a working training matrix eventually and a fully operational recruiting system.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-13

Hi Ellena,

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such a fantastic review! We hope you're still enjoying the platform, especially now with the Jobadder integration, which allows an end-to-end employee experience from recruitment to offboarding.

Have a lovely day,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-06
Adrian P.
Chief Operating Officer Oceania
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-20

"Managing people is hard, EH makes it a little easier."

Pros: Simplicity in the cloud, connecting the company with the employees and informing the managers. As an exec being able to access contracts in real time, without a request via a person enables me to explore opportunities quicker.

Cons: Some obvious features still to evolve. Being able to generate lists of Employees with Annual Salaries, or Employees and their Notice periods. No doubt it will come. Lacks the ability to give admin access over groups. NZ next, please?

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-24

Hi Adrian,

Thanks for taking the time to review Employment Hero. It's great to see that the platform is helping your company connect better and that we're saving you time, too.

Keep an eye out for Employment Hero in NZ - it's on the cards...

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-20
Michelle G.
Director of People and Operations
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-04

"I am very happy with Employment Hero, it does everything I need and it is easy to use."

Comments: It has streamlined my HR processes and it ensures that all employees must read and acknowledge the polices in place.

Pros: The ease of use, and how it is laid out would be what I like most about the software. Also that it integrates with my accounting software.

Cons: For what I needed it for, there isn't really much I don't like. Probably the only thing would be that there are fields in Employment Hero that I had to manual enter because it is not captured in my accounting software, which is more of a problem with the accounting software.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-28

Thanks for giving Employment Hero such a lovely review, Michelle! It's great to see that we've helped streamline your HR admin and that you can feel confident your employees are acknowledging your policies.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-04
Kim R.
Director of Integration, Operations & Experience
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-31

"All your HR and Payroll requirements centralised"

Comments: We are still in the early stages but overall, the integration of Hero Payroll and Employment Hero will ultimately save us hundreds of hours a year.

Pros: The software is easy to use and intuitive. Navigation is easy and logical. Having all employee info in one place is fantastic. Being able to issue contracts online as well as speed up onboarding is a bonus. HR templates, documents are available to modify and the new Covid-19 documentation has been invaluable.

Cons: Nothing comes to mind. Easy to navigate.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2020-04-16

Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time share your experiences with Employment Hero! We're so glad to hear you've found the platform easy to use and helpful.

Though we wish it wasn't necessary, we're grateful to be able to support you and the team through the Covid-19 pandemic and will continue to do so until we're all on the other side of this.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-31
Kurt S.
Director
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-29

"Big Disappointment So Far"

Comments: Zero star experience so far with HR and LMS implementation. Started much later than we clearly said that we needed. Was auto enrolled into hours of webinars with two days notice with no regards for our full calendar and business travel commitments. Am currently considering dropping down to the minimum number of employees to see out my contract and then putting my team in another software solution - and that includes LMS and Payroll. We expected a lot more from conversations on the sales calls. Hasn't lived up to promises in Payroll either. Xero has better payroll system with more functionality and better value.
There are much better value LMS systems out there as well. (TalentLMS)

Pros: Had potential if it was delivered as promised, the problem is getting it set up has been extremely difficult.

Cons: The setup process has been a disappointing experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-29
Morten F.
Video Editor
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-11

"Easy to use and great rewards"

Pros: I love the easy usage, and that the layout of the client is easy to navigate in. Also, they have great rewards on offer.

Cons: Some issues with picking what type of leave I put in, but that might have been fixed.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-04-11

Thanks for your review, Morten! We're always work to make Employment Hero the best HRIS on the market, so it's great to see you're enjoying it.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-11
Jenifer P.
Office Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-05-19

"Good"

Pros: The training has some good videos available. Customer support was good once they got back to me.

Cons: I found the lengthy setup process frustrating. It's not a one step process. Customer support took a while to get back to me with set up issues.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-28

Hi Jennifer

Thanks for reviewing Employment Hero. We're sorry to hear that your implementation process wasn't as seamless as we intend it to be. It is definitely a process to make sure everything is working perfectly when you launch, but we pride ourselves on supporting our customers quickly and efficiently. We're sorry this wasn't your experience and I hope that since you left this review, you've had a better time with Employment Hero.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-05-19
Damian P.
General Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-06

"Great software let down by appalling customer service. They took forever to implement, do not answer the phone, and take a long time to respond to email tickets."

Pros: Very easy to use and has some great features. Great integration with company process and policy. Integrates well with Clock-me-in app and the EH mobile app is easy to use.

Cons: Does not manage attendance of salaried employees well, and adds time/attendance to their salary unless manually adjusted each payrun.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-05-08

Hi Damian,

Thanks for taking the time to review Employment Hero. It seems that there were a couple of issues you had with the platform. I hope these have since been rectified and that you're finding the platform more rewarding now. Regardless, I've passed on your feedback to our product team.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-06
Kim M.
Business Development
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2021-01-17

"Think twice."

Comments: If a seamless user experience and reliable software that's easy to use is important to you, do not choose Employment Hero. It has been working OK (just) since ironing out most of the problems but not work the time and money to get to this stage. The HR and Payroll software are clearly sold separately because the look and feel is different and you need to instruct managers to perform actions in one platform, despite being able to do it in another, causing confusion.

Pros: The ability for employees to update their own personal information. Contract templates are helpful for those who don't have an internal legal or large HR department.

Cons: The integration between the two products - HR and payroll is awful. They often don't communicate with each other seamlessly and you are required to learn by trial and error due to the poor deployment processes and cumbersome workflow regarding setup. Customer Service is helpful most of the time but you will be passed through numerous people who do not explain the fundamental use of all the features. Too much emphasis is on knowing the hundreds of pages of instructions and features. Timekeeping apps (Clock Me In/Workzone) are simply terrible.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2021-02-21

Hi Kim,

Thank your for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience with Employment Hero hasn't been as seamless as we'd like it to be.

We'll be reaching out directly to reach a resolution and hope that we can get things back on track.

Thank you again,
Anna from Employment Hero

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2021-01-17
Dearne R.
Admin Manager
Farming, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-05-08

"HR made easy"

Comments: The fact we can have up to 350 people inducted and work ready over our peak season the thing we loved most was the ease in which we could do multiple pays per week for the different divisions we have, and the fact employees can access their payslips, leave balances etc is just awesome.
We most definitely saved hours pay day by using this system very happy we made the change to Employment Hero.

Pros: We found the system super easy to use once set up had been completed it was a very simple process to move over to Employment Hero - We use a lot of seasonal workers through Cherry season and this system made it so much easier for employees as well as the admin team.

Cons: Not so much as liking least but it just took a while to work out which information was where in the menu

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2020-05-14

Hi Dearne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Employment Hero and to provide so much detail about your experiences. We really appreciate it.

We're so glad we can help you manage your onboarding and offboarding across seasons and that all your employees love having their employment documents on hand whenever they need them.

We look forward to supporting you and the team for many more seasons to come!

Thank you again,
The Team at Employment Hero

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-05-08
Joanne M.
Office Administrator
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-08

"Practical and Efficient Employment System"

Comments: The set up process is well worth the time invested for the efficiency that follows.
All staff have embraced it, with few problems.
The system is transparent; all documents can be signed from any location; any additional documents can be added immediately and read and signed off by staff on the same day; it also serves as great filing sytem and has the ability to remind staff of overdue certificates; licences etc.

Pros: The program is very time efficient; with staff using timesheets instead of manual timebooks; leave request updating on a calendar automatically once approved etc; quick facilitation of documents between employer and employee.
Onboarded new employees is simple.
The process from sending out a letter of offer and associated paperwork; to the employee registering without any problem before commencing with us, has been seamless.
Other quality feature are reminders for expired certificates and licences; birthdays; probations etc.

Cons: Syncing to MYOB AccountRight:
Currently RealHR does not sync correctly with MYOB AccountRight due to the rounding of wages.
For e.g:
Employee 1 gets paid $55000 per annum or $27.834 per hour. (three decimal point rounding)
All employees are set up on hourly pay basis as this way personal and holiday leave etc can be entered each week.
If I set up employees under Salary pay basis I cannot enter entitlements.
Real HR only rounds to two decimal points and then when it syncs with MYOB it throws the annual amount of $55000 out in MYOB due to the difference in rounding and this upsets Employees when they see the change in their annual wage amount on their payslip.
Time sheets:
I would like to see an extra box that can stipulate if on any particular day whether the day is OTE or annual leave or personal leave or even a mix of OTE; annual leave; personal leave etc. At this stage you can only stipulate this in notes and sometimes it is easily missed.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-10-03

Hi Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of Employment Hero. It's greatly appreciated by our team, as well as potential customers looking for their own HRIS solution.

I have passed your feedback regarding the MYOB integration limitations to our product team.

Thank you again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-08
Shannon P.
HR & Payroll Manager
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-14

"We ❤️ Employment Hero"

Comments: Overall, our experience with EH has been an extremely positive one. It’s helped us streamline all our HR and payroll functions, we are now completely paperless (except for the odd report here and there!)
They really are on top of the game.

Pros: What we liked most was the fact that it turned our HR and payroll departments paperless - virtually overnight!
It’s easy to use and navigate. It’s intuative and suits our 150+ employee sized business to a tee.
Seamless integration between the HR and Payroll platforms means less time spent on menial data entry and fewer mistakes.
Perfect Integration with our accounting software as well.
We’ve been using EH for the past 2 years and they’re constantly improving and/or implementing new features.

Cons: The reporting functionality on the HR platform wasn’t quite where we needed it to be but this has been improved over time with updates.
Also, the staff announcements feature is a bit basic for our needs.

Vendor Response

by Employment Hero on 2019-04-11

Hi Shannon, thanks for sharing your experiences with Employment Hero and HeroPay! We're always developing so our reporting feature will continue to improve. It's awesome to see that we were able to help Aquabliss become almost entirely paperless too.

Thanks again,
The Employment Hero Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-14