About Device42

ITAM Software: Track complete hardware & software asset life-cycles, licenses, contracts, certificates, renewal reminders, and more!

Learn more about Device42

Pros:

Within weeks of deploying and ingesting data we are making smarter IT decisions.

Cons:

We were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything.

Device42 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Device42 has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 57 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Device42 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (57)

Verified Reviewer
Infrastructure Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.

Pros:

One of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.

Cons:

With all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.

Satesh
Systems Engineer in US
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool to keep everything organized in one place.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Each team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.

Pros:

When I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.

Cons:

There is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.

Verified Reviewer
IT Operations in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Device42 review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is
appreciated by our change manager.

Pros:

Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

Cons:

The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

Verified Reviewer
Director, IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

D42 is a comprehensive and well developed small market solution

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Very positive. We like the product so much that while the enterprise has selected another vendor for CMDB, we continue to use it internally for Server and Network-based CMDB, data center mapping, and rack elevations.

Pros:

Easy installation, configuration, and ongoing management.

Cons:

modular licensing for various components

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to Device42: Cost overall. API functionality. Elevations and mapping features.

Christopher
Senior Systems Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products. If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.

Pros:

The feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team. Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours. They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).

Cons:

We have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.

Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support.

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

Cons:

At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

Verified Reviewer
Network Operations in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

Pros:

Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

Cons:

We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

Geraldo
Geraldo
Senior Manager, IT Infrastructure and Cloud Operatioons in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Device42 give you great insights and control over your infrastruccture.

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: From stale spreadsheet, to scripted google sheets to Device42 was a journey that we took and now we're happy that these days are over. Device42 provide a great deal of visibility and help us in many process throughout the org.

Pros:

It's easy to set-up and get up-and-running in days with a close-to-perfect coverage

Cons:

It can be overwhelming for some folks, but the customer success team is great in covering that.

John
Systems Engineer/Architect in US
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

Pros:

Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

Cons:

Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

Verified Reviewer
Discovery Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

Pros:

D42 support is very quick and to the point. Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily. This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase. This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies. It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

Cons:

Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports. No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite. sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning. No CLI option

Verified Reviewer
Data Center Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

Pros:

Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

Cons:

The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

Verified Reviewer
Senior Data Center Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.

Earl
Data Center & Integration Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Product is easy to learn and put to use We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code. New features being added all the time API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation

Cons:

I can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO

Verified Reviewer
Integration Lead ESMS in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Discovery Plus

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I had a requirement for a quick discovery exercise and Device42 was able to be deployed and start returning results with a minimal setup. More functionality is configurable and will be used in the future to enhance the reporting on the discovered data. This product is able to be deployed in a very secure environment and still be fully functional. I'd highly recommend this to anybody wanting to get a quick discovery and detailed reports.

Pros:

Great support team for help with installation and issues with certain OS discoveries. A lot of information is available without the requirement to deploy agents first. Good on-line documentation that covers off the main uses of the software. Updates every fortnight containing product enhancements and bug fixes.

Cons:

Reporting engine is a little slow when wanting to export the output in csv or excel formats, this is being improved with the recent enhancements for direct database access to enable the creation of bespoke dashboards.

Mark
Lead Systems Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Device42 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn’t imagine not having it.

Pros:

Device42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it’s an appliance. Their support is excellent — you can tell that they put customers first.

Cons:

I have a few feature requests that I’d like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).

John
Tools Engineer in US
, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customer support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.

Pros:

Extremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.

Cons:

Although I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.

Ezra
Dir. of Infrastructure in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

D42 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.

Pros:

It is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.

Cons:

It does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.

Wallace
Network Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Device42 Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is a good product. It does need a lot of attention to get it setup

Pros:

It allows you to keep trace of all the device, hardware, using SNMP. We could save all the circuit and vendor information all as well as racks information.

Cons:

IP address could get a bit messy. Device information could get a bit overwhelming. So setting it up and get it up and going does require quite a bit of work. Circuit LAG doesn't really work.

Verified Reviewer
Sr. Manager of Open Systems, Mainframe & Network in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Robust product and amazing supprt

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The flexibility of the product overall. It's ability to integrate with so many other products through it's open API was a key reason for purchase. I love the ability to make mass changes to devices by exporting the data out to a spreadsheet format and re-importing versus having to touch each device individually.

Cons:

There are a few limitations to the current version of the product but support has been wonderful to deal with and they truly listen to their customers requests for future functionality. We are still learning the product so I can't speak on all functions as of yet. Building single scan jobs to encompass, SNMP v2/3 as well as SSH would be great versus having to build 3 different scans for the same subnet space. I'd like to see IPAM show all IP addresses for a particular subnet showing both used and unused IP's. Currently it will just show you used so you need to scan through and look for a break in the sequence versus looking for an IP with a green bubble showing it's available. These are small Cons and definitely not a show stopper for us. Just nice to haves.

Andreas
Network Engineer in Germany
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good IPAM Solution

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We gained following efforts :
- global IPAM solutions
- active IP usability tracking (ping Sweep)
- Service Now Integration (REST Integration)
- Single Source of truth for network items

Pros:

We use this tool as global IPAM solution also for automated processes and its working very good. API is clearly documented and support is always willing to help

Cons:

Some usability concepts are not so common as compared to other IPAM products (e.g. Bluecat), which needs more time to get familiar with the concept (e.g. subnet move, split, merge). But support is always open for guidance and feature requests

Nick
IT Support Supervisor in US
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Been a great product and overall experience.

Pros:

Setting up the server and the scans, and it handles itself. Being able to track users, the machines they use and software they have installed has been very helpful.

Cons:

At times it doesn’t know how to categorize some laptops. The software really struggles to know how to label a Surface Pro.

Rob
Director of Engineering in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful and simple asset management for the data center

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Automated inventory and asset management

Pros:

The customer service is really top-notch. The software itself is easy to install and use, and it's very powerful. Compared to other inventory and asset management applications I've used, Device42 offers a lot more functionality and a lot less hassle. The engineers release an update every week or two, and these updates often contain substantial improvements. The product just keeps getting better and better with every iteration!

Cons:

As powerful as it is, Device42 is still missing a few features that would be nice to have. Not all hardware is supported for automated discoveries. However, I'm confident that the D42 engineers are working on it!

Matt
IT Infrastructure Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Glad we purchased this product.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Love it.

Pros:

Within weeks of deploying and ingesting data we are making smarter IT decisions.

Cons:

Just a small learning curve but better than most.

Alternatives Considered: Nlyte DCIM

Reasons for Switching to Device42: Cost and simplicity.

Alvin
System Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Asset management features.

Pros:

The software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.

Cons:

What I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task. Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.

Ernest
Sr Infrastructure engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Find in a while!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

Pros:

Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

Cons:

Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!