15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Namely

With intuitive technology and a world-class team of experts, Namely empowers HR with a solutions for small to mid-sized businesses.

Learn more about Namely

Pros:

We love the onboarding system, it makes everything very easy and automated.

Cons:

Some of the locations for things seem a bit odd.

Namely ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Namely has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 437 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Namely before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (437)

MD Abu
MD Abu
Chief Marketing officer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great Human resource management tool to bring efficiency at workplace.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am very satisfied with the software. It has made the HRM of our corporation more convenient & effective.

Pros:

It is a very convenient system to make the HRM more easy & effective. It helps to manage the system remotely & sync all the information instantly. The software is very easy to implement & has a great User interface.

Cons:

The software is already a great build but sometimes it becomes clumsy to manage all the data at once.

Namely Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you've enjoyed using our platform.

Katrina
Katrina
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Namely is an excellent HRIS for small businesses

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: In particular, it is user-friendly, centralizes all of our data, and streamlines our operations. All of the tools have improved our team management and allowed us to devote more time to strategic rather than administrative tasks, such as onboarding new recruits and monitoring vacation time.

Pros:

Namely is a great human resource management system. We are a tech firm, and the platform has received nothing but praise from our developers. Our HR services are now more streamlined than ever thanks to the intuitive reporting and various modules that allow us to devote more time to strategic rather than administrative tasks.

Cons:

The months-long process of finalizing API feeds has slowed down the processing of layoffs and new hiring with their perks with our many partners. The resolution of this issue will also simplify our situation.

Clinton
Human Resource Manager in US
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Namely Is an Easy to Use and Reliable Solution

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Namely has been a powerful payroll management tool. The features of Namely are brilliant.

Cons:

I do not dislike Namely. Namely has been dependable.

Andrew
Head of People and Culture in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avoid at all costs

2.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: We are already exploring moving off the platform, just two years after joining. That should tell you how bad the experience has been. We have had to add other tools to utilize functionality that is native in Namely, but simply doesn't work (like org charts). We are paying more for less.

Pros:

When we started out, we had an 80% great implementation team, and the only part that was lacking was payroll. Well, 2+ years later the *only* think going well is payroll, but issues still exist that we told them about *at implementation*. So what do I like best? Literally just our Payroll Admin. She is fantastic and does a terrific job.

Cons:

Things were bad with Namely, then they were acquired by a benefits brokerage and the tech has definitely taken a backseat. Simple things like LOA administration are not even built into the tooling, and their support is a mess. After 2+ years, we finally have a dedicated rep, and he is trying, but their team doesn't even know their own tech. I asked a question about a feature that *should* be necessary in expense reimbursement, for audit compliance. Their support said it didn't exist. I found it buried in the back end *by accident* two weeks later. That does not inspire confidence.

Namely Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your time with Namely hasn't met your expectations over the past two years. Your feedback is crucial, and we appreciate your insights. We are delighted to hear that your payroll administrator has been a highlight; we know how important it is to have reliable and efficient support in this area. We’ve been actively working to improve our support and technology offerings. In January 2024, we launched a 24/7 support structure to provide better assistance with employee maintenance, reporting, payroll processing, and more. We've also been focusing on enhancing our HRIS workflows and refining roles to make your experience more seamless. We welcome the opportunity to better support your organization. You can contact our client services team 1.855.626.3591 or also work with your Client Relationship Manager directly. We're dedicated to earning back your trust and confidence.

Jamie
Director of Growth in US
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not very user friendly

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall I’m very glad we switched from Paychex, but I think Gusto is the clear winner in terms of user experience.

Pros:

Namely is far better than Paychex, which we used previously. All the necessary functionality is there, and it serves its purpose.

Cons:

Although miles better than paychex, Namely leaves a lot to be desired from an employee user experience. The portal is not intuitive to navigate, the functionality for performance reviews is basic, and overall I find myself needing to reach out to HR often for help navigating the platform.

Alan
Alan
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Namely is an intuitive and simple payroll software

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Namely does a great job with tax notices, so we never have to worry about anything getting lost in the shuffle. Employees can access a great HRIS system. Regular use of the system by staff members is evidence of its value. Having all of the company's paperwork and personnel files in one place is helpful.

Pros:

I appreciate how quick and easy it is to check my benefits and salary. Leave of absence requests can also be submitted. The onboarding procedure at Namely is streamlined. It's useful for maintaining legal conformity. The payroll system I use has a very responsive customer service team.

Cons:

There are sometimes too many hoops to jump through and paperwork to submit before a desired change can be implemented. For instance, the system required us to acquire and present an authorization letter of the IRS in order to change the company name. For some reason, filing taxes under the new name wasn't good enough.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great HRIS and Payroll system with many customizable features

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I and a Namely advocate, I was instrumental in recommending and seeting them up for my business. I just think their customer service format changes frequently and it is confusing sometimes to keep up with their preferred communication etiquette.

Pros:

We have a ver detailed and multi step performance review process, Namely allowe dus to build the ratings and concepts for our processes. The abilit ti assign multiplie review writers, the steps of approval and the reminders are all key in our operations.

Cons:

Our account contacts and the way we communicate has changed at least 3 times in the past year. Sometimes i feel like there is a push to work with customer service only in their prefered way, if you send an e-mail instead of a case or if you mark something urgent that they don't think is urgent.

Namely Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you find our platform to be super customizable, especially when it comes to performance reviews. As for customer support, we truly apologize for your experience. We are confident that our new Pod Service Model and the Namely Help Community will enhance clients' overall experiences going forward.

Melissa
Employee Experience Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Happy with HRIS

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Namely is a good system. It has helped us to make our candidate and employee experience easier and more efficient. We are looking forward to adding the benefits system to replace our current system to really give our employees a central place to go for all of their needs.

Pros:

We really like the onboarding tool for our new hires. There are definitely benefits to this system to streamline your process. For the most part, Namely provides an easy to use platform for our new hires to upload and provide their information. I really like the option of the e-signature which allows us to send out documents to individuals or company wide to be signed. Those documents are then available on the employees profile. We like the analytics which allow us to look at a variety of data points about our employees. We are preparing to add Namely benefits to our package and are hopeful that this will allow us to increase our employee experience satisfaction.

Cons:

We did not have a great experience with implementation and felt that we were not prepared for our go live. Our original Customer Support person struggled with many of our questions and concerns and we were left to figure a good number of work arounds on our own. We are hopeful that the new system for getting help support will be better for us. We are frequently looking for ways to work around the limitations of the Namely software. The Namely community of users has been helpful to our company.

Namely Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that Namely has enhanced your onboarding process and overall employee experience. As for implementation, we truly apologize for your experience. We have made several improvements recently, such as introducing Data Migration Services, to ensure that our clients' implementations go smoothly and properly prepare them to go live. As for customer support, we are confident that our new Pod Service Model will enhance clients' overall experiences and are happy to hear that you have found the Namely Help Community to be helpful.

Nick
CEO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple HRIS that gets out of your way and lets you work

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: A really polished HRIS for most company use cases. You can build a very polished onboarding, offboarding, and performance mangement flow. Very positive user feedback.

Pros:

Very simple to use, simple to teach employees how to use, simple to teach managers how to performance manage with. Good integration with Okta providing a really slick and polished onboarding and offboarding loop.

Cons:

May not be as feature rich as things like ADP or Trinet when it comes to time tracking and part time employment, but nowhere near as infuriating to use.

Jacy
Staffing Coordinator in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great system

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

It's easy to use and has all the information we need easily accessible in one spot.

Cons:

Sometimes things are not in the tab I would think they are in.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Avoid at all costs

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: Terrible - service reps do not know the system, standard payroll practice, let alone any questions. Service tickets get lost, takes months for resolution of more complex tasks and extreme micromanagement

Pros:

It's pretty. There is really no other pro.

Cons:

HRIS: No proper Leave tracking for maternity/paternity, jury duty, bereavement leave ETC There's no way to see a PTO accrual history Employees are not alerted when their address format is invalid Only one set of holidays - UK sees all US Holidays When reporting structure changes you have to make MANUAL changes in Namely Payroll IN ADDITION to doing a mass upload in the HRIS Doesn't auto track history of Job titles Need to manually assign PTO to employees not automatic Leave approval amends, not sent Lack of point in time reporting Does not auto assign pay group based on the type of pay entered Payroll: You can't retract partial payments Had to print W2s and sort through employees that electronically consented and send out those that did not "We have to do all of the calculations manually when there is a comp change in the middle of a pay period " Invalid addresses prevent us from proceeding with payroll We are unable to easily add "time and a half" for employees who work on holidays Takes weeks to add a new department code Tax withholdings do not flow seamlessly from HRIS to Payroll If we need to Mark an employee as FICA tax exempt we need have to reach out to Namely as only they can do this Employee ID do not flow over to HRIS Manually have to add holiday pay for employees does not flow into payroll You have to manually exclude employees from payroll once terminated Time and attendance: Time card entry is tedious PTO doesn't communicate to Payroll You have to man

Joseph
Director of HR in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Namely is a great option for a mid sized company

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The software flows very well and links everything so it's easy to onboard and offboard employees. The profiles store employee data efficiently and the reporting and analytics is very useful.

Cons:

There are many inconsistencies or illogical set ups that make the software wonky at times. For example, titles are considered an "object" rather than text. So you have to add every title manually in the backend. THEN, only on the onboarding form can you search titles. Everywhere else you must search the alphabetized list manually for your title. This is just a minor inconvenience. A more major one is how salaries are handled. When inputting a salary for payroll you have to calculate out how much each check should be and input that in addition to listing the annual salary. This might be fine if every other form or field didn't calculate it automatically for you. This seems like a major oversight and really puts into perspective how this software was developed. And that is, many teams working on their own parts without any formal cohesion of functionality. Honestly, it feels like an intern built the whole onboarding piece (which is the function you will use the most).

Namely Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our platform has simplified your onboarding and offboarding processes. As for your pain point about salaries, we apologize for your negative experience. Fixing that process is currently on our product roadmap and we look forward to making your experience as seamless as possible.

Austin
HR Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Product and Company with Direction

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Namely has saved us time in a lot of areas once we really learned how to use the system. We have been very impressed with Namely's interest in responding to client needs and I've not ever worked with a company such as theirs with a roadmap that is truly responsive to clients. One area they can continue to improve upon is in customer service--I find myself needing to follow up on service requests often. That said, I know it is something that they are working on improving. Overall good experience with Namely.

Pros:

Namely's onboarding function has been a huge time saver for our company. We have a lot of documentation that employees must sign and review before starting and it makes it easy for them to find it all in one place. Performance reviews are also a breeze with Namely. Lastly, we have found a lot of benefit in the all-in-one nature of Namely for ourselves and our employees.

Cons:

The integration between HRIS, Payroll, Benefits, and Time can certainly continue to be improved. Additionally, our company manages multiple EINs and so we would like to see Namely continue to improve functionality for this.

Caryn
Communications Manager in US
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of Namely for time management, easily accessible benefits information and other perks

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Namely has been transformational for our business, improving efficiency and allowing employees and managers to focus more on the core work of the organization without being bogged down by time-consuming HR tasks. The ability to track leave, benefits and paystubs all in one software keeps us accountable and avoids lots of paperwork!

Pros:

Before my company started using Namely, we were submitting our time-off requests on paper and routing through multiple mailboxes for approvals. We did not have a reliable and convenient system for managing our leave accrual or communicating with busy managers about PTO requests. Now, all of that information is at our fingertips, approvals are a breeze, and it's easier for managers to keep track of all of their direct reports' schedules. Namely also allows us to view our pay stubs and benefits information at any time, and complete our annual open enrollment, all within the software. I would highly recommend the service to any organization looking to improve its efficiency for HR processes.

Cons:

At our company, employees accrue comp time for working weekend events throughout the year. Namely does not allow us to enter that comp time in a formal system that is tracked electronically. Instead, we keep track of it on our own, and when we enter PTO requests as "comp time for XYZ event", it is on the honor system. Not a huge complaint, but would be nice if we could track that piece of our PTO the same way we can vacation time, sick time, etc.

John
Payroll Director in US
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The absolute WORST Payroll HRIS System...EVER!!!!!!!!!

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: From a zero to ten it's a zero. Run...do not walk away from considering this system and support model. Way too many more modern systems and service providers than this. Apparently this company does not take into consideration feedback from customers. You also do NOT have a dedicated service rep. So once you sign the dotted line...you're on your own. Good luck...b/c you will need with this awful 1960 system design.

Pros:

I do like the Facebook look and feel for the main page for ESS. Articles and help guides easily to upload to system.

Cons:

Where to begin? So many to list.... Hold times for client services are crazy. I guess b/c the company is in financial trouble the staff is bare. get ready for TWO plus hours of hold times to get help!!! You can barely ever get a hold of a live person. You have to create a "call back" and list three times you want a call back...but it is within their hours. Then they send an invite for when "they" are free...not the client. System cannot track correctly FMLA or other PTO times. System cannot do imputed income on GTL or other imputed items per pay period like ADP, Paychxex, Ceridian, Workday, SAP and all other modern systems can do easily. The software cannot do gross ups easily, manual checks are a fiasco. Whoever designed this system did NOT have background in payroll or HRIS. Manual checks cannot be ran with the regular payroll. It has to be done as a "separate payroll".

Namely Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you feel Namely wasn't the right solution for your company and apologize for your negative experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good product for growing company

5.0 last year

Pros:

The social feature on the home page was great. I loved how our team was able to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries when they logged on.

Cons:

When I used it Namely was new to the industry and had some growing pains they went through. Re-orgs and misses on design layout. Was still happy to use it on a daily basis though!

Tilly
Growth Marketing Manager in US
Music, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I Recommend Namely

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: I really enjoyed the platform, my overall experience was a positive 10/10!

Pros:

Namely is easy to navigate, can easily be accessed anywhere, and in my experience, has a small amount of website issues. It's a hub you utilize daily when employed with a company, and a platform you can still access after you've switched jobs. It was very helpful when filing 2022 taxes even though my new company doesn't utilize Namely.

Cons:

The only feature I remember having issues with was not being able to go back and edit PTO time after the scheduled PTO time period had passed. For example, if i had requested 8 hours of PTO but only took 6, I was unable to edit the next day. My manager would have to completely delete the request, and i'd have to create a new one.

Colleen
Head of Optimistic People in US
Apparel & Fashion, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Namely makes it easy for our people to do the right things and smile about it

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We found Namely after scouring the market for a solution that was simple, connected, available 24/7, and offered one attractive place for us to do People work the way we want to do it. We found Namely and have been pleasantly surprised at every stage. First, we added the HR solution. We jumped at the chance to try the Onboarding and eSignature features. We have just decided to implement Payroll and Benefits. We love the Namely team! They are by far the most responsive and helpful people we work with. The online HELP tool means we get answers quickly. Features get updated regularly and Namely really listens to we users when we ask for new features / changes to the software. I love Backstage Pass where I can connect with other Namely users and get tips. We use Namely for so many thing that used to require separate and manual solutions (org charts, employee photos, performance reviews, multi-tiered goals, news feed, calendar, etc.). There is a bit of a learning curve for employees who expect things to be complex and cumbersome based on past experience with ADP and other vendors. When they see how simple Namely is, they are shocked. It's fun to see their lightbulb moments and hear "that's all I had to do?". ;-)

Pros:

One stop solution. Web-based. Simple and clean design.

Cons:

Wish we had a little more control over naming some of the tabs and folders.

Shane
Director of Human Resources in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Namely: The light weight Champion in a heavy weight market

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: From the beginning, Namely has been fast, easy, yet very powerful. This platform looks and feels like social media sites, but in the background (or under the hood) is very powerful technology that allows both employers and employees simplify their work life. For the employer there are very powerful reporting and communication tools. The benefit management, on boarding, and performance reviews are a breeze. Throw in payroll and you have an unstoppable platform that knocks out the competition. The employee enjoys the ease of being up to date with company announcements. The calendar is excellent and allows managers to make sure coverage is where it is needed at the click of the mouse. Namely eliminates all the headaches of paperwork with their benefit management and benefit partners. Namely's customer service is light-years ahead of the competition. If you haven't done it yet DEMO Namely. Your life will be changed forever!

Pros:

I love all the integration between their HR and Payroll platforms. Namely is truly a one stop shop when it comes to an all around HR/Payroll platform.

Cons:

It's hard to say anything negative about the platform. It was up and running and ready to go from the start. The customer service has been excellent. There have been mostly positive experiences so far.

Lynn
HR Coordinator in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good product, horrendous implementation

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

*Great way to integrate an HRIS system and payroll on one platform. *Simple and easy interface for users. Very similar to Facebook in design and functionality. *Lots of great workflows to utilize to eliminate pen and paper documents. *Namely did fully refund us our money after our implementation was handled very poorly.

Cons:

Phew, my boss and I had problems with our Namely implementation from the beginning. It seems that the company was undergoing a lot of turnover and restructuring during our implementation, and we felt it. There would be weeks when we would hear no communication from our lead implementation specialist. My boss thought he had quit or had been let go and had to write a strongly worded email before we got a response back. Our Namely benefits specialist then made an error with an algorithm she was using to calculate benefits costs during our open enrollment in November. If hadn't caught the error, our company would have lost thousands of dollars. We have had numerous issues with payroll since open enrollment and have cycled through several specialists since. Last week, my boss and I decided we have had enough and are moving to another HRIS system.

Lisa
HR Manager in US
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great for small companies

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I like Namely. It makes processes easier and their customer service is fantastic.

Pros:

The ease of use is what I love most about Namely. For the most part, it is very intuitive and user friendly. Being user friendly makes it easy for me as the admin but more importantly it makes it easy for my employees to navigate.

Cons:

There is still a lot of room to grow. There are a several functions that I was used to on other (larger name brand) software that Namely doesn't have yet. A major one for me was not having pass enrollment. But they have since updated that and now offer a passive enrollment, which is a relief! I know they are working on a load of new functions and I look forward to seeing what they are.

Namely Response

4 years ago

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to continue enhancing our platform and your overall client experience.

Caleb
Administrator, HRIS and Payroll in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

An HRIS that Everyone likes to Use

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's a great HRIS, and a great company. Namely is constantly updating the system and releasing new features. The support team is top notch and is always happy to help in anyway they can. Namely may be missing some features or some may need to be updated, but the interfaces and the support plus the fact that they are dedicated to releasing features that are requested really make it a top HRIS system.

Pros:

Easy to use for Employees, Managers, and Admins. The interfaces are elegant, clean, and very intuitive. The ability to automate tasks or delegate tasks that used to be a burden has freed up time for Managers and HR admins. Having everything all in one creates an easy experience for our employees. The ability to use the Open API allowed us to automate our employee data flow out to different parts of the company and keep our systems all in sync.

Cons:

Missing some features you might get from an older HRIS, Payroll, or Benefit system. While the time feature allows a lot of customization, it can be burdensome to use and navigate.

Trish
Dir of HR in US
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reviewing Namely for HRIS, benefits admin & payroll processing

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We love Namely for our HR, benefit and payroll administration. And our employees enjoy the social feed area as well. The site is flexible, easy to use and we get wonderful support from our Namely team!

Pros:

I mostly love being able to have HR, benefits and payroll information all in one spot! Of course Namely is not the only program which can handle these processes, but I do find Namely very flexible and capable of handling all our needs.

Cons:

We may be unique, but we do value anonymity in our review process. I do wish the review program settings could be set at the company level so that all managers could initiate the process in the same manner. without my needing to ensure it is handled in the same way each time. I've communicated our need and I'm sure Namely is assessing to see if this is something other companies could use as well.

Tiffany
Tiffany
Director Of Operations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid HRIS for small companies

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: In addition to the software, we use their brokerage and LOVE Namely Benefits. They've made the transition so much easier and are basically an extension of my one-person HR team.

Pros:

Clean, easy-to-use interface. Payroll is easy and efficient. The set-up is easy for employees to use - I've never been asked where things are or for a password reset since starting with Namely. ;) Customizable. Continuously improving and working to support their clients (i.e., they actually listen to feedback!)

Cons:

Re-hires are a little wonky. Reporting meets my needs, but similar to other features, Namely isn't as comprehensive as some of the old-time HRIS systems (like ADP). But there's so many benefits/pros, it's easy to overlook any challenges.

Amanda
Director of Human Resources in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product with variable implementation and customer support

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I work for a nonprofit organization with more than 60 employees in over 20 states (we're a remote workforce), and we began using Namely after leaving a different software in the summer of 2016. I struggled to decide between a three and four-star review. For now, I'm going with a three, but I reserve the right to revise upward or downward in future weeks and months. Our sales and introductory phase with Namely was excellent. We learned a lot about the product and Namely's offerings, and, obviously, our organization was sold. As I've seen noted in some other reviews, there were problems with our implementation. Our payroll was set up incorrectly, even though Namely had payroll registers to model on, and that error resulted in the underpayment of taxes. To Namely's credit, they put a lot of work in to correct the issue and file amendments, but it was disappointing that poor implementation resulted in something like that. We've also had spotty responsiveness and support, but that has improved as the kinks have gotten worked out (which is somewhat backward to what you, as a customer, might want). Outside of the implementation and responsiveness, we love the platform. I love that we have so much control over payroll (that wasn't the case with other software), and the HRIS side of things is much more sleek, streamlined, and easy to understand. In summary, I would say our relationship and experience is improving over time, but there's still some damaged trust and suspiciousness after the rocky implementation.

Pros:

Customizable; modern; streamlined

Cons:

Ad hoc (sometimes it feels like new features or functionality is tacked on); inconsistent (sometimes, the product doesn't work as described)