Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ToucanTech

Smart software to power community engagement

Learn more about ToucanTech

Filter reviews (84)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used ToucanTech before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (84)

Catherine R.
Development Database Administrator in U.K.
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An excellent, "one-stop shop" software for all your Development Office needs

5 2 years ago

Comments: Toucan Tech were extremely helpful during the decision making and transition phase and since we began using the software have been incredibly supportive and taken any feedback on board and further developed the product. We now have over 300 members of our online community since we launched it 6 weeks ago and the numbers are climbing daily. Communications with alumni are simple to use and look fantastic. Record keeping is also easy and efficient. We are absolutely delighted with the product and very happy to recommend it.

Pros:

One software for alumni relations, communications, donations records, moves management and online community feature Ease of use Excellent support and training Attractive user interface Continual expansion and development of the product following feedback from users Ease of migration from previous provider to Toucan Tech Commitment and knowledge of the product from all the staff from top to bottom An understanding of Development Office work and what customers want

Cons:

No major complaints - any queries have been dealt with quickly and efficiently

Alana M.
Community Engagement & Alumni Coordinator in Australia
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Arden Anglican School review on ToucanTech

4 last year

Comments: This is a fantastic way to communicate with our alumni and it definitely filled a hole in our communication with this target market.

Pros:

I have no experience administering a website so was a little daunted at first. However, the training we received was effective and practical. After being shown the features of the site I found it was set up in a logical way that was easy to understand and use. Adding content and news items is very simple and they look great when published. I also like the flexibility of the design hub which gives me the ability to change the design to suit our corporate branding. The integration of our database was managed by the Toucan Tech support team and our IT department and and was fairly seamless and easy. After the data transfer we were able to send mass email communications to our alumni very easily. The design of the emails is customizable and they look very professional. I also like that we can share our stories straight from the site to our socials.

Cons:

Some of the advanced filters are difficult to master. However, the support site is very helpful and has lots of resources available to use when we are stuck, or we email the support team for advice.

Alternatives Considered: Potentiality

Victoria F.
Network Co-ordinator in U.K.
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Toucan Tech reviews

5 8 months ago

Comments: Overall, our experience with ToucanTech has been incredibly positive. They are receptive to feedback, and welcome suggestions on how to improve their product and implement them where possible. They are happy to work with their customers on the development of their software to ensure it meets their needs. In terms of support, ToucanTech are always respond quickly to support requests and can normally resolve problems very quickly.

Pros:

ToucanTech is an incredibly user friendly piece of software and it's very easy to build the online portal. The features we use the most are the mass email function, the events page, the online shop and the news section. Recently we've launched a second online portal for a different section of our community that can all be managed from the same database.

Cons:

There isn't a feature of Toucan that I would say I like the least. We were early customers of ToucanTech and the features and functionality that have been developed since we first used the software have only improved what was already a very good product.

Joshua C.
Marketing Assistant in U.K.
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Concord College's Alumni Network - Powered by Toucan Tech

4 last year

Comments: The overall experience is fantastic, and I feel that the more you engage with Toucan Tech's helpful support team, weekly emails, updates and webinars, the greater the possibilities become for your Alumni Network. It's very helpful to test out new features and understand how they can benefit you site. Any problems, the team are always quick and responsive to emails and calls, fixing or overcoming issues no matter how big or small.

Pros:

The design hub is extensive so you can really personalise your network, however at the same time, it is straightforward to learn and implement and helps to create a professional looking site. I particularly like the customisable layout of the homepage and the types of menus you can select. The recent update allowing drop-down menus is also beneficial in creating a more user-friendly network. Lastly, the content editor is simple and allows for excellent article-creation in no time at all!

Cons:

I feel there is further scope to boost engagement, such as enhanced capabilities to 'like', 'comment' and 'share' other users' content. There are often small bugs or technical errors when using the 'advanced filters' to organise records for emails etc.

Lee H.
Alumni Manager in U.S.
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ToucanTech for the Technophobe

5 2 years ago

Comments: As an individual who has never been in a role where I have had to use a data base before I have found the Toucan Tech software relatively easy to navigate. Also the constant improvements and their ability to react swiftly to software 'tweak' requests have made my job easier and me much more confident using a data base.

Pros:

It is aesthetically pleasing and easy to navigate with clear and simple titles. The team are often improving the software and listen to the end users requirements. The 'Dashboard' gives and instant picture of activity within the alumni community and the statistics provided are clear and concise.

Cons:

I would like a spell check built into the system.

Nick P.
Independent Development Consultant in U.K.
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

View from Mill Hill School Foundation and a wider perspective

5 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience very good. It has enabled better alumni communications , event management and fundraising campaign management. It has made reporting where required easier.

Pros:

Ease of use for non-database professionals - you don't need to be a professional to retrieve the information and reports you want. Appearance - clear and accessible screens with good explanatory notes Integration - database, comms and outward-facing web presence all in one place

Cons:

Tendency to slow down from time to time making searches and adding images or news difficult Tendency for blue "shading" to appear over every word and element of a search

Lucy T.
Alumni & Development Officer in U.K.
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic Product so glad we decided on the right software.

5 2 years ago

Comments: I haven't worked with the financial fundraising side much but my colleagues do and they would be able to expand more on their experience of this side of things. I think it has a lot of powerful potential and is close to being a very good bit of financial fundraising software to work with.

Pros:

The intuitive ease of use, the slick layout and constant updating ToucanTech are prepared to do and if you have an idea of how things could perform better they try to work it into the next upgrades which happen really quickly. I like the amount of flexibility we have free of charge with website design, and not having to pay for every little thing which is so annoying with other companies. Very forward thinking and refreshing company to work with.

Cons:

The photo gallery portal is a little outdated, both aesthetically and un-user friendly - reordering photos is time consuming and dated.

Jane C.
Development & Community Relations Manager in Germany
Fund-Raising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic tool for Alumni Relations & Fundraising

5 8 months ago

Comments: Fantastic so far - super happy with everything

Pros:

I like how easy the software is to use. It is visually appealing, easy to use and the customer service is amazing. I have the best project manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], who is always there to help and responds usually on the same day I write to her. The Support website is really useful, with clear guides on how to use elements of the tool. Our Alumni are really excited about using the platform!

Cons:

So far I have not noticed anything major that I would change. One thing that is not ideal is when someone registers, you have to approve them first, before they can make a donation. This could stop someone from making a donation, but on the other hand, it is important to approve the people to the platform.

Tove E.
Development Officer in U.K.
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Toucan Tech review

5 4 months ago

Comments: I've only had a positive experience with Toucan Tech so far.

Pros:

Easy to use, fantastic customer service.

Cons:

I don't dislike anything about the software.

Richard B.
Communications Officer / Company Director in Ireland
Nonprofit Organization Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Problem Solved

5 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent company to deal with and the support is quick and efficient

Pros:

The product has enabled us to build communicate and monitor our community in a way that we were unable to before. Engagement has increased and continues to grow.

Cons:

Some features could do with some fine tuning. We are liaising with support on a number of these that have, as far as we know, been included in development discussions,

Sarah wyn J.
Senior Fundraising & Engagement Coordinator in U.K.
Fund-Raising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helpful team and intuitive software

5 2 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use and on hand support from the Toucan Tech team.

Cons:

Some features still to be added/altered.

Kelly C.
Director of Alumni Engagement in U.S.
Fund-Raising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Praise for Toucan Tech

5 8 months ago

Pros:

I love the ease of customizing pages to look very polished and professional while utilizing the templates provided by Toucan Tech. The hassle of needing to work with a designer or web creator is completely eliminated and allows me to quickly move through tasks.

Cons:

We are looking for additional features like summer or secondary home address information to provide our alumnae/i with all possible connections.

Paul D.
Director of Development in Australia
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A user-friendly and comprehensive solution backed by exceptional customer service

5 4 months ago

Pros:

ToucanTech meets all the needs of our school fundraising, alumni and community engagement programs. It is incredibly intuitive and - because it is purpose-designed for an organisation like ours - pretty much everything just works as it should right from the outset. The support team are extremely responsive and are also proactive in offering help and suggestions. We have barely needed any assistance from our IT team. Useful new functionality is constantly being added, and I'd like to see our school expand use further, for example to manage the whole school website and/or to manage admissions as that module gets finalised.

Cons:

Nothing of any note. A couple of minor and inconsequential bugs were quickly sorted.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Service Cloud and Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech: ToucanTech was competitively priced, purpose-designed for an organisation like ours and offered a comprehensive solution that was all included for the price. Alternative products were going to be much harder to install and implement; were going to work out more expensive, especially when factoring in the fees for optional modules and support. There was a noticeable difference in terms of how well the product worked from the outset - and the likelihood of having requested modifications implemented - compared to products offered by massive organisations where it felt the proposed solution was an unimportant afterthought compared to their main business in commercial and other markets.

Jas C.
Society Manager in U.K.
Fund-Raising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All in one place with Toucan Tech

5 8 months ago

Comments: After taking the steps to use this CRM package we have been really pleased with the great customer service experience, everyone is friendly and super supportive. We have been guided through initial set up and migrating over to using all the functionalities which we continue to develop as we improve our confidence in this product as a user.

Pros:

Everything is in one place. You can track, record and maintain you relationships for fundraising, communications and events. It is intuitive. The reporting stats are easy to read.

Cons:

I was nervous of the migration of data over but with the support of the TT team I overcame this very quickly.

Alternatives Considered: InTouch Software, Potentiality, Graduway and Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech: Required good customer support. Needed something easy and intuitive to use . Needed something that was cost effective and housed in the one place to help us build our relationships.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech: Mainly price and I liked the fact the product housed so many functionalities in one place and was very easy to use.

Michelle C.
Director of Development and Alumni Relations in Spain
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Software to meet the needs of all our stakeholders!

5 4 months ago

Comments: We are thrilled to have one platform to meet the needs of our alumni, parent community, donors, and mentors. The ToucanTech support team has been really hands-on and responsive to all our inquiries so that we certainly don't feel we purchased a product that we need to figure out by ourselves. The ToucanTech school community has also been very helpful in sharing experiences and challenges which has been so helpful. It really is a community in itself.

Pros:

We are excited to explore more functionality with our ToucanTech platform. The integration and launch of the platform to our alumni community worldwide was seamless and we felt very much supported by the ToucanTech team throughout the process. We look forward to sharing the platform with our greater community and to using more of the functions with our different stakeholders.

Cons:

So far we have yet to find anything about the ToucanTech platform that we do not like.

Alternatives Considered: Graduway

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech: We really liked the concept of one platform to meet the needs of all our stakeholders.

Roger P.
Lead Admin in U.K.
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Bells and whistles aren't everything, but you get a lot of them and much, much more from ToucanTech

5 8 months ago

Comments: There is a well known saying, "are you a person who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing?" If you are that sort of person then you will not see just how good value and comprehensive the product and service you get from ToucanTech. I am NOT that person.

Pros:

The number one stand out feature is customer support. Having made contact with at least three other companies offering similar services, ToucanTech's "pro-activeness" was immediately apparent from the very first phone call I had with them. They had a "can-do" attitude. ToucanTech were patient as we groped towards deciding which software company to go with. I'm sure it must have been frustrating for them as we kept coming back with additional requests for clarification, and asking for a further demonstration so all "decision-makers" could see what was on offer. ToucanTech were proactive in helping set up the software for us and continue to respond promptly to pleas for help. There is a culture of ongoing development of the product with so much support provided for free through the weekly emails, the free webinars, the free online support, the free telephone advice. Support continues all time at no extra cost. They have recently increased the hours when support is available and it is important to note when deciding upon a company to realise which time zone they may be operating in.

Cons:

When making our initial assessment of what systems are available across the market, ToucanTech looked expensive. But that is not the case. (There are no hidden extras. Most of what you want is included in the price quoted and which is prominently displayed on their website. There are add ons at extra cost, but again these are easy to find and quantify.)

Susanna F.
Communications Alumnae Officer in U.K.
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We are delighted with our ToucanTech alumnae website

5 last year

Comments: We are delighted with our new alumnae platform, which looks great and works well at the front end, and is easy to use and navigate at the back end! Our alumnae have been very complimentary about the improvements and the increased level of communication that we now offer. We have seen a dramatic increase in engagement levels as a result. The excellent level of customisation has allowed us to create a site we feel proud of, which we believe best reflects who we are and that has increased the level of support we can offer to our alumane.

Pros:

We have been using our new alumnae platform, which is powered by ToucanTech, for about a year now. It offers much greater functionality than the previous site and the engagement levels have soared accordingly. It allows events to be organised efficiently and effectively and we are now seeing increasing use of the more interactive elements of the platform, such as our mentoring schemes and alumnae clubs. Over the past 12 months, ToucanTech have continued to develop and improve the software and are always working on new features and welcome additions to their offering.

Cons:

The ToucanTech support team offer an effective and well-run helpdesk and customised training. They were very hands on with the set up and integration of the new platform. The software has designed to be very user-friendly. The team work hard to resolove any issues or queries.

Alternatives Considered: Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT and Graduway

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech: We wanted to be able to offer greater functionality and customisation.

Switched From: Potentiality

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech: It offered the best-looking, most user-friendly, bespoke solution specificially for alumi and fundraising, which is exactly what we were looking for.

Grace C.
Head of Alumnae and Development in U.K.
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly recommended product for school alumna and development offices

5 4 months ago

Comments: Overall we are very happy with ToucanTech, so much so that we have recently resigned with them for a further three year contract. The product answers all of our needs within our alumnae and development office.

Pros:

The best part of the software is that it is a one stop shop, so you have your database, fundraising, online portal, and events functions all tied into one package rather than needing different software options to answer different needs.

Cons:

We are generally very happy with this product, but of course as with all products, there are occasional glitches. However, the customer support team always respond very quickly and efficiently to these and they are constantly working to improve and to bring out new features.

Roger C.
Director of External Relations in U.K.
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Toucan Tech new User / Administrator

4 2 years ago

Comments: The possibilities the Toucan system offers for everything from Event Management (an Eventbrite set-up), News Postings and Communications are only limited by the User/Adminstrator - i.e. me! I have enjoyed seeing ideas become realised on-screen.

Pros:

Being completely new to working with databases and similarly-based communication systems the most important aspect for me has been the great help from the Support Teams. They are always very willing to help; extremely patient; thoroughly professional and yet friendly and approachable at all times.

Cons:

Again given my inexperience in this area - and I find it similarly with Mail Chimp as well - I can't set up pages and the like in a way that seems obvious to me. Hence, I find the Support Team vital as I slowly learn what can be done and how to achieve it. Normally, I would have delegated such things to a competent professional. The Toucan Support Team has, with great understanding, taken on this delegated role whenever possible.

Tuija W.
Communications and Alumni Coordinator in France
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Toucan Tech Alumni Platform

4 5 months ago

Comments: We finally have an alumni database and a possibility to encourage our alumni to get in touch and create their own subgroups, still within the realm of the school.

Pros:

The absolutely best part of Toucan Tech is their responsive support and development team. Whenever there have been issues, the team has responded rapidly and with a determined goal of resolving any problems.

Cons:

The software is at time clunky and the user experience is not always the best possible, but with little tweaks these can be improved.

Alternatives Considered: Graduway

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech: Price and accessibility.

Michael A.
Admin for The Lerpoolians website in U.K.
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Community integration so easy with ToucanTech

5 8 months ago

Comments: From a very low base of engagement we are building are strong and varied community of alumni and friends which should prove to be invaluable as we push for income generation.

Pros:

Ability to be operated remotely, so that central office not required. Ability of membership to contribute to aspects of the website. Different levels of access as required. Ease of integration with previous database.

Cons:

Nothing personally, but am not involved with all its function areas.

Michelle B.
Alumnae Officer in U.K.
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ToucanTech is a very user friendly package

5 4 months ago

Comments: Very helpful company and staff. Queries quickly answered. Helpful one on one calls when needed

Pros:

Easy to use great customer service. Weekly updates from TT

Cons:

We do not use some of the many features as yet but know they are there as and when we need to eg fundraising

Eleanor M.
Development Officer in U.K.
Fund-Raising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great support

5 2 years ago

Comments: ToucanTech have always been very helpful, very prompt at responding to questions or issues and always offering helpful suggestions. They also have examples of great ways people have made use of the software.

Pros:

The software is easy to use and is constantly being developed and further improved depending on the need.

Cons:

Importing data from another site is not that easy.

Kevin H.
Head of Fundraising in U.K.
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Working with ToucanTech has been very easy as their team have worked tirelessly to meet our needs

5 4 years ago

Comments: Discovering all of the benefits and keeping up to date with all of the updates. Training other staff to use it.

Pros:

It fully meets the needs of our mainly blind and visually impaired former students. The fundraising accept of the software is excellent and easy to use. Super clear layout with a common sense structure which is very easy to follow.

Cinzia C.
Operations Manager in U.K.
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good working with Toucan Tech

5 8 months ago

Pros:

I found it very easy to set up as website and very intuitive. I mostly use it to publish company information and send out newsletter. This last one feature is incredibly easy to use and produces quickly great result

Cons:

you need to work with the tool to get it at the start it was a but difficult to figure out the kind of language used, but thanks to the great support team and some training sessions everything has become more clear