15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Kudos Reviews

4.8 (1,070) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Kudos

Kudos® is the only employee recognition platform that offers multiple levels of recognition supporting appreciation and performance.

Learn more about Kudos

Pros:

Easy to useAffordable pricing compared to competitorsEmployee recognitions are displayed to all for the management to noticeReminder can be sent to provide recognition.

Cons:

May be just a couple of buttons for just the user rather than navigating on drop downs etc.

Kudos ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Kudos has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 1,070 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kudos before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,070)

Tyson
Tyson
Regional Director Of Operations in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Nothing short of an exceptional experience! Our team is in loving with having Kudos.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: More customizing options for the pages feature, but not really a con. I've found a work around by creating custom graphics with my preferred images and fonts and uploading. Very easy to read on mobile phones which is so nice! This has become our company "go to" for resources such as our benefit program overview.

Pros:

The program is incredibly user friendly and availability on all platforms: computer, mobile, Gmail build in, and more. We have employees with language barriers that can use the program with ease! The program has connected our company and solidified our core values of team. With hotels spread out our province, all the teams can come together to recognize, share best practices, and celebrate success. It has also helped me get to know our team and helps our ownership group stay involved with day to day news. One of the customer rep, from the beginning, has been incredibly helpful and efficient. Kudos Support help answer any questions I have so quickly and properly. Not to mention, I have given multiple improvement requests which have come through shortly after! Kudos truly cares and we feel valued... most importantly, our team feels valued having this incredible tool to recognize and communicate with each other. I would not hesitate to recommend Kudos to any other organization.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Employee Engagement

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very positive. I'm very confident that this tool will help us build a more positive culture and a new way to put focus on employee recognition.

Pros:

It's structured like a social feed and very easy to use. Minimal training required and implementation and customization was very simple. Powerful tool for increasing employee engagement and building a culture of recognition.

Cons:

I wish it supported GIF files and had a way to set up points activities that users could claim, but other than that it's great!

Alternatives Considered: Bonusly

Reasons for Switching to Kudos: Kudos was much more affordable and had virtually all of the same features. It also puts more emphasis on the core values and qualities that you want employees to demonstrate vs. the number of points sent from user to user.

Maria
Phlebotomy Technician in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kudos is so nice!!!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love that you can interact with the people you work with. I have been using kudos for over 2 years now and it's so easy to log in and recognize any coworker of yours that helped you out or when out of their way. Its also a great way for your supervisors to show their appreciation for their employees by saying something nice or giving someone a kudos points that could later be converted to gift cards. I will continue to use this platform!

Cons:

It would be great if we had more gift card choices! Overall kudos is great.

elaine
receptionist in US
Veterinary Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Okay for what it does

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy to put in metrics for measuring employee engagement.

Cons:

It doesn't have enough room for additional metrics or methods of quantifying our employee metrics.

Nathan
Production Operator in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Just an employee

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Kudos is great.It allows work colleagues to reward each other with small sums that can add up and foster a work environment where people actively express gratitude to colleagues openly.It also allows manager to gift and recognise individuals or teams going the extra mile for the company.

Pros:

In my company, kudos is used as a small bonus and recognition scheme.Employees give points and receive points that can be spent on various options.Managers can reward teams, and make this public or private.And at the end of a long months, a few £’s on a Tesco voucher can be a life saver.

Cons:

Loving in via mobile app can be slow or just not work until you are in a stable WiFi spot.Viewing your wall has a habit of not scrolling down, but just resting to the top.

Ravindra Singh
IT Engineer in India
Media Production, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Buyer's Profit

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The encouragement for sharing & receiving the reward points.

Cons:

The website new features with the new claim process

Bryce
Materials and Logistics in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos to you!

5.0 last month New

Comments: It has been awesome! I have exceeded my personal goals and then some!

Pros:

Kudos makes work " fun " .. Work can feel like, well, work .. far too often. Getting recognized and rewarded for your efforts makes you want to keep pushing!

Cons:

Nothing, how is there anything to dislike about a reward program?!

Bradley
Trainer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Kudos to my cleints

5.0 last month New

Pros:

- Allows active engagement with client base

Cons:

- a confusing ux that can sometimes lead to miscommunication

Zafar
Zafar
Corportae HSE Manager in Uzbekistan
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hardwork must be awarded and "Kudos" does it great

5.0 last month New

Comments: In HSE field the encouraging employees for following and being an active member is supposed to be awarded and Kudos does it very simple and with great experience

Pros:

It is very easy to use, you can establish points and by achievement of points the reward can be released. Also, it is accessible form a mobile devices which makes the experience of usage more up to date

Cons:

So far so good, didn't encountered any problems

Neha
IT Engineer in India
Market Research Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Average

Pros:

Kudos is an amazing platform for employees to give recognition to give rewards and use it for our purpose.

Cons:

It takes time to avail the rewards with its long process but it is easy to understand

Brandon
VP Operations in US
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos has helped us all remember (and reward) our important employee contributions.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: More employee engagement, visibility into employee traits, and more workplace fun.

Pros:

Kudos' web-based application makes it easy and fun for employees to thank each other, and we've had great success integrating it into our existing Employee Rewards program. We reviewed five similar employee incentive websites, and Kudos definitely had the best interface, reward options, and price. With Kudos, employees are allotted a predetermined amount points every first of the month. You give these points -- tied with a number of present qualities -- to teammates in a public or private post. That feature (along with the reporting) gives us valuable insight into what kinds of things people are getting recognized for over time. But the most important points-related aspect is that you can't spend points unless you receive them from others giving you thanks/kudos. So, everyone has separate giving and spending balances in this system. Spendable points quickly accrue towards a number of digital gift cards for venues like Amazon.com, but we've also created custom, company-specific rewards like time off or vending machine coins for free food and drinks. Kudus even automatically gives points for employee birthdays and work anniversaries. I also like that Kudos is being updated with new features and fixes every month or two, including things I thought about or suggested. There are many more features and benefits to mention here; you'll just have to take a demo to see it in action.

Cons:

There isn't much that I don't like about Kudos. Some of the backend features are put in places you wouldn't expect, so the website could be more intuitive. Also, there really isn't a good way to correct points given in error, whether the points were given to an unintended person or the points were the wrong amount.

Amos
Customer Service Adviser in Uganda
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

KUDOS FOR KUDOS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Being a user of Kudos, the experience has generally been positive and exciting, kudos has totally changed the way people in my organization say thank you, appreciating you using kudos feels more different and feels more rewarding than when somebody just tells you thank you verbally, i feel like every month comes with a gift in form of kudos points.
One negative thing i would love to note is that kudos is loosing meaning because now for someone to send you kudos, you must equally be willing to send the same amount of kudos points to the back to the person who sent you their Kudos points, that makes it feel like its a batter trade not an appreciation. for example, one comes to you and tells you i have 50 Kudos points, if you also have 50 kudos points, lets exchange, To me that ceases to be an on spot appreciation or a way of saying thank you but it becomes a batter trade where you exchange something for something.

Pros:

The software helps you recognize and appreciate a colleges good work on spot in a more rewarding way. The Software equally acts as a chatting platform i.e after sending a college Kudos, someone has a provision of where to leave a comment thus creating a chatting platform where two or more people can leave or exchange congratulatory messages. The software also has privacy features that is to say one can choose to send kudos but make the message private. you could be sending kudos to your girlfriend with the same company so the privacy feature helps make your conversation private. The notification messages like the birthday notifications, how long you have been working in the company etc are also one feature i love.

Cons:

1) Few rewards to redeem, sometimes you have the points but no rewards to redeem that is to say there are limited options of rewards to redeem 2)Some rewards don't make you feel the value of your hardly earned kudos points. 3)The colours on the site are a little too bright to a naked eye.

Heather
HR/Administrative Coordinator in US
Banking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent. From the demo through the implementation and beyond the customer service has been awesome

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This has been a huge improvement over our last employee recognition program. It was nearly barbaric in comparison. Imagine having to physically write a thank you on a card! In actuality, we made the decision to move because we have five locations and the physical cards took so long to get to staff between branches. I think we lost a lot of meaning in the recognition. Now as soon as the good stuff happens staff can thank their co-worker and everyone can see it immediately. KUDOS has been an easy transition for staff. Because the majority are familiar with social media the idea of the "wall" and "postings" is simple to relate to. I appreciate the ability to customize how many points each person can give. For instance, I have one manager with 1 employee and another with 20. Or if we put out a cross-marketing incentive I can increase the management KUDOS allotment to allow for extra points. Staff have been redeeming for gift cards, but they have also enjoyed the custom rewards. We added in things such as logo wear, PTO days and sweet treats. Who wouldn't love to come in to a little dessert once in awhile! I love the full scope of reporting that KUDOS offers. This has been instrumental in showing Senior Management the positive engagement that we are seeing. I hope to implement individual KQ's into our performance management process soon. I haven't taken advantage of the survey options yet, but that is next in exploring all the things that KUDOS offers.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of. I would love if they would look at implementing a performance management feature in the future.

Jeannette
Administrative Assistant in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kudos, a fun way to interact with your coworkers!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: La Petite Baleen has 4 different swim schools in the Bay Area. We have so much going on in our company. In previous years we have sent emails to spread LPB news to over 300 staff. This became quite annoying when you get a thread of 50+ email replies. Kudos allows everyone in our LPB family to stay in the know of what is new. We use this software to display staff promotions, birthdays, anniversaries, new hires, etc. It's also a way to acknowledge our staff for all they do. Showing our gratitude by posting a thank you note or giving them Kudos. Overall, I think of Kudos as a private Facebook that is used within our company. We use it on a daily and it has been a success!

Pros:

This software has so many great factors in it. However, what I enjoy the most is redeeming my Kudos. Not only are we thanked for the extra help we provide our company. We are also given Kudos credit, which can be used at a wide selection of stores. You can spoil yourself by purchasing just about anything you want.

Cons:

There are a few small features that can be improved. Being able to customize our personal profile page by adding wallpaper or background color. Adding more options to posts and comments. Such as font styles, font sizes, and a bigger variety of sticker options.

Lamya
Pharmacy Technician in US
Pharmaceuticals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Must Have!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Using Kudos have honestly improved work relationships. Supervisors and managers being able to reward their employees not only improves confidence but it improves the company's overall customer relationship. It all starts with it's employees and as long as your employees are feeling appreciated and that their hard work isn't going unnoticed , there is nothing that can get in the way of making sure your customers are being taken care of and happy.

Pros:

I love that it's so easy to use. Being able to compliment or make someone feel special at the drop of the dime is so satisfying and convenient. This is a company wide used program that everyone has grown to love. We can use points to go towards different items whether it be company logo-ed clothing, house hold items, things for your pets, and even electronics like an apple watch and mac book. I believe this is something that everyone whether it be work related, school related, or even sports related should use. You'd be surprised on how much Kudos drive others to go above and beyond.

Cons:

I have no complaints. I have been using this software for 9 months now and it's always been easy.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very user friendly, great customer support and fantastic program to provide for your people

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The number one benefit is giving our people a great resource to encourage and build one another up!

Pros:

We use Kudos every day within our company. It is a great way to let our team members know what a great job they are doing! It is very user friendly and we have been able to integrate it with other systems. The customer support is always very friendly and super helpful. They are efficient in getting responses back!

Cons:

The reporting could be a little more streamlined.

Kudos Response

5 years ago

Hi there! Thank you for the wonderful review! It's rewarding to hear how much of an impact Kudos is making to your workplace and that you enjoy our customer support. :) We're always working to make Kudos even better, and that includes making the reports and insights section more streamlined, and providing even more robust, actionable data - so stay tuned!

Michelle
Director in Australia
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A nimble and easy platform that has an immediate and lasting positive impact on our team.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: A quick, transparent and effective means of communication amongst our team on performance.

Pros:

The ease and transparency that Kudos provides in allowing us to recognise employees' effort and contribution, fits perfectly within our culture of recognition and reward in a timely manner. Allows all our members of our team to appreciate each other. We have now been using for three years and it hasn't lost its momentum. We use as a tool to send announcements, newsletters, share corporate event photos - which brings our team back to the site which reinvigorates further use. Our team use the app at lunch breaks to send and like each other Kudos.

Cons:

As we use pages for newsletters some more options around graphics would be great.

Shannon
Patient Account Representative in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helps employees of orgs feel appreciated

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

It's easy to use and a great way for employees to feel appreciated and recognized in their organization with both tangible rewards and incentives and with messages of appreciation and recognition - both feel good to receive.The option to select qualities to include and tracking them on your profile are a fun and interesting touch.You can a sort of "scoreboard" of the top senders and receivers of recognition in your organization, just to look at or maybe see which managers show the most gratitude if you wanted to know for whatever reason :)There's a huge variety of gift cards and donations to choose from, AND the option to redeem for a prepaid visa card if you can't find a certain store or gift card offered

Cons:

In your rewards history, there doesn't seem to be any information about how many Kudos points you received and from who. Just the history of the rewards you redeemed for Kudos points in the past. I think including this feature would be a great help for employees to make sure they have received rewards they are expecting to receive.Having the option to post a general message instead of a recognition one feels a bit redundant.Who the message is from is on the bottom when you see the posts and so it looks a bit confusing at first.There seems to be no explanation of what different levels of recognition (Thank you, Good job, Impressive, Exceptional) mean exactly (or if there is, it's not in an easy to find place in my opinion)

Austin
RDC Warehouse Manager in US
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos for Werner Electric Supply

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great!

Pros:

Great customer service, fairly easy to use, metrics are available, some flexibility with how the site looks, the App is awesome,

Cons:

Just some suggestions. 1) An easier way for users to provide feedback about Kudos or our Excellence Award that is ran through Kudos. 2) Provide Administrators the ability to generate quick generic email communication for our organization (emails could be edited). Admin generated emails could offer information/statistics about giving people recognition and/or use links to landing pages on the Kudos website to drive users to known functionality. 3) Integrate personality tests into the site to help the users better understand what they are looking for in communication and how they communicate with others. 4) Provide a Company Employee Suggestion function.

Todd
Coordinator in Canada
Government Administration, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for team building and morale

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It is a great way to quickly and easily recognize staff in a tangible way. Being able to offer a little bit of positive support to feedback makes it so much easier to positively manage a team. And the fact that recognition is shared amongst colleagues demonstrates that not only is the team successful but that there is recognition of that success.

Pros:

That its easy to use. Every person in our company, no matter their level of technical skill is able to use the system for what it is intended. The best part about this software is that I never have to think of it as software, it is just a reliable integrated positive piece of our workplace environment.

Cons:

The only real negative is that it would be nice to see the rewards and gift cards redeemable digitally so that we didn't have to wait for an internal process to get us a physical copy. So many of the companies involved have digital gift cards now it would be handy if you could just request the benefit and it was automatically generated, maybe even inside the app itself.

Kathy
AVP Underwriting Operations in US
Insurance Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos Use at Arch

5.0 last year

Comments: I like the program and Kudos is easy to use. The ability to give someone a Kudos or just a message of thanks for a job well-done is important. A lot of times we get busy and can't always communicate directly so this platform lets us stay in touch.

Pros:

I like the ease of moving around and finding what I need. It's easy to use, find the employee, grant the recognition and even select emoji's or pictures to make it fun.

Cons:

The difference between Award and Recognition seems to confuse everyone, including myself. Award to me means someone is receiving something and Recognition means sending a message of thanks or something similar. These seem to be backwards to me but over time I've figured it out.

Tiffany
Staff in US
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Pleased Kudos User

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I really enjoy Kudos. I enjoy receiving Kudos as well as rewarding hard working coworkers with Kudos points. Recently, there was an issue with my Kudos e-gift card not being sent to me electronically. I reached out to Kudos support team, and the issue was resolved in less than 24 hours. That is 5 star customer service. I would recommend Kudos to every business, company, and friend.

Pros:

I like the software because it is easy to use. The idea behind Kudos is also original and it makes work a little more exciting to be rewarded for hard work.

Cons:

I cannot think of a single con with the Kudos software.

Susan
Administrative Support in US
Staffing & Recruiting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kudos for Kudos!

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall, I have had a very positive experience with Kudos. It is a wonderful way for me to focus on the good and remind others how much they mean to both myself and the success of our business.

Pros:

Kudos is an easy way for me to keep up with my colleagues. I work remotely, and from afar, so I do not have that face to face contact that many others do. Kudos provides an easy to use, wonderful platform to remind people how appreciated, valuable and necessary they are.

Cons:

Sometimes I cannot figure out how to like and reply to rewards and comments very easily. It does not seem as fluid and direct as it could be.

Jackie
Director of Human Resources in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kudos Employee Recognition Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Kudos has been an easy transition for us from a HR professional standpoint and for our employees. The ease of the program has been nice and an easy platform for our employees to connect with one another.

Pros:

Software is easy to use and a great tool for employee engagement.

Cons:

I don't have any negatives to share about the software. If I think of an enhancement that would benefit our group, I share with the Kudos team and they look into ways to implement.

Kudos Response

5 years ago

Hi Jackie, It's great to hear that you find Kudos easy to use and that you're having success using it to drive employee engagement! We're excited for you to see some of the cool things we're working on to make Kudos even more fun, more useful, and more impactful to your organization!

Emily
Account Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feel Good, Doing Your Job!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My experience was Kudos is truly positive. I find my self connecting with more of my co-workers on a deeper level. It helps to encourage a positive work environment and overall strong mentality. When I get kudos, I instantly get a smile on my face and then want to give someone that same feeling by sending out my own!

Pros:

Kudos is a wonderful platform that allows employees to feel connected with their co-workers in a positive way. The act of giving and receiving kudos helps to generate positive interoffice relationships. On are the more individual basis, this platform allows for instant gratification. By having this instant positive affirmation, I feel more encouraged to continue producing high-quality work.

Cons:

I truly believe the platform is in a great spot. I sometimes wish there were more characteristics to choice from but other than that - no complaints!