15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Deltek Vision

Project-based solution for PS firms that combines project accounting, resource management, project mgmt, time/expense and client mgt.

Learn more about Deltek Vision

Pros:

Tons of features, very robust system. Lots of customization possible.

Cons:

I frequent users find it complex and difficult to use.

Deltek Vision ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.6
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

7.4/10

Deltek Vision has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 474 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Deltek Vision before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (474)

Nereida
Nereida
ANALISTA CONTABLE in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Important business data in real time.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I am using Deltek Vision to identify problems affecting the performance of our company and hinder the successful implementation of some projects. I am also taking advantage of useful features to improve performance and complete projects successfully.

Pros:

What I like about Deltek Vision modules are purchasing and asset management because they allow me to track purchase orders and fixed assets; It helps me to get new business, improve performance and optimize the operations of our company.

Cons:

For some people within the company's user interface it is not always so friendly and does not have much ability to change the screen size. In addition, it may not be ideal for companies that only require specific modules, since all the modules are included in the software.

Elizabeth
architect in US
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adequate, reliable. Not as user friendly as others

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: When using Vision, it was very adequate. However, now that I use Monograph, I see how much more capability Monograph has and how user friendly it is.

Pros:

It does its job. It's reliable. It has functionality especially for management and accounting departments. Overall, it's a solid program with proven results and a user base that reinforces trust.

Cons:

It's a bulky program compared to the web based program I use now. It wasn't compatible with some browsers so I had IE just for timesheets. User interface wasn't the most intuitive and customer service wasn't built in. Therefore I had to ask my accounting manager for her to contact customer service with questions.

Kim
Operations Manager in US
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Accounting was an Afterthought

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Horrible Horrible Horrible - that is why we are searching for another software. I do not recommend - at least not for accounting purposes. Save your accounting team the headache!

Pros:

There is not "like most" - Difficulty in correcting JE's on a bank account. Meaning - you cannot fix. I would NOT recommend this product for accounting purposes. It's outdated and not forgiving. Reports are less than desirable to look at, and most information is difficult to locate. In order to get what you want you will have to export reports in excel, merge them together and fix for yourself. This is very time consuming and a waste of daylight hours.

Cons:

Difficulty in correcting JE's on a bank account. Meaning - you cannot fix. I would NOT recommend this product for accounting purposes. It's outdated and not forgiving. Reports are less than desirable to look at, and most information is difficult to locate. In order to get what you want you will have to export reports in excel, merge them together and fix for yourself. This is very time consuming and a waste of daylight hours. You have to work backwards when posting a transfer of funds to a account. If you don't your screwed!

Isaac
Business Development in US
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customizable and Functional

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Our firm has customized our version of Vision to the point where it does everything we need it to do in a much more efficient way. The way we can organize our pursuits, projects, and clients is streamlined.

Cons:

I think there are some classifications and fields that we could use that speak to other databases within Vision. Being able to link certain items easier would be nice.

Tiyana
Vice President - HR in US
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision to Vantagepoint

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were using Excel for timesheets so having time and expense in one place and tying into our business process is wonderful. We also have the ability to get nice reports.

Pros:

The software helps streamline some of our processes.

Cons:

Not easy to navigate through CRM but here to learn.

Jun
Accounting Manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Effective but not efficient

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's a good tool to keep track of work-in-progress and everyday accounting transactions.

Cons:

It's not so user friendly and not so efficient and expensive tool for the same things that can be done with Sage software.

Ifeoma
Ifeoma
Developer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Deltek makes us better manage project budget.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Deltek is easy to use ,thanks to the intuitiveness of its user interface. In time past we overly expended on projects to the extent that we crossed project budgets ,and thereby missed key project milestones. Since switching to Deltek over a year ago ,we have been able to better follow through with project budgets without overspending. Obviously having project planning, business development and Accounting together into one platform was very much helpful. We have been able to customize the Deltek Workflow to fit into the personal needs of my team ,thereby making much more effective.

Cons:

From experience so far , Delteck Vision expense reporting is flawed in the area of mobility , receipt uploads ,and ease of customization.

Daisy
Daisy
Research & Sales Manager in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I manage projects very easy

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great!

Pros:

It is a very good platform that allows us to keep up with our projects without any problem. I think the reports that this facilitates are very efficient and quite useful

Cons:

between projects it is sometimes very difficult to differentiate between projects, that is, to separate work and make it look different from another project. But in general lines I have not had any problem

Jack
Jack
Associate in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Review

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The interface is very user friendly and allows everyone the ability to use it.

Cons:

It is basic in nature so there is not much diversity allowed in the product.

Tiffany
Tiffany
Financial Operations Analyst II in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Aaccounting software for project based company

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is quite compatible to companies ran project-based

Cons:

Reportings can can a pain at times. Dashboards could be improved.

Rhonda
Manager, CRM Systems in US
Civil Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I'm a believer in Deltek Vision

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We use Vision for CRM and Proposals-Custom Proposals and Government forms. I love the connectivity between your firms, contacts with your opportunities and jobs. Using Vision enables us to store and retrieve our corporate history and the story of us...our projects, our people and our client relationships. I confess I am a power-user and have done most of the configuration to the system, so therefore understand it more than most others, but I can provide data of any kind from our system. We are integrated with a different accounting platform, so I can also provide up-to-date project reporting. We also use an intranet connector that makes our information easily obtainable/viewable through PC and mobile app (not the Deltek mobile app). I have used the Deltek Vision product since 2005 and had prior Deltek products since the late 1990's. Dewberry is a 2,000 person firm with 50 office locations in 18 states.

Cons:

Although I live and breathe Deltek Vision, numerous people at our firm just can't grasp the details and complain that it is not user friendly. The learning curve seems slow for some people to overcome, actually many people, but once it's figured out, there seems to be high value in their usage. I like the custom reporting tool but my users find it so difficult that most refuse to use it. I think the most successful firms will have a Vision expert and a strong IT (SQL, reports) and application team on staff. If not, you probably would need a consultant. My team has been able to keep everything in house to date.

David
Chief Financial Officer in US
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Twelve Years as a Deltek User

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: In 2004, the professional services firm I worked for was managing a $10M/year business using Quickbooks. It was clunky and problematic, with no real analytic capability (i.e., where and how were we making money). I investigated various solutions, and discovered Deltek Vision. We hired an outside consultant to install and configure Vision for us,and life changed. We suddenly had a true business management solution. As the CFO, I finally had a tool that could give me true insight into the underpinning of our business,and where were profitable (and where we were not). Two years later, at a architectural firm, I inherited Axiom Protrax, practically a DOS-based solution. I quickly tired of operating with a 20-year old platform, and advocated for Vision. Having experienced one implementation,I was not enthused with dropping $60K for an outside party to tell me what to do to configure the system. So, over three months,I single-handedly configured and implemented Vision at a 50-person architectural firm. And it has made all the difference. Vision has continued to grow, through internal development and outside acqusition, and through it all they have maintained a consistent look and feel to the product. Adding functionality without detracting from the user experience. And their customer support has remained top-notch. I love the quick chat. If I just have a quick question, I can go quick chat, and quickly resolve my issues. I love this produce, and it meets the needs of my business.

Pros:

The user experience. The ability to customize the interface. The ability to quickly drill down into reports.

Cons:

It is such a rich,deep product that some of its functionality remains unused.

bob
Director of R&D in US
Medical Devices, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vision Essentials review

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: We purchased deltk vision module to help us do project and resource planning of our critical engineering resources. We are medical supplier and using deltek to help us align project planning functions to resource draw. Our business is very dynamic due to customer, regulatory and market dynamics. Needless to say what starts out as a plan can change many times over. The linkages between the planning and the resource capacity assesments and reports are great. The Planning portion of deltek seems underdeveloped. Simple functions like a undo button dont exist. Comparisons of users who lived in a MS Project environment prior to deltek complain about simple functionality. I know there are upgrades coming throughout the year and we are anticipating some of our frustrations might be resolved.. Will wait and see. We are on the last year of our contract and love the resource feedback that the deltek system gives us. The cost to doing that is too much time in the planning module required to get that output. When initially selecting deltek it was obvious to us that it was geared to more service industry sectors then to a R&D and manufacturing company like ours. Using it going on 3 years we have enough frustrations with the planning side that we are researching other options to understand if something better exists. Really hope the planning side improves and makes our project managers more efficient.

Pros:

See previous comments

Cons:

See previous comments

Rob
Accountant
Architecture & Planning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Could build an aircraft carrier with this software or use it to run a small destroyer, depending on your needs.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall as compared to the other 5 ERP systems I have used over the years I have to say Vision is one of the best out there, especially for project oriented tracking. Deltek is also a company looking for improvement and advancement within their programs. The new generation they are working on to Vision takes the program to a very modern and more robust place. Great things are coming!

Pros:

Has the ability to be customized in many ways to improve functionality and process routine tasks behind the scenes with workflows. Great when you want scheduled reports to be pushed out to staff on a regular basis, can be either be emailed or sent to a dashboard. System is fairly easy to use and navigate once you get the hang of it. However, the size and capability can be off putting if you give too much access to none power users.

Cons:

Although there are many reports and lots of options within each report they can also be limiting. For example if you wanted to run an A/R graph for aging you can only choose three options (Current, 30, & 60 days). Therefore if you have five options (Current, 30+, 60+, 90+, 120+) you will need to run two graphs to see all the info. However, if you have someone who know SQL you can design and write your own reports which is a plus.

Donna
Self Employed in US
, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The product is ok but the Customer Support and Configuration Conceptual Scope presentation is lame

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: As a skilled user of many software products, getting an overview of the Configuration and it's effect on each module is very difficult and thus hard to seamlessly change once set. The product seems designed to promote consulting fee generation by Deltek, and when one can't CALL a 1-800 number and get support WITHOUT opening a "Case" (and being charged for same or having to fight to not be charged) it speaks volumes about the company's priorities. The company also seems more concerned about fancy reporting than improving existing BOOKEEEPING needs in the product. I no longer recommend this product to others.

Pros:

OK project reporting and tracking

Cons:

Complexity of configuration options that are not presented well in "the manual" (on line only and if you want it on paper, even after having purchased the product, you have to PAY extra for it!) and very little "conceptual based" information. The "User Guidance" seems geared to a non-professional managing this software as evidenced by the "how to click click" mentality in instructions. Also, getting past the front line Help People (who are great) to a higher level to discuss concerns is IMPOSSIBLE. And the "Customer Care" system - re-designed and implemented since 2003) is a step backward in "Care" to my view. Also, the company does not send out "Known Bugs" as they are discovered, rendering re-work at so many levels it should be of concern to the company yet there is a stated policy of NOT releasing them to PAID FOR users.

Shawna
Product Owner in US
Architecture & Planning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Performance

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Unfortunately, our reporting issues over shadow everything else.

Pros:

In general, it meets our needs but it does seem that we are always being asked for customizations by our users that is not presently available.

Cons:

Reporting performance is awful! We have had a consultant come out at least twice for an overall health check and recommendations and in my opinion we did not get a lot of value from this. It takes a ridiculously long time to run many of our reports and it's a constant source of pain for both the users and those of use who support the product. We have worked through all the troubleshooting steps that have been recommended and it's still an issue. It seems that anyone I talk to from larger firms all have the same issue. It feels as though Deltek works well for small-medium size firms but not larger global ones.

Sarah
Marketing manager in US
Architecture & Planning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great to Track Project Data, but Graphics are Dated

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Works great for timesheets, tracking project data, and expense reports. Just don’t expect the program to be anything fancy or flashy

Pros:

Great resource for keeping tabs on project data/business development/customer database for All clients. Haven’t delved into the project management components myself, but hear that they are pretty good too.

Cons:

For a software to support the architecture world I am floored at how ugly and dated the interface looks. We have some architects who think it looks too ugly and refuse to use it which is a massive headache. Would love to see it get a redesign or face lift. Also it’s difficult to see longer project names - they get cut off in the scroll view. Pulling reports isn’t super intuitive either

Joel
Data Analyst in Kenya
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Deltek Vision Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It makes planning for business finance simpler. With an amazing interface (dashboard for quick access), you can make plans and generate detailed reports needed for decision-making.

Pros:

When it comes to everything accounting, this tool is reliable and effective. You can effectively manage budgeting, accounts payable, accounts receivable, revenue report and financial forecasts. Financial planning requires accuracy and detailed info and therefore, it can be daunting when you are dealing with several projects at a go that require planning. This tool saves you all the trouble and helps you plan accordingly . Secondly, it makes organization pretty simple. You can determine which of your staff are suitable for a particular project based on previous reports detailing their performance on the project. You can also get to the root of issues because everything is pretty much detailed. Businesses have ups and downs from time to time and having a tool that helps you get to the bottom of hindrances is an added advantage. It guarantees you great and reliable insight with features such as payroll, mobile app, expense management and client invoice among others.

Cons:

Though it fully covers planning for business in nearly all aspects, I'd really ask that they check out resource planning. Document implementation shouldn't have hitches at all. That also should be checked.

Barbara
Office Manager in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Deltek Vision Review

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We have used Deltek Vision via the Cloud for two years. My previous firm was not on the cloud and it appeared we had more issues which I believe were related to our IT Department not always updating the software. The seamless updates are great.
I would have like to have more written manuals for the software. When I originally started using Deltek there were general manuals for each module. I found these invaluable.
The features and functionality is above what we need as a small firm. However, as we grow I can see were many of the functions we do not use will become invaluable.
We have had to reach out to customer support for technical issues related to problems with individuals users and each time the technical support has been excellent and our problems solved quickly. We have never had an "outage" or problem accessing the software which is a big plus.
While I would recommend this software to most firms, due to the cost of the software I would suggest smaller or start-up firms explore other options to see if their needs can be met through other software until the business is on solid ground.

Sue
Accounts Receivable Manager in Canada
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Vision - Wonderful Program to Control & Grow Your Project Based Business

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Deltek Vision is a work horse of a software program. Its functionality is extensive and requires a full time person to be invested fully into set up and maintenance of the many features available. We find that we aren't able to use many of the great features simply because we don't have the time to explore and learn them all. Reporting features are fantastic and so useful in project management. Highly recommend this program for any project based company.

Pros:

The reporting features are so inclusive that you really can get any info you need at the click of report once you have them set up.

Cons:

It relies on accurate entry of data so I can't even say that there's a negative about the software just that you need consistent processes of input in order for the features to work efficiently.

Charles
COO in US
Public Safety, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Project and Project Financials

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Like most full service attempts, Deltek has it strengths and weaknesses. It is ties financials and projects together very well. Integration of the time-sheet is an asset. The ability to charge time to Opportunities would be a major enhancement. Report is difficult. Though there is an adhoc capability the compartmentalizing of data in info centers makes it impossible to create needed reports with the base software. I understand there are add-ons, but I haven't used them. The Project Planning module leaves a lot to be desired. It is not intuitive and is missing many features required; e.g. robust gantt charting, dependencies, automatic links to projects, etc.

Pros:

Strong link of time-sheet charges to projects

Cons:

Compartmentalizing of data such that reporting is difficult. Lack of more advanced project tasks tracking.

Kirk
President in US
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DKH Deltek Review - Bad software!

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: The software is terribly unfriendly to the user. It requires that a company hire outside consultants to make it do the things it should do straight out of the box. We have been on this software for more than ten years and we still are not getting a good value. If Deltek would assemble ten representatives from architecture and engineering firms, we could give you the advice you need to make this a great product, right out of the box. It could be fully functional for 85% of the A/E market. But instead, we complain and our suggestions go into some bottomless pit of other suggestions that never seem to come back to the top. I would never recommend Deltek Vision to anyone who is not yet trapped into using it.

Pros:

Highly integrated across the business.

Cons:

Almost impossible to use.

Diana
ERP Systems Analyst in US
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Project Based ERP

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love that this is a project based solution as well as the ability to customize the product. PM and accountants are able to clearly see every project and allows for easy out of the box project reporting. Customer service is also amazing.

Cons:

Our set up is a bit different, we have a lot of customization which sometimes affects the software's performance, but this is our own doing so we can't hold it against the product. The fact that it can be customized is a plus, the downside is you have to upgrade the custom(s) every time you want to upgrade or even apply the a CU.

Eric
Associate Director, Business Systems Support
Management Consulting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The "Do It All" Project-Based ERP

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Deltek Vision has quite the array of built-in configuration settings to allow any project-based consulting firm to tailor the software to their needs. One of my favorite things about Deltek Vision is that it gives me the ability to track and integrate critical business information through the use of the software's built-in custom information centers.

Pros:

Customer Support, Extensibility, Built in Configuration Options, Vast Reporting Capabilities, Detailed Documentation, Full Project Life-Cycle Integration

Cons:

To keep consulting costs to a minimum, it would be best to have an internal SME to get the most out of the product.

Jagruti
manager in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Deltek Vision REview

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: i like working with Vision, once you get use to it it is very user freindly

Pros:

i found it easy to use. even though this software was way too complex for our company . i found if you use it to the max ,its a great product

Cons:

help desk is quite complex. and having a third party for training became quite costly