About sfG MentorNet

UK based mentoring software that gives administrators time to focus on the effectiveness and value of their mentoring programme.

Learn more about sfG MentorNet

Pros:

Flexibility so more than one scheme could use it. The mobile app and the customer support really stood out for us as first rate.

Cons:

There is some difficulty with naming of fields to make the system adapable for managing both coaching and mentoring schemes, however these have been minimal.

sfG MentorNet ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.9

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

sfG MentorNet has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used sfG MentorNet before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Ellie G.
Mentoring Programmes Lead in U.K.
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ellie Grange - Social Mobility Foundation 2021-22 Review

5 2 months ago

Comments: We have saved time and resource in matching and on-boarding (uploading of users) which has been great and I am looking forward to taking this further this year with other processes.
The team are incredibly supportive and helpful as we moved through the integration and embedding of the new processes (thank you!)
The portal is easy to use as an administrator to track users and engagement which is ideal.

Pros:

Integration was easy with our existing processes – we were looking to automate and streamline a lot of our activity (and found that this was particularly the case for matching or re-matching and tracking engagement to send reminders). I think we could take this even further and look to redesign some processes now that we are more familiar with the portal. For example, in how we track activity and collect pre- and post-mentoring evaluation. The most impactful features have been in the matching, searching for pairs and users, and updating their information as well as sharing news bulletins and resources. The portal is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons:

We have struggled with loading the user management page as well as some users reporting that they have not received login details if they request a link to reset their password. There is more I would like to explore and understand for example in the user-led matching and updates to profiles.

Corrin H.
irector in U.K.
Individual & Family Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Have been using MentorNet for 7 years. Our charity would struggle to function without it.

5 5 years ago

Comments: Monitoring contact in our mentoring community. Increase amount of both virtual and face to face contact. Adheres to and enhances our child protection policies. Vastly simplifies administration.

Pros:

It is simple to use and easy to train our mentors on. It puts us at the forefront of reporting contact between mentors and mentees. As a mentoring charity this is extremely helpful in demonstrating best practice that we believes assists us in securing grant funding. It is also an excellent means of logging contact where meetings occur between adults and young people in a way that adheres to our child protection policy. Lastly it is an excellent administrative tool to allow for the processing of expenses and in an organisation like our own where staff resources are limited it provides an excellent means of monitoring contact in our charity community.

Cons:

I feel unable to criticise the software not least because it is so simple for our mentors and mentees to use. We do on occasion have problems with mentors using the software but we believe this is more a problem with the individual rather than the software. Consequently we recognise that a small number of our volunteers are perhaps unsuited to this type of online accessible software. When asked, 90% of mentors agree that it makes their job simpler and leaves them more free time to spend on the face to face side of our program.

Gillian D.
Professional Support Manager in U.K.
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MentorNet for Mentoring & Coaching!

5 3 months ago

Comments: Our experience with MentorNet has been a really positive one. The software is really intuitive and easy to use, it is flexible and adaptable and the team at SfG are always really responsive.

Pros:

There are so many things to like about this software, the best feature for us is mentee lead matching as it has significantly reduced admin time. The ability to manage multiple schemes through the system has also been of great benefit as we now have 9 different mentoring schemes that are managed by mentor leads, as well as a coaching scheme.

Cons:

There is some difficulty with naming of fields to make the system adapable for managing both coaching and mentoring schemes, however these have been minimal.

Krista S.
Mentoring Adviser in U.K.
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great mentoring software that fits our needs

5 4 months ago

Comments: Overall it has been a very positive experience. SFG are extremely professional and helpful, always very responsive and resolve any issues quickly. They are also very keen to develop the software to meet customer needs, so we feel like we are working in partnership with the to improve the experience for everyone.

Pros:

The software is very easy to use, matching is much easier and all information is now in one place (before it was all on different spreadsheets). The app is very useful as it makes it easy for mentors and mentees to communicate with each other.

Cons:

There are some things that could be improved on the site, but SFG are always developing the software and improving functionality which is brilliant.

Amy N.
Mentoring programme Manager in U.K.
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for sdministration and management of a mentoring scheme

5 3 months ago

Comments: My whole experience has been excellent - see above

Pros:

The MentorNet platform is an intuitive tool for managing mentoring schemes and an absolute dream to work with as an administrator. Over the last couple of years it has helped efficiency, development and customer service. I love working with it and the MentorNet team are always on hand to help create bespoke reporting, give training and help you with any queries and are always open to your ideas to help you make the software as helpful to your project as they can. It is a fantastic piece of kit and I love it!!

Cons:

Nothing - I love it the product is incredibly flexible

Sarah L.
Business Relations and Events Officer in U.K.
Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MentorNet

5 4 months ago

Comments: MentorNet is easy to use and does everything we need to support the management of our Mentoring Programme

Pros:

MentorNet makes the process of managing our Mentoring Programme efficient and it has saved us a huge amount of time and resources.

Cons:

Ad Hoc reporting has not always been a feature but it was introduced in the last upgrade and has improved the way we use the system even more.

Jo H.
Mentoring Coordinator in U.K.
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Service and support that goes above and beyond!

4 5 years ago

Comments: Time saved on administrative activities
Streamlined processes
Allows easy deployment and analysis of surveys with participants
Excellent support offered by SFG Software who are a pleasure to work with
Instant reporting - so easy to generate figures including data we've not collected before

Pros:

The software is easy to use - for administrators but also for programme participants. The report function allows regular reporting at the click of a mouse and reports allow administrators to track interactions and see who might need more support rather than trying to support everyone. Overall it has expelled waste from our processes and offers a much more time efficient way of administrating programmes.

Cons:

There's not really anything to like least about this software as it's met the needs we identified for our programme requirements.

Angela M.
Principal Lecturer in U.K.
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for use with our industry mentoring programme - highly recommended

5 5 years ago

Comments: See review

Pros:

The software is easy to use and the support we have received from the MentorNet team has been superb. They have helped us customise the software for use with our programme and are very responsive when asked to help. Our mentoring programme has increased from 100 to almost 500 users and MentorNet has coped admirably with the increase.

Cons:

There are some further things we would like in terms of functionality but even then the MentorNet team are willing to listen and work with us to see if more bespoke features are possible

Ken S.
Executive Director in U.S.
Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

ABRF mentoring platform review

5 4 months ago

Comments: a valuable improvement from prior platform. extremely responsive support and flexible system configuration

Pros:

ease of enrollment along with user activity tracking

Cons:

messaging not convenient in the app; easier to stay in touch through email

Rose M.
Policy Analyst in U.K.
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

E-Mentoring Review

5 4 months ago

Pros:

- Outstanding customer support, always very supportive and prompt - We were able to customise our platform to suit our needs - Reporting was set up to operate efficiently and smoothly

Cons:

- Better functionality to delete out-of-date/inactive users - Notifications to delete out-of-date/inactive users

Judie G.
Senior Lecturer/Founder Bacchus Mentoring scheme in U.K.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely positive - just what we needed for our mentoring scheme

4 5 years ago

Comments: A much better professional front end for our mentoring scheme and a much more organised and easily accessible management/administrative system for us to use as the managers/administrators.

Pros:

Flexibility so more than one scheme could use it. The mobile app and the customer support really stood out for us as first rate. Back of house functions proved to be very useful.

Cons:

Would have liked a survey option to sit within the system to help with evaluation. Hopefully that is being developed as part of the product development.

sfG Software Response

5 years ago

The great news is that there is now a survey option to help with evaluation. This allows you to create multiple surveys for different groups of users at different times, e.g. to get mentee feedback at the midpoint and then again at the end of a mentoring program. The results can be tracked and analysed in MentorNet or exported to Excel.

Peter M.
Director in U.K.
Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Perfect for e-mentoring. Highly configurable and scaleable. Well designed.

5 5 years ago

Comments: Enable us to start and run a successful e-mentoring scheme for project managers.

Pros:

Ease of use with a familiar feel. Scalable. Excellent support if anything goes wrong. Good administrator functions which allows easy management of the mentoring scheme. Operates on tablets, phones and PCs.

Cons:

The registration process slightly clunky but is being updated at the next release. The Skills & Expertise section can be confusing - again I understand that this is being addressed.

Judith M.
Learning & Systems Specialist in U.K.
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This system allows ease of use whilst still providing the advanced functionality that you expect

5 5 years ago

Pros:

I like the range of features that allow mentors and mentees to engage with each other. This applies to both a one-to-one engagement or a peer forum. Through sharing of documents, logging activity and sending direct messages or connecting on Skype it allows for strong facilitation and enabling of Mentoring relationships

Cons:

There is still some work on system notifications needed for things like matching request alerts to better manage instance responses

Gaelle C.
Managing Consultant in Canada
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MentorNet for mentoring programme management

5 4 months ago

Pros:

We value the ability to create customised mentor reports and easy track the progress of our mentors through our programmes, as well as the ability to process their expense invoices in one place.

Cons:

None!

Teresa W.
INterim Head of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion (Operations) in U.K.
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

easing the admin burden

5 4 months ago

Comments: Our mentoring programme operates across a number of participating universities and is also a positive action programme so mentees are drawn from Black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds. We also had two streams running at once. This required a number of bespoke solutions to be identified and implemented. It was really helpful to have regular meetings with sfG Software to work through this together and find solutions that worked for us.

Pros:

The software has enabled UCL to automate a number of burdensome administrative processes. This has been very helpful as the cohorts for our mentoring programme have increased year on year.

Cons:

We have made observations along the way about bespoke requirements or extending reporting options - but sfG Software have been very responsive and worked with us to find solutions.

Tom S.
CEO (2014-2021) in U.K.
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform and quick/helpful support from the team

5 5 months ago

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

Intuitive navigation. Helpful for monitoring and safeguarding.

Cons:

Integrating with other systems (Views etc) was trickier but it was very effective as a stand alone tool for our mentoring programme.

Christel C.
Mentoring Co-ordinator in U.K.
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Brunel Professional Mentoring

5 4 months ago

Comments: Highly recommended.

Pros:

All our data is in one place, and we can easily view the mentor-mentee engagement.

Cons:

All our concerns have been raised and solutions found.

Victoria R.
Programme Co-ordinator in U.K.
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

sFG MentorNet

5 4 months ago

Comments: Working with SfG MentorNet is great. Always feel valued and that our opinions or thoughts are heard and recognised. Support is readily available, with quick response rates and a friendly team.

Pros:

MentorNet is user and admin friendly, easy to use and logically laid out. The Support staff as so helpful and very quick to respond to queries and receptive to update requests.

Cons:

The user guides could be made to look more eye catching/ interesting.