15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Onspring

Onspring's Audit Management software puts you in control of your entire IA process. User-friendly, easy setup and fully configurable.

Learn more about Onspring

Pros:

Highly customizable you do not need extensive computer admin experience to build solutions.

Cons:

Feature releases are done roughly quarterly, which means there is a significant delay between when feature need is realized and when it's delivered.

Onspring ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Onspring has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 72 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Onspring before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (72)

Michael
Michael
Global Infosec Risk Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Straightforward and flexible

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The licensing model is simple and straightforward that allows for post-deployment flexibility and growth. This is very valuable in the SaaS space, as it becomes increasingly more complex. It comes with a lot of functionality built out of the box, but can be reshaped to fit most processes you can think up. The education and support from the OnSpring team is outstanding. They are truly partnered in understanding your problem and helping you build a solution to meet it. It's very easy to learn and use. Within a week of purchasing we were able to launch simple processes in the platform and realize immediate value. This was instrumental in gaining executive buy-in with the product, as most are burnt out on 6-12 month implementations before realizing an ROI.

Cons:

It misses some of the logic functions you see in more advanced platforms. The licensing approach can be a double-edged sword as you can't allow for read-only access without utilizing a full license. Feature releases are done roughly quarterly, which means there is a significant delay between when feature need is realized and when it's delivered. Lacks the functionality to build a public facing user portal. They use surveys to accomplish this, but they are unwieldy since the URL changes every time you update the survey.

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Michael - Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of Onspring. We take pride in our ability to fully deliver on customer needs and use cases. We also appreciate you providing input on functionality we could improve upon; this is invaluable to our product team, which is constantly looking for additional ways to add value and improve your experience.

Michael
Manger - Data Analytics in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Flexibility

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The product is quite flexible. It can be applied for a variety of use cases. Once you have your apps matured, reporting becomes streamlined.

Cons:

The interface for reports development can be a bit challenging at times. If you have a lot of fields in your apps, searching for them when building/filtering a report can be a struggle.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Michael, thanks for providing a review of Onspring. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on what it's like to be a customer - and we are very happy to be your 'neighbor.' I'm going to take your 'report creation' feedback to our product team to discuss options on improving the experience. Thanks again!

Michael
Michael
US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I'm an internal auditor, daily user

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It's a good way to organize and retrieve audit workpapers. Multiple controls can be assigned to a single risk, so it's easy to build a usable risk library.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve for new users, can be difficult to configure for individual needs. The stock software is very basic

Onspring Response

6 years ago

One of the primary features of our product is how easy it is to configure for individual needs. Please reach out to our support team, who is always here to help.

Drew
IT Audit Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best in Class Audit Management Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our team is able to work in a single system that includes all facets of their job responsibilities, including risk assessment, engagement planning, project management, and fieldwork. Reporting is streamlined and extremely easy to modify as needs change.

Pros:

Onspring is exceptionally easy to deploy and use with minimal training. The intuitive nature of the product and customizable functionality meant we were able to quickly spin up experiences for our internal auditors, managers, and business stake holders that are tailored to their needs and functions.

Cons:

Onspring uses a common text field functionality that, like almost all others that I am aware of, occasionally has issues in rendering copy/paste text from MS Word. This is not just an Onspring-specific issue and the Onspring editor does include a "clear formatting" button that fully addresses this concern.

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Drew - Thank you for posting a thorough review on the Onspring platform and your experience utilizing our solutions to fit your organization's needs.

Daniel
Director of Internal Audit in US
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use this product for internal audit at the bank I work at. We store our workpapers in it for audits we perform. We do our risk assessment in it. We track findings and do our schedule in Onspring. We use it to maintain our list of key internal controls for COSO and document our testing of those controls monthly in this tool.

Pros:

The product is very customizable and easy to understand once you learn it is a relational database with a user interface of easy to understand charts/graphs on top of it.

Cons:

Mapping feature - this one is new but additional features to customize map overlays based on census tract information would be useful in mapping.

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Daniel - Thank you for providing such a thorough review of Onspring. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this and also appreciate your suggestion on the geographical mapping use case. Our product team will be looking into this!

Neil
Head of Procurement in Canada
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All in one place

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Honestly fantastic, support is incredible. Where else in your career have you seen, Procurement, Vendor Management, Compliance, Risk and IT Security all in one tool ?

Pros:

The Software is easy to use and to create new forms, dashboards and reports.

Cons:

At time the coding language shortcoming requires you to use inverse logic example instead of turn right, you have to turn left 3 times (equivalent to turn right)

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Neil - We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Onspring. I love your quote about never before having procurement, vendor, compliance, risk, and IT all in one tool until you had Onspring. That is what our goal was when we started building the platform, so it is always great to hear that we are truly helping businesses move faster and easier. I need to dig into your coding language comment because my spidey-senses assume there is an easier way to achieve what you are looking to accomplish. I'll have your Customer Success Manager reach out to see how we can improve your logic methodology. Thanks again - really appreciate you.

Jon
IT Audit Manager in US
Oil & Energy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Audit Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I could not speak more highly of OnSpring's staff. All interactions have been great. Our implementer, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], has been the secret to our success, and we are very thankful for her!

Pros:

The OnSpring system is very customizable. The out-of-the box solution will lay the foundation for using the system for your audit department. From there, you can customize almost every functionality of the system to facilitate your processes.

Cons:

With the ability to customize the system comes complexity. You must analyze, design, and really understand your processes before you begin your implementation. Luckily, our OnSpring implementer is very knowledgeable of the system, as well as the audit profession, and she did a great job helping us make the system work as we needed.

John
GRC Technology Lead in US
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible and Valuable GRC Platform

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Enterprise risks, functional risks, vendor risks, controls repository mapped to unified compliance framework, controls testing, compliance tracking/reporting, service request management, model inventory management, asset management, and executive GRC reporting.

Pros:

Flexibility to configure base solutions and create completely new applications.

Cons:

Complex workflows are still difficult to configure and manage, but the workflow engine works great for straightforward review and approval workflow use cases.

Onspring Response

5 months ago

John - Thank you so much for the thorough recap of your experience with Onspring. We truly appreciate your time and love having you be a part of our Onspring community.

Chris
Information Security in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent GRC solution - Highly recommend!

5.0 last year

Comments: Onspring is making our risk much easier to define and report. We previously had so many disparate processes and functions that it was difficult to report risk accurately.

Pros:

- Consistent improvement with new updates and releases- Everyone at Onspring is great work with- Ease of use- Out of box features

Cons:

- When delegating a survey to someone else, Onspring should dynamically update the email that goes to the delegate for you. It will send the email addressed to the initially assigned person unless you adjust it. Onspring allows you to adjust it, but it seems they should automatically update the name instead of keeping the original person's name. Adjusting the email could be easy to miss; therefore, you send an email to the delegate addressed to yourself.- The timeout function needs to be adjusted. It appears to let you continue your session, when it does not.

Onspring Response

last year

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review Chris - really appreciate your candor and feedback.

Julie
Senior IT Auditor in US
Furniture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Onspring delivers versatility, flexibility and tons of Business Solutions!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We replaced our Audit Software for a great cost reduction, administration resource reduction and complexity reduction. We streamlined our Audit process within Onspring very quickly, start to finish, easily within 3 months so we could cancel our old license/agreement. we are very happy with it, and we know we can expand on this to include more when we are ready.

Pros:

It was far less expensive and complicated than our previous Audit Planning & Tracking software! It cut out probably 10-20 hours a week of Administration effort! I love that it is Compliance Tracker, an Audit software, an Issues and Incident manager, a GRC tool, A vendor and contract management tool and MORE....you can have them help you, as much, or as little as you want.

Cons:

If you understand coding and HTML, it helps you help yourself; but the Onspring family is also there to help.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience using Onspring. And I truly appreciate the quantification of how we've helped your team and organization - it's always great to see measurable results with our customers.

Nishanth
Principal Security Architect in
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The nuts and bolts of GRC program

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

When we wanted to build a foundation for our GRC program, we wanted to align it with a strong technology platform to be pillar, after evaluating multiple platforms we went ahead with Onspring as our first choice as it enabled integration with our existing controls and processes stack The hierarchical build is a mechanism we leveraged across multiple applications and a customized dashboards helped reporting to the board easily.

Cons:

The manual intrusive work that has to be done when configuring the applications.

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Nishanth - We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience with Onspring. One of the awesome benefits of Onspring is the ability to customize the platform to fit any unique process, report or business need without using developers. Complete custom creations can take time to do them well, so I hear you on the manual work comment. That being said, we have existing templated solutions you can always start with to speed up your customization process. Please feel free to reach out to your customer success manager at any time to get a view of those templates to see if they are a good starting place for your business.

James
CISO & DPO in US
Food & Beverages, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly customizable BPA and GRC tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I brought Onspring to three companies to help me start NIST CSF, RMF, and SCRM and NIST privacy programs from scratch. At one company, I used it to satisfy GDPR data requests. This platform, for me, is the best balance of customization and built-in capability.

Pros:

The Onspring user interface is remarkably easy to intuit. The admin interface is also easy to navigate. Built-in apps require little customization. Original functionality is straightforward to design. Security controls (including retention) is perfect. Most importantly, the distance between licensing it and using it is very short, depending on your use case. For traditional GRC functions, you can get started almost as soon as your tenant is provisioned.

Cons:

I feel that there is more "measurement" than "metrics" DEFAULT capability in Onspring. For instance, it can count the number of incidents you have each month, but it can't easily give you a single trending value (thumbs up or thumbs down, for instance) based on those measurements. The process to add values to lists is cumbersome when needing to add large amounts of data.

Onspring Response

2 years ago

James - We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave this thorough review of Onspring. And thank you for providing the input on the measurement vs. metrics. Our Product team is working on a direction to incorporate more robust business intelligence methods into our platform, so I'll keep you posted on what shakes out of this discovery and development plan.

Rhonda
Compliance Officer in US
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Optimize efficiency with user friendly software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Onspring to manage and automate a number of our compliance processes including logs, compliance testing, audit testing, regulatory filings, pre-approval forms and workflows. We add new use cases to it every year.

Pros:

Onspring allowed us to create bespoke solutions that optimize our current processes and workflows. End-user adoption has been high and all users find the solution intuitive and easy to use with very little training. If you can read, you can use Onspring. I love the ability to continue leveraging the data we have in the system to create new time-saving solutions for little to no capital outlay. The system is incredibly flexible and if I miss adding a field that is needed for metrics or other purposes, I can add it myself and begin using it immediately. You truly can configure the system to do almost anything you would like it to. The Onspring platform is meant to be customized, so the applications work well and don't experience some of the problems that customization creates in other systems. The more you use the platform, the more ways you find to leverage it to save time.

Cons:

There is very little I do not like about the software. Quite often the features I hoped for to make administration or use of it easier are added to new updates. Quite often, I didn't even know that I wanted an upgrade to functionality until they create it and make the system even better than it already was. One downfall though is that infinite scrolling was added in the most recent update and it has slowed down my ability to get to the record that is needed. Rather than being able to click on page three of my dashboard report, I have to scroll and wait for the system to load the second and then the third page of results. Although I consider it a minor issue, there is no ability to define column size in reports, so dashboard reporting does not always use real estate as efficiently as I would like. Any other system limitations are easily dealt with through good design upon setup.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Wow! Thank you for such a great review! It's always wonderful to hear how easy it is for our customers to adjust their configuration of Onspring to fit their individual use cases and business needs. And we really value the transparent feedback on dashboard columns and infinite scrolling. This type of direct information is exactly what helps us refine enhancements for this year's product roadmap. Appreciate you taking the time to write this!

Polly
Business Continuity Manager in US
Security & Investigations, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

No Code Solution

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: From the sales person to the implementation team to the product support and innovation teams, everyone at Onspring is friendly and easy to work with. They are knowledgeable and will steer you in the right direction.

Pros:

I love that Onspring is no code. I don't need a degree in IT in order to administer the solution. It is easy to customize and even easier to import data files.

Cons:

None! Everything about the system is easy to use

Onspring Response

5 months ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Onspring, Polly - we really appreciate it!

Stephanie
Program Deliver Lead in US
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Scalable, Powerful Solution with no IT experience required

5.0 last year

Comments: My experience has been very positive. The customer service and support teams are friendly and incredibly helpful. The solutions we've implemented have streamlined our vendor management, contract management and projects management processes. We have flexible reporting at our fingertips that allows our teams to tell our story to any audience.

Pros:

It is a highly flexible tool that can customized to work for any business need. The out of box solutions are well-thought out and offer a great starting point for any use case. It is intuitive and offers a clean interface.

Cons:

When I think of potential enhancement ideas they are addressed through a forum that is used for future builds.

Onspring Response

last year

Thank you for sharing your experience of Onspring with others, Stephanie.

Becca
Risk & Compliance Technical Specialist in US
Insurance Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Bang for your Buck

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our company had left a previous provider due to issues with the platform and customer service. We've been blown away by the experience we've had after selecting Onspring.

Pros:

Out of the box options available and full customization options - we were able to decide how much time and effort to apply to customization before implementation. End users are happy with the ease of use. Management is happy with the reports and export capabilities. As an admin, the trainings Onspring conducts and the customer service Onspring provides is extremely helpful and this is, in my opinion, what really makes them standout.

Cons:

Some of the webinars they offer fall short, but the webinars are an added bonus anyway. Onspring provides an app to give feedback and request enhancements - so they're aware of areas to improve. They're transparent about if/when the enhancement will be considered or implemented!

Onspring Response

2 years ago

Becca - You are the best. None of us at Onspring could ask for a better review description than "Best Bang for your Buck." We truly appreciate you taking time out of your day to post a review of Onspring. And appreciate your candor about webinar content - I'd like to follow up with you on this front to understand what we could provide that would be more beneficial in this area.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My Onspring experience

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

For my role, the two features I find most helpful are the workflow capabilities and dynamic documents. Other groups in my organization use Onspring solely for the survey functionality. And while not software related, I have found their customer success group to be extremely helpful.

Cons:

Within dashboards, there is currently no ability to permanently change the width of a column (similar to what you'd do in Excel). That can impact the view of longer text fields.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Appreciate you taking the time to share your Onspring experience. Thank you for the specific insights on how you use our software, which helps others understand how they should think about applying automation to their own workflows, assessments, and report creation. Our customer service team will be pleased to hear of your positive experience. I will share your comment about the column width with our product team. In our most recent product release, we rolled out automated column sizing, which helps when you have longer field text; however, it isn't an end-all solution if there are many columns in the space. First, I wanted to make sure you were aware of that product update, and second, I'll revisit unique column width options with our product team to see how we can accommodate in our roadmap.

Katelyn
VP Internal Audit in US
Entertainment, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Wow! Onspring is Great & My Team has never been more efficient!

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Onspring is a flexible product with tons of use cases - it has increased the efficiency and effectiveness of my team!

Cons:

Formatting for reports and charts could definitely be improved

Onspring Response

5 months ago

Katelyn - Thank you so much for this awesome review of Onspring! We love having you and your team in our Onspring community!

Teddy
IT GRC Advisor in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Onspring

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have all of our material processes in Onspring. It provides management with a single dashboard for visibility.

Pros:

Ease of configuration; very low learning curve, end user adaptability; help section

Cons:

There is not anything that I dislike about Onspring. If possible, I would use it for personal items as well.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Thanks for sharing your feedback with others! We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience using Onspring.

Ashok
Senior Manager in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IT GRC Platform

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The platform is lightweight and not too heavy with graphics. A good number of use cases around Audit, Risk Management, Controls Assurance, Vendor Management etc. Platform administration is not too difficult. Training videos were helpful in understanding the features and the how to's of administration.

Cons:

Need out of the box connectors for 3rd party software integration. Reporting is ok but could be better.

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the candid and helpful feedback in your review of Onspring. Since your post, we have added multiple data connectors, several of which feed cyber and financial data directly into Onspring so that you can immediately action new data from your 3rd-party subscriptions. Additionally, our most recent platform release focuses on new analytics features to provide even more flexibility and customization in reporting. I encourage you to reach out to your dedicated customer success representative to discuss how you can take advantage of these improvements.

Olivia
Administrative Assistant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Onspring Gives a Spring in Your Step

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: It was a little overwhelming at first, but everyone is so helpful and there are plenty of helpful resources to get a better understanding of what Onspring can do.

Pros:

Love the ability to use it for multiple uses. It creates a one stop shop for our team, ranging from assessment/audit uses to helping me manage requests for our Forms Committee.

Cons:

I really wish Support either had the ability to access our instance, or there was a better way to go about it. Many of our issues are very time sensitive and it can be difficult to deal with contacting support, waiting for a reply, and then also having to explain all the ins and outs of our instance in order to help them get a better understanding of our issues.

Onspring Response

5 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Onspring experience, Olivia. We truly appreciate sharing your feedback.

Olivia
Vendor Manager in Canada
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Onspring Review: Olivia Blackburn

5.0 last year

Comments: I love using Onspring. Our consultants (Tutela) are great, and very knowledgeable. The Onspring essentials training has helped for me to do development work on my own.

Pros:

The ability to customize the software on your own in whichever way you need it to work for your organization.

Cons:

esignature platform is currently missing.

Onspring Response

last year

Thank you for leaving a review of Onspring, Olivia! And we appreciate your input on the esignature functionality; we have that in the works for 2024 features!

Scott
Mgr. Int'l Compliance and Regulatory Support in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

6 month User Experience Thus Far

5.0 last year

Comments: My team loves the platform, the ease of use, and the capabilities. We are looking forward to see how we can do more.

Pros:

Ability to self-develop and implement changes on the fly. Ability to adapt the software to the needs of our various teams.

Cons:

Learning how to implement some of the training to our specific needs. The training is easy to follow but trying to tailor it to our needs is a little challenging.

Onspring Response

last year

Thank you for sharing your feedback Scott! Glad to hear how you're adapting Onspring to meet the needs of your teams.

Michelle
Michelle
Vendor Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great tool and easy to use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: OnSpring has allowed us to manage projects, contracts, and vendors in a whole new way. No longer are items stored in multiple areas, they are all right in here in one easy to use tool. The team at OnSpring is extremely helpful and the best group of people to work with. They are extremely flexible and understood our needs from the start. I cannot say enough about this company overall.

Pros:

OnSpring is honestly THE easiest software to use. Right from the start the layout is appealing and not overwhelming at all. Without any formal training, a user can quickly figure out how to use it and be up and working in no time.

Cons:

At this point, I cannot think of a downside to the software. Everything we have needed OnSpring to do, it does!

Onspring Response

3 years ago

Thank you for providing such a great review of Onspring! We are glad to hear the software platform has been so beneficial for your organization. And, we're just as delighted to hear about your positive experience with our team. We appreciate your partnership with us and always, your feedback.

Jeff
CEO in US
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally. Software that works the way we need it.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We need to maintain close relations with our vendors across every aspect of our business. With Onspring we can easily flex their out-of-the-box solution to fit our business processes instead of having to change the way we work. We were up and running quickly with Onspring. Our implementation allows for complete visibility to all our vendors and customize information specific to our industry (food). We run management processes, track products / costs, and maintain dashboards of key metrics. We like Onspring so much, we're building out most of our business processes on the platform. This solution goes way beyond Vendor Management to fit our core operating needs.

Pros:

Ease of use, flexibility, and the ability to quickly customize the platform to our business - without having to write code or pay out the nose for consultants. Just some basic training and we're up and running. Also, Onspring's support is outstanding for any issue, big or small, that we run into.

Cons:

We haven't discovered many points of friction.