Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.3 /5

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Showing 266 reviews

Rami H.
Solutions Architect / Senior Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-11-15

"A best-of-breed Platform for Help Desk and Service Management!"

Pros: Scalability.
Flexibility to be tailored to particular organizational needs.
Very rich in terms of features.

Cons: Setup can be made a bit simpler.
Could use more ready 'templates' that can be used to quickly roll out the product for production.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-11-15
Robert K.
Producer, Media Production Group
Media Production, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-07

"Best ticket system"

Comments: The business problem Jira service desk solves is allowing anyone to put in a request from a service department from one portal & be able to access that portal anywhere in the world and not just on our internal network.

Pros: Jira Service desk works great. We use it in a media company in all of the service departments to track requests from Media ingest, to graphic requests, to crew requests. Our producers can easily log in from anywhere and fill out customized forms for the type of service they are looking for. The department gets the request in seconds and can start fulfilling it right away. In a fast pace news world, this allows us to get what is needed for broadcast air done fast while keeping track of all the work we have to do.

Cons: There are some features that you would think would come right out of the box with jira service desk that doesn't. The only way to get them is to buy a plug-in from their market place. Some features that we would like to see is having the requester see who is assigned the order & allow them to request updates to their requests.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-07
Gerson C.
Software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-12

"Excellent for big projects."

Comments: A very compelta application, useful for small and large teams, but more thought for the big ones, allows you to have a complete follow-up of your project, apply agile methodologies and correct errors and have a record of them, it is excellent, use it and you will like it!!

Pros: Jira has very useful tools for managing projects, in my opinion you exploit its advantages when they are big teams, its main advantage is the follow-up to the development and progress of the projects, the errors that arise during the development process and the management operational, it helps you see more, to improve development times and correct errors for your next project, also has free trials so you can enjoy its benefits.

Cons: The truth is that it is a very complete program, but I think your biggest benefit is when you are big projects, if you are a small team I think other tools will be better suited, besides the price is a bit high.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-12
Lacey C.
Technology Consultant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-23

"Mostly excellent."

Pros: JIRA Service Desk is a customer-first application. The integration with the Confluence knowledge base is excellent and the tool as a whole provides a streamlined, dead simple customer experience. Launching your first project only takes about a week--very speedy return on investment! There are tons of add-ons in the Atlassian ecosystem that help extend functionality if there's something the tool won't do out-of-the-box. Atlassian support has been responsive and helpful every time I've had to reach out to them.

Cons: JIRA Service Desk is not an all-encompassing solution for all things help desk or customer support. Language support for the customer portal is OK, but basically non-existent if you're using a linked Confluence knowledge base. There are many add-ons in the ecosystem that help extend functionality--but each one increases the complexity and maintenance overhead.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-23
Cooper H.
IT Helpdesk Technician
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-11

"A Great App With Some Annoying Flaws"

Comments: Overall, Jira Service Desk provides a well rounded package for anyone looking to build a customer portal for helpdesk-type teams. It's an excellent choice if your company is already using Jira Software or Jira Business because the use workflow and editing workflow are very familiar and are one in the same for many things (e.g. Workflows & Screens)

Pros: - Adds helpful features that Jira Software doesn't support
- Clean customer portal that allows for easy(ish) ticket creation
- Integrates with Confluence to provide helpful articles to customers
- Customizable time tracking SLAs with support for custom calenders and start/pause/stop automation

Cons: - The editing workflow is confusing and spread out
- Lacks some common features that Jira Software had included for years (e.g removing email signatures from email-submitted tickets and comments)
- Requires expensive add on to group multiple projects into one queue

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-11
Verified Reviewer
Co Founder / Project Management
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-16

"We have been using the Jira service desk for a couple of years - easy to get setup and started with"

Comments: The Jira Support Desk provides relatively straightforward integration with other Atlassian tools such as Bitbucket, Confluence and Tempo - we are ably to scope our support effort, track the resources expended and provide timely insight.

Pros: The best part of the package is the ease of implementation, particularly the hosted subscription - no worries about hardware, security or backups!

Cons: For the subscription implementation, there are occasionally changes made by the vendor for maintenance or security reasons without clear advance notification or a complete understanding of the impacts. As with any SaaS solution, vendor changes can be disruptive - even sometimes deprecating used features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-16
Verified Reviewer
Undergraduate Systems Specialist
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-11

"A Great Ticketing System"

Pros: We have just begun using a Jira-based ticketing system to gain support from one of our vendors. So we are users rather than Administrators. However, our experience as users has made us strongly consider Jira for future projects and support implementations. It has a fantastic user interface with a decent amount of features. That said, our vendor did a slow-drip on features for us, and I'm not even convinced that they have enabled all of them yet. But just from what we've experienced, we love the software.

Cons: The slow-drip of features from our vendor (such as seeing who is posting a response) initially made us think that Jira was to blame, but that clearly wasn't the case. I am still uncertain of whether certain features just aren't available or haven't been turned on for us, but I am confident that Jira is a reliable tool for ticketing management. Honestly, the bar is pretty low for ticketing software in my opinion, as I've seen a lot of poor software in this environment. Jira is definitely the best that I have seen so far, and I am hoping it will continue to improve. I look forward to us potentially using Jira to support our own users, so I can see it from an Administrative point-of-view.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-11
Verified Reviewer
Deskside Support Specialist - Teamlead
Law Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-27

"High Level ITSM Service Desk"

Comments: We required moving towards on-prem solutions and Jira Service Desk Server Edition allowed us to use first-rate features while maintaining our data.

Pros: Out of the box, Jira Service Desk allows a team to start up a working service desk with a few clicks. Some of its strongest features is building out a front-facing portal for end-users, linking to the knowledge base (with Confluence). Since it's part of the larger Atlassian ecosystem, there are a lot of tools and features that can be used to provide greater customizations.

Cons: The Jira Service Desk, while customizable has a high learning curve and will take a while for administrators and agents to be able to change workflows. The agent side can do with a UI facelift.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-27
Steve P.
Syd Admin
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-14

"So much better than emails!"

Comments: Good! It’s a clear and helpful way to track work and keep things organized. Way better than trying to deal with support requests through email

Pros: The front end UI for customers/users is really straight forward. The integration with active directory has been helpful for user access too

Cons: The back end tends to be fragmented for administration. Our site admins all struggle to find settings in illogical places or you have to navigate through multiple different paths to change one thing. I also find that a lot of the back end settings are not clear to what they will effect for the front end user

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-14
David G.
Software Engineer / IT Manager
Dairy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-08

"Great Service Desk option for low budget"

Comments: Overall Jira Service Desk has been a fantastic tool to help organise our company internally with IT tasks and help requests, as well as capturing client help requests and issues to build up our knowledge base and provide it as a go to source of information for help on our software outside the phone.

Pros: Budget option, links in with existing Jira products
Ease of use, setting up basic web accessible help desk and knowledge base

Cons: Unable to separate internal and external help desks to different URL's so they can be accessed separately, this could change with the service desk refresh coming feb 2019

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-08
Verified Reviewer
Account Manager
Veterinary Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-08

"Project Management"

Comments: This is a software that our companies uses every single day, sometimes multiple times. It is worth every penny, and makes the developers jobs easier.

Pros: Working in a large company, when something breaks. We use Service Desk to put in tickets. These tickets can then be assigned to the appropriate person and tracked through the fixing process. I do not know what we would do without this software.

Cons: I find the capablities could have more features. It seems a littel old and clunky.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-08
Thomas E.
Atlassian Consultant
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-21

"Jira Service Desk offers first class customer support and perfect internal collaboration."

Pros: Linked issues to solve customer needs. Easy communication to the customer. Workflows to track the status of Issues. More than fair licensing options and several deployment possibilities.

Cons: Some features can only be added via additional marketplace add-ons that unfortunately cost additional money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-21
Seamus M.
Account & Support Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-04

"Works well but could be better"

Comments: I came into a support team that already had it set up and some of the users were not advanced in technology so they have made the product almost unchangeable without breaking so many different boards. Given the time and money, I'd say it could be great if I implemented it myself.

Pros: I love the ability to integrate with the developers in my team and easy tag different things such as custom components, release numbers, versions numbers and team members.

Cons: Although I know what I want as my end goal, trying to implement different workflows and retrieve reports can be quite complex.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-04
Ghadi S.
QA
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-17

"Jira Review"

Pros: Allows great visibility to the work done for the team
Allows you to track the progress of your work
Allows great planning for the team

Cons: The text editor can be improved, better text editing can allow a clearer expression of what you're trying to convey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-01-17
Kevin C.
sr. system administrator
Telecommunications, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-07

"Tool for the Customer Service Era"

Comments: Lots of bang for your buck. This a great tool at a reasonable price and it is highly customizable.

Pros: Amazing tool and a fantastic interface. They have really adopted Jira into a very strong and positive experience for the end user making it easier to provide better customer service. We use this as a ticket/RMA/Customer experience tool and have had loads of success.

Cons: Initial setup can be tricky. From a development standpoint, not a ton that you have to do but some development is required. The SFDC integration is fairly straightforward but can have challenges by way of custom variables and data transformations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-07
Nic L.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-18

"I'm in love with Atlassian"

Pros: Does everything we need, reporting is great, support from Atlassian has always been good, team was already used to Jira so this was an easy switch.

Cons: Like the rest of the Atlassian suite of software... you need to be ready to spend a good amount of time setting up/testing/documenting your processes before you jump in. If you don't do your homework before diving in, you're going to be in trouble.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-18
Thomas S.
Facilities Coordinator
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-14

"JIRA is the ultimate project managemet tool"

Pros: The depth in this software is abysmal, and as far as organization is concerned, there is no comparable match.

Cons: JIRA is a very helpful and useful program, that is unfortunately still lacking on the design side of the spectrum.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-14
Tara F.
Counselor
Financial Services Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-03

"Jira Service Desk has made prioritizing simple!"

Comments: Jira has been a lifesaver. I know that any tickets that I submit will not be accidentally overlooked and I can check-in at anytime to see where we are in the process. I feel confident that our systems team will be able to effectively take care of our requests without the hassle from having to coordinate emails.

Pros: I most like Jira because it has given our office the ability to prioritize needed projects from team members. Prior to using Jira, we sent emails to our systems team and it caused such a mess in determining what was most important. Often things were lost or overlooked. With Jira, we are able to not only prioritize but also allows the systems team to prioritize where they are for the tickets that we have submitted.

Cons: I do not work directly on the systems team so on the side of requesting ticketing, I have yet to find a negative part of this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-03
Rose S.
IT Project Manager & Jira administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-13

"Our company is a service desk fanatic!"

Pros: The fact that it lets us collaborate and track on through all of our departments.

Cons: Resolutions/priorities not able to set by project, no native way to hide queues by groups, issues with custom context on fields...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-13
Jason L.
Industrial IT Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-15

"Strong tool for those following ITSM methodology"

Pros: It is a tool designed to work well within an Atlassian ecosystem. If your development staff is already using Jira, the integration within the tools is great.

Cons: Less robust than other tools. Strong ecosystem with plugins, but some simple functionality should be available within the product itself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-15
Brendan F.
CTO
Financial Services Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-13

"Great software with an unfair pricing model"

Comments: We are using JIRA service desk to disconnect the business departments from the detail of the IT department. Tickets are logged and then broken down and assigned into the IT team to be completed. Business users have a single interface to work with that is simple and only shows them the information that they need.

Pros: JIRA service desk provides seamless integration of consumer support and back end developer workflow processes.

Cons: The scaling pricing model is not cost effective to small businesses

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-13
Jim C.
Infra Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-03

"I love Jira"

Comments: Good

Pros: Ease of use, reporting, shiny shiny interface

Cons: Feature requests slow to get implemented

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-03
Verified Reviewer
Good & Welfare Officer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-05

"Positive Experience All Around!"

Comments: The tool is easy to use and navigate. Even first time users would be able to figure out how to submit a ticket/request with ease.

Pros: The Jira Service Desk has been a great tool within our company. I find the ability to customize your request with some required and some option fields really helpful. The way we have been able to use this tool to specifically fit our needs has been great (compared to trying to apply a separate workflow into our own).

Cons: I really can't think of any cons. I've been fortunate to have a smooth experience thus far with the product. I've only been using it for a little less than a year but imagine with time I could provide additional constructive feedback.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-05
Lasha M.
System Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11

"Another great tool from Atlassian"

Comments: I was introduced to Jira Service Desk when I started working at my first job. It has an awesome and simple workflow and helps with keeping things organized and tracked. Everyone in the company picked it up pretty easily and my team of IT supports are enjoying it as well.

Pros: Jira has all the necessary tools that make a good service desk. Users can file requests by categories and it automatically gets assigned to the support person responsible for the job. It makes helping other departments easier and more organized.

Cons: It lacks certain reporting features such as time spent on certain category issues. Also, setting it up without third-party help is a headache. Reassigning tasks is more complicated than it needs to be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11
Margus R.
CTO
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-14

"Awesome, not only Tech teams are using it."

Comments: One ServiceDesk for all Areas

Pros: We where able to find suitable functionality to also Legal, Secretary and other Departments to also move away from Request Tracker, Mantis etc and be a ServiceDesk user.

Cons: I didn't like that we where not so able to design Service Desk design view but now we can. Awesome!!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-14