JIRA Service Management Reviews

4.4 (349) Write a Review!

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Pros:

Offers a wide variety of customization options making it easy to tailor to multiple business needs. Dashboard shows you what cases you have open and the stages the cases are in.

Cons:

Custom domains, multiple email handing, enhanced portal customization, the basics... all missing.

JIRA Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

JIRA Service Management has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 349 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used JIRA Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (349)

Josemaria
Josemaria
Vice Director for External Affairs in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

From the Trusted Atlassian

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: In a crowded space for helpdesk apps, Jira Service Desk stood out because of the company that backs it up, its family of related apps and, the current integrations with existing third-party apps out there. Jira SD is well worth trying out.

Pros:

From the same company of my favorite and trusted apps like Trello and Jira... We then gave Jira Service Desk a try. The user interface has a modern look and feel and is intuitive enough even for a novice user or admin. It has a pretty standard set of tools to run your usual IT Helpdesk and Support roles straight out of the box (Incident management, Problem, Change, SLA management, etc.). In fact, you can set up your helpdesk well within an hour (of course not counting the per company nitty-gritty). Default setup works, but it's also super customizable based on your company needs. The Dashboard has all the at-a-glance metrics, statistics and graphs to keep you up to speed with the overall status. Again, coming from Atlassian, it has a ton of possibilities in terms of integration with other apps. I feel the constant stream of dev improvements and updates.

Cons:

Even though I mentioned that the third party apps can be easily integrable, we find the documentation for creating one's own integration apps a bit lacking. Also, the creation of tickets can be more streamlined or simplified (perhaps with the minimum number of fields and button clicks) to make it easier or faster to create and then further details can follow.

David Felipe
David Felipe
VP of Engineering in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does the job, but not fun to use

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We are a software-as-a-service company, that offers 24/7 support for our software-based products with very strict SLAs.
Some of the issues need to be escalated to different support tiers and sometimes to engineering or product teams.

Pros:

- Integration with other Atlassian products like Jira Software - Custom fields that let you customize the requests

Cons:

- Automation is very basic - Sometimes difficult to use - Expensive, we try to reduce the number of users using it

Alternatives Considered: Freshdesk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: We were already using JIRA software and having a seamless integration between customer requests and engineering work was vital for us

Nick
Nick
Senior Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for Smaller Businesses, not for the Large Enterprise

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Service Management is very easy to get going "out of the box" for small organizations. We stood this up apart from our enterprise's main service management tool because we had special needs for our intake forms and this allowed us to do the customization needed without going through rigorous development through the enterprise level tool.

Cons:

Form design for your main portal can sometimes be wonky, as navigating through the options takes a bit of getting used to and aren't the most intuitive at first. Workflows are also very simple and complex decision-making based on external data is not readily available.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Service Management ultimately was chosen because it integrated perfectly with our Jira instance and allows for seamless story/epic creation from internal customer requests, porting the information over was made very easy by this fact and the workflows you can create between the two are very useful.

patrick
Database in South Africa
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

patson jira review

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: I work with it to manage my work and to build and track the application without wasting my time this is good software to work with it

Pros:

I was working with this software for so long it's always a great software it's a fastest product that help me track my application what I will says is, it's a great way to work with it as a developer

Cons:

"great product ever that helps you manage all your work in one place and supplying you with great result

Gábor
IT Business Analyst in Hungary
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira, one of the best ticketing tools

5.0 last month New

Comments: I have been using JIRA and its different versions, distributions, add-ons for a time now.This is one of the best-known yet expensive solution for ticketing, and one of the best working one.You may check what points I have collected for pros and cons, yet if I could, I would use and recommend JIRA.The interface what most people "ragging" about JIRA, indeed needs to time to get familiar with, but Salesforce and its chatter, JIRA is still better.There are training material, some on-boarding also available in-built for JIRA and after a few ticket, you are ready to go on your own.In every sector you can find ticketing tools, JIRA is customizable according to your needs.If a lot of people are going to use it, I recommend to have an on-premise solution with a lot of power.There are rivals to JIRA, even in-house ticketing tools, in my company now we have 2 systems, yet an IT-provider can use a lot of them, causing a chaos.JIRA is continuously being developed, there are 3rd party extensions to it, quite stable.

Pros:

Can clone tickets, create linked issues Can create parent-child relationshipsOther Atlassian sw. products and modules are well integratedScreenshots can easily be attachedPossible to delegate close bulkily ticketCan mention colleagues to make them remember about the tasksOptions to connect 3rd party developmentsExport modes are greatCan connect an e-mail address for processing

Cons:

Lack of dark modeRedirecting tickets with the old IDs sometimes weirdScheduled reports could be usefulSimple "User" mode/layout is not enoughUI is not that easy at first, still better then Salesforce.JIRA is a general ticketing tool I would say, but there are others focusing on more on a technical side, like HP SM9.

Tom
Account Manager in UK
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User-friendly ticketing and service desk software

5.0 last month New

Comments: Our experience has been very positive, it enables our customers to log tickets without the need to call us which saves us time.

Pros:

Integration was fairly easy, we use Service Management alongside Confluence, BitBucket, and Jira Software and having it integrate with our Confluence Knowledgebase is really helpful. The automation options are also extremely useful when new tickets are created.

Cons:

Jira Service Management isn't the cheapest piece of software to use, third party integrations can be a bit unreliable, having to pay additional subscription fees for third party integrations isn't great.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Melissa
Melissa
Global Learning & Development Business Partner in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for Technology

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall Atlassian Tools are great for our organization because it allows us to streamline everything. You can utilize confluence with the Jira service desk to integrate existing knowledge to self-serve your agents or customer base. It allows for all the right features with Agile Design and sprints - but I do find that they are missing some features that bring the product into modern times.

Pros:

We've been using Jira Service Desk for several years within our Technology team. I think this tool has all the right features when it comes to managing the day-to-day as an engineer. You can utilize the Agile Design Methodology and manager sprints really easily. In terms of ticketing for customers, that's a different story.

Cons:

Jira Ticketing is a bit of a nightmare to build and run. Our use case was to replace Zendesk with it, and to be honest, it doesn't have the best features to act as a ticketing software for your customer base. Some features are really too basic or even missing from the instance which means you have to customize a lot and if you are not experienced in it, it can be daunting. There is little customization available in terms of how it is presented to customers so branding is extremely basic.

Mathi
scrum master in India
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Advantage and disadvantage of JIRA software

5.0 last month New

Comments: - Powerful Agile views: It supports both the Scrum and kanban Boards- We can create custom work flow based on the different use case- Road map feature is very useful for the view the project status at high level - Detailed reports - The tool is in expensive side.

Pros:

- Powerful Agile views: It supports both the Scrum and kanban Boards- We can create custom work flow based on the different use case- Road map feature is very useful for the view the project status at high level - Detailed reports

Cons:

- The tool is hard to set up and not very much user friendly- The tool is in expensive side. - No idea management features to keep track of your ideas and plans - Some time it is taking large time to load.

Verified Reviewer
Head of Project Management in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Universally accepted and does the job well

4.0 last month New

Comments: Its easy to manage projects with and allows you to easy track tasks

Pros:

Its great for creating and tracking tickets with clarify and visibility.

Cons:

There is a level of training needed to get into the admin/settings level of things

Ashish
Senior Architect in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Life Savior tool for Agile Projects

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: JIRA is becoming one shop all for all project management needs.
It also act as a tracking warehouse for all project management and IT management activities in current agile world.
Scrum meeting actions and stories are easy to browse compared to other existing tools on premise.
JIRA is also efficient to manage code control versioning easily by rapidly varying requirements.
It saves a huge cost for placeholder for our IT Asset management when migrated from traditional software

Pros:

JIRA service management is very use friendly software in day to day project activities. JIRA has been excellent tracking tool for testing bugs, defects easily during entire project cycle. It is very effective place holder for IT asset management and project management phases. JIRA has capabilities to integrate with multiple ITSM management tools and reporting tools for effective reports and dashboarding.

Cons:

New changes for html pages take little more time for loading when moved to production. Version controlling sometimes create hiccups during rollback period.

Alternatives Considered: Confluence

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management: JIRA is more user friendly and easy to mange across enterprise compared to Excel. Macros behaviors were pain points during maintenance but JIRA resulted as cost effective tool for corporates model.

Switched From: Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: It is more cost effective and user friendly software compared to Confluence. It is easy to track for scrum stories and follow agile approach to avoid standard documentation hours

Verified Reviewer
Post Production Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Capable, but easy to over complicate things

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Initial setup can be complex but it can also be super powerful if you are able to configure it properly. It's visual scripting and workflow tool is really capable and easy to learn

Pros:

Its flexibility. It's a simple statement, I agree, and you're probably reading this wondering why I'm being so vague. But JIRA software is a bit hard to summarize simply because it's just so flexible. There's no "correct" way to use it. It's rest API is pretty powerful too and very easy to extend Jira to "integrate" with 3rd party applications that doesn't have an official Jira integration.

Cons:

Creating workflows can easily become very confusing and you can easily break how your projects in Jira work if you aren't careful. With every Jira production license you also get a free dev license so that you can set up an isolated dev/staging environment. This is invaluable and highly recommended. The downside is that there is no easy way to migrate any of your changes from dev to production. But there are 3rd party plugins for that.

Chirag
CITO in US
Insurance Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient service desk for companies small, medium or large

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Prior to using Jira Service Desk, were using a combination of Excel and SharePoint with workflows. We couldn't get great reports. It was hard to customize. Workflows broke without a reason because, you know, it's SharePoint. And the entire process of serving customers was dead slow. We brought in Jira Service Desk as a test bed. Within 2 hours, we were testing and customers were putting in tickets. While we used most of the default settings, the value we were generating was way beyond we ever had. Then, we set up SLAs and watch reports for a few days. We were able to see everything we wanted - who reported the issue, when, what was the priority, how many comment exchanges happened, how much time did we spend, did we meet SLAs, what was the solution, etc. Fast forward 2 years. We are now able to create strategies to service internal and external customers better based on the data from Jira. It has helped us go from making gut-feel decisioning to data-centric decisioning. Good data wins debates. Jira helped us with good data. We are also utilizing Jira's excellent searching, dashboarding and API functionality to feed data to other systems and drive changes beyond just customers.

Pros:

Jira Service Desk was very easy to get started with. You could literally sign up for it and begin using it within an hour. Ticketing system is very customizable and powerful. Customers can be added in bulk and customers can sign up for entering issues. We were able to create different projects (or service queues) so that customers could send requests for IT help, or administrative help, or help with projects. Each such project/queue had different fields. Metrics are all built into the software, so we can know how often Service Level Agreements were breached, who breached them etc. The sheer amount of customizability is a joy. However, without discipline and thoughtfulness, it is very easy to customize it the wrong way.

Cons:

We feel that the price point could be lower and the speed could be a little faster. Atlassian has made improvements with speed. If a company had 5 people manning different queues and the issue volume is low, the cost would be ~1500/year for those 5 users. So, it would may not be cost effective for a small company that is watching their costs closely. We also felt that a Wiki is not built in. So, if a common solution needs to documented that spans multiple tickets, there's no way to do so. We could buy Confluence from Atlassian for an additional cost.

Alternatives Considered: Pivotal Tracker, Trello, Basecamp and Asana

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management: Our previous solution was built on SharePoint. It was slow. Very slow. We had workflows that drove communication after an issue was entered. Workflows would break often with hard-to-understand errors and debugging them was difficult. We had to build all the reports surrounding data we collected from SharePoint. Most reporting surrounding SharePoint were manual. We spent more time debugging issues with SharePoint than the time we spent on the most demanding customer. Something had to change. We tested Jira Service Desk one day and within hours our customers were using it. There was a day and night difference between the two systems and customers were happy. Built in reports were excellent.

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Asana has been working on improving the speed of their software. Their slowness has been well documented on various sites. Even their own team acknowledged and worked hard. We were not just read to jump into Asana due to the slowness. Trello was great - fast and easy to use. Reporting was missing. Pivotal Tracker felt like it was well suited for dev work and was comparable more to Jira Software. Basecamp felt like it was well suited for project work. Jira Service Desk fit the bill for IT help desk, admin help desk etc.

Verified Reviewer
ICT Systems Coordinator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great option for on-site ICT service desk management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall we are very happy with Jira Service Desk; it has allowed us to provide a higher level of support to users than our previous service desk, and non-profit pricing was very beneficial for us. The software is usable in its default setup but we have found that there is still plenty of customisation that can be done if needed to suit more complex requirements.

Pros:

I find the UI of Jira Service Desk very clean and modern compared to other service desks software on the market. Included with the service desk is a customisable user-facing portal for users to raise tickets in, which proved very popular with staff when raising tickets alongside traditional email tickets. Due to the way Jira splits service desks into different projects, we were able to create service desks for other departments in the organisation which helped improve productivity and workflow. There are some very useful and well-designed default reports included for ticket statistics (which can be used to keep management happy!). We found the default setup of Jira Service Desk fit our needs very well, but it is very easy to customise ticket workflows and other features to suit more complex needs.

Cons:

For a service desk technician using Jira Service Desk the back-end UI for managing tickets can be a little overwhelming, however this can be fixed by editing the default workflows for tickets to hide not required information and details. The administration settings are somewhat unintuitively set out for system administrators, but once you get to grips with the layout it becomes easy enough to find what you need from the settings page. We found the instructions on the Atlassian website for setting up an external redirect with a custom URL in IIS a little sparse on detail, but a quick trip to the Atlassian forums cleared up any queries we had with the process.

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus, Freshdesk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management: We switched as part of a service contract change which meant our Kaseya service desk which was provided by our MSP was no longer an option. Instead we decided to look at alternative service desk software that could be used for our needs, and as we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) we decided to remain in the Atlassian ecosystem and choose Jira Service Desk.

Switched From: Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: We chose Jira Service Desk as it was one of the few with a pricing model that worked for us; being a non-profit organisation, their free licencing for non-profits was a huge selling point to us. This was coupled with the fact we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) so we felt staying within the Atlassian ecosystem would prove beneficial.

Jack
Software Support Specialist in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros:

- Lots of tools in one place - Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products) - UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent) - Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from - Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons:

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?) - Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency) - Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app) - Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned) - Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost. - Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Justin Alex
Technology Consultant in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros:

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem. The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer). SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process. Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers. Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons:

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well. The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Andrea
ICT Solutions in Italy
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best on premise

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros:

- High Control - Wide choices of features - Confluence Integration - Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons:

- ...which requires extra costs - Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons - Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Switched From: Lansweeper

Verified Reviewer
Senior Operations Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Management Tool Anybody Can Use

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The ease of use and anybody can use the tool for Ticketing, project management, issue tracking, dashboards etc...

Cons:

The options are at times clumsy and confuse the end users when the data is too much.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management: The cost was too high and we couldn't afford the price for the project budget.

Switched From: Track-It!

Niall
Head of Information Systems in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good option for Service Desks but check your requirements carefully

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: A stable, performant platform for customer support is critical and JIRA Service Management has delivered that.

Pros:

Easy to set up and deploy, configuration is relatively easy, the platform is stable and performant. There is a good 3rd party marketplace for additional apps that can be installed. Security options like SSO are available. Customer Support is responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons:

Reporting on SLAs is poor, overall reporting is ok but could be better. Costs ramp up significantly as Atlassian Access is required if you want SSO, this is an addtional charge per user. The pricing is done on a per user tier level e.g. 101-200 users is a price so you have to pay for 200 user accounts even if you only have 101 actual users.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Service Cloud

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Costs, features, configurability

Verified Reviewer
Vice President, HR Operations and Insights Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Service Desk for Human Resources

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros:

Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons:

My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Cost, ease of implementation, customization and scalability

Mai
Product Manager in Germany
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Famous tool, yet can still be better

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Reasonable experience

Pros:

It has a very high adoption rate and big user base, therefore there are a lot of tutorials on how to do some certain things with Jira Service Management. That's a big advantage.

Cons:

Nevertheless, quite a few features JIRA Service Management can enhance. For instance, the search engine of the whole JIRA is not yet powerful, although it is expected to be powerful because it's a system that administrates a large number of tickets. Searching using text often results in poor results. Additionally, it is currently not possible for searching for some phrases that belong to a hyperlink that is hidden inside a text. Additionally, it is not yet possible to create a new type of relationship that links an issue with another issue. Currently one can only choose from a dropdown of relationship types that are already available there.

Hiren
Cloud Platform Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

JIRA Service Management is excellent Saas Platform for your ready to use need & with other flexibili

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall good experience.

Pros:

JIRA Service Managment is have lots of customization capability & also ready made template is also good. Ready made report is good but for accurate details need more tuning to the reports or create own customize report.

Cons:

When reporting things come in picture that require customization. Also standard ticket type is not good enought for day to day use. So to configure all these need require experience user or consultant to understand your need & configure it.

Eva
Customer Experience in Kenya
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

About Jira - Project Planning

5.0 last year

Comments: The initial setup was quite a challenge but, here we are. It's an awesome system for tracking project issues, especially for new clients during onboarding.

Pros:

It's a good platform to track issues that are being handled by each individual in a project. It also has the option for notification being sent out when an item has been resolved, closed, or has gone overdue. If it's configured correctly to have a backup, the team members involved can always learn from the past incidences reported. This will ensure that the team leader will be able to identify recurring items, timelines it took for resolution, and the team member assigned to resolve such items. This ensures that such items are priority issues that need in-depth understanding for them to be resolved permanently.

Cons:

As an organization, we have not been able to integrate Jira with osTicket, which our customer Experience team uses. This means we have two Systems, and at times this can be overwhelming to track issues on both Jira and osTicket.

Verified Reviewer
Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best Service Management tools in the market!

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: This is a great service desk software. It has some great features, and the overall experience with it has been really good even though it was used for a very critical and big project. Tickets can be transferred to other users seamlessly. Documents can be assigned to tasks and incidents which can help other users understand what is in front of them easily. Overall, it is very important in handling support based tasks that run 24*7.

Pros:

Jira service management is one of the best service desk softwares in the market. The ease of use is great, even for users new to the software. It helps the users keep a proper and clean track of the incidents/tasks/etc they have. One of the best things about Jira Service Management is that multiple teams can easily collaborate and work on it. This enables big projects involving various teams to work seamlessly.

Cons:

There are not many major disadvantages with using this Jira Service Management software. But a user must be careful while deciding to delete a ticket, because once deleted it is goodbye for ever. It cannot be retrieved. This option can be modified to allow retrieval of deleted tickets to ease the process for users who might delete important tickets unintentionally.

Robert
Producer, Media Production Group in US
Media Production, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best ticket system

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The business problem Jira service desk solves is allowing anyone to put in a request from a service department from one portal & be able to access that portal anywhere in the world and not just on our internal network.

Pros:

Jira Service desk works great. We use it in a media company in all of the service departments to track requests from Media ingest, to graphic requests, to crew requests. Our producers can easily log in from anywhere and fill out customized forms for the type of service they are looking for. The department gets the request in seconds and can start fulfilling it right away. In a fast pace news world, this allows us to get what is needed for broadcast air done fast while keeping track of all the work we have to do.

Cons:

There are some features that you would think would come right out of the box with jira service desk that doesn't. The only way to get them is to buy a plug-in from their market place. Some features that we would like to see is having the requester see who is assigned the order & allow them to request updates to their requests.

Verified Reviewer
Project Manager/Scrum Master in Belarus
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros:

When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons:

The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.