Tipalti Reviews

4.7 (106) Write a Review!

About Tipalti

Complete payables automation, eliminating the manual processes related to paying suppliers and partners.

Learn more about Tipalti

Pros:

I also appreciate being able to create unique Payee ID's.

Cons:

Additionally, at times we're struggling with duplicate records since duplicate detection is based on ID and email.

Tipalti ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Tipalti has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 106 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Tipalti before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (106)

Eran
Eran
CFO in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Approve.com put us one step closer to adopting big-company workflows, without the complexity

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: my pain was mid-management were buying products without an organized approval workflow, and without them having transperancy as to how much of their budget is left on a monthly basis. I was afraid of implementing a process using our ERP as it's not friendly enough and I want to be an enabler of my peers - Approve.com definitely hit my sweet spot with their offering.

Pros:

- easy to onborad all the different stakeholders, no more approvals on slack or emails - transparecny on Actual vs. Budget for every stakeholder - suppliers onboarding saved us hours of the finance team every month

Cons:

- missing vitual credit cards - emails layout doesn't look good, images are too big etc. (I'm using MS outlook)

Jill
Controller in US
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

International Payments Made Easy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Tipalti's implementation and support teams have been great throughout. We have realized cost savings in both personnel costs and foreign transaction fees. Tipalti has put our finance department one step closer to our goal of operational excellence.

Pros:

We love the user friendly interface and the ease of navigating around the system. Tipalti makes it easy to quickly view status of payments and invoices. Having one payment run for international and domestic payments reduces time and costs. It is fantastic having a completely paperless payable process!

Cons:

The OCR feature is just Ok. There is still a thorough invoice review by our internal accounting team. I have noticed over time that it is getting smarter. During implementation, registering vendors on the software was more work than anticipated, but we appreciate the fact that electronic validation of W-9s helps minimize work for our staff now.

Tipalti Response

2 years ago

Hi Jill, Your positive and thorough review is so uplifting! Thank you for rating Tipalti a 10/10. It sounds like we have a little more to improve with the OCR technology, but also it's great to know that you're seeing improvements since you first started using Tipalti. We hope to continue making improvements to stay a perfect 10 for your team's workflow.

Bronson
Accounting Manager in US
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Not a great solution combined with Teampay

2.0 last year

Comments: Overall it started out pretty good. As volume started to pick up and required purchase orders to be created through Teampay, we started seeing blatant sync/connection issues with Netsuite.

Pros:

The software functions pretty well on it's own, and handles invoice processing and vendor payment easily.

Cons:

We had a ton of issues with our connection between Teampay/Tipalti/Netsuite. We were sold Tipalti and Teampay as a package deal and they definitely have not lived up to the promise. Both softwares would function better on their own, but they need each other to be a full end to end procurement software.

Lisa
Finance Director in Iceland
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Software selection proves a success

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, we are thrilled with selecting the right product for our business case. The staff are extremely helpful and flexible in ensuring it can meet our requirements with some tailoring as required.

Pros:

The ability to process invoices from time of receipt to actual payment. Ability to handle multi-entity as well as handling of invoice management for a HNW individual.

Cons:

UI not always that strong - could use some improvements in the structure of the tool and the user interface.

Valter
Head of Payments in Malta
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tipalti as a pristine gateway

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the software and business is exceeding expectations and can be a value to any company in e-commerce or other financial obligation settlement needs.

Pros:

The streamlined and ergonomic interface, together with global reach and end-user CRMs, make the payment obligations such an easy task, it's pratically effortless.

Cons:

Ocassional payments stuck with less calrity on the reasoning.

Verified Reviewer
HR & OPS in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution for our needs!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience was just as I expected. it was easy to handle and to extract data from. it simplifies the procurement process for us as a cross global organisation and we can use one platform and get rid of the ticketing system which is not so easy to handle and to follow.

Pros:

What I like the most in this app that it simplifying the process of procurement for us and it is such an intuitive app to work with.

Cons:

For my opinion the issue is not the SW itself is it to educate the other departments that needs to use this app and transfer all the data there. the integration with other apps in our orgnization were great and run smoothly.

Shahar
Product Manager in Israel
Gambling & Casinos, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Approve E2E Solution

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Approve provides a quick integratetion solution that covers the mains procurement requirements, it helps us as a grown company to formalize our procurement process, provide online visibility of the requests, budget, and status easily in one place. Great product with a great team that cares for the customer requests and understand the needs that can improve Approve - can't wait for the new functions!

Cons:

Waiting for Invoice integration solutions, this will be awesome

Patrick
Finance Director in UK
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

New User - Early Appraisal

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Our AP controller left and we did not replace her. Tipalti automates half of what she was doing (setting up new suppliers, processing supplier invoices, setting up payment runs and actually paying suppliers) at a lower cost and the control environment is strengthened too.

Pros:

The product is pretty easy to use, the supplier management puts the emphasis on the suppliers to get details correct, and because they want to be paid they are motivated to do so. In addition, the control environment is strengthened with the screening of suppliers and the internal digital invoice approval process of invoices means budget accountability is strengthened. It also integrates very well with NetSuite, which is important as that is my book of record.

Cons:

The dashboard is not the best, it looks a bit out of date and could do with being refreshed. I would also like to see the product handle staff expenses and staff credit cards.

Abhay
Accounting Analyst in India
Accounting Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Account Payable

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: My total experience was fantastic with Tipalti. I really love this application its very easy and reliable

Pros:

Invoice Processing as well in Vendor management

Cons:

After doing payment Filtration on payment page for vendor.

Ismaël
Ismaël
Free-lance in Guinea
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Software for making business payments

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very effective and recommendable for achieving objectives

Pros:

The diversity of areas affected by the software such as (Finance, Marketing, Finance, Accounting, etc.)

Cons:

Honestly no inconveniences encountered with the tool

Eric
VP Product in US
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great way to pay worldwide

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've used Tipalti since their early days and have been very happy with the services and features. I was looking for a way to pay our research contractors who live worldwide. We've paid people in more than 100 countries and with that needed to improve the efficiency of the process. We also had a concern that our worldwide payments are in compliance with money transfer regulations.
Tipalti brought a terrific money transfer solution that's very efficient and supports a variety of payment options. We implemented Tipalti into our payment process and have since transferred millions of dollars worldwide.

Pros:

Our researchers love the lower fees compared to just PayPal payments and the variety of money transfer choices. It's dependable and our researchers get paid in a dependable manner. The ability to capture payment details and tax forms without the headache of PCI compliance has been a big help for us.

Cons:

Sometimes it would be nice if more of the configuration options were available in the actual application. There are some choices and options that are not easily known unless you go back and forth with support.

Phan
Account Payable in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TIPALTI is my time saver

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: TIPALTI has saved a lots of my time on processing the payment on invoices

Pros:

I like the Automation how Tipalti read and memorize invoices and putting it to the appropriate Payee, portal, and also I love the Paperless idea.

Cons:

I wish Tipalti able to sync the PDF file along with the bill over to NetSuite

Tipalti Response

2 years ago

Hi Phan! Thank you for leaving us such a positive review! We are thrilled to hear that we've helped you to save time on processing invoice payments. That's our goal!

Peleg
Professional Services Associate in Israel
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product - huge time saver!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: First and foremost - it helped us decrease request processing time and remove hundreds of email threads per month. That alone is a worthwhile reason (bureaucracy is a speedbump for businesses).
It also gave us a window to look into vendor performance and spend patterns - which help us make the processes more efficient.
All in all - great product. needs a little adjustment for full automation but will highly recommend!

Pros:

The product is very easy to use, and the integration was very easy (including great help from the team!). It features a centralized and searchable vendor portal for all vendor data in an easy-to-use interface, and completes it with an automated vendor on-boarding process - which makes life super easy. The product also allows me to easily set up standardized PR and PO processes to streamline the end-to-end procurement cycle, which is a huge help.

Cons:

The feature I lacked most was automated file uploading. Currently, you have to manually upload files into the system each time. However, I've discussed with the team and they are working on it so very hopeful!

Diana
Operations Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great tool to make multiple payments

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I've used Tipalti for the last three months. It's straightforward to manage and has allowed me to pay hundreds of new contractors located in different part of the world allowing them to choose between multiple payments methods for a reasonable fee. I love that contractors can create their own account by filling out their personal, tax and bank information, I can customize the app for them to receive notifications of the status of their payments. The invoice feature is one of the most valuable to me and has allowed me to streamline the process. Customer support is excellent.

Cons:

The only problems I have is that fee contractors needed to make several attempts to sign in and register in the platform for the first time; also the system does not prevent them from uploading the same invoice more than once. I would like to have the feature to create contractors massively; customer support helps me with this.

Faina
controller in US
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Safe , secure and efficient way to process payables

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like Tipalti very much. Easy to use. Secure and efficient processing of large payments, paperless process is very good, allows access to many different approvers

Pros:

safety, efficiency, paperless processing, secure processing of large payments

Cons:

Processing and approving payments require few steps but program does not tell you that you still have few steps to complete.

Tipalti Response

2 years ago

Hi Faina, Thank you for giving Tipalti such a strong and positive review! Safety and security are a value that we really do emphasize in addition to Tipalti's ease of use and payment capabilities, so it's very wonderful to hear that you found the product valuable and effective in each of these categories.

Dina
VP FP&A in Israel
Market Research Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Bringing order to chaos

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Approve is the game-changer we were looking for in our quest to relieve several pain points - we didn't have a clear requisition flow and as the company grew it became an issue. Approvals by email, lack of visibility into available budgets and not being able to know your Budget status on the spot created a lot of problems. Our previous attempts to implement requisition/procurement solutions failed either due to the over-complexity of the widely familiar tools or due to lack of features in "lighter" products. Approve is just the right solution for us - it's SaaS, it's easy to use, it's intuitive. Their start-up,"can do" approach made them a great partner for us.

Pros:

Clarity of processes, easy and intuitive UX, flexible workflows, great team

Cons:

reporting interface needed some improvements, approval matrix set up was not fully available, but it's supposed to be resolved soon. Netsuite integration was not seamless at the beginning, but the team made all possible efforts to resolve it.

Taylor
FP&A Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tipalti - Great AP System!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Paying bills on time and adding the proper approval workflows. Tipalti has solved both of these.

Pros:

Tipalti is very user friendly and easy to review and approve invoices, along with adding and adjust approval workflows. The reporting capabilities are very useful and easy to run as well.

Cons:

The implementation was a bit challenging, switching from bill.com to Tipalti but that's expected when transitioning to most products.

Tipalti Response

2 years ago

Hi Taylor, Thank you so much for the strong and positive review! We are super thrilled that you are finding the product easy to use, as well as making great use of the reporting capabilities! Our team appreciates your business, as well as your positive review.

Ahmad
Accountant in US
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Chartboost review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have had a great experience working with Tipalti. It has made our payments process become almost effortless

Pros:

How easy it is to use, and how easy it has made our payment process flow.

Brandelle
Payment Specialist in Sweden
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tipalti has been a great addition for us

5.0 last year

Pros:

Tipalti has a very rich database of currencies and any potential changes are updated in real-time .We also work with a lot of contractors and I love how easy generating 1099 forms is .

Cons:

Once you create an invoice , it is very hard to make changes on it .Often it is better to start from scratch than to do edits .

Eugene
Treasury Manager in Ukraine
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Regarding Tipalti experience

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Tipalti helps us to send with ease the majority of wire transfers

Pros:

The ability to send low cost wire transfers (comparing to other payment providers) to almost 200 countries

Cons:

It is impossible to have multiple balances (USD, EUR, GBP etc.). The fees for currency conversion are high.

Tipalti Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your super positive review of our product! I have also passed your feedback along to our product team regarding multiple currency balances. We're glad that you're getting so much value as a Tipalti user!

Bert
CEO/CFO in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

We are a new company and new to this type of payment system. After our research we selected Tipalti

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best part was the easy of use. Once we began to enter our payees it become easier and easier to use. Since we were new to this type of software, we called upon customer service a great many times and each and every time we contacted them, they got right back to us via e-mail or a phone to solve any issues and/or answer any questions we had. that was a big PLUS for us as we didn't want to be left standing scratching our heads. The more we "dug" into the software the more we realized how easy it was to customize for our needs...that too was a very big plus for us.

Cons:

Don't see any problems or issues at this time. Again, as we dove deeper and deeper into the software, we found the answers we were looking for and with the great support that Tipalit offers anything that did come up we simply sent an e-mail to the support team and they got back to us right away with a e-mail or phone call. Greatly appreciated.

Nydia
Accounting Clerk in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Tipalti makes it easier for our payees to find the information they need from us all in one place.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Tipalti makes it easier for our payees to find the payment information they need all in one convenient place. Plus they can update their contact, bank and tax information online at any time and hassle free. Tipalti has also helped to minimize out mailing costs and we now use less paper as a result which is a plus for the environment. The customer service team is beyond exemplary and always prompt with replies.

Cons:

Accessing the statements by the payees is not exactly a user friendly process, but once they figure it out, it is easy to find again.

Tipalti Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the review!

Gal
Director Of Finance in Israel
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Approve.com helped us understand the right way to buy.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With Approve.com, we understand our unique purchasing needs.
A fantastic Customer Success and Support Team plus a smooth onboarding process enabled us to first establish a tailor-made P2P process.

Pros:

Amazing CS and support team. The smooth onboarding process. The ability to develop your own tailored P2P process. Vendor onboarding process.

Cons:

Real-time budget vs actual is still in the early stages, but it is an amazing opportunity. Virtual credit cards are not available at this point.

Verified Reviewer
Controller in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Streamline Process

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love the TIN validation and being able to have our Payees go through Tipalti for everything. Having Tipalti has reduced emails with payment status as all the info can be found via Tipalti. Payments are processed quickly and it had made it simpler and quicker than having to manually cut checks.

Cons:

Some users are still having a hard time comprehending the required info to create an account. I would like to see it be more user-friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Administrative Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tipalti lowered the time it took to process payments by over half.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Huge time saver

Pros:

Multiple payment types available in one platform. Eliminates needing to enter our online banking's portal for each different type. Easy payment receipts to provide to vendors.

Cons:

Some details of the workflow are not as efficient as they could be - but the team is always responsive to my suggestions and they are always improving.