GanttProject Reviews

4.2 (132) Write a Review!

About GanttProject

Free project scheduling and management app for Windows, OSX and Linux.

Learn more about GanttProject

Pros:

This product is extremely easy to install and use. It has all the relevant features needed for the job.

Cons:

Sometimes it is difficult to use the software. Some capabilities are here, but it is difficult to find them and apply them correctly.

GanttProject ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

GanttProject has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 132 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used GanttProject before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (132)

Francisco
Francisco
Desarrollador de software in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best local apps for project management

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Organize and record the duration of a project, locally, quickly and with a familiar tool for all coworkers.

Pros:

This very complete application for project management, has one of the most familiar diagrams in the computer world, focused on seeing the duration times of each task and which task precedes another, excellent for organizing projects and always having the application without depending on a connection, is open source and free.

Cons:

Currently, there is a lack of improvements and the addition of tools and functionalities with which other applications for project management count, so to stay in the market fight they must improve.

Sofia
Sofia
Data Center analist in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best project managers in local applications

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Have a tool that allows me to organize my projects in a visual way, easier to present to clients or users outside the area, with which they can better understand the times each task takes.

Pros:

GanttProject is one of the best local tools for project management, it allows you to visualize your projects in a graphic way, being more pleasant for introductions to your team or clients, opting for a simple image of a complex system, helping your presentation and understanding, showing in graphical ranges how much it takes to develop each task, group that participates and more, all this of its more known tool the gantt diagram, is a very unique way to organize the projects and facilitate their understanding and progression.

Cons:

One of the most important disadvantages is that the bars do not indicate the amount of work but only the time invested, this does not allow to see how many resources will participate in the task, the case can be presented where a shorter bar actually takes much more work and personnel involved which brings confusion or detracts from the diagram.

Brennan
general manager - contracting division in Canada
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very Powerful Open Source Project Management and Schedule Software

4.0 7 months ago

Pros:

compatible across multiple platforms and softwares, user interface and

Cons:

We are using desktop versions and editing common files in cloud storage so there is the risk of overwriting files and losing work.

Verified Reviewer
Analista de bases de datos in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GanttProject a basic alternative to manage a project

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have done five small projects with the tool, it has been useful and excellent at the level of expressing the goals of those involved, the participants, the time of development of each task, activity, types of associated deliverables and the participants of each of the activities , level of responsibility and hours of dedication, really that is very useful in terms of the general visualization of the goal.
Unfortunately I can not automatically define in this software the levels of resource overload, the critical path of the processes and the possible bottlenecks of the process.
In general, the software is good and practical at your level.
I can define and design a project for free and manage the main structure of the project, share it with the people involved and they can deploy it by installing the tool in any existing operating system

Pros:

If you want to create or manipulate a Gantt chart without having to pay for the license of a commercial program, this open source program is a good option because it is easily manipulated, the menu bars are very similar to other programs aimed at managing of projects and instinctively you get what you're looking to develop. It is universal since it allows you to import and export files made in MSProject and CSV, with the software you can perform the PERT without problems, although the graphic representation is very generic and unattractive, the performance of the program in projects of academic or small scale is outstanding. You can install in Windows, Mac and Linux, It has good compatibility. It is free download, although the developers appreciate some donation, very suitable for students, universities, companies that handle small projects and little staff. Does not consume many computer resources, the software weighs only 14MB.

Cons:

It allows you to allocate the human resource and time, but does not perform complex analysis of those components, you can not easily identify who is overloading tasks, where is the critical path? What processes are the bottlenecks? The design is very primitive, lacks development, but it is like that small car that allows you to reach the goal at a moderate speed The printing of the diagrams is cumbersome, you must work with care in the design of the printing area, the software is associated more with the visualization than with the printing of reports. GanttChart is not compatible with the spring XER format, it must be passed through MSproject

Agenor
Agenor
Analista de negócios e Consultor de processos, Líder de testes in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Do well and free of charge, what you need more

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Corporate users are always asking for a project management software license only to open a project plan, look for an appointment or a resource allocation, and print it. The Project Managers should change their mind and focus in collaboration and team performance rather than complex and high featured tools that most of the time are not fully used. GanttProject is what most of the project teams need to control their activities and goals.

Pros:

GanttProject is not a simplified project management tool. It is a powerful tool because it offers all you need to control activities, resources and deliverables. It has a simple interface, use a few computer resources and it's free of charge for any purpose. It offers good resources to work with external people, sharing the project plan in the network, and importing/exporting content (as possible) to traditional commercial products.

Cons:

Collaboration resources are still weak and are in need of improvement. It is not ready for new agile initiatives reducing the scope of its use.

Alex (Alexandre)
Alex (Alexandre)
Head of Business Development in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

GantProject is a serious tool for Project Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I began to use GanttProject as an alternative to Microsoft Project. Right in the beginning, I became confident in the tool to manage two projects. An international project to implement a whole operation of a franchise in the Dominican Republic working remotely from Brazil, and another project to expand sales team involving infrastructure, hiring, telecom, computers, network, etc. Both were critical could not accept any delay, having various teams from different areas involved, with many tasks and interdependences. The GanttProject allowed all of us to follow up easily, facilitated negotiations and adjustments throughout the projects, as well as each member, had a clear overview of the whole project and each task. Also, those who had never used GanttProject learned to use it quickly.

Pros:

You can have GanttProject for free or low price, and it is very easy to use, export and import projects, print a Gantt or Pert, and in addition to Project Management, we can manage resources and estimate costs.

Cons:

When we have to move a task from a future date to a near date, the tasks connected to this task, by precedence connector, are not moved back automatically, which requires us to move those tasks too, manually. In these cases, we are using the task's properties called "earliest begin" to choose one date earlier. Also, I'd like to have GanttProject running on iOS and Android devices.

Michael
Michael
Project Manager in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good alternative to MS Project

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I managed 8-12 inhouse as well as external consultant on 6 ERP-rollouts in 6 different countries. My objective was to plan the tasks in the WBS, sequence, ressources Vs. Capacity, Deadlines. We worked a lot with the GANNT in the meetings analysing the progress together which worked very well. What is somewhat missing is a cost evaluation tool with ETC etc. I did not need it in that extent but I can assume that other would like that. Eitherway, for an almost free software it is incredibly good and more than enough for most projects.

Pros:

- The simplicity of the software. Fast and easy to setup. Also non-PMs understand it. - Resource Management with conflict checks - Sequencing of Tasks/WBS

Cons:

- Printout of GANNT chart very hard and complicated. Hard to get the scaling to work

Michael
Michael
Producer, 1st Assistant Director, Unit Prod Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BEST GANTT SOFTWARE AVAILABLE!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I'm a longtime user and I'm so proud to see this freeware still available to people to use. 9/10!!

Pros:

Honestly, I've been using this freeware program for MANY years and has helped me prepare gantt charts for many things, including but not limited to, detailed production schedules for film projects. I've also used it to create a development schedule for a mobile app I'm involved with. It's pretty easy to use once you understand the basics of gantt charts and you'll never use another program again. The best part is I've been using this software for a long time and have never had to pay a cent to use it. Can you say that about other similar products out there that have the same features? SIMPLY AMAZING. I'm so happy to see this company still up and running and wish them nothing but the best as we move further into 2018. Give it a shot, you have nothing to loose, literally. 9/10!

Cons:

Nothing. It's free. It's simple. It's awesome. OK... if I had to get "picky", I'd maybe say the one thing that could make this better would be if they had an online version where you can access your gantt charts anywhere on-the-go. Other than that though, nothing to complain about!

Simon
Director in France
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great tool for most project work

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Ganttproject is easy to get into, and it has a lot of really good features that you would normally only find in more expensive software. The updates are regular and it is highly stable in both Linux and Windows. I use multiple operating systems and it never crashes.

Pros:

Ease of use, import of MS Project Files. Flexible roles and other features, so you can get it as you need it. Drag and drop alteration of dependencies and delays.

Cons:

Only one project open at a time, report format is cumbersome and not very editable.

Jeremy
Technical Support Agent in US
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have project management tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is a must have for project managers. It will make your life much easier, and your employees much more efficient.

Pros:

- Very easy to teach and use. Our newcomers pick this up quickly. - Its simple but packed with many options - Makes life much easier as a project manager

Cons:

- The text font gets a little weird when you re-size the screen you're working on - Nothing else really, it's a nice product

Meredith
Meredith
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful Tool, needs refining

4.0 last year

Comments: My team of undergraduate students working to build a small satellite are able to use GanttCloud to add tasks whichever sub-system they are leading. I can then go in and create tasks that flow down from those to look at the overall project, schedule reviews, etc.

Pros:

GanttCloud is extremely beneficial to my team. It is reasonably priced and allows many people to edit tasks from separate locations and even at the same time (merging). Another key feature is the ability to have "parent" tasks which creates a flow-down structure. When 4 tasks all rely on getting lab access, they all adjust as a person adjusts the date in which they received lab access.

Cons:

There is no handbook. Some features are clunky. Dates of events sometimes will not accurately reflect the constraints of parent events (it is hard to figure out why).

Heyonil
Consultor I de la Calidad y Procesos in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An easy way to make gantt charts

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Ease of visualization and simplicity.

Pros:

Easy to create tasks, you can create dependencies between them and you can include elements such as costs, differentiate tasks by colors, define their duration among others. You can easily see the progress of each task or the project in general.

Cons:

This program is very easy to use, however it still has some defects when it is running, a disadvantage is that it does not allow the printing of the diagrams pert. It does not allow to see free days assigned to specific resources within the Gannt chart.

GanttProject Response

4 years ago

One can print PERT chart by exporting it to PNG image.

Andrew
Andrew
Technical Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Basic Gantt Chart Program for Project Management

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Being a free, open source project management software, it's perfect for me and the size projects I manage with my team. I would say that it's perfect for small to medium sized projects but would be unsuitable for something much larger such as a management solution for large building construction, etc.

Pros:

I'm a relatively new user to Gantt Project. I began looking for a good Gantt Chart application several months ago to help organize AV technical installations in a detailed, organized fashion and found Gantt Project through my Avixa training course. I love that's it's freeware! It's a great, powerful tool for creating and organizing basic projects and tracking/planning your progress along the way. There are a few different way to view and edit your data but overall it was very intuitive to get up and running quickly. It also supports different operating systems.

Cons:

It isn't cloud based for collaboration with a team in real time...so for my team we will keep the files on cloud based storage and can work on them one at a time. Using the software on a Mac I discovered a glitch...when scrolling the calendar from left to right or vice versa using two-finger scroll, it seems to malfunction and only want to move forward in time. You can get back to an earlier date by manually clicking and dragging.

Carlo
CEO in Italy
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

R&D project management in a startup

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This product is extremely easy to install and use. It has all the relevant features needed for the job

Cons:

The graphical aspect of the Gantt is hard to customize (task line width and colors);

Marko
Marko
Co-Founder, IT & Marketing Specialist in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If only it is a cloud solution...

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love this tool! Easy to work in it, gantt is very usefull, it is free, it gives you no limits.

Cons:

The only constraint here is the thing that this software is not online... If I would need to use some other computer than mine, I'd need to save a project and transfer... Not very useful and a step backwards in the time of cloud software.... Overall it is an amazing solution!

Genís
Engineer in Spain
Religious Institutions, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best quality/price rate

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Best performance-quality/price rate

Pros:

How easy is to do sequences and predecessors

Cons:

No possible to model concurrent tasks, workforce daily load has to be manually adjusted or everyone is overloaded 300%

Verified Reviewer
Project manager in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Simple and functional

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: The software serves me well, although I still miss some features that I complement with other programs.

Pros:

The software has a clean and intuitive interface. It doesn't have all the features of MS Project, but for a free software it's quite complete. I can keep track of the tasks on it and set up the precedence without any problems.

Cons:

Some information takes a lot of clicks to enter, especially the custom column data you enter. Developers could simplify the layout.

Verified Reviewer
Project Management Consultant in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A good alternative to manage projects

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Although it is a bit complicated when using it for the first time, with a few days of practice you can use the tool very easily, allowing you to manage your projects without inconvenience.

Pros:

One of the things I like most about ganttproject is that it is completely free! In addition to this, I can download it to my machine and work with it anywhere without the need to be connected to the internet; it is very easy for me to place activities, dependencies and see them automatically in a diagram.

Cons:

Its interface is a bit complicated, which does not make it very intuitive. For the inexperienced user it could be a headache to generate a gantt chart with this software.

Verified Reviewer
VP of Analytics and Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the great "unknown" pieces of software out there

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Virtually everything. It can do most anything that the more well-known planning solutions out there can and even does some things (unlimited nesting, auto PERT chart, etc.) that others don't.

Cons:

Visually not quite as refined as some other software, but I don't personally take any issue with that.

Verified Reviewer
President & CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wonderful Tool to Have in Your Business Toolkit

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use GanttProject on my Macbook and it has been my go-to tool when I look to create a project timeline. The software is free so there is no excuse not to try it. I have used MS Project in the past and I would say that GanttProject is easier to use (especially for smaller projects) and definitely more economical than paying for Project.

Cons:

I have no cons. It does its intended job extremely well.

Verified Reviewer
Electronics Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, but needs some GUI and other updates/features to be really good

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I do believe this is a useful tool for visualizing project timelines. It does everything I have needed it to do. When it comes to building timelines, like for R&D activities at work, this lets you easily determine critical aspects of a project (timeline feasibility, resource availability, etc.). I just wish it was more "presentation" capable.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to use. Adding, removing, or editing tasks is easily done. The amount of detail you can attach to tasks or groups of tasks is very useful. I like how you can visualize tasks in a timeline fashion (with dates easily visible), and keep tabs on what is happening with reference to other tasks in the project (ie, parallel paths data). Adding or removing time from tasks integrates nicely with tasks that reference them, making it easy to make adjustments.

Cons:

Two things I dislike about this: 1. Zooming in and scrolling on the timeline is so hard to use. If your project does not fit nicely within the couple of zoom levels, it does make it hard to visualize everything. Then, scrolling is sometimes almost impossible. Sometimes the left-right scrolling does not work, and sometimes you can't scroll enough to see your entire project. That seems like a bug that could be fixed. 2. The export features are lacking. You can print or save as a .pdf but there are no formatting options. So, your large project timeline you email to your colleagues is a several page document that simply chops up the timeline into tiles. Basically, only those with GanttProject installed can view the timeline.

Verified Reviewer
Program's member in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

my first choice when I start to plan a new project

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I always picked Gantt Project to make the planning of my project and the follow up of them: it's easy, simple and super practical!! I recommend it for sure

Pros:

The best features of this software is the dependance option that adapts the following tasks when one needs to be moved, we can also directly set up manually a dependance by a number of day when we do not work certain days which is very useful!

Cons:

When you want to export the planning; if it's a big one it is hard to have it readable on one page sometimes

David E.
David E.
Construction & Facilities Executive in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sophistication at the absolute best price!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Outstanding.

Pros:

The cost and that it was easily found and loaded onto my PC.

Cons:

It's a little clunky till you figure it out. Not quite as intuitive as other GANTT project planning tools.

Max
Max
Manager, Professional Services & IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Can't beat what you get for a free cross-platform Project Planning Software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used to use Gantter, but then they started charging. I have tried ProjectLibre but it is a bit steep of a learning curve. This software hits what I need which is free and simple to use. This gets the job done everytime for my 3 month customer projects. I only use about two-three resources which makes my planning a bit simpler. The webpage export is great as is the png output. Makes it easy to share.

Pros:

I am mainly a Linux user and this software along with ProjectLibre are the only Gantt Software I can find that isn't web-based or charged for. This is very easy to get up and going and export a simple project roadmap for customer review.

Cons:

The UI is still probably a work in progress. I don't really mind that much but it doesn't blow you away. There are not tons of features, but has everything I use. I am not a Project Manager though.

Shaun
Operations Director in UK
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great piece of software that is easy to sue

Pros:

Ease of use and the simplicity of the layout

Cons:

Was a little tricky getting the date format correct but other than that nothing