15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Confluence

Confluence makes information accessible to your whole organization. Use it to capture and preserve all important data and updates.

Learn more about Confluence

Pros:

It is a very practical and simple software, it is not necessary to invest a lot of time to learn how to use it. Its graphic interface is very friendly, it is very intuitive software.

Cons:

Now I need to upload to google docs and import as google doc rather than word. The error messages sometimes are on the level of "something went wrong.

Confluence ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Confluence has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 3,406 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Confluence before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (3,406)

Tomás
Tomás
Senior Software Engineer in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Knowledge Base as root

5.0 last week New

Comments: It has a learning curve at the beginning. Still, later on, and not so long after, you will find yourself putting everything on confluence because it is easy, well-managed, and perfect for a platform where people can find documentation and information in a well-presented format.

Pros:

Confluence is part of an already well-positioned and easy-to-implement ecosystem where multiple tools perform a specific job in a workflow. This makes it easy and friendly to set up and run; using information from other platforms like JIRA and Bitbucket, everything comes together in an excellent and organized way without much effort.

Cons:

It might be overwhelming at first; there are plenty of options and personalization elements you can include, so you might think, "It is too much for me." But by watching a couple of YouTube videos, you will see how you can customize it to suit your needs and start using its powerful features.

Alternatives Considered: Slack

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: We used to have documentation inside our bitbucket repositories, but we required a well-defined and easy-to-access platform where the team could both collaborate and access the information for a particular part of the application without needing to go through the code to find it

Switched From: Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: We found that Confluence integrated naturally with JIRA and our Bitbucket repositories, giving us an organic way to set up all our workflows in a single platform. While we could use Slack or any other messaging platform to communicate, Confluence worked perfectly for our documentation needs.

Yosra
Senior Software Engineer in France
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We are at the peak of productivity with Confluence!

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Confluence is the best collaboration tool used by teams to create, share and collaborate on content on a central platform. Its versatility in facilitating information sharing, project management and documentation across teams and organizations ensures that our business processes are very efficient. My experience with Confluence has been great and I highly recommend it.

Pros:

Confluence is a stellar software that revolutionizes collaboration and project management. Its intuitive interface seamlessly integrates document creation, task management, and team communication in one centralized platform. What sets Confluence apart is its flexibility - whether you're a small team or a large corporation, it adapts to your workflow with customizable templates and robust integration options. With features like real-time editing, version control, and powerful search functionality, Confluence streamlines teamwork, boosts productivity, and fosters creativity. In a nutshell, Confluence is a game-changer for any organization looking to enhance collaboration and achieve project success.

Cons:

There is nothing I don't like about Confluence, it is a very effective and efficient software.

Andrew
Andrew
Chief Operating Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Practical Option for Atlassian Users

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: When paired directly with JIRA, the Confluence platform can be a very powerful tool in terms of organizing project documentation with active or archived projects. Unlike other JIRA add-ons, the ability to activate or deactivate the product at the individual user level makes it much more affordable and a solid value option. As a standalone product, however, Confluence falls shorts in terms of features and user interface when compared to other word processors or document cloud storage systems.

Pros:

Confluence is a great option for existing Atlassian users looking to seamless integrate an active knowledge base into their project workflow. With direct connection to the JIRA project management platform, Confluence allows you to connect existing users directly to relevant project documentation. Its base functionality is fairly intuitive for novice users, and its advances permissions schemes allow you to create a variety of admin tiers that can restrict access to relevant users only. The integration between Confluence and JIRA is as simple as checking a box in the user admin panel.

Cons:

As a general word processor, Confluence can be a little clunky when compared to the UX of similar processors such as Word of Google Docs. While its advanced features can be very useful for more experienced users, available tutorials can be difficult to come by and are often outdated. Like most Atlassian products, the bounty of features, settings, and schemes can be very overwhelming to the average user and are not overtly intuitive. Document organization can also be very confusing, as there are a variety of options to choose from when creating parent and child pages.

Alternatives Considered: Google Docs, Trello, Microsoft 365 and Basecamp

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Direct integration with JIRA.

Switched From: Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Direct integration with JIRA.

james
support engineer in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

As a user and an admin what do i like or dislike

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: great go do business tool and used industry wide, has issues such as very slow support and lack of features which can be expanded with costly plugins

Pros:

the ability to control used access is great and to manage different spaces for different situations. we have also been able to use confluence to drive content on hosted web sites driven from confluence spaces with the help of plugins

Cons:

plugins are costly, and to make full use you need to use them. These seems to be charged based on how many users you have in confluence rather than how many who would use the plugin. this makes it expansive and there is no way of restricting a plugin to a user group

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: easier to use that other options available are the industry standard as well as coming with Jira

Yashovardhan
Yashovardhan
Business Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Unlock Seamless Collaboration with Confluence

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Confluence makes it really easy to write stuff down and work together. You can share all kinds of information like plans, ideas, and technical stuff with your team or even with people outside your team. It's super simple to use and looks really clean. It's made for teams, so everyone can work together in one place, no matter where they are or what time it is. You can do lots of different things with it, like keeping track of different versions of your work and making cool diagrams. The writing part is easy too, and you can add pictures, tables, and other stuff to your pages. It's like having a big blank page where everyone can add their ideas. There are also templates you can use to start your work without starting from scratch every time. You can organize all your stuff in different spaces, so it's easy to find what you need. And because everything is in one place, it's really convenient. When you share your work, lots of people can work on it at the same time. You can give feedback right away and get notifications when someone talks about you or your work. Overall, Confluence is a great tool for teams to work together and share ideas.

Cons:

The Pricing is on the expensive side . It can also get difficult to customize . It can also crash sometimes .

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great collaborative platform - but not without its quirks

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Confluence has been instrumental for our team as a central repository for our documentation, streamlining our workflow considerably by keeping everything from project plans to meeting notes in one place. The real-time collaborative editing feature is a game-changer, allowing multiple team members to work on the same document simultaneously, which has boosted our productivity during brainstorming sessions and project planning (especially when working across various timezones). Its seamless integration with Jira and other Atlassian products facilitates easy progress tracking and task management, creating a more cohesive working environment. Additionally, the range of templates available makes it easy to get started with new documents, and the ability to create custom templates tailored to our specific needs has been very useful. Its superior to platforms like Quip in the way that it handles pasting in content from other platforms/products (Excel for example). Its shared organizational structure also makes it much easier to use - because we can create one team location with sub pages, and organize them holistically rather than everyone having their own organization approach.

Cons:

It takes a bit of a learning curve to get used to where you find everything. Additionally, granting access to people on different pages is challenging - to the point that it seems like we have to include IT in those type of requests - which shouldn't be the case, and is MUCH easier to do in Quip. The search functionality can also leave some things to be desired, as many times it takes 4-5 searches to finally find what you're looking for.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The knowledge management platform of choice, in my workplace.

4.0 last month New

Pros:

Confluence's huge customization capacity is its key strength and it is what I cherish most about it. As a user, I have the option to create my own customized workflow , using the in-built templates on Confluence. By doing the aforementioned, it is easy to continuously adapt Confluence to the unique needs of I and my team, thereby boosting day to day work productivity.

Cons:

When I am updating pages simultaneously with other users, the page content is never updated in real time.

Corey
IT Support Manager in US
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Confluence

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall I enjoy using Confluence. I am getting better at it and using it more and more each day. If you are a developer who also uses Jira than this tool goes hand in hand with it.

Pros:

I like how easily it is to link notes together and the built in add-ins for taking your notes to the next level.

Cons:

It’s hard to get started with if you’ve never used it before. The permissions are also a little confusing.

Catherine
Catherine
BPO Specialist in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Positive Review in Confluence

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Highly recommended save a lot of time. You can easily create your own page to your company and your team.

Pros:

What I like the most about confluence is user friendly. You can create a page that your colleague can access. Update anytime you want then publish automatically.

Cons:

You have an account provided by your IT of your employer

Özgür Bülent
Özgür Bülent
IT Consultant at BSH in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you are a Product Owner, Confluence is a the right tool to go with.

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The ability to navigate, create and modify documents and contents in Confluence.

Cons:

Improperly configured add-ons sometimes can cause slow page loading. An option of what caused the delay in the loading of a confluence page and how much time it took, could be a good indication to resolve issues.

Julián
Full-Stack developer in France
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Class-enterprise knowledge base software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The best thing I achieved using this software was to integrate the concept of knowledge base with my business logic, and it really helped because they have a great documentation for starters, and they don't just learn to use the platform, but the overall concept regarding documentation management.

Pros:

The best feature that this has is the extended Add-In marketplace. You can find the proper Add-In to express your ideas in the best way: Coding, Images or illustrations, animated gifs or videos, and even forms inside the documents and pages. From a user perspective, this is one on the easiest knowledge base software in the market, and also you have the bakcing of Atlassian. The process of the integration with our existing business logic was easy because we didn't have a strict knowledge base, but Confluence gave us the foundations to build one from scratch.

Cons:

The export tools and options you have inside the platform are not good. The data isn't portable, so you can't migrate easily to another platform in case you want. The installation process was complex, but today, they stopped producing self-hosted applications, so you are obligated to use their cloud services, and it can be a problem if the company has a strict data policy, like restrictions in the phisycal storage of the data.

Alternatives Considered: MediaWiki

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: It's easier to use from a end-user perspective. It stimulates the generation of the documentation inside the business.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Notes and Document Management for Pros

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Confluence is the best notes taking and document creation software available - it's a well-integrated, easy to navigate tool that enables live collaboration whilst providing a range of integrations to other business tools!

Pros:

Easy to use navigation bar per space (topic area) of store notes coupled with a range of text formatting and style features - Confluence is one of the best software tools available for notes taking! The inbuilt macros, linking page functions, mentions, comments and live editing all add to the allure of the Atlassian product range.

Cons:

Confluence can be a steep learning curve due to the overwhelming amount of functionality available - including the permissions and access control clashes.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft OneNote and Google Docs

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Confluence was cleaner and more agile with a clear collaborative value over other products.

Switched From: Asana, HubSpot CRM and Evernote Teams

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: The range of features, integration potential and ease of collaboration. The storage, navigation and organisation of Confluence sold it beyond any other product.

Melissa
Melissa
Game Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

So far, it is the best tool for teamwork

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: With the help of confluence, we're able to work together on our project even though our team members are located all over the world and come from a wide range of backgrounds. As a result, all of the project's information may be stored in a single location, making it convenient for everyone involved. This is a huge time-saver.

Pros:

Confluence provides a safe method for sharing knowledge and working on projects among team members. The main business, Atlassian, provides a wide range of reliable plugins. Because everyone on the team can make changes to the document repository and see when and who made them, this is one of the finest features of confluence's document sharing and management system.

Cons:

Many plugins are available, and it might be difficult to pick the ideal one for our purposes. This takes up a lot of time. The guidelines are typically adequate.

Federico
Federico
CFO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for a Small / Medium Bussiness

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience using Confluence is great, we stopped having several places to store the same information or share results, now we share everything in one place.

Pros:

Allows to have one single place for all the company's documentation, this reduces efforts and allow an easy more controlled data sharing. We have very interesting possibilities with other collaboration tools. It is very easy to use, just type, tag and share. Just like using any social network.

Cons:

Even though this is a very easy to use tool, sometimes the navigation is not so easy to understand. Users cannot see edits in a document in real time like Docs in Google Drive. Lastly, some formatting options are quite basic, a little or more options would be appreciated.

Alternatives Considered: Kipwise

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Confluence has better integrations with other tools.

Switched From: Kipwise and Nuclino

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Because the relation quality - price in confluence was greater.

John
John
Database Administrator in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our knowledge base

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We were having problems to share information, and some users were not getting the right information. Knowing that we have a tool for information sharing like Confluence, we create a plan to start documenting all our processes, and now they are available across the company.

Pros:

It is very useful to share all our documentation and knowledge base. All the users are now able to get updated information, and can share any documentation with the team.

Cons:

It can become a bit slow sometimes, causing the pages to take longer to load and look for information.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: We were looking for a better documentation and information sharing tool

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft OneNote

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: It was the better option for our company, thinking on how robust is the tool.

alexander
CxO in Bulgaria
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Confluence Content/Knowledge base or also a document management system

4.0 last year

Comments: Confluence as a documentation tool within the software project environment of Jira is very strong. I haven't seen it independent implemented in other organizations. After this implementation, many organizations start to use it for other purposes as well, due to the ease of use. In my opinion, if the people would spend a little training time a lot of other solutions are a better fit. Unless you use the Jira project suite.

Pros:

The ease to document a wide variety of software related information makes it a strong tool for the teams it has been developed. They also have made it very easy to use several templates for meetings etc. If you integrate it with the main product Jira, then you have a very good combination of tools for software development and follow up documentation.

Cons:

To work properly with confluence you should also use Jira as project management tool. It is hard to implement it without Jira.To make proper documentation a lot of extra plug-ins make your live a lot easier. Some are free, others are at a cost.Integration with office, google workspace etc is hard.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: The documentation and integration with Jira is way better then trying to integrate microsoft sharepoint with Jira. Also the ease of the interface makes it for developers easier to create relations to the project.

Switched From: Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Ease of use and integration with Jira.

Linda
Linda
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent knowledge base and group collaboration platform

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: I appreciate the simplicity of the Confluence platform because it has been really helpful to my company. The intuitive design makes it simple to disseminate internal communications and choices made in meetings.

Pros:

It's the greatest centralized location for everyone involved in a project or at a company to store, share, and retrieve information and data. It's helpful for teamwork because it's simple to edit, it syncs with Jira, and it can provide useful visual representations of data.

Cons:

The design of Confluence just seems archaic and cumbersome to me. It's also difficult to allow access, and to copy and paste across other applications like Microsoft Office.

Brandon
Brandon
Sales Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Confluence helps my company collaborate and share knowledge

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: My team is able to save, organize, and share papers in one convenient spot thanks to the superb document management tools that come standard in Confluence. Because of this, my team is now able to seamlessly integrate internal collaboration methods into our day-to-day operations by having instantaneous access to all relevant project documents and information.

Pros:

Excellent program for group work and information exchange. It comes with more than a hundred different layouts to choose from. Access controls are provided, and team members can easily connect with one another. It's an excellent resource for building and managing a database of how-to guides to be distributed to clients. It's also great because it works in tandem with other attlassian applications, such as JIRA.

Cons:

Unless one is familiar with the relevant duties, I find the administrative side to be a bit of a hassle. Limitations in personalization and usability in document format selection make it difficult to create documents in specific ways.

Maria Agnes
QA in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the greatest tools to collaborate and build project knowledge base

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

A great collaboration tool where all project documents (from major project plan to reports to release cycle to simple meeting notes) can be organized and shared in one centralized location. The confluence editor feature makes it easier for me to create documents, review and share feedback and changes can be tracked thru page histories. Spaces are well organized and structured. There are page shortcuts, page trees, breadcrumb trails that aid users to navigate between pages and information. It is easy to build links within pages by adding an anchor. You don't need to remember which part of the page you have read a certain information and do page scroll. I like the gliffy plugin. Whenever I need to embed a workflow diagram, adding gliffy makes it easier to attach flowchart, it's dynamic as changes in the diagram is reflected in the page. I can highlight people in my reports or meeting notes by tagging them Documenting a test report is easier with the JIRA integration - JIRA issues highlighted and linked and JIRA issue filters can be embedded and since these two (JIRA and Confluence) work hand in hand, it makes delivering software in agile approach a lot easier.

Cons:

To beautify your confluence page, you need to know which macros and plugins you need to add but by doing these, one needs to have very basic knowledge in html or programming which could be a learning curve to most people. But lots of how to videos are shared by Atlassian and lots of documented procedures are out there shared by experienced users. One just need to be resourceful. The challenges in embedding spreadsheet with macros and formatting tables are not a challenge anymore if you know what macro or plugin to use. Another issue is sometimes finding the information you are seeking is not successful and sometimes the information search for spans to multiple pages - but information actually can be managed by adding labels which again boils down to the user having the knowledge that this feature exists.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect solution for interaction within our dev team and also for interaction between us & customers

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I absolutely love the product. It is awesome. When your con list is made up of feature requests, you know the product is intensely used and you are looking for "more" or adjusting how things are done to help enable you to do your task, plus add functionality that would provide value for the product. This product is a 10 of 10 if you are using it right.

Pros:

The widgets. I love the team calendars, the roadmap functionality for time lines, decision tracking and criteria, tasks/action items and the ease of defining them, status bars, and the flexibility for meeting notes, how to articles, blogs, file lists, product requirements, retrospectives, task reports, and troubleshooting articles from one source. It has really improved our interaction with customers for projects and documentation.

Cons:

From time to time I see issues with editing pages. It does not make the bold or color changes to changes even though the toolbar indicates it is made, it does not display correctly. I also see this display issue with tasks, where the tool bar indicates a task is inserted, but it is not displaying correctly. And also see this issue with bullets. It will display no bullet, or even worse, it displays additional bullets that I don't want. I would also love to be able to sync widgets between pages (ie a status bar on one page to a parent of that page for a summary. And also be able to sync components/pieces of a page between two Confluence instances. For an example of the use case, we have a time line that we maintain on an internal instance, and I want to sync parts of that timeline to an external instance that we share with customers. This would allow me to have internal only deliverables mapped, but provide a customer facing doc without maintaining two versions

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An excellent documentation service that has saved me on many occasions

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My coworker and I use confluence extensively to document all of the work that we perform. As IT staff many issues that we come across will be repeated ad-infinitum. As such to simply be able to look up the fix from any location with internet access increases efficiency many times over. The notification ability helps all users to see what has been changed, when, and by whom providing an excellent level of accountability.

Pros:

It is extremely easy to create a large number of documents, it is possible to reference other documents within them to facilitate ease of research, and documents can all be put into sub-folders to contain them within separate trees to aid with organisation. The mobile app is extremely useful for reading documentation whilst on the go - an example would be that we keep Video Conference details on one page that I have favorited, as such when I set up a VC from any location I am able to rapidly find the correct details to dial. The search functionality allows for extremely quick location of relevant documents. On many occasions I have not been able to find what I need looking through the lists, only to immediately find it on the first search. Indeed I no longer look through the list as the search is so efficient. When changes are made to documents it is possible to set it up to notify other members of the team so that they are able to see what has been done.

Cons:

The only minor issue I have discovered with confluence is that when creating new documents setting the location is not as smooth as I would like. Specifically I need to begin creating the document, then select "Move" and finally put it into the desired place. This does not really cause issues as it is still a quick process, however a one click setup would be appreciated.

Arturo
Developer in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best documentation tool I ever used

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use this almos daily and I think it is a great tool for team performance. It allows to create and view all the info in no time and pretty well structured.

Pros:

The main advantage about Confluence is that is part of the Atlassian Suite which involves Jira and Bitbucket among others. This makes pretty easy to integrate them and add quick references to a jira issue with just write the reference number. The text editor in Confluence is pretty complete, allowing to create really decent pages for any kind of documentation desired. The possibility of create nested pages makes really easy to organize the information in "chapters" "sub-chapters" and so on, giving your documentation a really neat look. This feature also allows to segregate the information, so you can have your product's documentation on one place, perfectly organized and set another "Chapter" for your team info, where you could store info about code conventions, timetables about overtime or availability, and so on. Confluence is also useful in order to create software designs, since it allows to create pages where you can paste your diagrams and so on and allows to discuss on them by adding comments or remarks. And the Watch utility keep you posted via e-mail whenever a page you're watching is modified in any way so you can keep track of a discussion or whatever.

Cons:

So far didn't find any big issue with confluence. Maybe for beginners it has a bit of learning curve and some option like the page nesting and so on is a bit difficult to learn. Besides that, I think is a pretty complete software. Something I miss is the possibility of "downloading" a page with all nested ones into a pdf. That would be a great feature in order to generate documentation files.

Praveen
Praveen
IT Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I highly recommend this product for all corporate companies.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I'm very happy with this product, without confluence it's impossible to maintain the knowledge article in our team.
It helps everyone across the team. Thanks to the confluence team for such a wonderful product.

Pros:

It comes with rich features, below are a few features which I personally liked: 1. Documentation: When there are some important knowledge articles that need to be shared with the team, we use this tool. It comes with multiple options to make the page feels catchy and rich, it also allows us to attach the images. 2. Search Functionality: When there are 1000s of confluence pages, and if I want to access the page containing a specific word or a line, the search engine works like a champ it finds the pages almost immediately, this feature really helps me in easing my office work. 3. It displays the name of the person who had created the page and last modified person name, this helps to know whom to reach out to when we need additional info pertaining to the details as written on the page. And if required we can add the approvals, thus whenever someone edits the document without your consent changes won't reflect others until you approve the updates. 4. Like and Comments: Similar to social media, readers can either hit like if they like the content or they can mention their feedback in the comment section, this feature really helped me while suggesting something to the author or express my thanks via a LIKE.

Cons:

There should've been an option to keep the page in draft before publishing it. But unfortunately, there is no such feature in confluence. Apart from this, I didn't find any other flaws in the software.

Charles
Charles
Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software, but not quite GREAT software.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We needed a document/knowledge depository. We ended up using Confluence for Knowledge Depository, it had too many limitations and too expensive to integration to use for Document Management. It did the job for knowledge management, but was very similar in features and functionality to other products that do this as well. We tried to adapt it for Customer Success management and meeting note taking but many users found it too difficult to use it regularly and it became shelf ware for this purpose.

Pros:

I like the version control features of Confluence, it's very easy to use and visibly see changes. Being able to build account dashboards with tasks from various business reviews was also a nice feature though had some limitations.

Cons:

The bullets formatting can be very frustrating and acts very strange sometimes. Confusing sign-in credentials for SSO when used with JIRA.

Alternatives Considered: Google Sheets

Switched From: Notion

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: More features and customizability.

Lautaro
Lautaro
HelpDesk N1 in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Confluence: A Comprehensive Collaboration and Knowledge Management Tool

4.0 last year

Comments: In summary, Confluence is an excellent collaboration and knowledge management tool for teams of all sizes and industries. Its range of features, intuitive user interface, and seamless integrations with other Atlassian tools make it a versatile platform for creating, sharing, and organizing content. While it may have some drawbacks, its strengths make it a valuable asset to any team looking to improve their collaboration and knowledge management efforts.

Pros:

Confluence is an enterprise-grade collaboration and knowledge management tool developed by Atlassian. It is a web-based platform that enables teams to work together seamlessly, share information, and create and store content in a centralized location.One of the most significant advantages of Confluence is its versatility. It can be used by different teams in various industries, including software development, marketing, project management, human resources, and customer support. The platform provides teams with a range of features to create, share, and organize content, including pages, blogs, comments, templates, and macros.One of the key benefits of Confluence is its intuitive user interface, making it easy to use and learn. It has a WYSIWYG editor that enables teams to create rich content with ease, and the platform is highly customizable, allowing teams to tailor it to their specific needs.Confluence also integrates with various other Atlassian tools, including Jira, Trello, and Bitbucket, which allows for seamless collaboration across different teams and departments. The platform also offers various add-ons and integrations with third-party tools, further expanding its functionality..

Cons:

However, like any software, Confluence has its drawbacks. The platform can be slow at times, and its pricing may not be affordable for small businesses or startups. Additionally, while Confluence's search functionality is powerful, it can be challenging to navigate, making it difficult to find specific content.