15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Skilljar Customer Education Reviews

About Skilljar Customer Education

Skilljar's external LMS enables businesses to deliver personalized learning programs and connect learning to revenue.

Learn more about Skilljar Customer Education

Pros:

Out of the box ability to charge for training, capture analytics and create courses. Great API support to tie into other platforms.

Cons:

Some of the UI elements can be difficult to navigate at times.

Skilljar Customer Education ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Skilljar Customer Education has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 35 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Skilljar Customer Education before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (35)

Mary
Mary
Systems Manager, Customer Operations in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

More than an LMS: Skilljar builds a partnership with their customers

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

By and far their customer success and support teams. Skilljar was with us from day 1 - from migrating from a very poor LMS experience, to creating the organization's first certification program - Skilljar has been there every step of the way. They listen and very quickly implement customer feedback and the company's low turnover rates attest to the caliber of the organization.

Cons:

Reporting features sometimes are swapped to focus on their connection with other data platforms. A few features are no longer available that were once very useful to have on-demand (without going through our BI team).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Skilljar LMS review

5.0 last year

Comments: It's a very good product, the customer service us greater. They are aware of their areas of opportunity but the roadmap is focused on customer needs.

Pros:

It's very user friendly, the learning curve is not as long as with other LMS. It offers a wide variety of capabilities for customer and employee training.

Cons:

No automated reports. Analytics are a bit basic, especially if you don't have integrations with other tools. Some processes are too manual, especially the course and user management. There are some limitations around email customization.

Othuke
Digital Marketer in US
Security & Investigations, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Candid Customer Support Appoach

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Skilljar Customer provides an impressive way of customer communication and proper responses are always shared.

Cons:

Skilljar Customer has exceeded the performance bar, and this makes the tool super dynamic.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Features meet expectations with quirks but Disappointed in Support

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: It’s been a mixed bag. Some aspects are useful and expected for any LMS while others have been thoroughly disappointing or confusing.

Pros:

Some of the most useful features have been the ability to setup a fairly detailed learning site and experience for users. It’s nice having the ability to run live events in the same environment as the LMS

Cons:

The support for Skilljar is very nice from a. Resources point of view but their support team has been lacking. It feels often like you’re getting slow replies (more than 24 hours to respond) and they’re more likely to point you towards a knowledge base article you’ve already read than provide a solution or ask clarifying questions. Oftentimes we find ourselves doing our own troubleshooting and investigations with little assistance or direction from their support team.Additionally we’ve experienced situations where the first instinct is to cast the blame on alternative source rather than considering or sharing what could be tested to eliminate the possibility of it being a 3rd party integration.

Skilljar Response

11 months ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you aren't happy with our support. We do our best to meet and exceed the expectations of our customers and we apologize if we fell short for you. Could you please reach out to me ASAP? I would like to ensure that we address the challenges you are having and get you the support you need. I will make sure that you have a speedy response. We care about our customers and want to make sure you are taken care of! Once again, our apologies for not getting you the support you needed. We will ensure we do better by you in the future. Thanks for being the best part of Skilljar.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Learning Management Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall the system is great and accomplishes what we need. It allows us to post training material for our clients and partners to use. Its easy to post items on the back end and to make changes and you can find support on any topics you need help with.

Pros:

The customer service and support is amazing and they also have a huge portal of learning videos and reading material to quickly learning things yourself.

Cons:

Giving someone access is daunting, it would be easier if you could allow a specific domain and anyone that signs up with that domain can have access or something that isn't so manual.

Jason
Director, Education in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Slick UX Check. Integration with my CRM, Check. Able to sell courses to the public,Triple check!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I can grow my business through continued exposure, subscription or a la carte course sales, and can therefore grow my education/training team by showing a return on the investment in the form of renewable revenue.

Pros:

I like how Skilljar is easy for learners to use. Because their focus is on training your customers learners, there is some killer functionality around exposing (and selling) education content to any and all users. The reporting dashboard is great and helps my customers understand how their people are progressing. The look and feel of the site is great and with editable CSS, very customizable. The most important thing is that there is an integration that sends data FROM Skilljar TO my CRM database, when for most other LMSs, it is the other way around. Because of this, I can use my education and the training site as a prospecting tool. I can even create promo codes for serious prospective customers if they want to see what some of our paid content looks like. I can then market to these learners, understand when a customer has dropped off in their engagement, or get notified when a new line-of-business is interested, to maybe be able to increase their renewal!

Cons:

There is some limitations with their learning validation methods that could be improved. Quiz question types are currently limited, and there is no native way that learners cannot upload content for evaluation you have to use a third party solution like Box or Google Drive.

Kelly
Data Analyst in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Intuitive and Flexible eLearning Platform

5.0 last year

Comments: The Skilljar team is extremely helpful. We've had some terrific CSMs who make out-of-the-box suggestions and check in regularly. The platform itself makes sense and allows us to make changes on the fly. We rarely find ourselves confused or frustrated by limitations. The platform provides numerous benefits to our organization and our customers.

Pros:

I really appreciate the ability to log in as our users and see what they see. The built-in analytics are tremendously useful as well. We use many of the metrics from Skilljar to make business decisions and track performance.

Cons:

There are certain features that are a bit tricky when you're first learning to use the tool, particularly when you have custom theming. However, the Skilljar team has been incredibly helpful, sending valuable documentation and making recommendations. We're using the software and making changes pretty seamlessly at this point.

Fernando
LMS Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Skilljar Review

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It's been a really good experience overall.

Pros:

it's customer service and onboarding process.

Cons:

Probably the lesson management, I would have liked.

Cindy
LMS admin in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Skilljar LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Better UI saves times for students and admins.

Pros:

Simple, clean interface. Can complete steps without a lot of clicks. Smooth implementation and integrations.

Cons:

Can't duplicate across domains, so somethings have to be done multiple times. (catalog pages, learning paths, etc.)

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Cindy, We appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective. Your feedback has been shared with our CS and Product Leaders. Thanks for choosing Skilljar!

Pat
Pat
Senior Director, Customer Success Enablement in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Skilljar is a great partner - responsive to our business requirements and very agile. Very happy.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Higher customer satisfaction, growing training revenue stream, and increased training consumption.

Pros:

Skilljar provides our customers with modern, mobile friendly user experience. It also aligns well with our go-to-market model (we sell an all-you-can-eat subscription to our self-paced micro-learning). Out of the box integrations help it fit nicely into our organizations tools (Okta/SSO, Salesforce, and Marketo). Their Rest API allows us to quickly build integrations into other systems (such as GainSight for CSM visibility into training consumption).

Cons:

We had some challenges with the Saleforce integration because we are not a SaaS solution so connecting "student" objects to "contacts" to "accounts" was not easy/smooth.

Blair
Senior Manager of Customer Education in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid backbone for our CustomerEd content

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: In general, this platform has helped us provide free, high-quality training at scale. The platform is strong and we have strong NPS from our users who engage with it. Customer support is lacking and could be improved.

Pros:

Overall, Skilljar offers strong customization capabilities and a variety of different settings and features to meet varied business needs. Generally, I've also had positive experiences with my CSM and other employees. Strong uptime, and openness for the engineering team to provide small updates/customizations!

Cons:

Getting help from the customer support team has been disappointing. I'm often asked to share information that could be discovered by the agent, or to take steps that I know won't (and don't) fix the problem. I've also found that some features (like Live Events) are shipped before they're fully ready to go, leading to glitches when using the feature and a support team unsure of how to fix the problem. I'e also had to wait for up to 4 weeks to get a reply from my CSM.

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Blair, Thank you for your feedback about your experience with Skilljar. We're continually working to offer our customers the best experience possible and take every bit of feedback to heart. I've escalated your message to our CS Support and CSM leadership and they will be contacting you to learn more about your experience. Thanks, Jeremy

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Professional Development Specialist in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

There's gotta be a better way

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I would like Skilljar to be easier to use on the administrative end. Really, it isn't that complicated to design sessions and websites, but Skilljar makes it a constant hassle. Between coding changing constantly or their entire system updating, I feel like I'm always having to check on the sites I built, even if I personally have no updates to make.

Pros:

Skilljar does make it possible for several different sessions to run at once. It is easy for the user to navigate and does present like a "typical" website.

Cons:

The design end of this product is difficult. The coding is constantly changing from what is inserted and it's nearly impossible to copy and paste anything without it changing. It also seems antiquated and not fresh and up-to-date.

Loren
Director of Education Services in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly responsive and supportive as we transition from scrappy startup to mature business.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Demand Gen and awareness of our platform as we were entering the market. There was a guided set of videos that showed how and why our platform would help our customers. As we became more mature, we were able to connect login ID's to our SaaS platform, use real eLearning formats like SCORM and track user education.

Pros:

Great customer support! Skilljar is easy to use, host and track for non-technical or non-education roles and companies. The format and guidance of the product pushes users to good learning architecture. Out of the box ability to charge for training, capture analytics and create courses. Great API support to tie into other platforms.

Cons:

Limited in comparison to typical LMS solutions. Customization to match our company look and style is challenging. Taking bulk actions or detailed customization, like URL link crafting is not available to the user. You need to involve customer support or a CSM. Limited customization of reporting and no push reports.

David
Customer Education Program Manager in US
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great LMS

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Skilljar is an easy to use, robust LMS that makes administering a learning portal or University a no-brainer. It works with multiple formats including SCORM, all kinds of video files, PDFs and others. It also offers a solution for registering and organizing all of your live training.

Cons:

Some of the UI elements can be difficult to navigate at times. Dashboard analytics could be more robust. Needs more customization for university appearance.

Lauren
Sr. CS Enablement Specialist in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helping to scale our training

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Skilljar has made it easy for us to take our training content (for internal and external students) and displays it in a way that scales our onboarding. Customers are able to self-pace through certifications and training without taking time away from our support teams. And internally, new employees are able to guide themselves through the learning journey. Skilljar has definitely improved our learner's experience.

Pros:

It was easy to design our content the way we want to. You can customize the design and flow of content to fit your needs.

Cons:

The Salesforce integration lacks fully what we need and an integration with Gainsight directly would be a huge improvement.

Sarath
Training Ops Manager in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome LMS for customer educaiton

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A great experience! Serves the purpose and helps us in customer education and tracking training data.

Pros:

Love the analytics and UI is very user friendly.

Cons:

No option to customize reports while exporting them is a little drawback.

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Sarath, Thank you for taking the time to submit another review! As always, your feedback has been shared with our CS and Product leaders. Thanks for being an amazing partner and advocate of Skilljar.

Daniel
Manager of Technical Training in US
Computer & Network Security, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect for employee and customer training.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

By using different domains, I can manage courses for my employees and customers.

Cons:

The look and feel is highly customizable but you must understand CSS to accomplish this task.

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Daniel, Thank you for your review! I've passed along your comments to both our CS and Product teams. We appreciate you! Best, Jeremy

Maggie
Product Marketing Manager in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent software for internal and external training!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Skilljar has been wonderful. Our implementation was great, and our ongoing support is wonderful. We get quarterly updates for our software, and our account manager meets with us monthly. Highly recommend!

Pros:

I love the course creation software in Skilljar. It's easy to create an interactive course with text, videos, links, etc. There are many features we haven't even tapped into yet! We also have great metrics from the software.

Cons:

More robust quiz questions would make the software even better!

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Maggie, Thank you for your review! I've passed along your comments to both our CS and Product teams. We appreciate you! Best, Jeremy

Priyanka
Lead Instructional Designer in India
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Perfect LMS for Customer and Partner Training

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Per-User Analytics and Learning experience.An option to download uploaded files from Skilljar.

Cons:

Advanced options such as templates (to directly import questions) can be introduced in areas of quiz question types.

Aviv
Global Training Lead in Israel
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Overall very positive experience both in terms of the UI and service.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: ability to quickly start working with it, uploading content quickly using several methods and formats not requiring scorm. Analytics are very detailed.

Pros:

- Ease of use, UI is very intuitive for both admin & user - Most important features needed from an LMS are there

Cons:

- The design/layout. Looks very old school, we got a lot of negative feedback on this from employees, and management wasn't going to let us use it as is for client training. Customizing the design to a more modern look would have been very costly and time consuming. - Certain things are not customizable such as look of emails sent through the platform.

Kelly
Customer Training & Enablement Instructor in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Top notch LMS for varied customer trainings

5.0 last year

Pros:

Skilljar provides us all of the options we need to build and customize an immersive learner experience. We are able to use a variety of lesson types, such as video, SCORM, quizzes, and text to keep learners engaged. It also offers many options to tailor our catalog page to fit our branding and theme.

Cons:

The customization options via code snippets can sometimes be difficult to organize. Also, the admin console can be confusing to navigate to find specific settings on one page versus another.

Jeff
IT Coordinator in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I have been nothing but impressed with Skilljar

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Skilljar is easy to use, feature rich, and very customizable. With very few exceptions everything we have needed from Skilljar, it has delivered. Everything Skilljar has promised to be it is. It is a robust LMS that can be personalized in countless ways, and is supported by a team of individuals who go ut of their way to make my Skilljar experience as worry-free as possible.

Cons:

There is not much to not like. I wish there were more ways to do bulk functions (e.g. bulk publication of courses, course modification, etc.).

Luca
Luca
Sr Curriculum Developer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A robust tool, that needs better support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was able to support the growth of our business, despite the several workarounds

Pros:

Easy to use, reliable, robust starting platform

Cons:

Lack of documentation Support is slow Customisations take a long time

Skilljar Response

2 years ago

Hi Luca, Thank you for your feedback about your experience with Skilljar. We're continually working to offer our customers the best experience possible and take every bit of feedback to heart. I've escalated your message to our CS leadership and they will be contacting you to learn more about your experience. Thanks, Jeremy

Thomas
Customer Support in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Skilljar is a solid product in the space! Very solid.

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Support, and customizability. Certification is also good.

Cons:

Testing question types. Certification is good, but question types could be better.

Brett
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

You have total control

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: I was sold on Skilljar after a short online chat with Sandi Lin as I was browsing www.skilljar.com to compare with other similar services. Everything Sandi promised, was delivered. The biggest selling point of Skilljar is having total control over the training courses. If you have ever used a service where you must abide by "their" rules, "their" requirements, and "their" approval of what "they" think is good for an online training course, then you will have complete relief by having total control of "your" online training program. That's the other thing, that what you make is yours, not "theirs". "They" don't own your e-mail list of students; you do. "They" don't control your course; you do. You drive your own course, start to finish. For that alone, Skilljar rocks. Oh yeah...on customer service, you'll find none faster or more responsive. Technically, we call that "very cool".