Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    3.6 /5

About Ellucian

Deliver the tech-savvy school experience today's students expect. Empower their future and yours.

Learn more about Ellucian

Showing 66 reviews

Timothy S.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-19

"Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes"

Comments: Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros: It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons: Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-19
Verified Reviewer
International Education Specialist
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-21

"Not a good integrated solution"

Comments: Negative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new ‘improvement’ that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.

Pros: Ideally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.

Cons: Despite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I’ve wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-21
Nadeem H.
Project Lead
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-05

"Banner Human Resources Module"

Comments: This product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.

Pros: Customer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.

Cons: My dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-05
Gil B.
Registrar
Higher Education Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-05

"Not a registrar’s best friend"

Comments: Ten years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian’s Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution’s software.

Pros: Ellucian’s Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.

Cons: I did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-05
Kenneth B.
Database Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-08

"The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students."

Comments: It is our school ERP.

Pros: The Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.

Cons: Ellucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-08
Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-29

"It does what it's supposed to"

Pros: Ellucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.

Cons: It breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-29
Verified Reviewer
3rd Grade Student Teacher
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-07

"Reliable and secure"

Pros: I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons: There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-07
Mayra R.
Corporate & Foundation Relations Coordinator
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-19

"Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done."

Comments: Ability to store a lot of information

Pros: I like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.

Cons: Sometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-07-19
Beth E.
Coordinator II
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-06

"Better that other similar products"

Pros: the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons: still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-06
Verified Reviewer
Admissions Assistant
Higher Education Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-09

"Ellucian in higher ed"

Comments: I love the product & love using it but wish there was more consistency in if it will work or not.

Pros: It is awesome to use for allowing students to track degree progress. It is simple for them to log on & see what is still needed.

Cons: There are a lot of bugs with this program. There is a high chance it is not working when you log on to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-09
Lauren S.
Accounting Assistant- Accounts Payable
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-11-07

"Not very user friendly and when told the system will do something, it actually will not."

Pros: It is hard to say because we have had issues with getting the system to do what we need it to, but I do like that it will create a positive pay file for manual checks.

Cons: It won't do some of the basic things for financials that I as an accounts payable person feel that the system should do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-11-07
Syrine J.
Analyst
Higher Education Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-09

"Great Higher Education Tool"

Pros: I liked the fact that it could house both student and faculty information at the same time. In addition, it allowed you to input information for instructors and move them around if necessary. We used the Banner by Ellucian software and it was useful for our needs

Cons: Nothing to note. It is good for meeting the needs of an institution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-09
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Development
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-24

"Ellucian builds products then takes away support"

Comments: Terrible. Would not recommend for free, let alone the price we pay.

Pros: We use Banner part of Ellucian. It is effective to get large amounts of information into the system. It is effective is being our online filing cabinet.

Cons: The program is very difficult to use, to navigate through. It is impossible to use on mobile, literally impossible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-24
Swetha S.
Integration Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-14

"sun gard delivered banner interface for student system"

Pros: it has a way to store the entire student data for higher education schools. There are several forms that have all the student information from registration to courses to personal information to highschool to grades to degrees.

Cons: It can get confusing to learn the forms. It takes time getting used to. Once we know the forms its not as bad

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-14
Nicholas P.
Financial Aid Counselor
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-26

"Ellucian"

Pros: I am a new user and I really enjoy that the product is very user friendly. If you have used any computer software in the past you should be able to adjust to using this.

Cons: The navigation shortcuts and codes were difficult to get accustomed to. Some lack of consistency.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-26
Verified Reviewer
Analyst II, Operations
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-13

"The Industry Standard but why?"

Comments: This product is very commonly used and it feels like they rely on this fact to put in minimal efforts towards innovation. If you have a different option, I would recommend investigating that.

Pros: This product is very commonly used in industry. The online support community around this product is very active and is very helpful when you encounter issues, bugs, odd behavior, etc. (which is often). It is based on a relational database so query writing is easy enough.

Cons: Software patches and updates from Ellucian are notorious for breaking various modules, connections between modules, etc. The UI is a very outdated model and tends to be very unfriendly for those who are not tech savvy. Customer service from Ellucian leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-06-13
Jennifer R.
Banner Business Systems Analyst
Higher Education Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-25

"It's hard to be vanilla"

Comments: We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pros: I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Cons: Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-25
Verified Reviewer
Career Counselor
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-25

"Decent, but like use improvement."

Comments: I think it could be a great software for higher education/universities. However, there are flaws and it’s not the most user friendly.

Pros: Ellucian has a lot of different capabilities and options for multiple departments to use. I like that all offices across campus can see the same information for students once it is updated by another user. It’s a one stop shop for those who work at the university, instead of each department using their own software system.

Cons: Very complicated codes to search for pages, it takes a long time to memorize them and the training for ellucian wasn’t the greatest. We struggled to get questions answered in a timely manner or correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-25
Cyrus C.
Application Developer/Analyst
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-14

"Higher Ed and Ellucian"

Comments: As for an ERP it works they continually develop products that do well but then should have been tested or better yet more thought should have been thought through before deploying to customers.

Pros: offers multiple products gives great support

Cons: Cost: is more costly than some of its competitors
Deployment of newer products to end users could be smoother

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-02-14
Verified Reviewer
Technology Support
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-10

"Ellucians"

Comments: The ability to update our Customer Relationship Management system with exported data-sets.

Pros: Since this uses Oracle and SQL, I like having the ability to write reports for assistance in extracting data from the data tables we use.

Cons: The software has many different modules and the last version of software released helped out with a more intuitive interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-09-10
Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12

"Consolidates all of my educational needs in one place"

Pros: Ellucian has made it easy to consolidate all of our educational needs and resources, from billing to grades, in one easy to navigate space. Students are able to find what they need with ease.

Cons: It is beginning to look a little dated in comparison to other sites in general, but as a tool for higher ed it is still fully functional and acceptable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12
Verified Reviewer
Accountant and Travel Administrator
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-18

"University Integration"

Comments: The integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.

Pros: Ellucian continues to find new ways to assist the universities with the many needs of the ever increasing technology needs.

Cons: Not always do you get the best "training" support, but they will always find a solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-18
Caroline S.
Reigstration Specialist II
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-29

"Ellucian review"

Pros: It’s fairly easy to use but you do need some training on learning all the acronyms they use.

Cons: Every time they do an update to the product it seems to disrupt the flow of our production because every one is so thrown off the changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-29
Jeneshia H.
Service Desk Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-24

"Colleague by Ellucian (Student)"

Pros: As a Colleague Support and User, the number one thing I loke about this particular software was the ease of use. It flowed easy for both users and students.

Cons: As an Admin using this software, I found that the update process was very complex and time-consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-24
Trisha M.
FA Advisor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-06-07

"Great software!!! Easy to use and always updating?"

Pros: Lots of stuff! Love the new self service!! The innovation of Ellucian is amazing!!! They are helpful !!

Cons: Sometimes the cost are high for new products and innovations, but I understand they allot of work is done on their behalf.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-06-07