15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Datadog

Datadog is a service that helps increase uptime and maximize the performance of services through centralized monitoring and alerting.

Learn more about Datadog

Pros:

It's expensive but the pricing is easy to understand and keep track of.

Cons:

Filtered tags is very Slow. The integration with another tools is difficult.

Datadog ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Datadog has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 241 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Datadog before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (241)

Dnyanoba
Dnyanoba
Deputy Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog for log analysis of cloud

5.0 last year

Comments: Till now we have one of the good experience with the data dog as it is helping us a lot in monitoring our cloud and database server. A support from datadog team is also good thing to consider.

Pros:

The best feature of data dog is real time monitoring of logs and vulnerability scan which stands unique to save the server and cloud from further damaging

Cons:

The datadog user interface is very hard to learn and with the minimum training anyone cannot operate it fully also a lot of integrations are very difficult to operate.

Alternatives Considered: Panther

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Price of datadog is very less when compared to other competitors and data dog has lot of feature which stands a top among its competitors datadog can work very smoothly in large data as well.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using Datadog to guarantee bug-free software

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: It's an intuitive program that provides users with comprehensive records of all recent actions. Displays success or failure of the process. If the attempt fails, identify the faulty stage. It explains everything from beginning to conclusion.

Pros:

All of Datadog's basic building blocks are top-notch. Their data ingestion is lightning fast and (usually) dependable, their graph widget is adaptable and usable in a wide variety of contexts, and they have a good track record of introducing products that combine these features.

Cons:

Our experiences with Datadog support have been continuously negative; the company goes out of its way to avoid direct communication and offers irrelevant answers.

Pankaj
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Monitoring and Observability Tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Best and good experience with datadog tool.

Pros:

Experience with Datadog is Best. Using this Tool since 1 year. I worked on many monitoring tool but this is the one best for cloud and infrastructure monitoring. Datadog provides many third party tools integration, we did many integration and monitored many services. we can setup the alerts on our services for let us know before any unusual activity happens. and main thing is we can redirect that alerts to our notification channel and our teams to work on that. We can integrated our frontend and backend applications and we can collect logs also for our application and we can more debug it. They have built in dashboard feature we can manually create dashboards according to our use case. we can also create synthetic scripts and synthetic monitors such as ping for testing our website is available or not or its properly working or not. we can query our data and fetch it accordingly. Talking about AWS and azure services integration, Its totally easy our teams hasn't fetch any issue, its easy as it is. overall experience is good while using this tool best for keep our application and services up to date and running. They have active customer service.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike about Datadog, pricing is quite high but this tool has providing you lot more integration and active customer support so you can raise your query and You will get feedback fast.

Craig
Owner in Australia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Couldn't install

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros:

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons:

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Alternatives Considered: Site24x7 and Raygun

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Price

Switched From: Retrace by Netreo

Benson
IT Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Valuable Data Safety App

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Datadog has improved the data security procedures, and it gives companies the right operational support.

Pros:

The security measure from the program has been well implemented, and it resolves all the data needs.

Cons:

The most efficient data resolving needs are well captured by Datadog.

Srinivas
Srinivas
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Application Performance Monitoring tool!

5.0 last year

Comments: Datadog helped us solve a critical reliability and traceability problem we had with one of our customers. There was not clear visibility into the root cause of an issue when it happens and that caused finger pointing between teams. While there were other monitoring tools being used, they lacked the capabilities that Datadog has which provided much greater visibility and helped us improve the reliability of our system landscape. Onboarding was a breeze and customer service top notch!

Pros:

Service Map, Session Replay, Custom metrics and monitors

Cons:

We had a sticker shock after onboarding, as the was the hosts were counted for certain infrastructure was not clear from the documentation.

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace and SignalFx

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Ease of integration, comprehensive documentation, good community engagement, good customer service, clarity in pricing

Yaniv
Yaniv
Director, QA & Processes in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good service for logs management and analysis

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used it for querying and analyzing logs in case of problems in our platform (bugs, stability, performance, etc.)

Pros:

The searching and filtering capabilities where quite convenient

Cons:

The stability issues in the last year got more often than usual, which is quite problematic when you need access to you logs in real-time

Aiovino
ICT Manager in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Determined Solution for Data Enhancement

5.0 last month New

Comments: The analytical options from Datadog gives a reliable performance and analytical option.

Pros:

The platform helps in managing data, and this increases on performance.

Cons:

There is no discouragement from the platform.

Lucia
HR Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Solution For IT Management

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

It has amazing network monitoring and IT management features Setup and understanding it is easy.

Cons:

All smooth with Datadog. No serious concerns

Umair
Project Manager in Italy
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

IT Management and Monitoring

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, DataDog is a great tool for IT management and monitoring. It is easy to implement and manage. It has different subscription plans including free trial, pro, and enterprise subscription plans at very reasonable prices per month.

Pros:

A free trial is available along with other subscription options. Opportunity to create multiple user accounts. 400+ integration and unlimited alerts. Custom Matrics.

Cons:

High licensing pricing as compared to other IT management options. Limited data storage for a limited time

Krista
QA Lead in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Synthetic Testing Rocks!

5.0 last year

Pros:

As a non-technical QA person, I needed a tool to help automate tests without a lot of the technical aspects. Datadog allows me to build and schedule tests by clicking through the online version of our tool, making it incredibly simple. It also records what's wrong and allows me to edit the paths at any time if we ever make changes.

Cons:

I wish I was able to use this same functionality for our mobile app or even for processes like account creation. Since we push our sign up through a payment portal we're unable to use Datadog in the same was there.

Aviram
Developer - devops in Israel
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Monitoring our micro services app with datadog

4.0 last year

Comments: Use it every day, easy to implement

Pros:

All in one shop. APM, DB monitoring , synthetic transaction and log analysis

Cons:

APM does not work well on nodejs asyc services. Might be hard to track transactions.

Alternatives Considered: New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: we used new relic in the past 10 years in a former company. We wanted to try someting new and a lower cost

Khatibur
Platform Engineer in India
Restaurants, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Real time Platform Monitoring Tools

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: DataDog is the best observability monitoring tool to detect any type of error in the system. The user interface is very simple and customer support and account help our teams in providing training and guidance in case of any issue. It can easily integrate with all third-party tools like Jira, slack, opsgenie

Pros:

The most like features of datadog are it provides real-time monitoring of any happens In the system and it is easily customizable. With the help of logs, we can easily create the monitor and dashboards. It can easily use all other third-party tools and can create alerts. It also provides anomaly which works on past data and it is sensitive and useful. Datadog is also AI capable, There is a feature called Datadog Insight which can easily detect any error in the system.

Cons:

Datadog is a fairly new application, Learning advanced features we are not able to find much documentation and learning on the internet. It also stores limited historical data and licensing is fairly high compared to similar monitoring platforms.

Alternatives Considered: Amazon CloudWatch

Switched From: Splunk Enterprise

Henry
SRE in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

New Aged way of Monitoring

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been great overall as our account managers will always do their best to try to meet our requirements and needs. They have done a good job at planning out all meetings with senior engineers when required.

Pros:

I truly enjoy the integrations that datadog provides. It allows us to view more metrics that are more of a deep dive into specific applications. These metrics help us understand what is widely monitored in the industry that we did not think about monitoring ourself. Another key item is that datadog comes out of the box systematic checks that we normally had to add in manually for a newly onboarded host.

Cons:

The item I dislike least is that when you decommission a host the application requires up to 24 hours for that host to officially disappear from the list rather than being removed immediately.

Shagun
Cloud Engineer in India
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

"Data-driven insights for smarter decision-making."

4.0 last year

Comments: I've been using DataDog for a few months now and I'm really happy with it. It's a great monitoring and analytics platform for applications and infrastructure. It's easy to set up and configure, it's reliable, and it provides a lot of useful information to help me troubleshoot and monitor my applications. The dashboards and graphs are easy to understand and are great for getting an overview of how things are performing. The alerting and notifications are very useful, and I'm able to quickly identify and address any issues. Overall, I'm very satisfied with DataDog and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable and comprehensive monitoring and analytics platform.

Pros:

Datadog provides real-time insights into the performance of applications, servers, and services. It helps you quickly identify and troubleshoot issues before they become critical.Datadog is easy to set up and use. It requires minimal configuration and supports various cloud services and integrations, It provides a comprehensive monitoring system for both on-premises and cloud-based applications.

Cons:

Limited Customization Options: While Datadog provides a lot of pre-built dashboards and visualizations, it does not support extensive customizations.Datadog is a high-end monitoring platform, and its pricing reflects that. It can be expensive for small businesses, especially those who don’t have a large budget for monitoring software.

Isaac
Principal SRE Architect in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best in class APM that can meet all APM, Monitoring, and Logging needs

5.0 last year

Comments: I love it - i use it for work, I use it for home. I find it amazing for finding problems and monitoring systems.

Pros:

I can handle ALL things in Datadog. I have an answer for CI / Pipelines, arbitrary metrics, trace data, logging and more.

Cons:

There are a lot of specific costs. Compare, if you will, with NewRelic (all features are free) or Dynatrace (cost on retention and davis units). If you enable "all the things", it can be costly.

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace, Sumo Logic and New Relic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Better and more reliable.

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Better value, more performant

billl
dir of platform engineering in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

datadog stuff

5.0 last year

Comments: i have a great account team that really partner with me. the service is very useful and reliable

Pros:

the ease of implimentation and the ability to capture meaningfully info easilyquickly

Cons:

it's super expensive....almost cost prohibitive

Michael
Engineering Lead in US
Computer Games, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datadog is best in class

5.0 last year

Comments: Love it, could not imagine better.

Pros:

Easy to use and gives us the data we need to understand what is happening in our applications.

Cons:

It has taken us a while to implement. Ebs support is not as intuitive as others.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise and Observe

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great service for monitoring

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage. It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons:

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Mohammad Rabiul
Freelancer in Bangladesh
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Datadog Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Making the decision to utilize Datadog really facilitated my job. One of the finest tools that I can use to keep an eye on the performance and health of my projects is the study of the logs. This gadget works nicely and is quite practical. Real-time logging is effective. Definitely essential.

Pros:

From my opinion, with the most excellent features that Datadog has as user can track and take after logs in real time, something truly imperative to have within the case of extend is live. I usually like the idea of creating custom sees of sets of logs (with custom channels, information parsing and a parcel more) which user will share them together with the user group.

Cons:

Setting it up for the first time, seems like is a little challenging which is not at all simple to use or understand all the capabilities that Datadog provides at first. Interface is challenging and occasionally a roadblock. Then, filters are not very helpful if user fields are not properly mapped.

Diego
Diego
VP Engineering in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great server monitoring

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros:

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons:

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Damian
Damian
Chief Executive Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

DataDog is one of our must-haves

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons:

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Alternatives Considered: Sensu

Joseph
Systems & Network Admin in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Logs for the programmers and sysadmin

5.0 last year

Pros:

Able to ingest system logs, app logs, and other logs along with process stats and system metrics to get a wholistic picture of how your servers and applications are running for your business.

Cons:

Setup does take a while and there is several configuration files to adjust, but once this is done you will not need to touch them again for the lifecycle of the install.

Alternatives Considered: Graylog

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great first step for data tracking and incedent monitoring.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I use this tool on a daily basis for handling errors both in our live environment and for testing. It allows me to see where an error may be coming from and follow it through to its source. I could not do my job effectively without datadog

Cons:

The filtering of data is not as comprehensive as I would like. I sometimes need to search through the results to find what I need. Displaying a record in the chronological order is not always perfect and I sometimes don't get the context I want.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

DataDog Review

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: I think Datadog is the best observability and monitoring platform out there, I think the only con and thing you have to watch out for is its crazy expensive

Pros:

The breath of features you can have under Datadog is truly impressive, everything from Application, Website, Synthetic monitoring is covered under Datadog, so you have all your observability needs on one platform

Cons:

Pricing, it can get really expensive monitoring on Datadog.

Alternatives Considered: Grafana, Splunk Enterprise and New Relic