15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About ActiveTrail

World's easiest email marketing & marketing automation platform

Learn more about ActiveTrail

Pros:

Simply copy and paste the content and the program takes care of the rest, has many options for managing subscribers and is super easy to learn to use.

Cons:

If you needed to integrate other services and software, I would suggest you find out what is possible, because this software is not well known.

ActiveTrail ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

ActiveTrail has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 26 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ActiveTrail before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (26)

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Popular and Powerful Marketing Automation Platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: ActiveTrail is a solid choice for businesses looking to improve their customer engagement and marketing efforts. Its comprehensive marketing automation capabilities and advanced analytics and reporting features make it a powerful tool for managing and analyzing marketing campaigns, although it may require a significant amount of setup and customization to fully utilize all of its capabilities.

Pros:

ActiveTrail has comprehensive marketing automation capabilities. We were able to easily create, manage, and analyze their marketing campaigns across multiple channels, including email, SMS, and social media. This can help businesses save time and resources by automating repetitive tasks and targeting their marketing efforts more effectively. Another pro is the platform's advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which allowed us to track the performance of their marketing campaigns and make data-driven decisions. ActiveTrail also offers a range of integrations with popular CRM and e-commerce platforms, such as Salesforce and Shopify, which was very helpful for our company to manage our customer relationships and sales processes.

Cons:

ActiveTrail is that it may require a significant amount of setup and customization in order to fully integrate it with a business's existing systems and processes. If they can provide more tutorials or guidelines, this will not be an issue.

Or
CEO in Israel
Alternative Medicine, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great email marketing!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Amazing job, good UI, love the simplicity

Cons:

The q/a and the help section need improvement

Helder
CEO in Portugal
Business Supplies & Equipment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Really Bad Service..or no service at all!

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: The service is really bad. Contact is frustrating!
I wasted time and money. At the moment I still have an active account but I will certainly change.

Pros:

Price is the only Pro. Integration with our site eas easy.

Cons:

The service is really bad! Contact is impossible.

Joiada
Content Writer in Philippines
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, feature-packed email marketing program

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I've been scouting around for a reliable email service so I decided to try ActiveTrail's free trial. Among the things I like about this program is that pricing is not based on how many emails you send. Regardless of the package you choose, you can send unlimited emails. The service's limit depends on the number of contacts instead. As a small online business owner, I have less than 500 addresses to send emails to right now, so the cheapest package is already enough to cover my needs. The dashboard is easy to navigate and understand in general, and I doubt anyone will ever find it difficult to use. It didn't take long before I get accustomed to using it. When it comes to creating emails itself, there are five types of emails to choose from, all of which have brief and basic explanations so you can choose which one fits your particular goal for sending the email. I particularly like the 'A/B Split Email' feature, which allows you to create two versions for your email and see which would look or work best, but even the 'Regular Email' is also easy to set up and I believe it can readily fulfill any email purpose. There are a number of templates available for different business categories, too, so getting started is quite easy. But for those with background in HTML coding, I guess the HTML Editor can help in making the most of this service as you can customize your emails better. But for now I'm personally sticking with using the templates.

ActiveTrail also gives the option to import contacts from an excel file or from SalesForce, but you can also create contacts within the program or dashboard itself. Doing both importing and creating contacts are easy to do, as everything is laid out in a step-by-step pattern (like do this first, then click next).
And oh, I also like the idea that the emails can be viewed in all types of devices, not just through desktop sites. I am yet to explore the other features such as Automations, Landing Pages, and SMS, though, but with a quick look I can say that setting up a landing page and SMS message is pretty much as easy as setting up an actual email. Automations, however, is a feature that I still need to learn more about. I wish the options and actions under this feature also have brief explanations as to what they are supposed to do (like in the five types of email I mentioned earlier). Overall I like the clean and straightforward feel of ActiveTrail and I am likely to subscribe after the free 30-day trial.

Pros:

Easy to use and get accustomed to; there are different types of emails to choose from; wide variety of available templates, customization option through the HTML editor; added benefit of SMS and landing page creation; emails can be viewed on different platforms (desktop/mobile)

Cons:

Automation feature is a bit tricky for someone who is new to using an email marketing program/service. Could be better if the options and functions under have an easy to understand description or explanation.

Paul
Owner in Israel
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Brilliant! The Best Value for Money in Email Automation

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We own an art gallery in Canada and initiated online sales a year ago. Not long after we setup our first email campaign on ActiveTrail to offer customers registered to our loyalty program a 15% discount on online purchases. I quickly became enamored with the software. First, the campaign editor's user interface is easy to maneuvre and highly intuitive, subtly guiding you through the steps for creating a campaign. Beyond that, the system is feature rich, offering:
- an extraordinary selection of templates and designs
- storing uploaded pictures for reuse with other campaigns
- a SPAM score that tells you how likely it is that your mail will be marked as SPAM
- an integrated connection to Bigstock Photo
- Everything is responsive, letting you fit your emails to mobile screens.

As part of this first campaign, we also created a landing page using ActiveTrail's Landing Page tool to collect additional member information. Also here, the options were endless but easy to access and use. We selected a template matching the email, added a YouTube video, put in SEO keywords, and had an email sent to our marketing manager upon submission. Moreover, the system stored a list of all customers who clicked through on our page.
Then came 'Automation'. ActiveTrail recently introduced 'triggers' and 'segmentation', that allow you to have something done, e.g. send a follow up mail, for specific groups of people, in response to a user action. Here's how we made use of this feature (with tremendous success): The vast majority of our clients, nearly 90%, are women between 25 and 60 who buy art for the companies they work for. Our few male patrons, are impulse buyers, usually purchasing original art soon after registering. We setup a variety of scenarios in ActiveTrail for this next campaign such as:
- 'Corporate women' who register online, receive a welcome mail with upcoming events and images of a few works of art based on their designated preferences. If they click on an event, they are sent an invitation to the event. If they click on a picture an email is sent to a sales person to follow up.
- When men register, private or corporate, an email is triggered to our art director so she can make personal contact.
All of this is setup once, and then handled by ActiveTrail automatically.
Summing it up, we couldn't be more satisfied with ActiveTrail and you will be doing yourself a disservice if you don't check it out.

Wela
Philippines
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing All-In-One Solution!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: ActiveTrail is amazing! I've never been this excited in using an email marketing software! And it's not just for email marketing because it also provides other solutions. With ActiveTrail, you don't need to have various platforms for your different communication demands. It offers a platform where you can already create landing pages or squeeze pages to generate leads. Truly, it is a premium automated communications platform that gives you an all-in-one solution to amplify your business' marketing potential. Plus, it's so easy to use and there are no hassles in signing up on the lead pages platform and linking it to your mass email platform. It also provides an array of templates to choose for subscription pages or sign-up forms. The landing page templates also have a page editor, which means it is completely customizable! And one of the best things about it is the SMS sending software where you can send a bulk text blast to your leads. It also features an autoresponder that lets you schedule ahead the emails you send to your customers. You can also customize it to immediately respond to the actions of your clients, such as greeting them on their birthdays. This gives your business connection with your clients. I believe ActiveTrail is the first to offer this. ActiveTrail also provides surveys to interact with your leads or followers so you can generate sales. Another feature is its goals for conversion, which allows you to obtain leads from your page visitors so you can convert them. ActiveTrail offers a LOT! It really is a scalable software solution'a one-stop shop, I must say. ActiveTrail brings you a vast range of features for almost everyone involved in marketing. And if we do run into problems, they have a live chat where we can talk to their support. So far, I haven't run into any problems. Whatever you're looking for, ActiveTrail can give you what you want. It can be quite frustrating at times to deal with how it loads slowly, but I understand that its extensiveness and being an all-inclusive solution software, it can happenIntensifying your marketing efforts and building up your online presence has never been this simple and awesome!

Pros:

It is truly a scalable software solution which makes it really convenient for the person. I believe that it can definitely boost your business marketing potential!

Cons:

Its loading time can be quite slow.

Noa
Director of Marketing in Israel
Sports, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Activetrail has its problems but when you get used to them, it works.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We manage a large volume of groups, users, weekly newsletters with relative ease.

Pros:

Easy intuitive use for people with basic graphic skill. We get great prices for sending out lots of newsletters, weekly, so, it is better for active users with lots of clients. Great customer support, and they know their problems...

Cons:

We have 2 separate activities, B2B and B2C with different look, AND multilingual. No luck in establishing 2 accounts or 2 separate bodies to work with from the same account. It gives us hard time trying to keep our graphics intact. Storage of the ready blocks of graphics is not too clever. We would love to have multiple files (Per activity/language) but it can't be done.

Jerry
Digital Marketer in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Superb Tool

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Try the free version before going to the payment plans, they have almost all the functions of the premium versions and can serve the majority of small companies.

Pros:

The massive sending of emails is very simple, with prefabricated templates and the ability to save the templates that one creates. Simply copy and paste the content and the program takes care of the rest, has many options for managing subscribers and is super easy to learn to use.

Cons:

None so far. Sometimes it can be difficult to find what I'm looking for when I'm navigating their site.

Jenna
Product Manager in Philippines
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Email Marketing Automation Software

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It is very user-friendly, especially for first timers. But don't be fooled by their simplicity as ActiveTrail knows how to pack the right punches in the right areas. They have enough templates to make your campaigns as diverse as it can be. It also helps that they have a blog that they consistently update for great tips and guide so their users (and everyone in general) can be updated.

Cons:

As mentioned, they have ready templates but some people might look and ask for more. It would be great if the selection would grow consistently as different types of need arise.

Claire
Claire
SEO Writing & Beginner's Online Marketing Coaching in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Affordable, and on a par with GetResponse.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: 1. Affordable
2. Easy to use

Pros:

It is very easy to use, and landing pages can be tweaked fast. It is one of the most affordable email marketing software available, and the way it works makes sense. You don't have to study it to know how to use it. Unless of course, you're a total newbie to email marketing software.

Cons:

There are not a lot of landing page templates to choose from. If you needed to integrate other services and software, I would suggest you find out what is possible, because this software is not well known.

Jacky
Manager in Israel
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customer for a couple of years, using automations and sms

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Emails to my recipients, more sales through my emails and sms

Pros:

Email automation funnels, easy of usage, autoresponder builder, sms campaigns, fantastic support by chat and phone

Cons:

Their landing page builder is limited, I would be happy to have more ready templates, and also, I want more triggers.

Guy
Guy
SEO Specialist & Content Expert in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
5.0 8 years ago
PROVIDENT
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

WOST COMPANY TO EVER GRACE THE PLANET. BRINGS SHAME TO ISRALIAN BUSINESSS

1.0 8 years ago

Comments: THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, EMAILS DONT SEND CORRECTLY, NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONES, NO ONE REPLIES EMAILS, NO ONE RESPONDS TO CHAT. THEY CHARGE YOU FOR ACCOUNTS THAT DONT EXIST. ABSOLOUTE SCAM ARTISTS.

Pros:

NOTHING

Tal
Marketing in Israel
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great platform!

5.0 9 years ago

Comments: The best customer service ever. Really easy and user-friendly platform.

Ayellet
Digital Project Manager
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
4.0 6 years ago
Leonard
Direction in France
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tres bon outil

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Un outil découvert par hasard et qui est devenu central dans notre communication

Pros:

La facilité de prise en main et la réactivité du support

Cons:

La fonctionnalité de gestion des suppressions de masse. L’éditeur de texte qui a changé récemment

Zeina
Directrice in France
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Un big "UP" à ActiveTrail

5.0 last year

Comments: ActiveTrail est utilisé presque tous les jours à l'URPS Pharmaciens IdF; Et dès qu'on a un souci ou une difficulté, [caché sensible contenu] via le "chat" ou par mail nous trouve la solution rapidement.

Pros:

Les fonctionnalités sont très simple à utiliser. Le support "[caché sensible contenu] " est toujours disponible et très efficace.

Cons:

Le fait qu'on ne peut pas mettre en pièce jointe un fichier Excel .

ISABELLE
Coordinatrice de parcours in France
Hospital & Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Au top !!!

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Très bonne expérience, outils très pratique qui permet de bien suivre les envois et d'adapter ses campagnes.

Pros:

Une assistance très réactive et toujours sympathique. Un service sérieux et professionnel.

Cons:

Pas toujours très facile pour un débutant mais cependant largement compensé par des supports d'aide simple et une assistance technique au top et très formatrice.

nathalie
responsable administrative et commercial in France
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

avis client

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Expérience satisfaisante avec des retours positifs sur la prospection

Pros:

Gain de temps et optimisation de la prospection

Cons:

pas d'historique de toutes les campagnes

ActiveTrail Response

3 weeks ago

Bonjour Nathalie, Merci pour votre commentaire precieux. Concernant l'historique des campagnes, s'il y a un historique de campagnes de 3 ans, il faut juste cliquer sur le bouton "filtre" pour gérer l'historique d'affichage. N'hésitez pas à contacter notre support si vous avez des questions :)

Jérôme
Jérôme
Gestion clientèle in Benin
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Outil parfait de Marketing par email

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: ActiveTrail est un bon logiciel de marketing simple et facile permettant de créer et d'envoyer des campagnes d'emailing avec des fonctionnalités plus précieuses.

Pros:

J'apprécie beaucoup sa facilité d'utilisation avec un interface intuitive. Il offre une assistante par chat et par mail.

Cons:

ActiveTrail n'est pas disponible en version gratuite et certains fonctionnalités nécessite d'être améliorer

André
DG in Luxembourg
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Utilisé depuis des années, donc satisfait!

4.0 last year

Comments: Mailing plusieurs fois par mois

Pros:

Service supportFacilité d'utilisation pour les mailings importantSuivi de la remise

Cons:

quelques points a améliorer.... sauvegarde d'un docuement en cours de changement resp. revenir à l'ancienne version

ActiveTrail Response

last year

Bonjour André, Merci pour avis. Concernant la sauvegarde du document, la fonctionnalité va etre mise en place le mois prochain. Excellente journée!

Rémi
Fondateur in France
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Un bon support au quotidien

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

15mns pour réaliser une campagne 15 mns pour communiquer avec nos clients et prospects Et si ca bloque : un coup de fil et on traite immédiatement le pb

Cons:

peut être le fait de suggérer de temps en temps une approche nouvelle à partir de ce que nous faisons au quotidien Programmer des dates de relances de campagne

Maurice
Comptable in Benin
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Active Trail in meilleur logiciel pour l'email de marketing

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Active Trail in logiciel de prise et d'utilisation facile , très spécialisé dans pour l'email de marketing .

Cons:

Pas assez d'inconvénients au cours de l'utilisation de logiciel , ce que les entreprises doivent utiliser pour les redressement en email de marketing

Céline
Gérante in Egypt
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Facile, confortable, qualité et accompagnement

5.0 last year

Pros:

Les outils mis à disposition sont simples, pensés et clairs, gain de temps, accompagnement personnalisé, réactif et efficace.

Cons:

Aucun inconvénient pour le moment, l’équipe du support est disponible et résout rapidement les problèmes pouvant survenir.

Sophie
Commerciale in France
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Très Satisfaite!

5.0 last year

Pros:

Très Facile d' Utilisation, un support technique très réactif et impliqué le tout pour un coût peu élevé.

Cons:

Aucun inconvénients à signaler, j'en suis très satisfaite.