15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Litmos

Litmos develops corporate learning technology and learning content. We have the leading LMS and a content library that fuels it.

Learn more about Litmos

Pros:

It is easy to assign trainings and easy to upload your own content.

Cons:

Many months later I contacted someone by email who setup an alternative billing portal. When we wanted to cancel, we asked the rep and he said to send an email to them requesting cancellation.

Litmos ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Litmos has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 277 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Litmos before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (277)

Alejandra
Alejandra
Director, Brand Communications & Development Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Litmos assists us in onboarding new employees

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We currently use Litmos throughout our organization. We use it primarily during the hiring process for new employees. Litmos makes it easy for us to conduct our product training program as well as department-specific training. We also use the program to send out new training manuals on software updates or company policies. Litmos reports allow us to ensure individual and group training compliance and identify areas for improvement. The utility has made it easier for us to train and onboard our employees, so they will be more prepared to contribute more quickly than used to be possible. One of the most important advantages of Litmos is that its component departments can share and store information in one place. This has made it possible for districts to work more cooperatively and no longer divide themselves into departments.

Pros:

We are pleased that Litmos is virtual, which allows our employees to access the software from anywhere there is an Internet connection. It also has a low-budget mobile application. The design of the system can be tailored to integrate with the company's software, giving it the appearance of being more part of the organization than just machinery. The user feel is wonderful. The tiles look great and the system is simple to use.

Cons:

I would like custom reports to be sharable with other users of the system, rather than having to export them and then share them. The procedure for building the course could be more efficient. It is simple to package the contents into class and course packets. The question is where do you write effectively in the various memory blocks. There is no built-in spell checker. The window for making copy is small. We started developing our material in Litmos, but then incorporated it into the course.

santosh
Software Engineer in US
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Corporate Training Tool - SAP Litmos

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: - The overall experience with SAP Litmos is very excellent and satisfactory. The tool is very helpful for enterprise clients to implement for the employees on-boarding and get on track as soon as possible.

Pros:

- The most important feature of the software which is very helpful for the administrators to upload new learning content for the new employees to be successful and get knowledge on company policies on network, security, behavioral, etc. - The most important feature of the application is to conduct exams and score employees on the tests conducted and evaluate the next steps for the employee. The manager can then look into the next possible certifications the employee should be targeting and get certified in the area.

Cons:

- The tool can be more intuitive and make it more comfortable for all the new employees who are new to the tool as well. - The product team can include more features on the tool like taking surveys, making content more strictly accessible for several teams based on the hierarchy model in the company. - The tool is a little expensive than the one's available in the market

Jayanth
Project Manager in US
Insurance Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Litmos is an effective Learning Management System to adopt for training employees

4.0 last month New

Comments: Litmos helped us train our employees with offices over many cities via the simple online Learning Management System

Pros:

Litmos was price-effective, easy to deploy. Litmos provided Reports on adoption, Test Scores & track everything in one please

Cons:

Litmos was less user friendly & can offer better customer support

Jessica
Customer Experience Manager in UK
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Litmos

2.0 last month New

Comments: Not great/Not bad! I wouldnt pay the money they want for it for what we were using it for.

Pros:

We used litmos for a long time with our company to provide external training to our members and although it had a lot of faults, it did the job we needed it to do.

Cons:

The content is not easily adaptable and was difficult to keep up to date with the changes our business was going through.

Alexis
Accounting Assistant in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Litmos for Learning

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Litmos is an easy to use tool that lets every employee within the organization explore various training opportunities. It is easy to track our progress, add new courses and locate our completed training sessions.

Pros:

What I like about Litmos is how it stores all of my training and development opportunities in one easy to use website.

Cons:

The look of the dashboard is not my favorite, but this might be the doing of the company we partner with that actually provides the training through Litmos. Other than that, no complaints.

Lee
Learning and Development Manager in UK
Dairy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Honest Review

3.0 last year

Comments: The reason I can only score this around the 50% mark is, at the start, the experience with my account manager was fantastic, the LMS was explained really well and was always available for questions.It went downhill from here, where the implementation manager was helpful, as they did help a lot with the HTML Coding and other areas, when they shouldn't have (which was most likely to me being persistent, the "I've bought this LMS, help me set it up!" approach).My general feeling of excitement slowly turned into disappointment as I learned that SAP will help get the basics in place, and from my prospective, It felt like they shouldn't really be doing it and it was a big ask.Forever asked to watch the learning courses again or go to this link and learn how to do it.I just wanted the LMS to be finished, with everything working, a finished product.I did question this towards the end of my support, which was then explained to me that SAP Litmos don't setup the LMS, they provide the LMS, and provide you with the direction on where to learn.I was provided a link on coding & offered details of an external company (which would come at a cost), to help implement and setup the rest of the LMS that I had been asking since the start. LMS runs great, the learner interface is easy to use but the implementation process (not the people), is really bad. My feedback would be, use your time to help customers setup the LMS so we have a finished polished product.

Pros:

The LMS has many features that I'm really happy with and somewhat easy to use, like setting up teams, content creator is great and met all my expectations. Manual bulk uploading new starts and leavers isn't difficult, looking forward to linking this to the HR system.The main feature for me was the number of courses available for everyone, via PC, Tablet or Phone.

Cons:

You are buying a shell of an LMS, in its basic form but SAP Litmos don't get it ready for you. The support given heavily rely on you watching the LMS learning courses that either don't always make sense or you find that you need software to make the changes you want.The SAP Litmos approach is, they are here to help provide you with the information on "How to do it", but the work is done by you. The "DoJo learning" is helpful and can sometimes save you from contacting support, but it isn't always clear and results in functions being left in limbo (like Gamification, LMS theme etc)

Kenleigh
Corporate Trainer in US
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Great Experience

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This was our first LMS and we looked at about 10 options, 3-4 of which had free trials that we used and researched more carefully. I have no major complaints about the process of getting set up, though we're in the final stages of loading all our users into the system (400+), so we aren't completely settled in. Everyone at our company who has seen the platform has loved what we've been able to set up.

Pros:

Overall I find Litmos to be easy to use and relatively intuitive. When I've had questions I've been able to find the answer in the online help forums nearly every time (in the instances I've had to reach out help has been rather quick and efficient). The content authoring works well for the most part, and the content library covers nearly all of our general needs, which is great. Any Litmos representatives we've worked with have been great. The Dojo is helpful for teaching yourself the platform, and the seemingly endless list of features has been great so far, though I plan to utilize them even more as we grow with our LMS (Assign, Branding, etc.).

Cons:

There are some quirks, as with anything. If you copy a module and delete the original then you're unable to edit the copy (even though it's completely separate, per their descriptions online). Litmos has verified this quirk. I find the fonts/sizing to be somewhat restrictive within the content authoring tool, and in the same vein the assessments within the authoring can be difficult to manipulate at times, depending upon what elements you add on what page.

Brett
Brett
Technical Training Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Renewables & Environment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Okay product but TERRIBLE SUPPORT

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: Rollercoaster, sometimes they're spot on and have the features we need, other times it takes forever to get a known problem taken care of.
If I could go back and re-select an LMS, I wouldn't choose Litmos.

Pros:

• Allows you to distribute material on a mass basis and track who has and who has not completed • Learning Paths allow you to group a series of Courses together to assign 1,000's of modules at a time easily • Modules can have embedded capability to allow you to perform tasks that the LMS does not have built-in • API integration allows you perform useful tasks that Litmos does not have built in.

Cons:

• The Support takes FOREVER to get anything done, even when it is a program glitch, at the time of writing this review I have been waiting 6 months for a fix to a problem that they have identified as a flaw and just have not fixed. This flaw has been debilitating to our Training Program with Litmos. • Cheating is easy on built-in assessments. When completing assessments on a computer the user can just right-click and go back and re-submit the correct answer. Litmos said they would NOT disable the back-button. • Learning Paths are the only level of organization that they allow, it would be nice to have "Sub-Learning Paths". • Reports are still "meh", even after the reporting update. Thankfully there is API integration which allows us to make our own reports from the information on Litmos.

Litmos Response

5 years ago

Hi Brett, Thank you for the review. Our support team has doubled in the past few months to make sure our customer's are taken care of. Hopefully things change for the better - we are always here to help. Best, Allison

Anthony
Anthony
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Robust platform for employee training

5.0 last year

Comments: This platform offers versatile options to strengthen the training process of our organization's employees. It is very versatile, robust and customizable. Sap Litmos is easy to implement and has a very small learning curve.

Pros:

It has options for customizing courses to adapt them to the needs of our company. Allows quick and easy access from anywhere and at any time. Provides reports with real-time information on the progress of participants in the training process. The ability to upload videos as part of the evaluation process is very useful. It works in different operating systems, which provides versatility.

Cons:

So far the only thing that I think should be considered for its use is the cost, which can be high depending on the size of your company.

Glenda May
Finance Lead in
Construction, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Litmos for Trainings? Yes!

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Overall, this is a good app for trainings. You will know all the trainings that you need to complete, your progress and achievements.

Pros:

We've been using Litmos for trainings, tracking achievements and in-progress courses. It is easy to use and navigate. You can see your to-dos, overdue and completed trainings. It also keeps tracks of your scores after each training and shows all your training achievements months or years ago.

Cons:

None, so far. Have not encountered any issue during trainings.

Kimberly
Project Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We had a great experience launching and continuing to use Enablement the last several years.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Enablement makes searching so easy! There are so many different advanced filtering options available to narrow down a wide search. Even though our company uses multiple sites to maintain internal and customer facing collateral, North America sales has made Enablement our go-to tool. The site remains fresh by auto-archiving older content while allowing for users to search the archives when needed. The News feature has allowed us to cut down on the number of large emails being sent to our teams. As an administrator, it's been very easy to create new playbook pages and customize the menus to enable our sales teams to find content quickly. We have recently expanded the use of the tool to other departments as well.

Cons:

There are 3 areas that I think could be improved. 1) While you can access Enablement on mobile devices, it's unfortunate that there is not an App for Android users. 2) I also wish there was a way to make the Item Wizard (when adding new content) unique by Business Unit or Department and have the ability to hide things that are not relevant to a group. 3) When creating a new customer portal, the step-by-step wizard is not customizable today. There are several steps that we would like to hide and are unable to do so. Overall, these cons are minor and our admin and publishers have learned to ignore sections that are not relevant to them during the tagging process.

Kelly
Education Director in
Philanthropy, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ahead of the curve in features, reporting and flexibility

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We did a full 4 month research and vetting process to determine the best LMS for our needs, after more than legitimate 20 candidates of the hundreds to chose from we narrow the search to five and of them only one had the tools, feature and most importantly a vision for what the future looked like.

Pros:

Easy build out and flexibility to use modules in multiple courses. Learning paths for course combinations make compliance training easy. However the two things that stand out a Pro 1) Customer Service/Support is over the top. Every time we have had a question or something wasn't as we thought it should customer and support is amazingly fast in response time and thorough in making sure we were back on track. 2) The reporting—you can build just about any report you can think of and trust me we have pushing the envelope.

Cons:

Hard to come up with a con that is exclusive to Litmos that other do better or offer. My biggest issue is with the pricing model of the industry as a whole, but it's still not a con since Litmos has more flexibility in their model to (kind of) meet our needs. I'm nit picking now but I wish we could turn off (hide) some of the fields in the registration page rather than just make them optional. As a company we already have the person information and data for the registrant so the page is unnecessarily messy. (I told you I was nit picking. )

Erik
LMS Administrator / Multimedia Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Its been a great first year. We are very happy we made the decision to go with Litmos.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use with for the general user and the advanced options that are available to account owners to customize things the way you need to use them. Access to many different ways to view and download reports was another big reason we decided on Litmos. They seem very dedicated to listening to their customers and providing updates so they can keep offering the best product they can produce.

Cons:

I could be picky and list a few features that would benefit the way we use the LMS but they are all little things. Plus, Litmos already has a dedicated site for account owners to post and view new ideas and everyone gets a chance to vote on them. As soon as they get enough votes, they work on implementing it on their next update. If you are reading this doing the researching part. I would suggest to do the trail account on as many as you can to see the difference in features offered and quality of the product. Its the only way you will find out what is out there and what is going to work best for you and your company.

Litmos Response

5 years ago

Thanks for the note, Erik! This is great feedback for our product team. I will make sure they receive this as well. Cheers!

Erick
Product Training Manager in US
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customer experience!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are able to deliver training to almost 10,000 learners in 130 countries. Over 90 % say the training helps them increase sales.

Pros:

Litmos is very easy to use for both learners and administrators. We doubled our course completion rate right after we switched to Litmos. We believe this is because learners were able to find training easily. Litmos is very responsive to our concerns and product suggestions. They follow up quickly. We've seen our suggestions in new product updates.

Cons:

We would like to be able to extract global data from our surveys. We use the same questions at the end of each course and it would be nice to draw some correlation between courses.

Litmos Response

6 years ago

Hi Erick, We appreciate your feedback. We're thrilled that you have doubled your course completion rate since switching to Litmos. Have a great day! Thank you, Jennifer Martin, Litmos by CallidusCloud

Nikkol
Managing Partner in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We when first started our small business this was a good alternative for us. There were very few light users LMS plans available.

Cons:

The price. Their prices kept going higher and higher and we had no alternative other than discontinuing our subscription. Not great customer support. We had to follow up more than once before our account was closed.

Litmos Response

5 years ago

Hi Nikkol, We appreciate your feedback regarding pricing. The more we add new features, functionalities, product releases and members to our ever-growing team, it is a natural occurrence for pricing to occasionally increase. With that said, our award-winning LMS is known for being more cost-effective than many of the other 1,200 vendors in the space. Best of luck and hopefully you will consider Litmos again the future. Allison

Heather
Sr. Content and Communications Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall, we've enjoyed working with Callidus to implement our Sales Enablement tool, known as FINDit

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

From day one, we've worked with a great team at Callidus who've helped us build out an incredible tool that adds value to our Sales team each day. We enjoyed the ability to brand our tool with the Lenovo look and feel. We've made this tool our own and continue to add new business departments (and one day, more Geos). Pros: overall look and feel, search capabilities, customizable homepage, a large amount of space for our content.

Cons:

Some limited functionality without an app for Android OS. In the beginning of the implementation process we were told there was an app, yet after drilling into the iOS app we found it to be pretty sparse and not worth utilizing.

Colleen-Joy
Director in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Online training

3.0 12 years ago

Comments: I really like Litmos and want to build more and use fully. With a bit more tweaking you have a winning product, that I'd happily recommend.

Pros:

Cost - you are comfortably priced compared to other systems. Support - your support has always been good, emails replied to within a day. Certificates - pdf auto creation is a big plus. Reports - reports are good. modules that can be used in different courses is great. ability to email and communicate in system is good. dashboard - is good, nicely planned and works well. marking assessments - nice to assign tutors and let them mark online.

Cons:

Video having to handbrake is frustrating and even after video is slow. Embedding from you tube video is also slow, needs video and audio functionality. FTP ftp upload for video/audio. having to manually upload each video is painful assessment we'd love ability to weight questions. assessment builder is a bit clumsy. Provide a search for questions. a way to use them in more than one assessment. drop and drag to manage. documents to download - i may be wrong but there seems a limit to how many documents can be available. We have big courses. powerpoints many don't come out right. Subscriptions payments monthly - a way 4 people pay monthly as a subscription - we need this urgently. Scheduling - it would be great to be able to time the modules, schedule their release (not just the entire course). E.g. module 1 then a week later module 2. with each release an email is sent to notify the student. that way full distance learning courses can be set up and run automatically.

Kim
L&D Team Lead in
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Valuable tool for the price

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Litmos is easy to use overall. We can define our own learning paths, make classes active or inactive and quickly add or deactivate users.

Cons:

The Customer Support is not very good. We had an issue with many of the Litmos provided videos not playing and found out weeks later that those particular videos had been dropped. The ones that were they were replaced with were okay but not as good as what we lost and it took too long to find this out. We also had an access issue supposedly due to an unpaid bill but we had the paid receipt and provided numerous times before access was granted again.

Angela
Instructional Designer/ LMS Administrator in US
Philanthropy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great, user-friendly system.

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Just like with WYSIWYG design tools, simplicity sometimes comes at a price. The knowledge-base and support team has been great to work with so far. For anyone considering a purchase, I would recommend that you devote a lot of time to detailing your use case and ask for proof of concept prior to signing just to ensure the functionality you are looking for is all here. For those organizations with only one language, you'll be hard-pressed to find a system that's easier to deploy.

Pros:

This system is very user-friendly and straightforward to get up and running with. It comes with a lot of great features, options for automating complex processes, and publishing content in it is a dream. Everything launches in-frame, so there is no need to explain to your users how to shut off their popup blockers, it looks beautiful on mobile browsers, and it's just generally fun and easy to use.

Cons:

Although we are still very much in the learning and setup phase of our implementation, Litmos's ability to support content and team structures in several languages seems more like a work-around than a product designed to support a multilanguage environment. I know they're working on enhancing multilanguage support and functionality, but it could be better. Also, I wish you could easily rearrange the team structure.

Dorothy E. "Dolly"
Manager of Information Systems in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A nice product and company until it was taken over by pirates

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very disappointing.

Pros:

I liked using the product but SAP's deceptive billing practices overshadow any benefit.

Cons:

Any product is only as good as the company that stands behind it. When we first launched Litmos in 2016 it was under the stewardship of CallidusCloud. A year ago we decided we could meet our training needs through other methods. When SAP presented our invoice on 10/23/2019 I wrote them declining to renew. In April of 2020 I received another invoice to which I responded that we had cancelled our service and forwarded the original communication. More invoices and many communications followed. Finally, my SAP rep informed me that she wrote me an introduction email in August 2019 which contained a footnote that henceforth cancellations would require 90 days notice and since I cancelled on 10/23, I had only provided 30 days. For a company to change its cancellation policy without making sure subscribers receive that information through a call or a follow up email is more than unprofessional. It's deceptive. The battle over the invoice continues.

Felix
Project Leader in Venezuela
Primary/Secondary Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

with this Software the creation of educational content is fast, agile and simple ..

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love the look and interface of Litmos, it's fresh, very up-to-date ... for all the complete reporting module, it's exceptional, the whole system works almost as if you were using a tutorial, it's very simple and animated ... I like how easy it is to upload information such as Power Point presentations, videos, recordings and scorm ... the price is very competitive, it has no comparison with other services. The support teams, sales and account management are incredible.

Cons:

the integration with other systems is not as efficient, the personalized reports can improve, I feel that they are very limited or difficult to create, some modules of the program are not so intuitive , in the security module, configuring the privileges of the users can cause a bit of confusion.

Sharon
Systems Management Specialist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We implemented the Litmos LMS, to connect all of our Customers/Partners across 10 Counties.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is extremely easy to use and requires almost no IT interaction at all. The new Branding feature allows us to improve not only the Learners experience, but improves our ability to organize different teams or groups within each Brand.

Cons:

The reporting module didn't allow us to report the information we wanted to see initially, but they have made great steps forward in creating a new reporting engine that is making life a little easier.

Margaret
US
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Litmos LMS is Great for Integrated eLearning

4.5 9 years ago

Pros:

With regards to the actual Learning Management System, the highly user-friendly interface allows me to be creative without the stress of a complicated application. The way modules are stored allows for reusing essential segments such as general course introductions and explanations. The seamless integration of other applications such as Articulate and Captivate is already impressive. However, being able to link my students to live presentations and actual sites for practical application provides more comprehensive accessibility. With regards to customer service, my concerns are addressed quickly. I feel that they care enough to consider my concerns even if they are not able to make adjustments at that time. Also, my students really like my certificates of completion, which are really easy to set up and change.

Cons:

While this system is set up for eCommerce, it does not allow for the type of billing options that I want to offer my students. Additionally, the notice board is not easy to edit. I have had to retype my entire message. To address this, I develop my text in a word processor before copying and pasting it into the notice board. This has actually proved to be a better discipline for me, so I will probably continue this, even if they enhance the text editing capabilities.

Pete
Sales Enablement Program Manager in US
Computer Hardware, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use the Find It tool multiple times a day and find it very useful in my role.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I use this every day in my role as it allows me to find all of the information i need in one place.

Pros:

It is a one stop shop for all of the information I need in my job, with a very easy to use search feature.

Cons:

i don't have any issues with the software at this time. I had some issues with the search function early on, but after some additional training it has become more accurate and easy to use.

Jill
Jill
Curriculum Specialist in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Litmos LMS has changed the lives of our Corporate Education Team!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are still fairly new users, having purchased the Litmos LMS at the beginning of 2016. It has been everything we hoped and more. We started with our internal site but are about to activate our customer site and are really looking forward to customer feedback on this. For the first time ever, our customers will have access to state of the art eLearning content right at their fingertips. We are excited about this development and have worked very hard to structure everything just right so that it all runs smoothly.

Pros:

Its ease of use. It is mostly intuitive.

Cons:

This isn't a big deal, but it is still a work in progress.