15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Front

How teams streamline customer communication to deliver exceptional service at scale.

Learn more about Front

Pros:

I also enjoy the various integrations with other systems that are available (contacts, calendars, proprietary workflow management systems, etc.).

Cons:

Plugin is a little bit confusing. Sometimes it's hard to differentiate which one is order and subscriptions due to the top down feature and no different color line.

Front ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Front has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 260 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Front before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (260)

Arjun
Arjun
Co-founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Never bcc internally again

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Couldn't imagine living without it. Treating email collaboratively has probably reduced the number of internal emails by a factor of 10. The integrations with every platform via API let us manage tons of internal workflows in a completely automated way. Overall, we're happy to pay for it - every dollar in Front probably saves us an hour in FTE time.

Pros:

The ability to treat email as a collaborative effort is groundbreaking. It's easy to create visibility and work asynchronously on emails that would otherwise take multiple forwards and slack conversations. Integrations and automations are great too.

Cons:

Fairly expensive if you don't use it for a large number of folks, AI features are pretty limited right now.

Front Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking time to provide feedback!

John
Founder/President/CEO in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Software, Terrible Billing and Support Policies

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It has a number of very good features for helping teams work together for sales and support. The abilities to share, assign, comment on, snooze and resurface issues makes zero inbox possible. Keeps clutter down and focus on what is most important at the moment. We really like the 'product'.

Cons:

-Front's Billing policies are absurd. If one signs up for an annual plan adding a user even if only temporarily for a day or a month while transitioning employees results in a charge for as much as a full year for that seat. -During the sales process, you will experience significant personal, real-time communications. Once the sales process is over, don't hope to EVER be able to have a real-time conversation with anybody. Regardless of the severity or complexity of the issue, the only option is email that often takes days to get a response which can be a real problem when the platform is down since it is the only way to contact them. They had a chat ability for a while but turned it off apparently because customer expectations for a timely response were too high. -Don't bother making suggestions. Although they have what appears to be a strong attitude towards involving customers, suggestions get a pat on the head and swept into a 'we'll pass that on' basket. No methods or interest to surface ideas and suggestions in a way that other end-users can expand upon or upvote/prioritize.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

One of the worst email applications I've ever used

1.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The overall look of Front is simple, which is nice. The snooze function on emails. The support staff were friendly and quick to answer.

Cons:

My company switched my team over to Front after a couple people who shared an inbox had issues with managing it. I didn't have a shared inbox, but struggled with the lack of functionality for just personal inboxes. There are so many missed functionalities to Front it made my job incredibly inefficient. I found myself spending more time doing my job which consists of heavy emailing because of Front problems. 1. No calendar. Cannot make appointments, set up meetings, etc. 2. Unable to edit messages in a previous thread. Say someone sends you a list of questions. You cannot just answer next to their list in the previous email and say "see below." 3. Archiving messages... when we first switched to Front, the management team used it for a few weeks to test it. When the team was instructed to switch within the next couple weeks, and BOOM thousands of emails that Front could not autoarchive. I had about 10 emails in Outlook during the switch. The front inbox had accumulated thousands over the course of the management test period. Front could only auto archive shared inboxes, not personal. I had to spend 20 minutes selecting 3000 emails to auto archive since it didn't sync correctly with Outlook. 4. Saving emails... you can't. You only have the option to send a link of the email which only works for those that also used front. 5. You cannot edit pasted tables in front, as far as formatting goes. No deletion of columns or making rows smaller. 6. No red flags or categorizing. Often I'd keep emails in Outlook and red flag them to remind myself to check on it before I leave. No flagging in Outlook. This is replaced by snoozing in Front to make it reappear later, but I do miss the flag option. 7. You archive something in someone else's inbox that they share with you... it archives in their inbox, too. 8. No options to make folders. You want to move emails to a folder to refer to later? You cannot. I could go on and on and ended up emailing a list of 18 problems after using Front for the first 3 months to management who sent to Front support. The responses were basically they hope to rollout that feature one day. Which obviously doesn't help now.

Tim
COO in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you have multiple teams managing emails daily, Front is for you.

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall it was easy enough to set up and configure rules without much technical help. The difference from other systems we used to manage our email was instantly significant and improved efficiency and response times.

Pros:

The internal team chat enhances communication and collaboration. The clarity of who is responding or seeing quickly that someone has responded so you do not waste time on emails that someone has already sent or is working on sending.

Cons:

The integration with WhatsApp that we use to communicate with drivers is really more geared toward communicating with customers and is a bit quirky but we made it work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front is the best Shared Inbox for collaborative customer support

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Front truly is a dynamic tool for teams looking to improve their internal workflows for external-facing communications. There is some fantastic automation that is built into the platform that has helped streamline and build in consistency for external client-facing communication.

Pros:

My favorite functionality would be the collaborative chat tools amongst team members for email threads. Its an amazing tool.

Cons:

The thing I struggled the most to adapt to was the Tags functionality. It is not something we use daily but had a slight learning curve for me and my team.

Marjolaine
Marjolaine
Co-founder in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best email software ever

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have a shared inbox and we had trouble to avoid double answers and we had to forward the emails to each other or CC them on our replies so they could get informed of a conversation

Pros:

Sharing emails without having to forward them, being able to have internal conversations within an email, plenty of integrations

Cons:

When I need to speak to all the team, I have to create a discussion and add them all, one by one. I'd rather have the possibility to @team within an email or a discussion to make sure they are all included. I also whish we could find a slack inbox where we could find all the channels we have and avoid having to switch between the two softwares.

David
David
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product with a few annoying things

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall great product, really happy with the exception of the email nesting

Pros:

Easy to use - actually integrates well and completely replaces all other email managers. Unlike Zendesk or similar products; emails you send from Front are actually sent from your email address, not a weird routing domain like yourcompany.zendesk.com

Cons:

When multiple emails come in on the same day with the same title (e.g., two customers respond to the same automated email they got), Front will nest them together as if they are one thread. This causes problems with the customer support team because sometimes they forget / don't know they need to scroll up to respond individually to each nested email. Pretty annoying and error prone

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great aggregator tool for Customer Success

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I lead a customer success team that uses Front daily.

Pros:

I love the ability to interact with all our support tools - phone, email, chat from intercom, while interacting with our full team (support team of 5). We stay connected on each user, and can easily run reports and track year over year metrics. We especially like the ability to chat back and forth before we respond to tricky situations, and the ability to Snooze.

Cons:

I would love for more integrations - specifically survey functionality, or the ability to have automation once you close out an email/chat. We have this on intercom but it lives within the intercom platform now.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Front: I like that it can pull together everything, and be accessed on the go.

Jan
Jan
Co-founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We wouldn't be the same without Front

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Front is the backbone of communications, from talking with customers, taking care of signups and inquiries and handling customer support, Front lets us do all of that remotely.

Pros:

Front helps us respond so much faster as we collaborate on high impact messages and it lets us know what each other's doing. The support team is also really fast and reliable.

Cons:

Runs on Electron, so can be a bit slow. Some missing features but the team is iterating really quickly.

Elle
Elle
Company Owner in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must for businesses with delivery drivers!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: The experience is positive. It's easy to set up and use. We use it on a daily basis to allocate and track orders

Pros:

Being able to auto-import our orders and then allocate them to a delivery driver is really simple and easy within Front.

Cons:

I haven't seen any downsides to using Front at this time.

Front Response

2 weeks ago

We're glad your experience has been positive and that you're seeing a ton of value in easily assigning orders to drivers. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Philipp
Director in Mauritius
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Communications hub for sales and customer support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: For us this is a central communication tool for the customer support and sales communications.

Pros:

Great intuitive interface, convenience, high level of possible customisations and API integrations. Great possibilities in team sharing and communications

Cons:

Some necessary features may be expensive, for us this was integration with HubSpot and CloudTalk, but overall reasonably prices.

Derek
Business Director in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Front ~ Showing You What Email Can Really Do

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience with Front has been very great. In terms of many vendors we deal with our company, Front is at the top. They are their because they are truly relationship minded and that is hard to find in companies. Especially companies in the field of technology. Our company is truly thankful for Front and value their company and employees. You truly get a great experience from their product to their people, and that says a lot about a company.

Pros:

I believe the product is very easy to use. Especially for someone that is on a computer daily for work, this product is very streamline and functional in terms of being user friendly. The admin needs to have some tech savy to them to operate and set up, but truly that was not anything difficult. For a company that time is truly our job we need to be on par with everything that is going on. With Front that dream is possible as we can all be on one email communicating with their Comment function and never have to email out. This prevents any miss communication or double communication. Efficiency is taken to an all time high. With other email platforms you can't have all your company on one email, other than outlook I believe, but it still fails to compare to the functions and ease of Front. Especially that no one misses out on an email if someone does archive it. Sense Front saves a personal file for you! Truly they mind and soul for this product was truly to help productivity, efficiency and the customer experience which birth Front.

Cons:

It is hard to really give it a straight con, as it is a growing software and just in the yearish we have used them I have seen it grown so fast. It would be wrong to brand it cons but more so improvements that are on its way. I didn't realize this truly at the start till Front personally reaches out and gets to know you and you to them. A improvement I see growing is the support line. Depending on the nature of your business you need this more so than others in a more timely manner. Our company being time based we need things fixed fast to provide our job. Front does the best to their availability to do this, but its still a growing improvement. I know I am not going to get someone in five minutes, but for sure within the hour and once then I will be able to get immediate help till the solution is at hand. Another improvement is their reports. Due to the nature of our business this has helped us out a lot but with all the variables we have it is hard to get a true accurate report. It has base functions that will help any company, but for diving into even finer details its not there...yet. Least to say I would die on a hill to say there are truly no cons, but truly just improvements I see coming and know they are continuing to work on. You can't hop in a car without knowing how to drive and expect to drive. Takes time to master anything, but you see how you can't live without once you learn a little about it.

Justin
Bellhop Acquisition Manager in US
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, Front allows my team and I the ability to respond promptly to each mover around the country without having to switch screens.

Pros:

I work at the HQ of a moving company (Bellhops) and my job consists of constantly messaging our movers in the field spread over 25+ cities around the country. The best thing about Front is the ability to prioritize messages involving conversations that are more pertinent than others. Some are urgent and need to be handled right away, and others aren't and Front allows the visibility to determine the difference. My personal favorite attribute is the 'following' inbox including all active conversations you're apart of.

Cons:

It would be great to see front integrate with software used by our company so we wouldn't have to input new contacts once we hire a mover in the field. This may already be available, or in the works.

Alternatives Considered: Kustomer

Treavor
Sales/Marketing Manager in US
Furniture, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

1-Year Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Using Front has truly allowed me to take charge of my inbox! It has helped us communicate better between workers, as well as work more efficiently as a team to get the work done. Everything is open and available between each of us, so we can help each other and maximize the talents of one another in responding to the needs of our clients.

Pros:

After a full year of using Front, the thing I find the most useful is the ease and efficiency of sorting and prioritizing my daily email. The ability to snooze, assign to another individual, or add quick notes about the email, along with the ability for others to see who is working on a reply, has made our efforts so much more efficient! Everything runs seamlessly and it has become second nature, very quickly.

Cons:

There are still a few "glitches" when it comes to opening certain attachments, but I think that is always the issue with any email program. The only other issue is with the mobile app - it takes a few extra steps to modify email recipients, but it isn't that often that this has to happen.

Shelby
Senior Operations Specialist in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Front is the best customer service management & email integration tool I have ever used!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I love Front! It breaks my heart that Convoy is terminating our contact soon. We have started to development our own (very basic) email platform but it is a long way away from the standard my team is now accustomed to, based on our positive experience using Front the last two years.

Pros:

I love Front's ability to display who on an email chain has read our last response (revolutionary!) & the ease at which my team can comment back and forth and converse with each other, all while hidden from our customers in the email thread. Email tagging, inbox splitting, & the infinite number of archiving and email redirection rules we can put in place keeps my team organized (& myself sane!)-- as a company that receives tens of thousands of emails a day, Front allows my operations team to truly battle the "Front lines" of customer communication.

Cons:

The biggest issue we deal with is Front's occasional latency. In an industry where fast is better than perfect, the last thing my team needs is Front to be lagging or down. We have a huge backlog of archived emails (Front also acts as customer documentation platform for us) so searching information can be super tedious if the platform doesn't load or crashes. My team works to urgently solve problems and every second counts, so we cannot risk even a minute of latency.

Ashley
Ashley
Editor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front is a lifesaver

5.0 last year

Pros:

For several years, our administrative team used Front and it improved our internal workflow and customer communications significantly. Now our entire office is using Front and the combination of client and internal emails with internal comments and discussions is indispensable. We have never been so efficient, and I can't imagine work life without Front.

Cons:

When we have an issue, the support team is very responsive. Bugs are addressed quickly and our ideas for improvement are often implemented.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front is amazing tool to manage your email

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's amazing overall. We saw email managed properly. Being a part of sales team email tracking is a bliss as it increases our productivity

Pros:

Frot is amazing. The best feature is email tracking through which you can get the read receipt of the email. Also, the tagging feature is good and helpful where you can tag or assign your teammates on the email

Cons:

The user interface is a bit complicated and difficult to use for the new user. Also, the mobile app tends to go slow sometime. Rest all is good

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Collaborative Shared Inbox Tool out there

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The key feature that differentiates Front is that it has collaborative shared inboxes that enable us to create shared drafts, comment/communicate on threads, and manage email communications super effectively. Previously, we attempted to use Gmail to accomplish this, but Front does a great job of managing the workflow of sharing one email and collaborating effectively.

Cons:

I wish there were more productivity / super-user oriented features that were more robust. There are some quirks about the workflows that make it slower for us to use. This is not a deal-breaker, but I wish it could be better.

Alternatives Considered: Superhuman

Joyce
Lead Product Manager in Taiwan
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best email collaboration software

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Our support team first migrated over to Front from a traditional ticketing software a couple of years ago, and we were blown away by how easy it was to use. We've since added other use cases and teams to Front, and most of our team members also use it as their main email client for their personal work emails. I also personally love the ability to automate parts of our workflow using Zapier and the Front API — it's a real game-changer.

Cons:

There have been significant price increases over the last few years since we've started using the software. While we'd like to have more team members using Front, the pricing is just not feasible for us at this point. The other small thing would be very specific missing features we would love to see that just aren't supported at the moment. But that's totally understandable as our use case may not be very common.

David
David
ceo in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

excellent app for mail and teams

5.0 last year

Pros:

very easy to transfer mail and add internal comments on them. This app is done for BtoC startup that want to manage lots of daily mails from customers.More over it's very easy to integrate other products through Apis

Cons:

a bit expensive, but the value added is very high. Should have better prices for small companies

Alternatives Considered: Gmail

Sione
Customer Success Manager in US
Higher Education Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, it's been a great experience with Front. I appreciate the regular communication made by the Front team via email or update notices within the app.

Pros:

Front is a great option for teams that work closely with/share the same clients. That's our primary reason for purchasing Front, the ability to tag teammates on emails and have dialogue about situations, how to respond to a particular email, etc. I also love the UI, to me it's much more clean and open in comparison to gmail, what we used before Front.

Cons:

From day 1 I've wanted to see development of folders for organizational purposes when archiving emails (not a fan of pinning, but I understand others may love it). I've also hoped for most robust developments with sequencing, it's stay pretty much the same since I started using the feature a few years ago.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Best app if you work as a team

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It's very good app

Pros:

I simply love this app, even though I don't like it at first, now I love it. You can assign the email to relevant team members. So no ball drops between two players.

Cons:

It's a little confusing to start but soon you will love it.

Gloria
Program Manager in Netherlands
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Front Review

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall I've had a nice experience with Front. Previously I used Zedesk to manage incoming emails with my team and the functionalities are very similar. Perhaps Front design is more appealing and seems more like a gmail/outlook email inbox.

Pros:

- Assigning emails to coworkers- Dividing work between colleagues- Delegating tasks- Organising work in a cross-functional team

Cons:

- As an admin user, tracking the performance of the team is not practical and we still need to do it outside the platform. It would be good to apply more filters and functionalities for the tracking part. For instance, I'm trying to understand the SLA of the team when replying to messages, but the data is inaccurate because it also calculates when there's a reply again to the message

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Eh, it's okay. It's really buggy

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like the snoozing feature, as well as the API abilities since my company has built out a robust sidebar

Cons:

Very buggy. For a while you had to scroll on the page in order to even send an email. It also doesn't have a 24 hour snooze option which is ridiculous and leads to all our emails being reopened at the exact same time. There should be an ability to create custom snooze times. The analytics are also not great

Front Response

6 years ago

I am happy that you enjoy Front's snoozing feature, and API abilities. I am confused to how buggy the app seems to be for you ¿ this is a piece of feedback that we almost never receive. Would you mind sharing with our team the issues that you are experiencing so that we best address them? ([email protected]). You can definitely use our custom snooze feature, and snooze a message to any date at any time. There are also a variety of set snooze options that you can use (1h, 2h, 4h, next day at various times, 2 days, 4 days, 1 week... or custom). We are currently working on enhancing our analytics ¿ we would love to hear more from you ([email protected]) on your feedback as a user of this feature; if you don't mind sharing. Thanks for your feedback. Olivier from Front

Heather
Park City Office Administrator in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great value, good product, but could still use some improvements

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has been helpful for our company to have the ability to sort our emails by market and then assign each email to the appropriate team member. It is also helpful to be able to see the number of emails in team member inboxes and when they are online, in order to better determine who may need help. Having the ability to at mention a team member or share a draft with another member of the team is helpful for the company as well.

Pros:

I really like the ability to set timers for emails to reappear in my inbox, and having the ability to assign and @mention team members are also helpful features that use daily.

Cons:

I still miss having actual folders. I feel like it gets confusing using tags and having my emails sometimes auto-archive. I actually missed including some invoices on my month-end statements last month, because those emails archived and I didn't see them in my open tab in under that tag. I also recently discovered that we can't use our mail merge app with Front. In our industry having the ability to use a mass-mailout software or app is very important.