About Five9

Cloud Customer Service with Practical AI - Inbound, Outbound, ACD, IVR, IVA, CTI, Chat, Email, Call Recording, and CRM Integration.

Learn more about Five9

Pros:

The cost of this product is very inviting. The reporting is very extensive and takes some getting used to, but it's also very thorough.

Cons:

There have been a lot of log-in issues for me (typically an error saying the plugin needed to be installed or an endless loading symbol).

Five9 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Five9 has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 422 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Five9 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (422)

Ilan
Ilan
Graphic Designer in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Five9 Review

5.0 last month New

Comments: When I worked at the call center over the web Fivenine was a quickly learnable calling program. It had minimal need for upkeep on my end aside from making sure to refresh the screen if no calls were coming in, so that the screen did not fall asleep due to being a virtual computer system. Actual program updates were also rare, it was fairly statuc and generally reliable.

Pros:

The ability to tell when calls are coming in and going out is critical to a call center. I've worked at call centers before in the insurance enrollment world in both English and Spanish. Call data tracking matters to keep tons of data secure, while giving accountability to a company should the caller divulge data like their social security number or home address. These are strictly confidential and the call program working right is a major factor. Whether someone is using a script or has general guidelines, the most important aspect is the call itself coming through and not dropping, Five9 is able to record audio crystal clear for later playback.

Cons:

If your internet is going in and out the program does take a while to boot up. It also doesn't have any in-built noise reduction or increasing features, so the caller audio may change call to call and cause a need for rapid audio changes depending on the call.

Osman
Manager in Honduras
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Use Five9 as a solution for your company

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

How easy it is to get started and the tools that they offer you to customize the skills, teams that you need, to keep it organized and generate better reports.

Cons:

It would be better if Five9 could add some options to keep the historical data for more time or at least select what set of data can be stored longer.

Alternatives Considered: NICE CXone, Genesys Cloud CX and OnAvaya

Reasons for Switching to Five9: It offered what we needed at the moment, the flexibility on how to setup the users and the price.

Christopher
Administrator in U.S.
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hard to implement, but robust

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's very robust software, but the implementation is not worth the trouble- it's made for calling a large, large body of numbers with little need to change the leads within the campaign.

Pros:

Once you get it going, which isn't easy at all, it doesn't quit running.

Cons:

It's horrible to implement, the support is awful, it also uses mechanics that are impossible to understand with minimal documentation.

Alternatives Considered: RingCentral MVP

Reasons for Choosing Five9: Poor management choices left for me to implement.

Switched From: RingCentral MVP

Reasons for Switching to Five9: My management decided it for me with no input from myself, as it what he was comfortable with in different situations.

Wei Jie
Voice Infra Architect in Singapore
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cloud Contact Center Solution for Ever Changing Business Need

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Ease of deployment and expansion based on ever changing business need.

Pros:

Flexibility to expand and downsize the capacity

Cons:

Lack of Coverage and Support in certain region and countries outside US.

Alternatives Considered: Avaya OneCloud UCaaS

Reasons for Choosing Five9: Global Strategy to reduce footprint for on-premise solution

Switched From: Avaya OneCloud UCaaS

Reasons for Switching to Five9: Cloud Solution

Sigmund
Sigmund
Senior Workforce Analyst in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works for Small Businesses

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It works well if you don't need to deep-dive on call and ticket data in the future, in which case you would need to shell out additional payment per agent to be able to have your data stored for longer within the ecosystem

Pros:

Easy to use as a standalone, web-based inbound and outbound calling tool, good reporting capability and monitoring

Cons:

Records are only retained for 60 days and this encompass both reports as well as recording databases. Even downloaded record data is erased remotely!

Verified Reviewer
Manager in Costa Rica
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User friendly, organized, reliable

4.0 last week New

Comments: Easy to use, with common sense it can be used easily. So many features to choose from and explore.

Pros:

Everything in one place, easy to use and build

Cons:

Report building is overwhelming for those who lack knowledge.

Tialee
Managing Partner in Jamaica
Accounting Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great platform but costly

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

This software provides great quality calls. It reminds you of callback set prior to the time. If you call and got voicemail the calls reoccur in a few hours. The platform allows easy monitoring and also real time notes capture as well as time and date.

Cons:

This software is expensive in the sense that you must pay for each user individually instead of just paying a monthly subscription for the software itself. I found that i had to have a certain amount of agents logged in a particular time not to get kicked off.

kevin
ccos 2 in U.S.
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

how great five9 is

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: my experience have been great with no complaints

Pros:

smooth interface, works great in firefox, edge and chrome

Cons:

would like to see a mobile app for five9

Verified Reviewer
Report Analyst in Dominican Republic
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good dialer for a small or new contact center!

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Pretty good with ups and downs, it's just a good product to start your small contact center.

Pros:

Easy to use and implement, agents and people, in general, understand how to use it pretty fast due to a simple interface.

Cons:

Has some limitations and needs to improve in reporting and analytics.

Verified Reviewer
Business Advisor in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very convenient and easy to use

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I liked having all the information avaliable to you right there for each client

Cons:

At first before auto dialing was set up at had to call each lead individually

Spencer
Response Team Manager in U.S.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Five9 is THE PLACE to go to for excellent phone communication. Easy to use, fast, and reliable.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The benefits I got from this software is a great quality inbound call service center for a reasonable cost. It is incredibly easy to learn and use regularly. Also, using the report features it gives the user, we are able to find data on each of our calls. We even give bonuses to those who consistently report high numbers in new patient calls, based off what data the report gives us. It's incredibly helpful insight to help guide us along on whether we should revamp the way we answer calls or even consider two employees on the shift at once to take calls.

Pros:

I like the most how it disconnects from the complication of having a business line. There are special call center phones with setups and programs that make taking calls difficult. Five9, however, is simple. We use a pair of headphones and the software and you're set to take calls at any time! The quality of the phone communication is great and we've had a consistent, reliable beam of phone service since we started using Five9 about 1.5 years ago. The software itself is incredibly simple and easy to learn as well as being fast and efficient. It's the little things, like being able to run weekly reports on calls, and seeing if another person is waiting in queue to talk to you, that matter.

Cons:

There are two things I like the least: customer service and not being able to block incoming call numbers easily. On average, I have to call Five9 Customer Service once every 2-3 months about a question. The customer support employee on the other end of the line does their best, but usually they are not helpful about the specific issue. They have helped me with a 5 star-rating in some issues, but sometimes it's a 2-star interaction when they don't know what to do. It's kind of a "turn it off and turn it back on again" approach. I've had a few times where they simply don't know how to resolve the issue. They keep checking back on you, calling and sending emails several times after the issue. This is a nice sentiment, but often results in annoyance when the issue has already been settled or someone found out something on their own. The other thing I like the least and the reason I gave it 4 stars for features and functionality is that there is only one way to block incoming numbers. Many unknown numbers call our office every day and hang up immediately. We think this is an automated service or sales call which has glitched and called us. To block a number, you have to go into the manager's portal and reroute the calls. It's a complicated process.

Five9 Response

4 years ago

Hello Spencer, thank you for your great and thorough review. We're happy to hear that Five9 is working so well for you and is helping your business succeed.

Kathy
Lead Case Eval Attorney in U.S.
Legal Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pretty pleased overall!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Reliable software for handling our incoming calls, like the fact that I can define campaigns and see where each call is coming from, like the reporting features for the most part (see one drawback below in "cons"). Connection is pretty good most of the time if using a hard-wired headset. Good customer service, very responsive and good at following up.

Cons:

Don't like the fact that since we've installed Skuid we cannot get Five9 to sync records with Salesforce, which has created numerous issues with duplicate records. Was working with you all to get this situated, but the attempted fix created a massive crash in the middle of our business day and I haven't been able to revisit for fear of doing that again. Maybe we can plan to work on it with you after hours... Also don't like the fact that the reporting reports "ready state" whether in "ready voice" or "ready VM" or "ready voice and VM." Would like to have a separate reporting for "ready VM," which is a state we would not like to pay our agents for b/c it does not result in live answers, and "ready voice" or "ready voice + VM," which are states we do want to pay our agents for b/c the calls are answered live when those are the choices (unless all agents busy, of course).

Kristin Response

5 years ago

Kathy, thanks for writing your review. I have reached out to your account manager who will reach out to you shortly. Please do let us know if you have any questions about Five9 features or reports; we’re here to help.

Kimber
Management in U.S.
Consumer Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If you want the best...

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The overall experience is great as you can focus on running your business rather than fighting with software. The multiple modes of dialer is extremely helpful too.

Pros:

After several trials with other dialer systems and getting out of a contract with another dialer company, Five9 is simply one of the best systems for large organizations. Not only is it user friendly and easy to set up and management, the reporting functions are great and customizable. So easy to add/remove users and update skills. Uploading leads is a synch.

Cons:

The ability to view agent chat sessions needs to be improved. It appears there is functionality there but in fact, you must log on as the agent to view. Upon doing so, you must kick the agent out of production.

Five9 Response

3 years ago

Hi Kimber, thank you for taking the time to share your review here on Capterra. We are so happy to hear that you are having a great user experience, thank you for being part of the Five9 family. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if we can be of any further service. Best Regards, Cindy Seto Customer Advocacy Manager

Doug
Vice President in
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Five9 is the best Cloud based VOIP system we have found

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have tried about 6 different companies for our call center and Customer Service Agents and Five9 by far is the best solution. There are cheaper systems out there but you definitely get what you pay for. In my experience the lower cost solutions will cost you more money to implement and manage than just using Five9 to start.

Pros:

There are a lot of things we like about Five9. The service and customer support is very good. They are timely and everyone we have worked with is very knowledgeable. The system itself is very user-friendly. Since you are so involved in setting the system up you quickly become familiar with how to work with it and how things actually work.

Cons:

Initially I had concerns about the pricing with Five9's product compared to several other companies. I actually hired 3 different companies and ended the relationships with 2 before even getting them implemented. The customer service and setup of their systems was a nightmare. One took over 2 months to even get setup and after that several things we were promised didn't work. The 3rd company we used for about 6 months and had issue after issue and promise after promise not met. I came back to Five9 as it is worth the investment for my company.

Kristin Response

5 years ago

Hi Dough, thank you very much for posting this excellent review. We strive to be a true partner to our customers, and our customer support team is one of the things that sets us apart from other vendors. Please let us know if we can ever be of service.

Verified Reviewer
Director of Client Acquisition in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Five9 Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's incredibly valuable. The Supervisor Web application is great and provides valuable performance insights out of the box. It works incredibly well with Salesforce, and Five9 also has a plethora of strategic partner options for AI, Analytics, WFM, Quality Monitoring, Social Media, etc., that add further value to Five9's CC Software. We have a standing weekly meeting with our technical account manager that helps us maintain and implement all changes necessary. Further, this individual is always available when needed outside our standing calls.

Pros:

Plug-in capability with our CRM Salesforce. It's automation capabilities have increased both our average speed of answer and speed to lead response times. We leverage the managed services relationship to help maintain our IVR and its behaviors. This is also a great resource to consult with on new projects, ideas or considerations, as well as learn from others' best practices.

Cons:

It can be challenging to automate using processes and workflows that work directly with your CRM. I recommend you have an internal resource that's very tech savvy on all your operating systems, CRMs, contact center software applications, etc. If you don't dedicated the time, money and resources necessary, you may find the product disappointing. That said, I don't believe that's an issue with the product. Rather, the application or launch of the product.

Farah
Sr. Manager in Bahrain
Consumer Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Five9 - for me it’s rating at 9

5.0 last year

Comments: Amazing experience as an agent
Supervisor desktop is great for real-time monitoring
As an admin it’s straight forward and easy to setup

Pros:

Easy to use, easy to setup, features & functionality, cloud solution, supervisor desktop, browser adaptor

Cons:

Wallboard feature to share data as a link is required New Integrations with newer brands are required customizations take longer to build

Alternatives Considered: ZIWO

Reasons for Choosing Five9: Cloud contact center solutions are better in five9

Switched From: Avaya OneCloud UCaaS, Webex and Genesys Cloud CX

Reasons for Switching to Five9: Standards of operations Security Service

Lin
IT Analyst in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Change Management Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We've using Five9 for change management and some of our workforce engagement, and it has been a great experience so far when paired with our learning management system for learning and improvement assignment. The UI is fairly intuitive, so out managers and directors have been quick to pick it up and apply to our growing initiatives.

Pros:

Five9 support is fantastic, and the UI intuitive enough for the majority of our managers and directors to pick up relatively quickly. We use NICE Engage as well, and this platform is far superior.

Cons:

Five9 has not been as widely adopted within our managers as WalkMe had been amongst our general users. The UI is easy to use, but could use some updating.

Five9 Response

2 years ago

Hi Lin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Five9. Best regards, Five9

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Manager in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unbiased Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: They provide business solutions on a reasonable price. Their customer service is amazing. I haven't had any issues with how their tech or customer support team handle any issues we bring up. They are very personable. I just hope they launch web app for supervisor view that's included in the premium.

Pros:

It's easy to use and accessible as long as internet is available. Supervisor views are customizable to fit preference and requirements. Agent applet/softphone app is very user-friendly. It is not intimidating because it looks simple yet professional.

Cons:

Reporting is a pain. It does not show the numbers that will make sense in a BPO setting. Java based application for Supervisor is also excruciating especially if Java version in the PC is not compatible. Good thing agent applet has web-based option now.

Five9 Response

4 years ago

Hi, thank you for sharing your review. We pride ourselves with our excellent customer service team and it's great to hear your experience has been amazing. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your account manager should you have any questions about our reporting or any other features. We're here to help.

Pam
DVP in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend Five9, after failed implementation of 3 other apps

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Quick deployment, reliable product and allowed us to significantly reduce headcount and improve operational efficiency

Pros:

After implementing several other call center software programs that did not meet our requirements, Five9 offers such a rich feature/function set and meets all our needs. The sales, implementation and support experience has been superior compared to their competitors.

Cons:

From and IT perspective, the help desk/customer support team's knowledge is lacking. Most of our inquiries are not able to be addressed by 1st level

Five9 Response

3 years ago

Hi Pam thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others on this peer review site. We are happy to hear you have had such a great experience with us at Five9.

Michael
Executive Director of Franchising in
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful and Customizable

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Before we started using Five9, we used another well-known phone system. Our company grew and with it grew the challenges of effectively managing inbound calls, as well as tracking call outcomes. Five9 took our call center to another level. It's not the cheapest system, but there's a reason for that. It really helps you understand what's going on in your call center; and, as a result, become better at managing your call flow.

Pros:

Five9 will help you monitor calls and track your call volume. If you're a call center, this system will help you receive calls more efficiently, track the outcome of calls, and improve your call center's performance. It has excellent reporting features and it's customizable to meet your company's specific needs.

Cons:

You need to know a little about the system before you can go in and change settings. It's not as intuitive as some of the other basic systems, but then, it's not a basic phone system. Five9 does not offer voicemail extensions. That's not what it's designed for. I do wish that we could get our phone extensions from them.

Krystyna
Quality Assurance Manager in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Managing Interactions With Clients Has Never Been That Easy

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: You need a solution for maintaining your interactions with the clients without losing your mind? Then you need Five9. I highly recommend this platform to anyone who wants to make sure that all the customer requests are satisfied and needs all the documentation at their fingertips.

Pros:

I've been using Five9 for quite a while for managing all my interactions with clients via different means. Things are easier with centralized reporting. The best aspect of Five9 is that it is cloud-based, so you have no confusion with your documentation. The platform's setup is quite simple, you don't have to be some IT-wizard of Oz to get into it. But even if you can't, you can contact Five9's technical support – their managers can solve basically anything.

Cons:

I can hardly find something to complain about Five9. Even if I had some complaints with them not being up to the minute, I would have been too late with posting it, as the platform is updating constantly. The only thing that I can complain about is the notification, as they pop up in the middle of the screen, but that's more of slight irritation, rather than some major flaw to be pointed out.

Corbin
Account Services Manager in U.S.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

4 year customer. Five9 is simple yet robust, meeting most of our needs.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Robust reporting, simple agent interface, no expensive software or equipment required, very supportive and available customer service. Quickly Scaleable. Great for small, medium, and large call centers.

Cons:

Agent script requires HTML to write and is only one page. If call flow can be complicated, this is a problem. Dynamic scripting is a need for us as we grow, so this is becoming a problem. If a feature does not exist, if you put in a feature request. It is highly unlikely that they will develop the future you need though. We have experienced 3-5 service outages over there almost 4 years we have used them. This has lost us money. If they had a good interface for texting, emailing, and chatting with customers, that would be nice as well.

Five9 Response

5 years ago

Hello Corbin, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're glad to hear Five9 is working well for you. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your account manager with any questions or feedback about the features we offer. We're here to help.

Wendee
Reset Specialist in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My job my life

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use this on a daily basis for my job. Over 3 years now I've been using it and whenever i have any issues even slight, they are there to help me thru it. There's been a few times I've had my own pc issues and they have been there to help me get it going and back onto work. Love this software.

Pros:

This is the software I use to do my job daily. I've used it for over 3 years now and it is exceptional. It hasn't lead me wrong at all and even at times I have a slight issue, the tech support is superb and very helpful, patient and kind. I wouldn't be able to do my job and keep my job if this wasn't such a great software program.

Cons:

Only thing i can say I dislike about it would be not being able to enlarge font during chat usage, but it's such a minor thing that I don't even notice and someday it will probably be changed as well.

Five9 Response

4 years ago

Hello Wendee, Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you love our software and our customer support. Please let us know if we can ever be of service.

Kevin
Kevin
Technical Support Representative in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the most call center software that you can find today

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is very astounding , the software itself is again very easy to use, support is always ready to help you, very recommendable to my friends and I am looking forward to use Five9 in the years to come.

Pros:

From the very first day I started using Five9 I was amazed by how this software can do for you, it is very user-friendly and most of all their support team is very helpful. Doing inbound and outbound calls to people is very easy and It makes my job a lot more easier than the usual.

Cons:

Everytime that there is an update on the software there will be errors that will pop right after, or giving me a hard time logging in again, I hope that they can do something about this very soon.

Five9 Response

4 years ago

Hello Kevin, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves with having the best customer support team in the industry and it's great to hear you would recommend Five9 to your friends. Please let us know if you ever have any questions - we're here to help you succeed.

Stephanie
Sr. IT & Telecomm Admin in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Five9

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been using the software for more than 6 years. Five9 was able to help create custom reports & be able to download files at a certain time. Were also able to help with the recording of calls & help us remain compliant at the same time

Pros:

works as a dialer should. easy visibility to what the Agent is currently doing or has done throughout the day. easily customizable (Supervisor screen). Tons of reports available without having to customize. Able to customize the Agents screens with fields available. Very little downtime or issues & have the ability to activate GR fairly quickly. always are aware of any maintenance & downtime expected (a couple of weeks notice normally)

Cons:

sometimes following up on open tickets take longer than it should. Accessing an Engineer is not always easy. Limited to customize some screens. If there are issues, difficult to find out as not very forthcoming of information