Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.2 /5

About BigCommerce

B2B eCommerce platform that helps businesses manage orders, products, customers, revenue, reports, shopping carts, and payments.

Learn more about BigCommerce

Showing 182 reviews

Harsha V.
Application engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-31

"Best online platform for start-ups and beginners to innovate business."

Comments: This platform helps in starting a new business for starters. The user interface is user friendly in which the products can be built easily with great security. The support in this Application is very helpful in expanding the products over the globe.

Pros: The feature available in this application helps to learn about the current market and help us to build the dedicated products. The marketing of our products online through different applications like Instagram helps in a major Part. The user interface and Mobile user friendly is very helpful. The detailed marketing helps in developing the business overall the globe.

Cons: The themes while building the platform is quite expensive and editing feature can be added which helps in major role. The interface can be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-03-31
Tom B.
Marketing Manager
Building Materials, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-22

"Big Commerce Web Development E-Commere"

Comments: All-in-all, BigCommerce is fairly easy to use and I am happy with the template selection. But, the key is some of the plug-ins like Shogun.

Pros: Once I got the hang of using plug-in software like ShoGun for landing page development, BigCommerce became pretty easy to use.

Cons: The software is not as customizable as I would like. I wanted to add size selection to a base item. But, instead, I had to list multiple size variations of the same product color.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-09-22
Verified Reviewer
Operations Manager
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-04-16

"Ecommerce Platform with Great Customer Service"

Comments: In general, I am very satisfied with the product. It serves its purpose for a reliable and easy to set up ecommerce platform with lowmaintenance cost.

Pros: Although the platform offers a lot of features for an ecommerce business to be able to run daily operations and analyze data, my favourite part by far is the fact that it has a great customer service. Every time when there is an issue with the website or we have questions, we can chat with a representative from Bigcommerce. Their customer service is very reliable and knowledgeable. No waiting on the phone, no back and fort transferring between reps. Technical support is right there for you.

Cons: I wish there were more applications that can be easily integrated. Compared to Shopify, Bigcommerce doesn't offer as vast variety of options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-04-16
Joe A.
Marketing Manager
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-04

"Good platform depending on your business needs."

Comments: We use Bigcommerce to run our E-commerce business. Overall, we are satisfied with the platform and it gets the job done.

Pros: The layout is fairly easy to navigate and the support team is helpful when we have issues. We went with Bigcommerce because we were having issues with Shopify with the timing and capturing of payments.

Cons: Bigcommerce is very limited in design options when compared to platforms such as Shopify, Wordpress and Magento. I would recommend going with one of them depending on your business needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-02-04
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operations Officer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-13

"An excellent hosting e-commerce platform with almost all enterprise features"

Comments: We have migrated our Magento 1 site to BigCommerce after ongoing frustration with Magento 2.3 extension quality and caching issues. We've achieved a lot in a 2 week period and launched in a month.

Pros: The stability of it is great. The admin UI is very easy to use and intuitive. It has advanced pricing controls and other B2B features. The templates are great and we really saved a lot of time with a customization. If you have strong e-commerce skills in house, I honestly believe you can be live in a month or two. We found ourselves solving lots of problems that we'd normally require a developer for. It's very robust if you can stay on its rails. There are a lot of plug-ins, although some are expensive with monthly subscriptions.

Cons: The standard shipping features are very lacking and basic, and the solution is to use a plug-in. Although a free account with the plug-in is provided, it's inadequate and a subscription ended up costing us hundreds of dollars a month. The shipping system is even inadequate for basic stores. It's also lacking some functionality like product priority within categories, and limits faceted filters to 12 which required us to re-jig a bit of stuff and remove some filters. So the merchandising can be limiting at times. We could also do with native support for SVG images, and a static block CMS. Support is slow and you can be waiting 2 days for a reply. So although it is easy to use, if you do hit a wall, you need to wait a while for support. However, even with these caveats, we still found it to be a better solution to what we were using.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-13
Verified Reviewer
Director & Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11

"Bigcommerce may not be the biggest name in eCommerce, though it's great as a user and developer"

Comments: I've used Bigcommerce for new businesses with clients unfamiliar with website or eCommerce management, and have managed to set them up comfortably with an eCommerce site that is easy to update and maintain a blog on.

Pros: Bigcommerce is very developer and user friendly. I found it to be stand out when developing a custom theme, and was able to easily integrate a clients inventory system and train them to use the system faster than with competing tools.

Cons: I don't have a great deal of trouble with Bigcommerce. I think the main gripe is that abandoned cart recovery requires a more pricey monthly plan. This feature would be great for smaller businesses trying to get started.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-11
Moises S.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-06-02

"Perfect tool to develop an eCommerce"

Comments: Since we use BigCommerce it is easier to develop websites, in other platforms the development time is longer, with this tool in one day I can have my store online.

Pros: This platform is perfect for creating an online store, it has too many themes and applications to complement the website, it is easy to use and anyone without previous experience in web development can do it. I also like that the security of the website is excellent.

Cons: I think the bad thing about this site is that they don't allow you to export the website, only some features like products, customers and some basic features. The code of the website belongs to them, so if I want to migrate to Wordpress for example, it is not possible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-06-02
Verified Reviewer
Breakpack Orderfiller
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-14

"An elegant platform, just lacking some features found elsewhere."

Pros: Beautiful and modern themes allow you to easily make a website that will attract customers into your online store or blog. There are numerous customization options, such as embedding another website's video, photo, blog post, etc. You can customize nearly any aspect of the website, like background, font, color, and the like. Making a store is simple as well, and they only charge a flat fee, so adding additional options is easy and doesn't cost anything extra, which isn't the case with some comparable competitors.

Cons: While the themes themselves are quite customizable, there is a very limited quantity of different themes to choose from in the first place (before you start customizing them), which leads each customization of a specific theme to end up looking and feeling somewhat similar. So, if too many people use a certain theme, it could end up becoming recognizable and seeming like a website version of a "stock photo". Fleshed out websites fully loaded with features and add-ons can be slow to load and have longer response times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-14
Caitlin D.
Logistics Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-04

"Bigcommerce has given our growing business great insight to the e-commerce world."

Pros: Ease of use. This has been useful when training new hires. It is very easy to use. The navigation is very straight forward. When dealing with customers it is very helpful. Webinars are appreciated. We used them frequently when looking into selling on Amazon. Support portal is straight forward when a problem arises.

Cons: I do not like the analytics page. I do not find them effective. I wish they were easier to use and gave you straight forward data on the dashboard. Customizing reports is a challenge as well. This should be easier to use and more intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-04
David G.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-06

"Ideal solition for a dedicated solution."

Comments: Over multiple stores, we have always managed to achieve what the client needs. The stores are robust and the pricing is reasonable. BigCommerce is a very dynamic company and I enjoying watching their progress.

Pros: BigCommerce is a dedicated ecommerce platform and is thus very suited for any store from simple to sophisticated. The system has an abundance of features and a growing number of apps (plugins) that are available to increase the funtionality. Support is excellent and you can actually call them up and find a very helpful and knowledgable person at the other end.

Cons: Lots to love but because it is a hosted platform (by BigCommerce) there are some limitations on which parts of the code you can get access to. The flip side of this is that BigCommerce take care more/most of the behind the scenes work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-06
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-17

"Great for Small Businesses"

Comments: Bigcommerce helped our business to start with a webpage. The customer service is great and they are always open to new ideas.

Pros: The ease of using Bigcommerce was a huge plus for our business. It was easy to navigate and program the software to fit our business needs.

Cons: The options for adding different clothing options didn’t exist making it difficult for our customers to choose their sizes in the drop down sections.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-03-17
Brien W.
owner
Arts & Crafts, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27

"Lack of innovation"

Comments: tech support is great. Would I make the change now that i know what I know about how big commerce just cares about apps and not making the features native I would have not picked them.

Pros: It is stable. User interface is good. Best Tech support I have ever had from a shopping cart.

Cons: Big Commerce is missing may native features that other shopping carts have already built in. The number one feature is instock notify you have to pay for and since they have apps for it they will never make it native. There store search is one of the worst but f you pay for a app you can get a better search. Also problem when you do find a app there is a big chance that support for the app is a hit or miss.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-10-27
Jake C.
ecommerce analyst
Internet, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-05

"Very feature-packed, especially for the price. Bigcommerce has a lot to offer!"

Comments: Excellent ecommerce. Possibly the best I've ever experienced, but that's hard to claim as everyone has different needs, but Bigcommerce certainly works extremely well for us. The entry-level plans are way worth the cost and allow many businesses at any size level to utilize BC to their advantage

Pros: -Price for what you get is outstanding
-Entry-level features aren't barebones like you might see w/ other alternatives
-Excellent customer support staff - helpful, timely, & efficient
-Ease of use is great, makes it easier for us to onboard new employees, which is always great
-The developer community is something nice to tap into as well as contribute to
-Stock templates are excellent
-Very reliable platoform

Cons: This isn't an issue for us, because we have a few dev's on hand, but you really might want to have a developer if you're going to use Bigcommerce AND you want a fully-customized website. Keep in mind if this is something in your needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-12-05
Muddassar B.
Retail Store Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-18

"The best Online Platform to Build an eCommerce Business"

Comments: My overall experience with BigCommerce is so nice because I have designed a number of online stores using BigCommerce. I really like the templates and all features of this platform.

Pros: BigCommerce is a powerful eCommerce platform that allows you to design a stunning online store. You can design with freedom using BigCommerce. Because the dashboard of BigCommerce is really awesome, easy to learn and understand.

Cons: As an eCommerce user and website developer I never faced any issues in BigCommerce. I found it so awesome for my business requirements without problems and cons.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-05-18
Verified Reviewer
Community Editor
Publishing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-29

"BigCommerce helped me get online fast so I could start selling right away."

Pros: I like that BigCommerce is fairly easy to use. You don't need to be a web developer to get a basic website up and running.

Cons: BigCommerce lacks some functionality like bulk importing quantity pricing. This would be a big help for large inventory store. They offer basic themes, but in order to customize your store you need to pay extra for a better theme and will likely need help with customization from a developer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-29
Ben M.
CSM
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-08

"One of the best Ecomm CMS's!"

Comments: My clients use this for managing their website content and I do their SEO.

Pros: I like how much I can control with my SEO for product and category pages with this CMS compared to most of the competition.

Cons: I don't like how there are still basic SEO functions that are difficult to navigate with BigCommerce. However, compared to almost all of the competition, BigCommerce is one of the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-08
Laure S.
Owner
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-21

"I have been using Big Commerce for a couple years now. It is simple and easy to navigate."

Comments: Benefits include ease of use.

Pros: For a beginner, it is user friendly and prices reasonably. It is easy to list items for the most part.

Cons: The only thing I would say is a little more cumbersome, is when listing variations. It has a few too many steps involved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-21
Jhonathan R.
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-14

"Got love Ecommerce which is a pleasure on Big Commerce"

Pros: Bigcommerce was one of the first platforms I used after moving from Joomla back in 2011. It has been nothing but great experience with bigcommerce. I always find myself using them over and over again for my clients since they are easy to use for customers on the dashboard side and simple design. There would be no other platform I would use for e-commerce!

Cons: I don't like the themes which sometimes can be frustrating. Even if pay for the designs the designers take forever to respond which can be a deal breaker. I usually will fix the problem myself but for those who don't code it will be very frustrating!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-14
Verified Reviewer
Independent Contract Attorney at Epiq Legal
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-29

"Easy to Use - but Costly and Limited"

Comments: It isn't self hosted and there's a lot of associated costs. This is good and bad: you aren't entirely on your own but you'll pay for that. If you're willing to accept the costs and limitations, you can really lean into the things Big Commerce does well.

Pros: Big Commerce makes it very easy to get an online shopping platform up and running. It's very quick and the platform will make it easy to handle shopping carts, merchant providers, taxes, shipping - you name it. It's a turnkey solution and it does that very well.

Cons: You're completely limited with Big Commerce - this isn't a self hosted solution, so you're paying for everything. And everything is an extra - shop themes to redesign your user experience, revenue tracking, it really feels like the entire experience is designed to funnel you toward paying more money. To be fair, there aren't really "hidden costs" here - but the finer points of managing your shop are behind additional paywalls.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-29
Shelby F.
Business Solution Strategist
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-09

"NONE of my expectations met"

Comments: BigCommerce has met NONE of my expectations and all I’ve asked for is basic functionality. They constantly steer me toward expensive apps that do not integrate seamlessly. Every app I’ve installed has caused a problem with another app or the native functionality of the platform. Simple desires have been turned into nightmares and BigCommerce has offered no support. They also refuse to assign us an account manager even though we’re an enterprise customer. I beg you, DO NOT sign up for one of their plans. You will regret it.

Pros: BigCommerce has a minimal learning curve. I breezed though the backend even on my first day using it.

Cons: BigCommerce charges WAY too much when all they really offer is the ability to integrate with other apps which also charge way too much. Their platform is a rabbit hole.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020-12-09
Mike L.
sales
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-19

"Great software thats come a long ways"

Pros: I have used this software for years and it has really improved. Very user friendly

Cons: There are still some weird integrations with google shopping and some other platforms

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-19
Jessica F.
Sales
Furniture, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-16

"I use Big Commerce every day for my job."

Comments: Able to do my job easily.

Pros: This software seems to be very easy to use. Very simple setup and easy to manage. I've had to teach people to use the program which went very smoothly.

Cons: The one negative thing about this program would be the lack of functions. I think there should be more options available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-16
Verified Reviewer
Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-18

"Big commerce is a simple ecommerce platform and you can be up and running same day"

Pros: It has the best way to provide a google shopping feed I have ever seen. It makes it quick and simple with regular updates.

Cons: There isnt a lot of 3rd party type customizations. It feels like you are limited by what "comes in the box" per say.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-18
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-26

"Big bang for your buck!"

Pros: It's inexpensive and easy to get started. Has all of the critical ecommerce tools and some extras. First started using them about 5 years ago. Template system took some getting used to but support was helpful.

Cons: From what I recall, the coupon system had some trouble but they fixed it. Some of the template features made it too hard to customize for a picky designer. Nothing major though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-26
Verified Reviewer
President
Tobacco, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-16

"Great for first time e-commerce sites"

Pros: It was easy to set up, maintain, and run an online store using BigCommerce.

Cons: Although it offers some code customization, private developers cannot access code levels deep enough to do deep integrations. Sure, they have API, but sometimes, it's easier to do things without having to use API.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-07-16