15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Vena Reviews

4.6 (102) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Vena

Reduce reporting, budgeting & close times by 50% with Vena—the only Complete Planning platform natively integrated with Microsoft 365.

Learn more about Vena

Pros:

Ease of use and retention of the all familiar Excel.

Cons:

The cut and paste feature takes a while specially since I work with big files.

Vena ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Vena has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 102 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Vena before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (102)

Nelson
Nelson
Sotfware Engenier in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is a professional and dynamic tool

5.0 last year

Comments: It's a straightforward tool that allows me to perform multiple tasks in one panel, it has effective formulas, allowing me to perform qualitative and quantitative analyzes with greater precision. In addition, when delivering these reports, I can reflect them in graphics that are easy to understand for others while still respecting the presentation’s professionalism. Another feature I like and have improved is the panel that can be personalized in the most used choices to organize it better.

Pros:

Vana is a software that allows to carry out tasks either financial or accounting in a customized way by means of calculation sheets and templates very similar to the established Excel tool, except that in this opportunity offers a greater number of options that conform to the specific requirements required by the current administrative systems of the enterprises. With this program, automated reports can be made enabling the preparation of managerial plans, with a high level of protection that will enable you to function without fear of filtering such data. It adapts very well to different industries and enables archives to be imported and exported quickly

Cons:

The monthly cost of the tool is very high relative to other similar ones, but of course, it should be remembered that it is a tool targeted at medium and large businesses, so that the price for large organizations can be manageable.

Blessed
Blessed
IT Consultant in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Airlines/Aviation, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pocket friendly and simple User Interface.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Mostly on business management it's automatic and accurate. Then a little bit in financial Services when it comes to small accounting problems.

Pros:

Business processes management on my case has been made fast and easy to track.Every department works on accounts basis and with vena it's easy to lay out all financial requirements in department and balance budget and financial consumption.

Cons:

Nothing to be precise I have used it for specific time and it's been helpful.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Coming full circle - back to excel?

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have used a handful of popular systems in my 10-year career. When I first heard of Excel focused planning tools I was at first excited. How can a system that solves for the very tool that all of finance uses go wrong? In the beginning, FPA wanted to get out of Excel and have one version of the truth. Then the industry pivoted back to Excel with a bunch of intermixed features between Excel and cloud solutions workflow. With that, issues arise such as..If everything is Excel based, is it just easier to use Excel? Sadly Vena, and many others like them, fall short with the basic product offering equation. What problem are you actually solving for? The balance between a native Excel feeling and the Vena software controlling it feels under-developed. And how can it not be? If you solve for Excel then you stray from the Vena platform, if you focus on Vena platform you move away from Excel. The result is a mediocre product at best. Here is a basic example. In Excel you can group columns, easy. In Vena, you can write simple code on the report to hide a column. In the same report you can use one or the other, or both, the results are reports with frustrating formatting quirks. Though there are some pluses to Vena, I would think twice about committing to it as it is not a robust planning tool. The main question you, the user, should ask is the following.” Do I buy into the future where Excel (a system owner my Microsoft) really the future of financial planning software?

Pros:

Honestly, if you have used other planning software, I can not really say there is much.

Cons:

• No web interface that shows your financials. All financials must be displayed through reports that you build through Excel. Yes, you can pull intersection data and get a dump, but that is cumbersome. • Loading headcount takes up to an hour to load since it needs to be customized. • Mapping a report takes too long. You must map not just columns and rows, but the “page”, or global like dimensions. Vena should be smart enough to know this without the user, it is not. • Mapping a report takes way too much space. You can not nest a query within a cell. • Hard running a report with two global assumptions. You have to create another intersection mapping. • Hard to audit a complicated report, hence you are incentivized not to, therefore what is the point? • Reports and input sheets can exist on the same report sheet. Though useful at times, it is easy to override data and can get confusing. Though you sometimes have to do it for modeling purposes. • The software learning curve peaks too early. I understand having a simple software, but not at the expense of functionality. • Writing intricate code to help automate financial planning is not practical. There is only a primitive editor, and no result box that guides you. Our consultants told us do not even try because they seldom touch it. Specifically, it is extremely hard to validate what is occurring. • Building a three-statement model is a disaster. Imagine building a balance sheet, but not being able to pull a number from the

Adriana
Adriana
Site Engineer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Vena Project Cost Estimate and Budgeting Functions are Nice.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Vena calculations are accurate and the financial data report building is excellent and the permission management capability is impressive and i also like the compliance easy management functions.

Pros:

This platform is a true financial data management software and its Accountability is productive. Resource planning and the Construction projects expense management and the Equipment management and also payroll management capability is helpful on business production.

Cons:

The Vena features are very simple to set and even to non technical users is easy to start Vena manipulation through basic experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best tools for Sales Performance and Management Platfrom

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Solid analytics, reporting features, and Advanced analytics capabilities, such as predictive analytics or advanced data visualizations, are benefits to gaining deeper insights into sales performance.

Pros:

Comprehensive Sales Performance Management (SPM) solution designed to help organizations streamline and optimize. Future allows for the equitable distribution of targets and territories, ensuring sales teams have clear objectives and aligned incentives.

Cons:

I don't have any corn. SPM set of features and capabilities to streamline sales processes and optimize sales performance. Overall flexibility, user-friendly interface, and focus on data accuracy and security make it a valuable choice. And I recommended it.

Meagan
Meagan
Project Lead in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Financial Reporting Product with Easy Options.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: The payroll management and transaction tracking using Vena is excellent. The data analytics and budgeting is effective and i also like data integration capability.

Pros:

Vena Accounting capabilities are effective and i also love the invoicing tools and on different Construction projects workflow management.The data management, tracking of various project expense through Vena is productive and the access control is perfect.

Cons:

Vena has absolutely nothing to dislike or even the performance issues found. Easy and productive services generation.

Smith
Smith
Project Engineer in Norway
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vena is the Effective and Reliable Auditing and Accounting Easy Tools.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Suitable to create accurate and professional real time data analytics and the access control features are quite profitable.

Pros:

I really like how Vena reports on various project financial data and the tools for workflow management and easy to manage multiple transactions data securely. The easy insights obtaining and sharing financial reports across teams is amazing.

Cons:

Highly effective cost management and resource management tool and no error at all from Vena functions and capabilities.

Ellie
Ellie
Site Supervisor in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vena is an Effective and Powerful Access Control System.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Flexible expense management and very cost effective compliance management platform with a very friendly interface.

Pros:

Easy to manage Accounts and the Construction project workflow management through Vena is amazing and the ability to integrate financial data and multiple project document management is quite excellent and effective.

Cons:

Highly functional platform for financial data handling and it's very easy to custom all the functionalities and quality of services is good.

Hannah
Hannah
Information Technology Manager in Hungary
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Accounting and Effective Reconciliation Platform.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Easy tracing different transactions and the Asset allocation and cost estimation functionality on Vena is productive and the financial integration is perfect.

Pros:

Vena financial data analytics creation and financial insights collection across other Accounting products is easy and the Construction project expense tracking and payment management Vena is amazing.

Cons:

Vena is simple to custom all the features to improve performance and I have zero error that I can recall from Vena.

Jason
Jason
Sales Support Associate in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helpful and Functional Reports Creation Platform with Flexible Features.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Great financial data integration solution and tracing multiple project transactions and employees easy payment management system.

Pros:

Vena offers the most responsive financial data management functions and creating professional financial data analytics and the Account Payable functions are incredible.

Cons:

Quite simple platform on deployment and adjusting of its various financial data handling features was easy and nothing to dislike.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vena - returning customer

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

- Flexibility of the tool to build your own universe of workflows and reports- Excel-based- Sense of community created by the Vena marketing team

Cons:

- Rocky integration with our accounting system (needed external help)

Alternatives Considered: Datarails and Anaplan

Brandon
Director of FP&A in US
Financial Services Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Clear Cut Easy to Operate Tool

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: The experience has been amazing. The team that assisted with the implementation was great, the sales team was extremely helpful, and the after care has been phenomenal.

Pros:

If you know Excel - you'll be able to master Vena! The ease of use is amazing and the possibilities are endless in how you use this tool.

Cons:

There are very few cons with this tool. I would say that the implementation is intense but that's by design. No one wants to be implementing the tool as they go!!

Anubhav
Consultant in India
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Organization oriented financial instrument.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Loved the overall performance. It can positively impact our organization based on its unique features.

Pros:

Vena impressed us with its capabilities for ensuring adherence to tax and accounting requirements. It can generate tax reports, figure out taxes owed, and make submitting tax returns easier, lowering the possibility of mistakes and fines. For seamless data flow and process automation, it also connects with other corporate systems including customer relationship management (CRM) software and inventory management systems.

Cons:

There were some problems during installation which made us contact the support team.

Megan
Financial Reporting Supervisor in US
Insurance Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vena for Finance Department

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Vena has greatly decreased our monthly-close time and made journal entries, financial reporting, and reconciliations much more efficient and easy to complete.

Cons:

There is a learning curve and it can take time to set up reports/etc. on the front end.

Philip
Chief HR Officer in Lithuania
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Exceptional and stunning Budgeting Tool.

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

It's a reliable tool for financial planning and analysis that performs excellently.It is simple to plan,track and manage cash flows with Vena.It is simple to prepare financial reports using this tool.It is convenient tool when used for financial budgeting and forecasting.

Cons:

My experience with Vena has been outstanding and satisfactory thus I lack any drawback to highlight.

Mahamood
Data Analyst in India
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Vena - Reporting Genie

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Decision making has never been easier. Visualization and automation of reports has been exceptional. Training the people to Understand all the features of Vena can be time consuming.

Pros:

Best part of Vena is the customization and flexibility it offers along with the scalability. The ability of it to automate the reports makes mundane tasks easier. When paired with data visualization features of Vena, it makes decision making easy to do.

Cons:

Integration of Vena with certain CRM software is an issue that needs to be improved.

Daniel
Senior Consultant in India
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absolutely brilliant business oriented accounting software

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Got to try it once, I truly recommend this to all CPA's and accounting firms

Pros:

I respect the accuracy and speed with which Vena records transactions / accounting entries and generates spectacular financial report and balance sheet, is simply amazing.

Cons:

Some ledger accounts take a lot of time to pass on entries to final accounts

Glen
VP Finance in Canada
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Vena is Great!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Vena was great and their implementation team really understood what we were trying to accomplish.

Pros:

It allows my team to report click of a button and spend time analyzing rather than preparing.

Cons:

relying on the integration team to meet our timelines.

Alternatives Considered: Workday Adaptive Planning

Reasons for Switching to Vena: I liked how vena layered on top of excel.

Melinda
Learning & Development Manager in UK
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Exceptionally beneficial accounting management tool

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

The benefits that I like the most about Vena is that it automatically tally taxes, compiles tax figures, and assures proper tax is filed, hence it makes tax compliance simpler. It also now easier for me to stay up-to-date on tax laws and decreases the likelihood of mistakes leading to consequences.

Cons:

The finance reports need to be more elaborative to gain further insights.

Greg
Accounting Manager in Canada
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Strong financial reporting structure

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Consolidated Financial Statements, departmental/locational financial statements, and Budgeting/Forecasting

Pros:

Vena has great ways to connect and link your business' data, allowing you to logically build out reports and views of whatever statements your business will require.

Cons:

Sometimes the structure of Excel can create challenges or delays because it is possible to overload the abilities of the Excel but the comfort of a system everyone is already familiar with outweighs the challenges.

Tobin
Controller in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Add super powers to your Excel templates

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I don't have to learn SQL programming languages or wait around for my computer department to do something . I can manage everything myself.

Cons:

Being a young company, they need more demonstrations, downloaded working files to build users skills.

Drew
Accounting Manager in US
Sports, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

The implementation team was extremely helpful bringing us online. Would like to give a personal shout out to [sensitive content hidden] that was willing to help me through my extensive questions and emails.

Cons:

I would say just the learning curve to navigating the program.

Eric
Program and Project Management in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It has helped us remain on top of the game, by providing timely and informative plans

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: We were trying to look ahead to ensure that we have capacity perform across all business season; Vena is exactly what we needed

Pros:

We didnt to overhaul the existing system, which made it easier to adopt the product

Cons:

Integration was smooth and we did not experience any onboarding issues

Büra
Büra
IT Project Manager in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Effective and reliable auditing and accounting tool

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall, we have managed to save time, enhance our workflows, establish a single data version accessible to all participants in the process.

Pros:

Vena leverages the robustness and user friendly interface of Microsoft Excel, simplifying the process for users to work with familiar spreadsheets while enhancing control, data integrity, and collaboration features. Vena streamlines the consolidation of data from multiple sources, facilitating centralized and automated data aggregation. It can extract data rom various sources such as databases and ERP systems, reducing the reliance on manual data collection and the potential for human errors.

Cons:

Creating intricate custom templates can be a time consuming endeavor. The process can become frustrating when building reports with intricate details, especially if the report malfunctions or is incorrectly mapped.

Trenton
Financial Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The ease of use is a big plus for me, but the consistent rollout of buggy updates is frustrating

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use is a big plus for me. Was able to pick up a majority of the best practices within a couple weeks of use

Cons:

I realize you are continually trying to enhance the product, but quality has been faulted in the past couple months.