HIPAA One Reviews

4.8 (43) Write a Review!

About HIPAA One

The HIPAA One helps organizations who interact with protected health information to increase the security and privacy of those records.

Learn more about HIPAA One

Pros:

Ease of answering questionnaires. Legal Reference easily viewable and documented.

Cons:

Last year, I was assisting in the process (and not the lead) and in the meetings I sat in on, the auditor was abrasive and almost rude.

HIPAA One ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

HIPAA One has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 43 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (43)

Sort by

Have you used HIPAA One before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (43)

Nam
Nam
Physician Assistant in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Must have for hipaa protection

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I think this is an important software for all healthcare practices to ensure HIPAA compliance. Reasonable for its price

Cons:

You need some training to use this software

Grace
IT Director in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HIPAA One to the Rescue

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Prior to working with HIPAA One, we tried numerous time consuming and frustrating approaches/products to perform and document our security risk assessments. The results were complicated and confusing spreadsheets that were difficult to understand and not useful for developing a remediation plan. We originally purchased the Security Assessment product and liked it so much we purchased the Privacy package. The HIPAA One team is responsive, knowledgeable, and professional. Overall, this has been a positive experience for our organization!

Pros:

HIPAA One provides us with an easy way to; document our risk assessment results, create and coordinate our policies, develop an understandable and meaningful remediation plan, track and update our progress against our plan, and report results.

Cons:

Navigation from the home screen is not as intuitive as we would like it to be. However, after using the product for awhile we don't have any problems.

Mike
Administrator in U.S.
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bad

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience was not very good. They were hard to deal with and I quickly left after only using the product for one year.

Pros:

There was nothing that I liked about this software.

Cons:

The service was horrible. They were rude when you talked to them, if they would return your call.

jessica
Clinic Supervisor in U.S.
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HIPAA ONE

5.0 last year

Comments: Safe, secure, saving information in one place to manage all secure information for medical practice.

Pros:

User friendly. Easy to manage progress in the software when updating information, changing information, both adding to current information and new information.

Cons:

Occasionally, it felt as if the same or similar information was needed in multiple fields, working with customer service support helped clear up the expectations needed to provide information.

Selma
Director of Operations/Chief Privacy Officer in U.S.
Insurance Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

USER FRIENDLY

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Because we are a vendor for insurance companies, they require HIPAA compliance in place. HIPAAONE has given us the solution to be compliant and updated. With the efficiency of security and reliability, we are able to stay focused on our business services.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use. Forms and documents pre-made.

Cons:

The details, however, I understand because of the regulations, more details the better.

Carol
U.S.
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

A streamlined solution!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The HIPAA One Security Risk Assessment software is efficient, user-friendly, and streamlined. A lot of thought and attention has been put into the design of the workflow to save the user time and understand the complexities of the HIPAA Security Rule standards. The template Policies and Procedures available are a welcome added benefit to this solution. This really sets this solution apart from others. Some of the user interface experience can be improved (e.g. remediation process of assessment questions are not grouped by staff role leading to user searching through all questions), but overall the company has been extremely receptive to comments and show an earnest desire to keep making their product better. The support team has been exceptionally helpful for any matter, little or big. They are quick to respond and their responses are thorough and detailed. Overall, HIPAA One is a great solution for any practice size working towards HIPAA compliance, due to its streamlined design, ease of use and attention to what HIPAA auditors typically look for.

Michael
Security Officer in U.S.
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great company to work with for walking through HIPAA compliance and setting company policies

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is an excellent compliance auditor and was very helpful in explaining each step and the purpose.

Cons:

If you are assigned the wrong compliance auditor, the process can be somewhat painful. Last year, I was assisting in the process (and not the lead) and in the meetings I sat in on, the auditor was abrasive and almost rude. When I was assigned [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] this year, it was night and day. Working with HIPAA One this year was a pleasure.

Brad
Privacy & Security Lead in U.S.
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Very happy power user/Sponsor

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: HIPAA compliance is never fun but HIPAA One is the most user-friendly compliance tool I've ever used. It does a great job of breaking down the 80-90 separate parts and pieces of the Security Rule in a way that is (relatively) understandable by the majority of our clients. I like that clients can upload supporting documentation on the front end, as they are answering the interview questions, as well as on the back end, as they are working on their risk mitigation plan -- this really makes the tool an auditor's dream. I also like the fact that a repeat customer's prior assessment responses are pre-loaded into their current assessment -- this saves time and effort which our clients appreciate. But the most impressive aspect of HIPAA One has to be the team supporting it. Kent, Bobby, Paul, Steven, and the rest of the team are an impressive, engaged, and readily responsive group that are always interested in feedback on their web-based tool and ways to make it even better. Overall we couldn't be happier with HIPAA One!

Tereasa
Associate Director in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Service, Great Product

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The customer support is outstanding. When I have questions the responses are always prompt and thorough. The staff go out of their way to make this process as easy as possible. Working with Rep has been wonderful. She's very professional and knowledgeable.

Pros:

The review is extremely thorough and criteria are promptly updated each time the regulations change.

Cons:

Given the nature of the review required, the multiple entries can seem a little tedious as information needs to be entered by site. In some cases, the info is the same, but in other cases it's not. Honestly, I cannot blame the software - it was designed to meet OCR requirements.

stan
dentist in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

hipaa one

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like that it has all necessary forms that i can customize to my business and that it backs is up to $100,000 assurance.

Pros:

I like that it contains templates that I can customize and use as my own. It saves me a lot of time from finding the information and forms that I need from various government agencies.

Cons:

It is very complete but it so doing it has much information to go through to find what is extremely relevant to me.

Bill
Senior Director of IT in U.S.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Software use and process

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great people who understand the landscape and are there to help.

Pros:

The software and HIPAAOne consultants made an otherwise complex and overwhelming process manageable and straightforward.

Cons:

Would like to see a calendaring/scheduling feature that maps out all the important duties based on the Policy templates. I could then use this feature to be aware of upcoming obligations and track new activity against policy.

Glenn
Information Security Officer in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HIPAA One Risk Assessment Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: HIPAA One has worked with our clinic to provide us with a workable HIPAA Risk Assessment.

Pros:

Vendor is professional and always willing to help. They are responsive to questions and eager to use email or teleconferences.

Cons:

Some of the online instructions are marginally vague; however, HIPAA One are easy to question and provide comprehensive answers.

Joe
IT Manager in U.S.
Higher Education Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HIPAA One review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Super easy to use and manage. References actual Standard best practices. Onsite walk thru was very eye opening and much appreciated.

Cons:

does the job. not looking for it to do much more.

Orlando
RDH in U.S.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great office tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We love it in our office and we know we are in good hands and so our patients by using a software like this one.

Pros:

Is very easy to use and helps guard all important information in order to be HIPAA compliant. I definitely recommend this program.

Cons:

Its a little confusing when navigating thru it the first time since it has a very diverse menu.

Julie
CIO in U.S.
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very easy to follow and kept us on track for finishing in a timely manner

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Helped us get an organized and complete SRA!

Pros:

Very organized and easy to follow. The dashboard gave an instant status as to what needed done and who needed to do it. Email reminders are also great. Customer support was excellent and responded almost immediately to our questions. Onsite visit was very informative and eye opening. Staff is very knowledgeable.

Cons:

Some questions were a little vague. If asking if there is an existing policy, it should be stated in the question and not in the NIST description

Lyn
Healthcare Professional in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Helpful program to keep you compliant

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good program to give you the reassurance that you are staying HIPAA compliant.

Pros:

Relatively easy and straightforward to use, also helps you stay up to date with any industry legislation changes.

Cons:

Not as user-friendly at first, need to get used to the program navigation. Also, some training is required to use the program.

kristi
admin in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HIPAA Done Right

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I like not worrying about all the different HIPAA laws and not knowing if my office is HIPAA compliant. I can now relax knowing that my office is up to date.

Cons:

Everything is great. I wouldn't change anything and there is nothing that i dislike

Michael
Risk Analyst in U.S.
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very helpful team at HIPPA One

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use- step by step everything was laid out, helpful team to walk me through the process,

Cons:

Would have liked to have some of the questions written less complex. I do not come from a HIPPA background, so some help text would have been useful

Doug
Executive Director in U.S.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

HIPAA SRA

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Our rep was very helpful. With her guidance the process went very smoothly.

Cons:

easily navigated with help. Not intuitive at first glance

Jason
Controller in U.S.
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SRA

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use. Very well organized and intuitive.

Cons:

We had no major issues with the software.

Jeffrey
COO in U.S.
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Seamless Transition ; Easy to Train New Staff

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great experience so far to date. Staff are knowledgeable and responsive. Privacy Risk Analysis was completed effortlessly. Report was comprehensive and well received by Board. Staff was easily able to work within the software and understand requirements.

Pros:

Ease of answering questionnaires. Legal Reference easily viewable and documented. Files intended to meet element easily attach. Comprehensive Report is issued at the end of the analysis.

Cons:

Vendor Management Tool for Business Associates could have more robust features.

Donald
President in U.S.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review of HIPAA One

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: See the Pros above. Additionally we can now provide our customers with Certification from a reputable third party that we are striving continually to meet HIPAA requirements.

Pros:

It was a great guide to help us improve our HIPAA compliance and game out our remediation. I now feel confident that the Company is on the right path in this on-going process. To have endeavored to do this without the assistance of HIPPA One would have been a daunting, almost impossible, task.

Cons:

To this point in our experience, I would be hard pressed to say there was a least liked feature to the software.

Sabrina
Practice Manager in U.S.
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simple, straight forward and easy to follow format. Very organized.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Hands down, this product took an overwhelming project and turned it into one that was manageable. It saved a significant amount of staff/employee time because it is organized so well.

Pros:

Organization of six different areas allowed me to delegate those areas to the staff who had the expertise. SRA is a huge project and I liked the divide and conquer approach to the project.

Cons:

The SRA is highly technical and contains a lot of jargon, especially under the IT Manager Role. This is NOT about the software itself, but you could not successfully complete this project without an IT expert.

Jane
Office Manager in U.S.
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Life savers theybalways are there to help.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Once you have been shown how to use this product it helps you understand the Meaningful Use program more. The staff is always willing to help with any problems you may have. One thing that I am hoping that they get more staff to answer calls so that we know that they have gotten our request for help. Thank you guys you are life savers.

HIPAA One Response

8 years ago

Hi Jane. Thank you for the comment and kind words. The best way to get support is to email [email protected] Our goal is to respond within 15 minutes and look forward to continue working with you.

Verified Reviewer
Director IT Operations & Implementation in U.S.
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Director of IT Operations and Implementation

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Amazing!!! That's all that needs to be said. The product is very simple and the support teams are very educated and informative. If you are new to implementing SRA processes and procedures associated with compliance, this is the product to USE!

Pros:

Easy of Use...and the product support we get with our HIPAA Auditor

Cons:

Being able to go back and review the initial question before completing a question