Aqilla Reviews

4.2 (33) Write a Review!

About Aqilla

Cloud based solution delivering affordable, fast, reliable, anytime/anywhere access to the financial data that drives your business.

Learn more about Aqilla

Pros:

Integration with Sharperlight making data import/export a breeze. Continuous product enhancements keeping it current and improving the finance process.

Cons:

Took a little while to get used to navigation as it is different to what I was used to, other than that, no concerns.

Aqilla ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Service
4.5
Features
3.8
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

7.3/10

Aqilla has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 33 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Aqilla before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (33)

Fu Lan
Fu Lan
Financial Controller in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful, quick and easy to use Accounting Software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My general experience with Aqilla has been good. Having never used the software before I have been pleasantly surprised how easy it is to use and how powerful it can be to produce financial reports on demand

Pros:

Aqilla has been very easy to use since I started using it in June 2019, with minimal training. I really like the fact that you can tailor your own reports on Aqilla so can tailor the reporting to your needs.

Cons:

I find it slightly confusing how to limit or add permission for users on various areas of the software

Carole
Book Keeper in UK
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My Review of the Aqilla Accounting Package

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: There is a lot more to this package which I have not had chance to explore - my experience so far has been frustrating at times when I know I should be able to do things but have trouble to find out how, but on the whole Aqilla seems to be good value for money.

Pros:

It looks good on screen The easy ability to download information onto excel The ability to open up a second screen

Cons:

The top tab names, I find I regularly go into the wrong location for items. The help button, it has never brought up the problems I am trying to sort, seems to pick just the first word and give all items with that one word Changing Rough Posted documents to 'Posted', the system does not post into the period the document is already allocated to automatically, with several periods involved you have to Post month by month. Not being able to see the currency value total if more than 1 page, have to download an Excel report for the information.

Nahum
Finance Manager in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Generally okay

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall the relationship is better than what I found when I joined the company - the support desk and consultants are very helpful and try their best to answer our queries

Pros:

ability to extract reports quickly using Aqilla and Sharperlight

Cons:

the issues faced in our first year of implementation relating to transactions and effect - sometimes seems too complex

Emre Utku
Software Engineer in Turkey
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

All in one solution for financial data

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Aqilla has great features to manage and access to the financial data in the cloud.

Cons:

As a developer I had a little bit difficulty with getting used to the system at the beginning.

Ken
Management Accountant in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy in Easy out

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Full accounting of Sales, Purchase & General Ledgers, through to Monthly Management accounts.
Budgeting and Trend analysis.
KPI's and ad-hoc queries and investigations.

Pros:

Ease of duplicating repetitive transaction saving time and potential keying errors. Integration with Sharperlight making data import/export a breeze. Continuous product enhancements keeping it current and improving the finance process.

Cons:

Some features are only progressed through Consultant intervention - as an IT savvy user I'd like to be able to do more.

Ian
Group Financial Controller in UK
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good for the right size/type of business

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good value for a basic reporting tool with integrated AP and expenses which would be perfect for a relatively stable group structure

Pros:

Good value for money Continuing to innovate Reasonable base funcationality on all the things will need

Cons:

Doesn't feel 'consumer grade' around expenses Approval hierarchy/workflow is a work round and not robust

Rohail
Assistant Management Accountant in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

General review

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The reporting functionality of Aqilla is brilliant , shaperlight provide a quick real time data ,which can be populated on excel for finance & non-finance users.

Cons:

I would personally like an additional feature, such as notifying customer of outstanding invoices due automatically.

Jefferson
Accounts Assistant in UK
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Aqilla review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The flexibility of Aqilla with regards to report building gives the user freedom to customize it according to his needs. But It seems that information about how to use it is not clearly available. For example, if you try to get information on Aqilla website, it looks very messy and unhelpful.

Pros:

What I like the most about Aqilla is that it is cloud based.

Cons:

I do not like when it performs slower then normal , this normally happens when many users are accessing it.

Jamie
Visitor Services Manager in UK
Events Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A little complex but usable

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good for simple tasks, puchase orders etc but having to have so much information before you can submit anything is frustrating

Pros:

I like the fact that you can keep your documents tidy and all in one place

Cons:

The whole user interface just feels a little bit clunky to me

Sarah
Assistant Accountant in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good for companies with complex charts of account

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Generally, the software works very well.

Pros:

It works very well with the way our Charity is set up, in that it provides the several categories for the various ways in which the financial records need to be reported.

Cons:

I've only used Aqilla for about two months, so my perspective is really from a new user who hasn't yet come to grips with all the features of the software. Therefore my comments are in comparison to other accounting software I've used. It would be great if Aqilla used obvious names for obvious things. For instance, 1) an invoice number in Aqilla is called "Originator Reference" rather than just Invoice number as in other software. 2) Supplier code is a short form of a full supplier name and makes me wonder why it was included. Why not just have one tab for "Supplier"? 3) What is the use for the Memorised tab?

Bankole
International Finance Manager & Analyst in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Aqilla is user friendly

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: my overall experience is very good

Pros:

The software is easy to use anywhere and at anytime. I like the option that you can upload documents , it makes preparing for audit easier. the system is easier to train to new users

Cons:

There is a room for improvement on the reporting are of the system.

Mike
Consultant in UK
Accounting Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Well designed with a lot of great features for ease of use and analysis.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Flexibility. Ease of use. Analysis. Management Information.

Pros:

Well designed - it is consistent throughout. Easy to use - the document-centric approach is easy to understand. Plenty of useful features, especially the user-defined attributes to analyze your accounting data. Goes well beyond just keeping the books. The people on the support hotline are helpful and knowledgeable. The "pay per user" monthly subscription model is great value for money.Everything is designed to make the job easier and the data accessible.

David
Finance Manager in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Aqilla

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Facilitates electronic document archiving.

Cons:

Don't fully understand how it works ''under the bonnet' - hence a danger of creating erroneous transactions.

Matthew
Management Accountant in UK
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Matthew Gamble Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've had a very good experience with Aqilla and am happy with the result. I've never felt disappointed with the service and product.

Pros:

- Easy to use - Cloud based so capable of being used anywhere any time. - Good customer and support service

Cons:

- Can be slow at times - Issues with the Aqilla addin not working at times

Paul
Software developer in UK
Insurance Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

does the job

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: i use the hr functionality. payroll, up load certification for skills etc

Pros:

Able to update HR details eg bank accounts

Cons:

the holidays functionality could be better. you have to go to book a holiday to see whats already booked. there should be a screen somewhere where you can just view whats booked

Becky
Finance Assistant in UK
Events Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Its easy to work with for a small business

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Able to do things quickly. No delay. Don't think I could do without it now.

Pros:

Anyone could use it easily, Not only accountants but any member of staff. It has help options and the support team are just a phone call away.

Cons:

So many features, you may not know existed and you're not making use of it. I found out the other day that I could be using widgets to remind me when to do stuff which is quite handy.

Uttam
Accountant in India
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Aqilla Journey

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Compared to SUN system, Aqilla have more functionality & very user friendly.

Cons:

Nothing which i have observed in 6 months

Donna
Director in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

So much easier to use than my old product!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Saved money and can login wherever I am

Pros:

It's easy to use, it's affordable (all the functions I need are covered) and the one time I got stuck the support team were great.

Cons:

Took a little while to get used to navigation as it is different to what I was used to, other than that, no concerns

Jack
Management Accountant in UK
Insurance Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An Honest Review

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I liked the ease of use & the customisations that we were able to do, to improve the reporting within our business. The excel uploads were amongst the best I have used.

Cons:

I didn't like the over reliance on external software such as sharperlight

Megan
finance assistant in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good to go paperless

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Yes over time i will understand it a lot better, i think from going from Sage 50 to this software is complacently different.

Pros:

What i like about this system is that you can save all pdf copies of invoices to this system, which is great to go paperless.

Cons:

Once you have posted anything you can't edit or delete what you have done.

Eric
Finance Officer in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Aqilla Review

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Aqilla is very customisable and it allows for a lot of dimensions in terms of coding for transactions allows us to produce a range of reports.

Cons:

Sometimes some of the functions seem very complex and not intuitive.

Maria
Relationship Manager in UK
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use everyday, produces all the documents I need and even more with just a couple clicks!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Extremely quick response Love that I can login from any device basically anywhere in the world Customised to my preferences

Lisa
Accounts Payable Manager in UK
Insurance Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

AP Role in Aqilla

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Like the fact you can create a credit note from the invoice if needed

Cons:

1. does flow when lots of info to enter 2. Have to enter different screens to find info

Lee-Anne
Legal Counsel in UK
Insurance Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An effective way to deal with expenses

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like the ability to add receipts to expenses and the fact that my request goes straight to the necessary authoriser.

Cons:

It was not immediately clear how to use Aqilla but this improves over time.

Alys
Insurance Broker in Ireland
Insurance Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not Very Easy to Use

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Aqilla to authorize expenses. I do not have to use very often, but have accesses as both a user and an authoriser for the people I manage. Confirming expenses is easier than submitting them.

Pros:

Any actions added are delivered directly to administrators, so they are acted on quickly.

Cons:

Not very easy to use for the first few times. The format can be confusing, for example if you need to set up multiple expense claims in a month.