15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About TallyPrime

We design our software keeping your business in mind. From accounting to reporting, manage it all with our one-stop solution.

Learn more about TallyPrime

Pros:

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.

Cons:

It is difficult to work with multiple windows.

TallyPrime ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

TallyPrime has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 213 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TallyPrime before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (213)

RAJ KUMAR
RAJ KUMAR
Accountant in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review of TallyPrime

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

It has a multiple features which makes easier to the user. This software gives overall data for audit compliance and financial review.

Cons:

Sometimes its feel lagging in different windows.

kothari m
System Administrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent enterprise resource planning and GST helper software.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is positive. Its online back up solutions is wonderful feature as it can reinstall those data from its back up solutions. It depends upon modern computing so that it can run in multiple computers. Most of the functions of Tally are there and in addition to this some of more functions such as the same shortcuts and after working with TallyPrime for some days then one can be acquainted with it, and while working with multiple computers the real time data updates is quite fast and secure/

Pros:

Excellent invoicing and accounting software, precious inventory management software, excellent in GST calculation and proper management of Banking credit and debit management software.

Cons:

For GST information addition, one needs to do some calculations with offline calculator addition as it is not automated calculations through TallyPrime, but after putting these informations to TallyPrime, then overall calculations becomes simple. TallyPrime does not work in Wireless connectivity but it works through LAN connections. So in order to use in multiple computers wireless data transmission within computers should be made available.

Praveen
Manager in India
Pharmaceuticals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tally - Simplifying Accounting for Businesses**

5.0 last month New

Comments: In conclusion, Tally is a game-changer for businesses of all sizes. Its user-friendly interface, accuracy, and customization options make it a top choice for efficient accounting and financial management.

Pros:

Tally software has revolutionized the way businesses manage their finances. With its user-friendly interface and powerful features, Tally makes accounting tasks efficient and accurate. One of the standout features of Tally is its ease of use. Even for those with minimal accounting knowledge, Tally's intuitive design makes navigating through financial data a breeze. This accessibility is crucial for small businesses and startups that may not have dedicated accounting teams.

Cons:

Accuracy is another key strength of Tally. The software handles complex calculations effortlessly, reducing the chances of human error. This reliability is essential for maintaining financial integrity and making informed business decisions. Tally also offers a range of customization options to suit different business needs. From generating detailed financial reports to managing inventory, Tally provides comprehensive solutions that streamline operations.

CA Ankit
CA Ankit
Proprietor in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TallyPrime is a waste of Time

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Waste of time. I had to migrate out of it to Quickbooks, Zoho, etc. as it works super slow in my system, since I migrated to Tally Prime!

Pros:

Few integration with other softwares & sound accounting features integrated.

Cons:

1. No automation. In fact, to get automation, you need to pay someone to build, develop, implement & learn how to automate for each and every new automation you want! 2. Hangs a lot and the cloud version is designed to make money, not to sell the product! 3. A lot of good features are now obsolete. They haven't designed the product to upgrade with the digital world. 4. Bad UI/UX for a person who doesnt understand how accounting works. It's designed to discourage people, who do not know about accounting, not to pursue it!

Rajesh
Sr Sales Manager in India
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback as my view

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall is good for accounts, inventory and gst

Pros:

Very good for accounts and GST. Reports of account and GST related is available easily

Cons:

Location was stock management was not up to the mark

Atul
ARTICALSHIP ASSOCIATE in India
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Most Suitable and easy to understand Accounting Software

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: My experience with tally Prime has been where good in fact excellent, it is easy to understand without any accounting knowledge, It makes Financial Reporting and inventory management easy. And in terms of Invoice creation is better than any Software's in the market.

Pros:

Tally Prime is much easy to understand and record your transactions than any other software in the market.It has various shortcuts and predefined letters which makes your task faster, its integration with other software's makes it one of the best for Tax computation and Financial Reporting.

Cons:

The UI of the software is old school which makes it too rigid, There is many Factors in which it needs to improve but Updates are not that often.It becomes difficult to use when you have enter bulk entry's at the same time if internal working is not known.

Tally Solutions Response

9 months ago

Thank you for sharing your views. We would like to share with you about our future product roadmap, refer this link for more details - https://tallysolutions.com/product-roadmap/"

Ravikumar
Ravikumar
Head IT in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally prime review

5.0 last year

Comments: Very good and provides rich experience of ERP

Pros:

Multiligual capability, Imprint of auto Digital signature, Multiple invoice formats are few functionalities which i like the most.

Cons:

Transactions can be deleted with out reversing it

Tally Solutions Response

last year

Thanks for sharing your views.

Rahul
Store in charge in India
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tally prime is the best software for inventory management.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Construction field is the most critical field than others. It is most difficult to track the materials.Tally prime gives implementation each category of inventory management that easily track the data and show in Details.I like to work in future also.

Pros:

Before I used tally erp9 , but Tally prime is great version. Easy to used in each Details exports in options are available. In Tally erp9 create purchase order narration not available but Tally prime the options is available.

Cons:

Narration is the best option easy to identify of each products I like to this option in available that can easy to work in my inventory management.

Tally Solutions Response

9 months ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your insights – it's much appreciated!"

John
John
Account Assistant in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Tally has solve most of the errors in Accounting

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The accounting software Tally is very simple to use. It wouldn't take long for a new user to become familiar with this software. The best feature of the software is also that it allows users to enter data for previous months, which simplifies accounting. This allows users to book invoices in the past.

Cons:

It is not possible to customize the report to meet our needs. Some shortcuts in Tally Prime are different from those in Tally ERP 9, which causes some user discomfort.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best accounting tool I ever used

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

1. Very easy to use and navigate 2. Can partner with other APIs easily 3. AI function is a big win now a days

Cons:

1. Integration is a bit problematic 2. Needs a lot of authentication 3. Not mobile friendly

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with Tally erp9 is very good. it helps us in maintaining all records of our client.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I help me in maintaining records of large number of client in a limited time daily. Helps in timely filing of returns and other business reports. Which results increase of my profit.

Pros:

This software is best and most trusted software. It provides automated solution for maintaining records and timely compliance with laws. The Best in this software is that one can customize this software according to requirements. Even special customization for every kind of business is available. It is very easy to use and learn for a fresher, Shortcut Keys are given on right side. Data can be easily compiled and migrated to PDF, Excel and Other Forms. Tally.net user is another very good feature, which provides you to access your data while sitting anywhere. These days it is very helpful for preparation and uploading of GST Returns directly from Software

Cons:

This software is not on cloud storage basis. But In all, this software is very good and best software for maintaining complete records of a business

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks!Tally Virtual User (TVU) along with virtualisation technologies like RDP, RDS, and so on, allow you to access TallyPrime from anywhere, anytime. You can use your office computer or a cloud/virtual server to host your TallyPrime. When the server is connected to the Internet, you can use any computer or device, on which the third party tool works, to access the desktop of your server computer. After you access the remote desktop, you can start TallyPrime as on your local desktop. Tally Virtual User (TVU) options refer this link for more details https://bit.ly/3yjJd07

Dave
Director in Kenya
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Absolute Rot

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Pure rot

Pros:

This is DOS based, we should have chosen cloud based

Cons:

Fraud : we were sold trial software and that caused us 2 months of implementation. After the fraud was found out, even with the real software, endless issues continued. We requested for a paid service to re-configure the form, it was appointed the Monday. Delayed everyday until Friday, the Tally tech came here and said he needed 45 minutes for the job but left after 5 minutes because he wa late for another job. The level of nonsense from this supplier is simply incomprehensible.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

We're sorry for the inconvenience. Please reach our customer support team (https://tallysolutions.com/support/) and we will certainly address this issue.

Manish
TAX CONSULTANT in India
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic)

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I would say Tally Prime is not only famous for India's Accounting Software but also global level too. I have worked on various Accounting Systems but Tally is something unique software, That's why we have also named our Tax Firm i.e Unique Taxfin Solutions.

Pros:

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic). Tally Prime is India's best Accounting Software. Now I can easily Manage my all Accounts, Track Receivables and Smartly Raise Professional Invoices from Tally Prime. This Software helps me a lot to in GST Compliance and to get accurate scenario of my business.

Cons:

Yes, I would recommend to Tally Solutions to get back function of Schedule-3 of Balance Sheet and Profit & Loss Account for all Public and Private Limited companies. Whereas in Tally ERP.9 we used converted our Financials easily as per Schedule- 3 of Companies Act, 2013. So in Tally Prime this function is missing.

Shashikala
Admin executive in India
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes my work more easier

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Am been working with this software since 2014 and it’s so easy to operate or accounting, everything is easy to calculate,, means everyday I can see profits and loss just by entering expenses, I even print cheque’s through tally erp 9, after many years I can the details of the cheque’s I issued. This is best software to any small or multinational companies

Pros:

Can create account for multiple companies and use at multiple windows,, need not to do calculations by hand, everything percentage and deductions are calculated in tally itself

Cons:

Doesn’t have automatic backups,, would be good if they have an option that data will be saved somewhere when computer get corrupted

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

"Currently auto backup is not available , however, backup of Data can be still performed using Backup functionality available in the default product. As a alternative, you can use external application Cobian software to take Auto backup"

SREEKALA
ACCOUNTANT in India
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ONE OF THE BEST ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE AND VERY MUCH HELPFUL FOR GST RETURN FILING IN INDIA

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am a user of Tally Erp 9 for seven years. I feel it is the best accounting software available in India.

Pros:

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.Tally Erp 9 is very user friendly and can be used in small as well as corporate business enterprises because it has a lot of features. Any one can set it's features as per their requirements.Multi companies can be created and GST consultants and Auditors can easily take statutory reports and file GST returns through Tally Erp 9 very quickly.

Cons:

When we use remote control feature sometimes it takes more time. Statutory reports can be taken slowly if there is company with huge data.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the feedback. Enhancing remote access capabilities is one of our top priorities. Stay tuned for more on this from us.

Javadsha
Javadsha
Director in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TallyPrime - the most commonly used accounting software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very easy to find tally trained people on the go, easy to use

Pros:

ease of finding tally trained people, customisation possibilities

Cons:

many commonly used features , available in free addons can easily be incorporated in main software but not done

Girish
Sr.Accountant in India
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Tally Prime 3.0 Worst Update Never Ever Seen

1.0 12 months ago

Comments: Very worst 3.0Thinking to switch from tally to other if its continues

Pros:

Tally Prime 3.0 Nothing To Be Like, Earlier Tally i liked too much coz very friendly, comfortable, all reports and accounting very smooth, uff.. but now :(

Cons:

I dont know who developed this 3.0 version, its very worst update ever seen in tally history since last 16-17 year, started working from tally 5.4 to tally prime, but this is the most worst update...no reports matching, gst 3b and trial balance differs lots, no qty (uqc) (the most worst) updated & so on......

Tally Solutions Response

10 months ago

We would like to connect with you to understand more about this. Please write to [email protected], our team will connect with you.

Irfan
It manager in Bangladesh
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What I love about TallyPrime? It's really necessary software for all business holder.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am handling all out vehicle inventory with TallyPrime. And also using for keep all our account data up to date and get clear report end of the day.

Pros:

TallyPrime is very well known company in this field. Since long they are providing this service in this field. I love there Accounting and billing system most and the user access system. There order management and processing system also very useful. I love there software.

Cons:

First of all I will say this software are long time in this market. So lots of things they improved already. But some of there feature need to improve for payroll system. They can add payroll and HRM to this system which will be more better. People will be interested to buy this more.

Safwan
Assistant Accountant in Sri Lanka
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally User Experience as an Assistant Accountant

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

it gives more convenience by providing short cut key information on the right side of the screen with its respective headings as its always easy for users to use short cut keys to access data with more speed with our limited time in the work environment

Cons:

narration for the transactions are limited or most of the time when we get printed the voucher some parts of the narration are missing as it has given limited lines which make inconvenience when we have to write a detailed comment of the vouchers, specially for the payment voucher where we have to pay our suppliers and get it signed

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review. We will share your feedback on narration field with the concerned team.

smit
Owner
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Tally software experience

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: If anyone is beginner then must go for this software.

Pros:

1. Extremely easy to understand and easy to use. 2. Serve as an ERP product for the organization 3. Customised reports 4. Regulatory compliances inbuilt in software 5. Preparation of financial statement made easy. 6. Complete audit trail. 7. Multi-user facility and remote user facility like Tally.Net services 8. Easy setup

Cons:

1. Cloud services not available unlike Quickbook or other software. 2. Only desktop version available, web version not available. 3. Some advance features missing like auto bank statement download, regular auto posting etc. 4. Mobile or Tablet not supported.

Mark
IT Engineer in United Arab Emirates
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Product for Accounts

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall our users like this software for it produce what our accounts department needs.

Pros:

What our user like about this products is the ease of use and simple design that is easy to understand by our users.

Cons:

Nothing to hate on this products for it does what we need. Maybe just a bit of improvement visual and design on the next version will be helpful.

Tally Solutions Response

last year

We thank you for the kind words about our product.

Ebrahim
Owner in Bahrain
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely good accounting software, if you have an accountant

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As an accounting firm, Tally was perfect if we had the entire work of the client's administration. However, when a portion of the work is shared with the client, there is a huge pushback from non-accountants. This make it's deployment very hard due to rejection by end users.

Pros:

The database design and it's function are almost perfect. Everything works. The reporting and audit trail in Tally are second to none including many top players in the industry.

Cons:

The UI is extremely unpleasant for non-accountant (and for some accountants as well)

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

Our latest product TallyPrime comes with a UI refresh. We suggest you to take a look and share your feedback.

Khalid
Khalid
Business Associate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Accounting Software

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am an common service provider as well as Spices Dealer and tally erp 9 help me to manage my Sales and purchase orders as well as my inventory so i can be informed by my available stocks it also Show my payments receivables and payable which are most important in busines. it support Cheque printing directly from Tally software and many more usefull feature help in business.

Pros:

Tally erp 9 is professional accounting software which is used in many companies. Its enabled us to do Accounting, Inventory Management with godowns management, Also support GST features, Cheque Printing and many more. In tally Erp 9 You can Manage your sales and Purchase bills. Payroll feature to pay employees salary etc.

Cons:

Tally Erp 9 Is professional Accounting software with lots of features in it and it daily updating with new features there is nothing to dislike in it. Tally fulfill my needs .

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

We really appreciate you taking time out to share your experience with us

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Most useful Software for Accounting work

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am belonging to Accounting and taxation industry, we required this type of software very often. We recommend our clients to use Tally for Accounting.

Pros:

There are lots of pros in this software, some of are listed below - 1) Easy to use 2) Multi-language supported 3) Multi-currency supported 4) Import-export from and to excel 5) Various reports, statements required for the compliance process provided 6) It can create users so accountability for work is created. 7) Tally support for the queries is very good

Cons:

There are no cons as such in this software I found. It is a good software for accounting. Hence widely used in India.

Tally Solutions Response

3 years ago

That's so good to hear! We are glad to know that TallyPrime is up to your expectations.

shubham
Transcriptor in India
Translation & Localization, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software but looks costly and a bit hard to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience is great but again the same thing , that is it's competitor like Busy are providing the same feature with more simplicity and at a less price

Pros:

All the features of tally are good and it have a great security of data also , so you can surely go with it . all the features like invoicing , ledger maintaining etc. . works perfect

Cons:

The thing I don't like about this software is it's price because it seems expensive , and is a bit complex also for any normal person