Classy Reviews

4.3 (115) Write a Review!

About Classy

Classy is a giving experience platform that enables nonprofits to connect with supporters through online fundraising.

Learn more about Classy

Pros:

The peer-to peer and ticketed events applications are easy to use for both the Admin and the guests using it.

Cons:

Price is WAY over market; customer service reps LIED about pricing offers; vendor lock is tough to get out.

Classy ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Classy has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 115 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Classy before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (115)

Claire
Claire
Director in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best fundraising platform for our needs

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have been using Classy for many years now, and have raised tens of thousands of dollars from our growing community of donors. Classy is incredibly easy to use, and has amazing support, even though we're on a completely different time zone to the support team! The peer to peer campaigns, which we use at least once a year, are super straightforward and look great even if you don't know what you're doing or could never dream of creating something from scratch. We also shopped around and truly found that Classy offers the most competitive rates for what we need. Thanks!

Pros:

Easy to use, and really prompt customer service.

Cons:

Nothing! We're really happy with our use of Classy. I'm sure there's more we could do to make the most of all the platform has to offer but right now we're meeting all our needs.

Jen
Director of Operations in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Streamlined Fundraising Tool

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Their customer service is amazing!

Pros:

It's very easy to use, implement, and train on. Donors are very happy with the ease of transactions

Cons:

I wish they had a more robust donor database so it could be an all in one solution for us.

Jessica
Associate Director of Development in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Classy makes fundraising easy!

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

While I can spend all day talking about how wonderful the software is in its ease of use, aesthetic, and features, the most amazing part of Classy is the customer support. Every time I have a question, I am able to get an answer from the chat in minutes, and the support specialist is able to get me an answer or solution almost immediately.

Cons:

I truly can't think of anything I dislike, but I will say that if there is ever something you can think of that will improve the platform, you can let a Classy representative know and they may be able to find a comparable solution for you.

Heleen
Head of Marketing in South Africa
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

They overpromise, and wildly underdeliver.

2.0 6 months ago

Comments: All, I'll say... there's a reason they wont let you trial the platform before signing up.

Pros:

Peer to peer platform is slick and easy to set up.

Cons:

They promised a whole lot during the sales process. And since you can't trial the platform, you need to take the lunge and pay the $4k subscription fee. We've been struggling for 7 days to install donation form on our website. The sales, product and support teams are very disconnected. Their integration with Mailchimp is very weak; as they only send name, surname and email data to MC. But, for some bizarre reason, no data about which campaign was donated to, or whether it was a standard, recurring or peer to peer donation. How do they expect you to build donor relationships without that data? We figured out that they integrate with Salesforce, and via Salesforce we now send data to MC. But, that cost us a week of engineering fees. All this for a $4k per year platform. For $4k per year, you have certain expectations. But, I waited 54mins on the customer support

Joseph
Development & Partnerships Manager in US
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Classy - an excellent solution for robust fundraising programs.

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Classy is very easy to use, from the moment it is set up. Implementation was relatively straightforward, and had a dedicated Classy representative to walk us through the process. Upon set up, we were able to immediately reap the benefits of the platform, and the Support - from documentation, to regular training webinars, to the assigned Client Success Manager has been very useful.

Cons:

There are certain design features/elements that I wish had more customization, especially within the crowdfunding and peer-to-peer campaigns and email acknowledgement templates.

Daniela
Creative Director in US
Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good fundraising platform

4.0 last year

Pros:

Having a Peer-to-peer and crowd funding options is a nice tool to have under our belt.

Cons:

The transaction fees are too high. We have several donors that call us and mail us checks because, when they cover the fees for their $1,000+ donations, takes away from the money they have set aside for our cause. We wish the fees were a little lower for small charities like ours. We are already paying to have the software (which is not cheap) and on top of that we need to give from the donations.

Cindy
Cindy
Development Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

4.0 last year

Comments: In addition to loving the platform, we love the organization! Customer support is awesome!

Pros:

We love how easy it is to create a fundraising campaign. Our users find it easy to customize their personal fundraising pages and share with friends and family.

Cons:

Occasionally we find that it is not as feature rich as we would like, but Classy support is always there to suggest a work around and we prefer an easy to use platform to one with all the complexities that make it hard to use.

Adrian
Director of Leadership Development in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple Sharp Peer2Peer Fundraising Website

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Classy allows us to run multiple similar events across Canada with the same professional quality of user experience and administrative management. When those two things are easier, we can focus on our priorities like recruiting participants and ensuring a quality event. We have had increased participation since using Classy and having measurably fewer user problems means having more returning participants year after year.

Pros:

Ease of making a personalized website that matches our brand and has all the functionality that we need. Our participants find it easy to navigate and use which is so important when you are asking people to voluntarily fundraise for your cause.

Cons:

I wish there was a way to highlight our sponsor logos in an upfront way so that participants and website visitors see them without it impeding their ease and ability to find information relevant to them. A sidebar or something?

Henriette
Development Manager in US
Airlines/Aviation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great fundraising tool!

5.0 7 days ago New

Comments: So far it's served our needs and looking forward to using more.

Pros:

The customization of each of the campaign pages.

Cons:

the mapping from classy into salesforce was not as smooth as I thought.

Stephanie
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great base, but far from perfect functionalities

3.5 8 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use to set up events and track information.

Cons:

The functionality between registration and fundraising.

Nikicha
Development and Communications Coordinator in US
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple, modern platform that makes processing online gifts a breeze!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

We had been using Classy for a few years and then decided to switch to a different platform. That was a HUGE mistake. We ended up switching almost immediately (even paying for two platforms at once). We love Classy's modern design for it's fundraising and event pages. We love how simple it is to edit the design of these pages and doesn't require any knowledge of HTML or really graphic design experience. The best part of Classy is how smooth the integration is with Salesforce. While we have had some issues with certain data not being pushed in, the team is always responsive in trying to correct the error. The chat function is especially useful when I have small questions to ask. Additionally, I enjoy their blog posts and resource emails and can always count on their site to have resources to download for all our communication and fundraising needs. Overall we have had a great experience using Classy and will continue to use their platform to manage our online giving.

Cons:

We do wish there was a bit more flexibility in the kinds of things we can edit when designing campaigns but it gets the job done well as is. For example, we often wish to customize certain colors on one button vs. a theme but are unable to do so. Another small con is that we have donors who sometimes mail in their credit card information to us but with no email address. This means we have to use an email associated with our organization, which sometimes causes classy to join or replace users who have had that email associated with their record as well. This is just the nature of basing users off email addresses as well as our fault for not indicating that we need a donors email to process online gifts. This is usually pretty simple to fix.

Verified Reviewer
Development Associate in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Online Fundraising Made Beautiful and Easy

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

At my job, we administer a variety of charitable funds, many of which participate in different types of fundraising activities. Using Classy, we are able to tailor-make fundraising sites utilizing easy-to-use templates that address each of our donor's wants and needs. I often tell donors that their Classy page can serve as a stand-alone website for their efforts, which is wonderful for our grassroots groups who may not have money in their budget for a web designer or to buy a domain name. The customization allows us to add photos, change colors, and many other features, which result in some really gorgeous looking sites. Classy makes it easy to access donation information, which can be easily viewed when you log into the system as an admin and exported to an CSV file. They have an event-specific template which can be used to sell tickets or registrations to an event. Since you can export all the purchaser info, it allows you to go green with your ticketing -- there's no need for purchasers to print out the email confirmation they receive when you have easy access to all buyer info. In addition to the license fee, Classy does take a 1% fee on each online donation received. There is an option for the organization to pay the fee or for the donor to pay the fee. We ask our donors to pay the fee, and there has never been a complaint as fees are much higher on other comparable sites (EventBrite for ticketing, GoFundMe for crowd-funding, etc.).

Cons:

Overall I love Classy, but there are a few areas it can improve. The user dashboard is not the easiest to navigate through. It lists the names of donors and the amounts, but not what campaign they donated to. So you have to go to through your campaigns to find the donation. For an organization like ours which administers many Classy pages at once, this can be needlessly time-consuming. I love the custom options that each template has, but sometimes there are glitches. For instance, I was unable to upload a background image to a recent campaign page. But a quick email to customer service fixed the issue in a very short amount of time. Classy is constantly upgrading and adjusting features though, so I imagine they will work out some of these kinks in the future.

David
Director of Development in US
Religious Institutions, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly recommended!

5.0 last year

Comments: Our experience has been very good with Classy—so good that we regularly suggest to other non-profits who are friends of ours to consider Classy if they are not already working with them.

Pros:

We love the simplicity of page design, the self-service aspect is a big positive (see below), and the fact that we have dedicated customer service pros assigned to our account who provide monthly consultation is a bonus. Classy's integration with SalesForce (our CRM) and other third parties helps us to design and manage our own ecosystem of, for us, best-in-class platforms. Classy also provides, for a fee, an internal design team that can further customize donation web pages for unique situations.

Cons:

The platform is still evolving and we find that the self-service aspect of the software (which in aggregate is a huge plus) doesn't allow for as much customization as we would like. Their customer care is very responsive, however, and always forwards our suggestions/concerns to the tech team.

Cassandra
Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use for donors and organizations, seamless integration, and a helpful support team!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The integration with Salesforce has been a big win for us. We've more than doubled our funding while cutting our manual data entry time in half.

Pros:

We made the switch to Classy from another fundraising platform in October 2018. The year prior, from October to December, we raised about $80,000. This year we raised more than double that, and I know that a big reason for that is because of Classy. The site is much easier to use for donors but it also is more aesthetically pleasing. It invites people in and engages them. Creating a page that transitions seamlessly from our own website was very easy to do with Classy. Page setup is user-friendly and I like that you can see the changes that you are making in real time, instead of having to make a change, save it, then go preview it, then go back and change it again (which is what we had to do on our old platform). Classy customer service has been very helpful as well. They are responsive and knowledgeable, and finding answers to my questions, or solutions to my problems, has been simple and pleasant. We have integrated Classy with our Salesforce database, which is a huge plus for us. There were some kinks but their support team was very helpful. Though more expensive that our former platform, I feel that the investment was definitely worth it.

Cons:

The price is significantly higher than the platform we used before, both in annual costs and in transaction fees. We also need volunteer registration functionality, which Classy doesn't provide, so we do still have to use our old platform for that piece.

Kris
Philanthropy Manager in US
Fund-Raising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effective Tool and Consultative Team to Help Grow Donations

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Classy as a donation tool is highly effective and the support team is highly consultative and responsive – and really want us to do well in raising funds for our cause. They also offer webinars and an ever-expanding set of tools with their users in mind, including the recent integration offering with Double the Donation, making it very easy to impact donations in a very easy-to-use tool. As an organization, Classy transactions sync with Salesforce, enabling us to centralize donation activity.

Cons:

Reporting capability is limited, but helpful at a high-level, including trending, specific campaign performance, and the like. While syncing with Salesforce is very important and works well for online donations, there is some inconsistency in syncing of offline transactions and the detail that is carried over. Transaction edit flexibility would also be helpful – e.g., when a donor registers for an event and is unable to attend, rather than being able to edit the mode of the transaction (e.g., from event ticket to donation), a new transaction must be created. These are enhancements. Classy is a great value and partner for our organization!

Katie
Katie
Marketing Communications Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I'd be lost without Classy for our peer-to-peer fundraising campaigns!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Classy has enabled us to do more with fewer staff members and has increased our donations. We also have seen an overwhelming amount of donors (74%!) cover a portion of fees, so we keep more of our contributions. Customer Service is easy via chat and A++ every time - everyone is so nice and extra helpful! I highly recommend Classy as a fundraising platform.

Pros:

Classy was SO easy to launch, customize and implement for both our donation page and our fundraising campaigns. Their interface is simple and intuitive, and they are constantly innovating new features and functions. It was also easy for our schools to set up their own campaigns. We have saved a ton of hours using Classy for our platform. We no longer have to manually do tasks that are done automatically like: send donor recognition emails, fraud management, import donor data to our email platform, offer employer matching gifts, in honor of donation gifts...

Cons:

The cost is a bit prohibitive, but we were able to budget it for it once we compared Classy to other platforms and calculated the time we would save on their platform. Two big issues I have is that I need to download two reports to get all the accounting data for campaigns, and donor-paid fees show up in the fundraising total, which is misleading and has long been a user complaint.

Erin
Marketing Event Specialist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Classy is good for online giving

4.0 last year

Comments: Classy is user friendly for those who don't delve deep into coding or database management but can be restrictive to those who do. Transfering data to platforms that Classy does not have built in partnerships with can be extremely confusing and difficult. However, the front facing websites are clean and easy for donors to use.

Pros:

Classy is a good software platform for online giving. My favorite feature is the ability to duplicate a campaign. This saves tons of time in creating a new campaign for an event or ask that repeats every year or multiple times a year. Instead of starting from scratch you can duplicate and update based on things learned from prior campaigns.

Cons:

Classy is somewhat restrictive in designability. In making the platform user friendly to those who aren't coding experts, the site lost some flexibility with what you can do on a campaign site. For large fundraising events you cannot created website tabs, which means all the information has to be on the landing page. This can make the campaign messy and cluttered.

Bryan
National Programs Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Classy has provided us an excellent online fundraising platform!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Classy has provided an excellent platform for development of our online fundraising efforts and is now the centerpiece of our plans for future revenue growth. Before Classy, we received the occasional online gift from site visitors but now online giving is our second largest revenue source and has been growing at 30% annually. We highly recommend Classy and believe the platform is a great value!

Pros:

Compared to other platforms for nonprofits, Classy offers more versatility in designing visually compelling donation pages, campaign landing pages, peer-to-peer fundraising pages and more. They are also constantly innovating ways to raise more funds (for example, by allowing you to request credit card processing fees and set the percentage requested and by making monthly giving a more prominent option for donors). Their customer service is also timely and well-informed and reporting tools have become quite sophisticated.

Cons:

It took a little time to get to understand how to best use the new reporting tools, but once I did learn, I was able to access and analyze much more data than before the revamp. So it worked out well. There's really nothing I have a complaint about.

Rachael
Rachael
Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect online fundraising solution for small nonprofits

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We love hosting all our online giving through one platform and giving our fundraisers tools like classy to raise money on their own.

Pros:

I love the all the different fundraising campaigns, especially the peer to peer campaigns! You can create a fundraiser goal and have people create their own personal fundraising pages and/or create teams to fundraise together. The reporting is really nice as well on the back end.

Cons:

There are paid plans and also a fee per transaction that can be difficult for small nonprofits, but the rates are competitive

Kristin
Director of Development in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Classy is the go-to for peer-to-peer fundraising and ticketed events

4.0 last year

Comments: The Classy integration with Facebook has reduced friction by helping our volunteers fundraise more easily.

Pros:

The Classy for Salesforce support team is incredibly knowledgeable and has spent hours helping us fine-tune our integration issues. Classy campaigns are easy to set up, and the platform is great for peer-to-peer fundraising campaigns, especially now that it integrates with Facebook. Our account manager is extremely responsive, and the customer service representatives via the chat feature are helpful.

Cons:

I wish the campaign pages had more flexibility/customization - like being able to add "impact tiles" to a ticketed event. Also, the reporting within a campaign for campaign level administrators is less user friendly than it used to be. We wish there was a way to easily copy attendee information (address) into billing information. Also, the mobile functionality is lacking - we wish there could be check scanning and on-site credit card processing.

Michelle
Business Development Manager in US
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Mixed feelings

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- allows several tiers of fundraising with no additional cost (campaign-->teams-->individual fundraisers) - includes events, which is a simple platform (and it should be simple! just tickets!) - upfront cost is more, but fee for % of donation is less than competitors - customer service has been mostly polite and friendly; it's also nice to occasionally talk to the same person when a problem presents itself multiple times in a day, so I don't have to get someone new up to speed. - chat for customer service is convenient, as I can keep working on other things as I wait for answers.

Cons:

- We constantly have fundraisers confused on how to set up their page. This has been a huge pain point. - In fairness, this is true with any platform: the fee for % of donation on TOP of the Paypal fee is painful. This is something that didn't occur to us when we started. Plus a monthly fee from Paypal to take the Classy donations. - Customer service hasn't been particularly quick to pick up on problems, and we haven't been completely satisfied with some answers. We've been told on two different occasions that there's a "glitch" and to ignore something, instead of presenting a solution, or tell us the only solution is to refund a donation and ask the donor to re-donate.

Kristina
Senior Conservation Associate in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fully Featured Nonprofit Fundraising Software - with a price to match - but not a CRM

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

You can make really beautiful and functional things with Classy, there is lots of room to customize and design. The peer to peer fundraising pages as part of event registration is great (this is what we are using it for). There are lots of moving parts so it is good that they have such great customer service - people on the phone have been great, also chat and email options. The onboarding process was really hands on - which it should be as the price/year is very high and taken with the percentage is even higher. We are early in our relationship with them trying to see if this powerful tool will bring in enough extra donations to be worth the added cost. No doubt its a good product with good service.

Cons:

It's pricey, almost 3k/year - we've just launched our fundraising campaign and it remains to be seen if we can increase donations enough to cover the cost - but the biggest downside is you can't move your donor database in - at all. So let's be clear that this is not a CRM in any real sense- you can't upload files of people or donations to it - it is a one by one manual thing. It seems like a great way to manage people who have given through classy but if you have donor files already, you'll need another database - which you'll also have to pay for so this seems like a lot to pay for not a total solution. If you were to be starting from scratch this might be a moot problem. For us - we are keeping our Donor Tools account and just using classy for events as a test - but two donor portals is not an ideal situation.

Monica
Community Outreach Director in US
Human Resources, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User-friendly platform and beyond

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We track ALL of our donations through classy. It is the system that manages our donor profiles for one-time or recurring donors. We utilize Classy to create appealing web pages for tracking ticket sales, selling merchandise, and tracking free event registration. Utilizing Classy has allowed us to stay organized and empowered to raise more money for the children with cancer we support.

Pros:

Classy is extremely user-friendly and the personal aspect of the platform is wonderful. Our organization receives constant support regarding platform questions, fundraising ideas and in helping us reach our goals in methods that are best for us.

Cons:

It is my understanding Classy has expanded and a new system of representatives is in place. Our experience with our new representative felt busy and a little less personal than the first.

Madison
Annual Giving Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Would Recommend

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The Delta Sigma Phi Foundation uses Classy for our Fraternity chapters to raise funds for their communities. Since each chapter is so different and they choose different organizations to raise money for, it is nice to have different types of campaigns to choose from.

Cons:

There are some features available on certain campaigns that are not available on others and I wish that all features would be available on all campaigns with the options to turn them off and on as needed.

Ashley
Communications Manager in US
, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I absolutely LOVE Classy!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Classy is a GREAT tool for fundraisers who need customized donation pages. Working with Classy is SO easy and the templates that they have are wonderful. I absolutely love how you can further customize the templates to match your branding or even your donation form needs. Not every tool is as flexible or robust as Classy. Plus, their customer support is incredible.

Cons:

When you initially connect with someone from Classy, it's obvious that you're working with someone from their sales team. They do call and email often, so if you don't want to use their service I highly recommend being upfront and stating that. Other than that, I loved it!