15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About ConfTool

Conference management tool that helps register participants, accept contributions, and schedule programs for online seminars.

Learn more about ConfTool

Pros:

Big numbers are not an issue. Service is top notch: these guys reply in the same day (often in a couple of hours) to any request about use and customization.

Cons:

Critical things have been discussed with the developers and have been fixed.

ConfTool ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.7
Value for Money
5.0

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

ConfTool has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 18 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (18)

Sort by

Have you used ConfTool before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (18)

Sami
Sami
Professor in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Top quality product and service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: 100% recommendable.
This is the first time I use a similar software as a manager, but I never took into considerations other softwares since its use also as a simple reviewer is the best.

Pros:

It does most of the things useful for the management of a conference, from papers collection to reviewing process management, from conference agenda to authors index, and a lot more. Big numbers are not an issue. Service is top notch: these guys reply in the same day (often in a couple of hours) to any request about use and customization.

Cons:

In order to exploit all its potential, some digging in the online manual is required, and some things are not 100% intuitive.

Sophie
Coordinator PhD Programme in Germany
Higher Education Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ConfTool for a conference at Ernst-Abbe-University of Applied Sciences

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The overall experience was great. Especially the technical support. We received answers to all of our questions literally within minutes.

Pros:

You can use ConfTool for the whole process of organizing a conference starting with the Call for Papers, the attendee registration up to the review process and creating the whole programme. It is a very flexible tool that you can adapt to your event's needs.

Cons:

As a first user of ConfTool at the beginning all the different features where a bit overwhelming. You need a while to find all the different adjusting screws.

Christian
South Africa
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Fast reliable Experienced

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I am using ConfTool since 2010 for different events. The support is perfect and the software has all options needed for our conferences of up to 500 delegates. Abstract and Paper management is included, Agenda can be compiled and upload to apps is available. And - one price for everzthing within the product!

Nirundon
Asst.Prof. in Thailand
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

great software

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: very happy and satisfied with software and support.

Pros:

easy to setup and use, great technical support

Cons:

I did not see any real problem. Just take time a bit to get to know the application.

Eliane
Researcher in Portugal
Civil Engineering, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ConfTool: a complete tool for Event Management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have used ConfTool for the first time for a Conference planned for 2020, which did not happen because of Covid-19. Instead we had a small Webinar. However, when we had to cancel the face-to-face event, all Backoffice work for a 200 Participants Conference was already done.
Abstract/Paper submission, reviews, conference programme, payments, etc., all was done and we really feel Conftool was a great software to support our Conference. The only part we really did not use was the Front Desk facilities, which is available but without a face-to-face conference was not needed.
I have used EasyChair before, and have no doubt ConfTool is much better in all aspects.
I would like to stress again one of the best things we get with ConfTool is the support. If you have used EasyChair, you know what I am talking about, it is a very user-friendly software, but the support is really bad.

Pros:

It has all facilities needed to organise an event, it is very complete. ConfTool Support Team is spotless! They reply very quickly and are always very helpful, it is a "real support", you never feel "alone".

Cons:

For the first time Administrator users it might not be very "user-friendly", but after you learn how it works it becomes very manageable. And ConfTool team is always ready to answer any question and help to solve any problem.

Alexander
Executive Secretary in Austria
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I would choose ConfTool again!

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: First, I was overwhelmed by the many options. Step by step, I went through the menu and performed the necessary settings. If there was something unclear, the ConfTool team answered my requests very fast. They also provide a detailed user forum with tips, tricks, and instructions. The tool never went offline or crashed. People from all around the world used the tool.

Pros:

Excellent support by the ConfTool team. They always provided a solution. Or, using their own manifold experience, they questioned the request and sometimes suggested a different and better way. We never experienced problems with the tool. If there was a problem, it was a user problem or a problem introduced by myself (admin).

Cons:

The large number of options. This is not necessarily a disadvantage, but one has to invest some time for the setup and think about the entire process in detail (several times).

Dagmar
Associate Professor in Estonia
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ConfTool Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I used it for organising a conference. I am a real fan of this tool and have recommended it broadly to my colleagues

Pros:

Conference time scheduling, including check of the presenters appointed to different places in parallel , but also many other things

Cons:

There might be smth that I did not use but hard to answer

Doretta
Office in Germany
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I love conftool

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is logical and intuitive and is always thinking a couple steps ahead of me. The customer support is extraordinary. It is extremely fast, friendly, patient, helpful, competent. Also, they have a sense of humor.

Cons:

Nothing to say here but I will keep typing until I reach the character limit.

ruth
senior lecturer in UK
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Conftool has been extremely helpful with the whole organization of the conference from day 1.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Very helpful to organize the conference all around, everything has been considered with a lot of care!

Pros:

It is very versatile, you can tailor to your needs and have different tracks. There are options for everything you can think of and it really helps when the structure of the conference has various tracks, review periods and different type of submission files. Very helpful support team responding immediately to our queries throughout the entire process. Very easy to download all the data gathered from the conference in a very organized way.

Cons:

The interface screens are not the most intuitive in the beginning but once you get used to it its all there and easy to use. We didn't use the facility to organize the sessions which was our mistake as it would have saved us a lot of time and helped a lot with that part.

Susanne
Universitätsassistentin in Austria
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best software to organize and conduct a conference.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: There were no wishes left. There were no problems with the software at any time.

Pros:

Easy to use. ConfTool has many important functions but above all the review process was very simple and could be structured via ConfTool. Frontdesk-function! Payment! I would like to emphasize the friendly and quick support from the team.

Cons:

Nothing! In my experience, there is no nearly comparable software.

Barbara
Akad. Oberrat, PhD in Germany
Research, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Job!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We organized one of the world biggest congresses in sport psychology and used ConfTool for registrational and administrational processes re: the congress; like submission of abstracts and review of abstracts and participant management and payments etc.

Pros:

easy to use, all aspects integrated that we needed, support of company

Cons:

nothing, the software was an excellent choice for our requirements

Hans-Joachim
Head of Services in Germany
Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top functionality and support

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Also after more than ten years of using ConfTool, we are still impressed by the functionality of this conference management tool and the provided support; the more you know about its functionality, the more fun it is to use it.

Pros:

Numerous options for customized settings; a lot of filtering and export options; really good and very quick technical support by ConfTool team; ease to use by attendees; good paper submission and review options

Cons:

More options for a customized design would be nice to have; integration with Scoocs (former iChair) could be better

Daniela
Event manager in Germany
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good and flexible system - wonderful personal support by developers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: All our participants cope well with it, and it is also easy to use in the backend. Support is much better and more personal than with other online services.

Pros:

We have worked with this system for 12 years now, and are very happy with its features. It is very intuitive and easy to use. The developer is open for personalised amendments and is always, and very quickly looking for the best solution.

Cons:

Nothing bad to say. Whenever there is a minor problem, you get help immediately.

Paul
Program Chair in Japan
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ran a conference with 160 proposals, 200 participants. ConfTool was fantastic.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use, had every feature that I wanted. Enabled me to handle reviews, mail all the participants and generally manage the conference very easily.

Cons:

Somethings seemed fixed and hard to change. May be my problem, but I wanted to be able to change the submissions so that people were not prompted to upload a file but I could not do it.

Michael
President & CEO in Austria
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool that makes our conferences a success

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Awesome!!!

Pros:

We use ConfTool already for a long time (more than 10 years). We and our local conference organizers like it very much. The functionality is awesome. The support is fantastic.

Cons:

Critical things have been discussed with the developers and have been fixed.

Caroline
ServiceZentrum Forschung und Transfer in Germany
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good conferencing tool with top service

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It has everything you need to organise a conference in one tool: registration of participants, creating the programm and handling of submissions. Plus the support was really great. If there was any problem it was solved within the day.

Cons:

The menu is a bit confusing. There are so many options. Sometimes it is unclear where to find an option one is looking for. It needs a bit of time to get used to it.

Jarmila
Managing Director in Czechia
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Even if I was using your SW for the first time, I was able to define almost everything needed

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Being in a role of conference co-organizer responsible for the abstract management, we were able to satisfy expectations of our client - an international sport association.

Pros:

I liked most reliability, complexity, trouble-free operation. The system was not a single time out of order, which is just superb!

Cons:

I liked the least fullness of all descriptions as it made me lost easily when I was searching for some instructions and details, how to adjust the system step by step for our conference.

Eamon
Eamon
Associate Professor in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product and support

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall highly positive. We had some payment configuration issues that we debugged with the help of the vendor. They were highly responsive in this regard.

Pros:

Very responsive support. Great tool that is feature packed and will do almost anything you want it to do. The "Related Functions" feature is a life-saver and allowed me to move around the system much more easily to find the right setting I was looking for once I figured this out.

Cons:

User can register for the conference without paying. I know the rationale and am not sure what the answer is. Perhaps this is just the way things are. Perhaps if people wish to pay by bank transfer they could "apply to register" or something?