osTicket Reviews

4.3 (48) Write a Review!

About osTicket

An open source customer support system that organizes, manages and archives incoming support requests.

Learn more about osTicket

Pros:

OsTicket is an open-source help desk ticketing system.

Cons:

Too much of information on the dashboard that can cause confusion.

osTicket ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

osTicket has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 48 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used osTicket before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (48)

Verified Reviewer
Assistant Director of IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Individual & Family Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Rock solid, no problems or outages related to the software for over 9 years!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This software gives our employees a place to report problems to multiple departments and receive timely answers to their technical issues. It allows us to measure metrics for performance, and see trends in issues. Importantly it also allows us to have a historical reference of all problems, outages, etc.

Pros:

osTicket is the best open source ticking system out there. Did I mention that it's free? It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive! It has an active support forum and community supporting it. There are third party developers that have created (free and paid) plugins and modifications to help others customize their system to their environment and companies needs. Need paid support or hosting? Need custom installation services? Have a feature that isn't available that you need? Enhancesoft, the parent company that owns and pays developers to work on the project, offer all of that.

Cons:

There are a couple of features that I think are important that this type of product has, and they [the developers] have been really slow to implement them. Responsive Themes being the biggest of these. While you can modify it to make your own themes this type of feature is needed. note: Devs have promised this with the forth coming 2.0 release.

Indrawan
IT MANAGER in Indonesia
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

OsTicket can provide what we need

4.0 last year

Comments: my experience use this osticket is satisfy. this can very useful especialy if you are the first time use ITSM and ticketing management.

Pros:

this ticketing system can have many categorized and element. so it is more easier to you while make your own form.

Cons:

i think os ticket must build some business intelegent dashboard or make a decision report for management.

Verified Reviewer
Software Developer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

If Issue tracking and Ticket management is your requirement, osTicket is your choice.

5.0 last year

Comments: As a free opensource tool, osTicket is great. We used it in our startup and my current company which is really good. It does ticket management really well. There are loads of customization, it's easy to use and can even work in a small hosting environment.

Pros:

Fast, quick and easy to setup. OpenSource so can be self-hosted.

Cons:

Some file types are not supported as attachments. A bit obsolete in terms of technology but does the job.

Verified Reviewer
Founder & CEO in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Free and easy to setup support ticket system to deliver a great user support experience.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Being free to use and easy to implement and setup, osTicket is suitable for non-profit and small business. osTicket offers large set of features and options that enables to customize and deliver great user support experience for example you can create custom departments, customize support system pages and modify ticket fields like adding additional ticket fields. osTicket is a very customizable support ticket system that offers many options to help customize all aspects of user support experience like the ability to customize departments, emails sent to user, pages and alerts. osTicket offers an easy to setup knowledge base of frequently asked questions to help minimize support requests.

Cons:

osTicket lacks some important options and features like the option to automatically close tickets after a certain period of time, an option to disable Overdue behavior and the lack of custom themes of both user and agent interfaces.

Verified Reviewer
Sales Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect software for my ecommerce website support portal

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

When my ecommerce business started to take off and we were placing 400 orders a day, we needed something better than just an email inbox to manage customer service. With osTicket, I can manage my several customer service managers and inboxes to ensure we are utilizing our time in the best way possible, and serving our customers needs effectively. osTicket was the perfect addition to our toolbelt, and after trying alternatives, this was still the front runner.

Cons:

The setup is a bit involved. There are a lot of out of the box settings that need modified in various places in the interface. It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style. Works well for me anyway.

Eva
Customer Experience Executive in Kenya
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

osTicket - Issue Tracking Made Easier

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's the best open source ticketing system. Claiming and reassigning tickets is very easy, as well as email notification is sent out, once a ticket is overdue. User is able to export tickets quickly using the filtering option of, Assignee, ticket status, and date. From the exported report one is able to see when a ticket was raised and closed. This helps to track on the SLA's

Cons:

OSticket, does not show how long a ticket took to be escalated to the next level, i.e from level 1 to level 2. It lacks the option to automatically close an overdue ticket after a particular time. There should be an option to reassign a ticket to the next person, if its overdue

Verified Reviewer
SRE in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An easy Ticket system

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: We use Osticket more than five years. I highly recommend it.

Pros:

You don't need a knowledge translation to start using it. It's simplier than others.

Cons:

The release of new versions is slow. The User Interface is old.

Verified Reviewer
Technology Integration Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Backbone Ticketing For Tech

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall OSTicket lets our tech and maintenance teams address issues in a timely fashion. It is pretty simple to use and therefore easier than some systems for our less technical staff.

Pros:

The software allows our staff to create trouble tickets for both tech and maintenance. The incorporation into out email system (Gmail) easily lets staff create these tickets through simple emails. More advanced users can log into the portal and track all of their open tickets.

Cons:

Our previous software was harder to setup but had a few more features. It would be nice to have a heftier reporting feature or trend management built in. Inclusion of asset tracking would be a plus too.

William
William
Chief Operating Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Support tickets, email notifications, mobile app, all relatively easy to use

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Support ticket software, for free. But not the best feature set around.

Pros:

Ticket tracking and email notification Tasks can be added to tickets for additional steps before a ticket can be closed. User management is fairly easy, and users can be organized by teams and departments Files can be attached to the ticket. A Paid Mobile app allows for simple ticket management.

Cons:

Notifications and team/department access seems haphazard and a bit of an afterthought. It could be much better organized. Mobile app is very limited and very pricey for what little it actually accomplishes.

Tyler
IT Guru in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free and Easy!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software is easy to deploy, just git clone from https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket Feature packed and ready for SMB deployment on your own servers. Community support is active and easy. Also available as an install package on Synology NAS

Cons:

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running. The fact that you can install this as a package direct from Synology package store makes it even easier.

Shawn
IT Manager in US
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

osTicket

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall osTicket has significantly helped me streamline our IT support in a mid-sized company.

Pros:

osTicket is an open-source help desk ticketing system. It has all the best features, is easy to set up, deploy, and maintain and is fully customizable. I needed a help desk platform that could be hosted on-site and osTicket has fit the bill perfectly.

Cons:

I really don't have any cons for this software. It's open-source and the developers monitor their support forums well so issues can be resolved in a timely manner.

Verified Reviewer
IT Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

osTicket

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far great experience.

Pros:

Great simple application for support ticket. I am using this app for the past 8 years or more. For someone looking for a basic ticketing system, this is the one. Since the app is opensource, no need to pay for it. lately they have paid hosted versions. I am running mine in my own server. For me this works perfectly as a ticketing platform. You can create web tickets or email tickets.

Cons:

Reporting can be better. Since its a free app, it's not fair to complain.

Verified Reviewer
Junior Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It suited our needs at the time

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Like a I said in the title it fitted our needs at the time, but as we improved our system we found that we had outgrown the software.

Pros:

It's easy of use is second to none. Everything is very intuitive and you can't fault it for that. It does the job it sets out to do, provide a space to view any issues that come into your service desk

Cons:

The system just lacks a polished finish. From a visual perspective it looks out of date and it's lacking feature which people nower days probably want like reporting.

Kyle
Kyle
Executive Management Team in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great Help Desk Ticket System

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

oS Ticket has been a great IT Help Desk system for our company. Users can easily send in a help request via email, and oS ticket automatically creates a ticket and alerts our help desk. The system allows for tickets to be assigned to different technicians, change hands, and keeps a detailed note/tracking of everything associated with the ticket. There are a lot of great reports as well, including # of tickets closed, average response time, etc.

Jose
IT Technician in Paraguay
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It gets the job done without the clutter

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The installation is really easy being a PHP application. It lacks some features present in other support management applications, but it has the minimum necesary to get the job done without complications. It has a very ease to use API to make osTicket work with external systems like call center and CRM.

Cons:

The search functionality needs some work. It's difficult to search for specific customers or even ticket ID, but overall, is OK.

Verified Reviewer
Directrice, succursale ventilation in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We implemented this software to better track the problems encountered by our clients and to better assist them.

Pros:

Open sourced, customizable, very easy to use and multi-user. You get reports so you can keep track of your statistics. Its easy to setup and install and you can host it on your own servers.

Cons:

Search function is terrible. Feels a bit unfinished but they are always doing upsates and improving.

Tristan
Tristan
Game Developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BEST help desk software 2022

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: good experience overall and i would recommend

Pros:

Easy to customize or edit forms and configurations for workflow

Cons:

there is a limit to features but still not too bad

Gerson
System Administrator in Philippines
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Flexible and very user friendly software

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's a good and free platform!

Pros:

Being free to use and easy to implementation gives us a huge savings in our organization. osTicket offers large sets of free plugins and options that enables to customize the osTicket dashboard based on your organization. For example, you can customize the user support like email sents, knowledge based or FAQ in front of the report ticket dashboard.

Cons:

Initial installation can be difficult if you have never do this before. There are many services to be setup just to get it work.

Sean
IT Director in US
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We use multiple instances of this software from IT tickets to Purchase orders

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It is versatile. We use it for multiple things like IT support, Customer complaints, and contractor purchases.

Pros:

Once it is setup, it runs itself with almost no tweaking. It has all of the same features as paid helpdesk suites.

Cons:

Initial configuration can be difficult if you have never done it before. There are so many things to setup just to get it working.

rafeeque
Deputy manger network administrator in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

osticket open source and easy to implement

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

its a open source PHP easy edit to program don't need any PHP professional development skill reporting system is excellent we can customize as per ours requirement

Cons:

sms integration should be there and email response excellent need more option for alert ticket reporting and user base very comfortable

Steve
Owner in US
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Os ticket keeping our tickets sorted easily

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I love their free platform and allowing self hosting. Its kept our tickets neat and clean and we get them out fast. It has a user interface that is pretty easy to navigate and my customers love it

Cons:

Can be a bit tricky to install but once its up its easy to do.

Eric
Eric
COO in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool forticketing

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Solution that is free, lightweight, reliable, open source, and easy to setup and use. Has most of the features of the paid solutions. Easy to tie to company websites for customers to open tickets.

Cons:

You need to know how to set it up and host it your self.

Adam
Adam
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best open source Ticket system EVER!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: love it Free and Great helpdesk software !

Pros:

I love this software. We use to use Zendesk but at a user, it wasn't worth it. osTicket save us a ton of time with the FAQ feature that allows our end users to look up and answer without submitting a ticket. We have about 500 FAQ's entered into the system. The ticket system has great integration with gmail allowing tickets to be emailed of submitted via a form. The software is open source so if you are tech savvy you can just install it for free. We run in AWS for / month and have 5 IT Techs on the system. Regular updates are released so we won't be left with an outdated product

Cons:

No major cons. I wish they would modernize the UI. The UI is about 10 years behind as of 5/2018. Also the API is not full featured on certain actions can be done in the API :( IF you don't want to integrate into existing software this will not matter for you.

Ron
Systems Administrator in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awesome Ticketing System Once Set Up

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I love that this can be used for various types of jobs, and that you can use it for multiple job types at once. For instance I use osTicket as my IT helpdesk to assign tickets and track the progress of the issue resolution with a written record. But not only that, we have a separate service department for cleaning equipment that can use it as well. All running from the same install.

Cons:

Learning curve and initial set up. It is a long process to get through all the settings and features available. Once you do you won't regret it though.

Stuart
IT Specialist in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Helpdesk made easier

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Nice and easy to review tickets sent in. Can configure multiple emails to receive them.

Cons:

Found some limitations with file types and sizes