Cherwell Service Management Reviews

4.3 (162) Write a Review!

About Cherwell Service Management

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell Service Management

Pros:

A dashboard, while not terribly elegant looking, does provide insights into open cases within a users area. Ability to send the ticket to Salesforce, which is a far superior case management system.

Cons:

The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

Cherwell Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Cherwell Service Management has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 162 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Cherwell Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (162)

Cliff
Java Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

High level of accurateness and flexibility

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Cherwell Software offers one ITSM product which is aimed at companies with medium and high level of maturity. If you are interested in integrating a flexible and adjustable solution in your organization, then Cherwell Service Management is exactly what you require.

Pros:

The company has expanded its ITOM capabilities and supports a wide range of third-party integrations and extensions. For instance, the example of such a platform can be Exchange Mergeable Application. In a few words, this application gives various opportunities for third-party developers to host their applications. In general, the vendor pleases us with the new program’s opportunities and abilities rolling out pretty frequently. We have given our preference to Cherwell Service Management because of its great visualization capabilities, user-friendliness of the program’s interface, powerful reporting, etc. With its help, our team has automatized numerous processes and tasks. The platform pleases with its accurate dashboards and incredible search abilities.

Cons:

The company has a tendency to reassign account people. Maybe, the reason for that is the high speed of their self-development, who knows. But still, it may cause little difficulties. Where we see problems with Cherwell Service Management is that this program requires a lot of computer memory to run correctly. In addition, the program will be a real pain without a strong infrastructure from your side. What’s more, this solution does not have any web version.

Robin
Application Support and Development in US
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best ITSSM Platform - Indespensible in Delivering Our Services

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Cherwell implements 11 ITIL process out-of-the-box which helped an immature organization like ours start practicing ITIL. It's automation capabilities are vast and robust. The single best part of this product is its philosophy. It is completely customizable to fit your organization's needs and if Cherwell doesn't do something another tool does or you want to continue to use that tool, Cherwell integrates with many tools natively, through merge application functionality, and lastly through general customization. Simply put, if you can dream it, Cherwell does it...and if it doesn't, it will integrate with something that does.

Pros:

Everything! It is customizable to fit my organization's needs. I happen to be a programmer, but I don't need to be to develop and configure Cherwell. It implements robust and customizable frameworks that allow you to use it as you need to. Cherwell doesn't dictate ITSSM, it's your partner in it.

Cons:

The customizability allows unwary or naive implementors, developers, or Cherwell Admins to make changes that ultimately reduce the awesomeness of the product. The biggest area of this is in implementing business processes. Before making changes, consider whether you business process is as effective as it should be, rather than making the product implement a poor-performing process.

André
André
Systems Administrator in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good and reliable ticket management system

4.0 last year

Comments: Good experience, the ticket management, the SLA tools, the filter tools, the access control and the idea of cloud based solution are very good differentials compared to the other solutions on the market, also it is reliable, on these 3 years using the solution, I could not remember any interruptions. Last but not least, the possibility to customize the solution, going through the development directly on the code is awesome, if the company has a programmer or a devolopment team, it can be totally customized for the company.

Pros:

It is reliable to manage your tickets, the SLAs, the escalation plans, everything works perfectly right. Therefore, the option to use the asset management is pretty interesting as well and you can access it from anywhere without you have an infrastructure, it is totally on cloud. Another plus about the software, is the possibility to customize it, according to your company, if you have an development team.

Cons:

Some features, like the agent to inventory the assets, needs to be bought apart from the software, it is something that would be really useful if it came together with the bundle.

Chris
IT Application Analyst in US
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell is a powerful, flexible software that is great out of the box

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We did not have an ITSM software in place prior to implementing Cherwell, so we did not come in with any preconceived notions. The implementation was smooth and the PSO helped us customize the software during the process. I have found it to be very easy to maintain, upgrade, modify, and enhance. The Cherwell customer community is vibrant and the company listens and incorporates ideas and requests from its user base. Support is very friendly and helpful, and always willing to help me with implementing any ideas I come up with. I also very much appreciate their emphasis on participating in their community and supporting organizations who have a positive impact on our world.

Pros:

The product allows for a high level of customization and is very easy to use, both from user and administrator standpoints.

Cons:

The built in report writing leaves something to be desired. However, reporting through dashboards and searches within the system is a great alternative.

Jennifer
Senior Application Developer in US
Information Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell has changed my career life.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Using Cherwell has been great because I have gotten to learn a new software product and how to develop in it, whereas before I was sort of stuck not doing any development work for years. CSM has challenged me to learn more and stretch boundaries in planning future projects for more innovative development, as well.

Pros:

I really like how the company makes its customers feel special and makes us a priority, and how it is a software company that is proud of providing a code-less software product, that always seeks to be innovative and the best.

Cons:

There are some quirks in the product that cannot be explained that exist in different places in the software that make troubleshooting a challenge at times. I have a One-Step, for example, that changes perspective after the 4th or 5th step, for some reason, and I had to build a work-around for it.

John
IT Service Management Lead in US
Law Practice, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unparalleled Flexibility

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The application allows non-developers to create their own scenarios and solutions, and engage your users with highly-configurable dashboards, reports, and forms. With some more advanced knowledge, you can easily turn a basic ticketing system into a full-featured platform for your company.

Pros:

The flexibility and ease of use. The licensing model is extremely flexible and makes sense in nearly every business case.

Cons:

The depth. While this isn't generally considered a negative, the software is so deep that you tend to realize there are a half dozen ways to do the same thing, and if you're of the mindset where you constantly tweak your apps, you'll always find a better way to do something, even if you don't have the time/resources to do so.

Brian
WiscIT/Cherwell Administrator in US
Higher Education Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell is amazing software

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've been using Cherwell since August 2014, and have yet to encounter something we can't make it do. The ability to develop the tool with the access to the same tools and features that their in-house and partner developers use means that we can build the tool exactly as we like at very little cost, and it provides numerous ways to build integrations to other tools and services, without needing to develop expensive bespoke code. Going back to anything else would be unthinkable.

Pros:

User community, ability to modify to meet our needs, variety of hosting options, a vendor who is as interested in making the best possible tool as we are.

Cons:

The webclient isn't quite up to par with the installed client yet. This is my only real gripe.

Jamie
Director, Service Operations in US
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell is a great ITSM that is easily expanded to the Enterprise

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We implemented Cherwell in 2013. Currently we have incident, service request and change management implemented within IT. IT Projects underway are problem management, knowledge management and employee on-boarding/off-boarding. We also expanded the tool to Customer Service, Operations, Facilities Service and Supply Chain. Our next non-IT project will be implementing the tool within HR. The tool does not require programming background to configure. We have two non-technical
resources who are responsible for the administration of the tool and development of new applications.
Dashboards are an easy way to report real time data from the system. They are powerful and we use them everyday to monitor our service. As a company Cherwell is 100% customer focused. They listen to us and help us be successful with the tool. The culture of the company is amazing and not something you typically see at a software company.

Pros:

Configurability, flexibility and ability to expand beyond IT.

Cons:

The report writer is difficult to learn and understand.

Maizy
Music Director in US
Religious Institutions, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Enterprise-Level Ticketing System

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I really like Cherwell, and find it does meet our needs well for ticketing. I'm able to enter my information quickly to submit and process tickets. Great tool.

Pros:

Cherwell is a well established IT ticketing tool, that my company has used for over two years now. We use it for incident reporting and journaling, as well as for our operation changes. I really like the robustness of it. It's user friendly, and has options and controls for almost anything I'd want to enter for the tickets. The software is customizable, and our admin team has tweaked things to be more in line with our company and uses. It has a clean smooth interface and does handle everything we want to do with our tickets.

Cons:

When we first switched to Cherwell from HPSM, we did find the learning curve to be large, as the two tools have many differences. In general, like with any software, it does take time to get used to, but once we did get used to it, it seems rather smooth.

Verified Reviewer
Applications Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An all-in one service management package that works but has issues

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Cherwell Service Management has fulfilled its requirements. However, upgrades are finicky and deep customization really can take a lot of work. Some of them are straight forward and some really require a lot of time to get going, more so than you would expect for similar products. (Similar product are, less customizable, however, take less of a lift on what you can do with them which is a trade-off you need to understand going into it.)

Pros:

While not always easy or straightforward, this service management product is highly customizable and can be used for a variety of areas such as a knowledge database, help desk, incident tracking, change management, etc.

Cons:

Customization can take a lot of work and upgrades can often break functionality with no eta or workarounds aside from downgrading or waiting for a future upgrade (which could be a year+ away.)

Austin
Senior Infrastructure Administrator in US
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Highly customizable but watch for bugs

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: In the grand scheme of things, the software works very well. We are able to tailor it to meet our requirements for separating Incidents and Service Requests without too much of a learning curve. This has allowed us to obtain accurate metrics that were previously unavailable. The ability to customize everything has also opened up options for other teams to use the software instead of relying on email because other ticketing systems are too restrictive.

Pros:

Cherwell gives you the ability to do almost anything you want/need to do. It's built in workflow (One-Step) feature is great for automating repeatable tasks. The extensibility and integration options are also huge benefits. Being able to link into pretty much any other application with a SQL back-end is huge.

Cons:

There are quite a few bugs especially when it comes to the browser side of things. Customizing the Customer Portal lacks a functioning WYSIWYG interface and if you're a hosted customer, you have to open a ticket to have support restart IIS services before some of your changes go into effect. This makes creating/modifying a Customer Portal very painful. The Browser Client for technicians is also quite buggy. With the amount of "out of the box" features the software comes with, be very careful.. As some of these features are misconfigured out of the box and require either scouring the whole system or relying on a third party vendor who knows where the bugs are and can fix them. If you ask me, this is just a way to force you to use a consultant for implementation.

Steve
Service Desk Manager in US
Environmental Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell just works and I love to tell others about it

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: From the moment that we met the Cherwell folks in 2014 we knew that they were the right fit for us. They listen to their customers and they truly care about our needs and they encourage user input and interaction. There hasn't been a need that we've thought of that we either haven't been able to do or haven't been able to find an answer from the user community.

Pros:

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons:

When building a new business object there are so many options and check boxes (that's good). The problem customers face is that we don't know exactly what all those check boxes do so would like to see additional documentation on those.

Verified Reviewer
Director of IT Support in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cherwell ITSM very customizable

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience has been good, the product is excellent, but you need to invest additional money for the implementation.

Pros:

Cherwell is a robust ITSM, you can customize the forms, notifications, workflows, almost everything.

Cons:

You need specific training to configure and implement the changes. Cherwell has partners and you need to contact and contract them for the implementation. They need to improve their content on the web for the recent versions.

Derek
Manager - Enterprise Operations Center in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Total Cost of Ownership is the best in the industry

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We had several systems at our company of the last few years. We have 20,000 users and over 400 locations spread throughout the world. We have used Lotus Notes, Heat, IBM Smart Cloud Control Desk. We went through major consolidation efforts for tools, people and processes. We are in the middle of a massive IT Transformation. We evaluated ServiceNow and Cherwell very closely with test instances in our organization. From easy of setup, use and administration Cherwell blew away ServiceNow. Continual Professional Services are costs not usually highlighted in initial sales meetings. With Cherwell, we are able to significantly decrease our 3rd party Professional Services costs. The licensing costs are much less expensive. With ServiceNow, you have to pay for modules as your organization matures and finds value in these new features. This is not the case with Cherwell. From easy of use, functionality to customer support and costs, there was not comparison. Cherwell blew away the competition and continues to do so.

Pros:

Easy of use and intuitive nature.

Cons:

Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

Robert
Professional, Tech Ops in US
Information Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Widget disparity between client application and web browser

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: All widgets are available in both the client and web parts of Cherwell, however, the widgets viewed in a web browser lack the same visual quality that you see in the client. Mainly graphs and grids differ between the client and web so much so that either widgets are doubled to accommodate the differences or separate dashboards entirely.

Pros:

The application is incredibly customizable. You don't have to figure out how to cram a custom process into a fixed application, you just create your custom process with all and only the things and functions it needs, but still have the capability to link it to existing objects and processes

Cons:

The lack of web browser compatibility development. However Cherwell is a company that actually listens to it's customers and they are constantly improving.

Alex
Systems Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feature rich and customizable

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

Very much aligned with ITIL which is what our company is focused and built around.

Cons:

Can be clucky at times, but that can be fixed with better customization.

Catherine
Director, ITAC in US
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Cherwell

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Flexibility and customization - if you have the time, you can build it.

Cons:

ADA, mobile and browser apps (thick client for PC only)

Verified Reviewer
IT Client Services Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell Ticketing Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Cherwell has been great overall. Have used it for around 3 years and have had almost no functional issues with it during that time.

Pros:

Cherwell does a great job of keeping track of tickets across multiple teams with seamless integration. Makes ticketing for a large IT Dept. with over 12 teams easy. The software is customizable and allows for automation in just about every facet of the program. Tasks that take up to 10 minutes can be done instantly through the One-Step feature.

Cons:

The software is lacking in visual design. It's functional but getting information to be readable and look good is very hard and takes quite a bit of work in the dashboard manager.

Verified Reviewer
DBA in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent help desk product

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've been working with Cherwell for 4 years. The product is extremely stable and safe. Through personalized screens it is possible to have a complete view of the activities that are being requested by priority, demand and responsible.
To search for an extended call, the tool has quick and well-designed consultation screens.
I also manage the process changes using the tool.

Pros:

The ability to create customized panels with all the demands that are being requested, filtering by responsible analyst.

Cons:

When we have a large number of queries on personalized screens the product loses a lot of performance. Creating micro-slowness. Even in the transition of their product. This could definitely be better.

Chris
Chris
Applications Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very cutomizable, and no coding!!

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very customizable, and no coding!! Easy to use

Cons:

It's a bit buggy and there are some quirks that require adjustments

Douglas
Douglas
IT Tech Support Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very effective ticketing system

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Cherwell Service Management has been a very effective ticketing system for our operation. It rewards inquisitive users who have some experience with SQL queries. It integrates with our email system, so we end up receiving and answering email inquiries from our user community through the Cherwell interface. It gives good reporting, and good statistics, although the reporting requires some effort to access. It has been a good system for my organization

Pros:

Customization of searches; use of an SQ-like search format to build queries that can then be saved and reused

Cons:

Requires some level of training in order to increase personal customization. Occasionally have multiple people working on the same tickets, so some tickets get resolved with ineffective solutions while others are working on them. Reporting requires some effort to access.

Niru
client support analyst in Canada
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CRM Software used for Helpdesk

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, cherwell has allowed our team to collaborate on many levels across the organization. We can create,track, monitor and assign problematic cases that come to our helpdesk from clients so we can best assist them and find a resolution.

Pros:

I like how cherwell provides a database of all our incidents created from agents at the helpdesk. This allows us to collaborate and best assist our client with issues that arise. Cherwell service management allows admins to customize dashboards and ticket templates to best cater to the orgainzations needs.

Cons:

Fairly easy to use interface, its straight forward however sometimes we experience issues with slowness of lagging. The software becomes sluggish at times when the servers get over loaded so the users experience increased load times between screens.

David
Data Center Operations Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent ITSSM and climbing rapidly.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Excellent product with very good support. Very flexible and supports many business processes beyond ITSM. Has been effective for our organization for Supply Chain management. Very good user group community that free contributes mApps that significantly enhance functionality. Also has excellent business partners supporting a wide array of services.

Pros:

Powerful and flexible. Great dashboards and reportts.

Cons:

Allows you to implement poorly if you don't follow best practices. The look and feel of Windows client is a bit dated and needs refreshed.

Catie
IT Support Analyst in US
Machinery, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cherwell - The Best

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros:

The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons:

There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

Michael
Director of User Support in US
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best solution... even for the little guy!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Cherwell is the best solution for ITSSM on the market -- even for small businesses or schools. Cherwell is easy to configure and intuitive to use. Unlike other ITSSM vendors, it is flexible enough to handle anything without needing costly customizations. As a company, Cherwell is like a family. They truly care about their customers and their customers' success. In my experience, this is VERY rare among other ITSSM vendors.

Pros:

Easy to use and customize. Extremely scalable without the need of costly vendor or 3rd-party professional services.