15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Zoho People

Automate your HR process to maximize your most important asset: your people!

Learn more about Zoho People

Pros:

It is very easy to use and keeps our employee database very easily updated. It has almost a fiully employee cycle from employment do dismissal/resignation.

Cons:

The main issue we faced with this software is the API limitation that has a maximum of 200 record per request.

Zoho People ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Zoho People has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 244 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Zoho People before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (244)

Oladipo
Oladipo
Content writer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Zoho People Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Zoho People is a software that offers complete and total HR services for organizations with all its amazing features such as document management, time-off management, employee database management, payroll integration, employee self-service, etc. Zoho people can be used in the various industries that exist all over the world. Industries like I.T. Media/Advertising, Finance, Healthcare, and Education. This software has a free mobile application that easily works on Android and iOS devices. I so much enjoy using Zoho People as it also offers a free trial version for new users who might want to test its capabilities for just 30 days.

Cons:

No single fault is displayed yet, it performs all its functions excellently.

Mashucul
Director in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best feature list for HR software

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Very good reliable feature rich and great value for money

Pros:

This one application can pretty much do everything you need for people management. Its LMS module alone is worth over $5/month if bought as a separate application from another provider. The app is very responsive and reliable which again is a massive feature as some HR softwares have a web version but not an actual app. Best of all Zoho has a family of products so those other apps are of use to you hen Zoho One which is all their apps is very good value for money

Cons:

Biggest cons are that it is not a HR software in the absolute sense of the word because it has no payroll feature outside of India and although it is feature rich implementation is difficult. Zoho deliberately have poor support so you are forced to use their expensive third party partners who will help set it up to your requirements. I used someone from fiverr which is a lot cheaper but the issue with that is they go AWOL after a few weeks and you have to find someone else

Suresh
HR Manager in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Zoho People - The Best or Nothing

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

First, I like the performance management features The software makes time tracking easy and it comes with employee scheduling features It is a great human reosurce management software that is very helpful and well equipped

Cons:

With Zoho People, there hasn't been much complaints as it handles well.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

As usual with ZoHo - A good idea that's not working out

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: (I ran out of room in the "What did i like least) section.. so I'll continue here) The many many times I contacted support they were very slow to respond, unhelpful, and more than a little condescending... Many times I wound up skipping customer support and contacting the sales representative who was trying to get me to use the software (he was financially motivated to help me) Overall - Zoho People is an unrefined, difficult to use and poorly supported piece of software. I wish it weren't so! But.. alas...

Pros:

There's a lot of conceptual things to like about zoho people - as with most Zoho products out there (And believe me.. I have tried just about all of them) There are a lot of great ideas.. Zoho promises the ability to track time, integrate with Zoho projects, track and measure performance, create employee profiles and in short manage every aspect of your employees. As i'll describe below - these things don't actually pan out the way they should. Since I have to pick one thing I like most about this software (That isn't theoretical) I would say it's ability to (almost) easily integrate with other zoho platforms - notably the various messaging systems

Cons:

Zoho People is like every other Zoho software I have ever used - Too good to be true. What makes most of the zoho software so attractive seems to stem from two things... 1. The price is always fantastic 2. The marketing team is clearly miles ahead of the development team (in other words, it looks better than it is) With specific regard to Zoho people.. to start with, you definitely feel like you need to be a developer to set it up. They have pretty extensive support documentation but it's often out of date - and at least a half dozen times I went to the documentation and found it was missing the specific problem/issue or feature I was trying to figure out. Zoho people uses a lot of labels for things that aren't adequately explained which oftens leaves the user thinking that they are doing one thing.. only to find out they aren't. An easy example is that you can have employees, or users - and sometimes employees are users, but not always.. I wish I could tell you more about it but honestly I have no idea what it means. If you manage to get any pieces of this software set up, you will find that the functionality is more limited than planned. It doesn't integrate well with things like projects and it always seems to be lacking that ONE feature you really needed.. (for me, it was project task time tracking)

Katie
Co-owner in UK
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid and Dependable HR Solution for Our Retail Business

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Zoho People has been a very dependable and well-performing HR tool for our retail business. We were able to set it up and sync with our other tools very easily as we're already using some of the other Zoho tools and the native integration doesn't take much time at all to set up. Other than that, all the modules are very well thought out and have a lot of advanced features that save you a lot of time, and it very rarely has performance issues like bugs and whatnot. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an online HR tool.

Pros:

As a small business, we were a bit concerned as to whether we'd have to pay way over budget to be able to implement a product like Zoho, but compared to most of the other tools we evaluated, Zoho offers very reasonable plans for small businesses like ours which has helped us reap the benefits without having to wait until we hire a couple dozen more people.

Cons:

It's a bit confusing when you're just beginning to use it. It would be good to have better onboarding to learn it quicker and help us explore new ways to use it compared to us discovering stuff on our own.

Kristy
Recruitment Professional in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Zoho- People -Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience with Zoho is tremendous. Zoho People, which we can firmly refer to as "The HR on your fingers," is the best online application. Outstanding features like Time & Attendance, Employee databases, Leave management, Rewards, etc. make it the best in class. One feature that will make Zoho People stand out is its usability. Everything is quite clear. It is quite comfortable to use, even for a new employee. It also offers good app integration and can adapt to new platforms. It offers an iOS and Android mobile app which enables it's users to use it anytime anywhere.

Pros:

It is a useful tool for managing employees and businesses. It is beneficial to consolidate all of the data and make it accessible to various team members. Having everyone on the same page is incredibly helpful. PMS is fantastic because it replaced our Excel sheets with something useful. There are log-in and log-out notification emails as well as time tracking. makes life a lot simpler for us. It offers time-tracking capabilities like regular attendance, leave, and even Zoho cases that allow us to contact the proper authority in real-time. This might assist in keeping an accurate record of the absentees.

Cons:

This product will be even better after some technical issues are resolved, which I'm still waiting on. As an illustration, their most recent user interface (UI) has a scrolling page issue that makes it impossible for me to perform a vertical scroll without enlarging the browser. In addition, sometimes when I check out, it still indicates that I'm logged in, and other times it hangs and displays a somewhat flaky message saying the site cannot be contacted.

Ana
Ana
Security Architecture Discipline leader in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The universal human resources management tool can be used for any purpose.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Before using Zoho People for vacation scheduling, our HR department struggled to schedule time off. Since starting to use the tool in the early part of the year, it's been easy to schedule time off. Additionally, the approval process used to take a long time; now it's faster and easier. The system makes it easy to see how many vacation days each team member has left. It also shows which team members are out because of sickness and which have already taken vacation days.

Pros:

Huge features list; no other supplier has as many features for the price. Supplies small and large equipment alike, but can be applied to even larger equipment. No weeks of preparation or long workshops are necessary; you can start using this product immediately. Compared to other suppliers, this is a bargain and has no equal.

Cons:

The vast amount of features in the product makes understanding it very difficult. Additionally, many features of the product are controlled by incorporation, which makes it harder to use. Using this tool eliminates the need for HR to manage vacation requests. The system automates not only the recruitment process, but also new employee onboarding.

Winigah
Customer Support Manager in Togo
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An all-in-one solution to boost your business!

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: In general, I appreciate the ease of use of the interface, the richness of the features and the user-friendliness of the mobile application.

Pros:

What I like most about Zoho People is its ease of use and versatility. The software is intuitive and customizable, allowing companies to tailor it to their specific HR management needs. In addition, Zoho People offers a wide range of functionality, from leave and absence management to scheduling and performance reviews, making it a complete solution for any company looking to optimize workforce management.

Cons:

Its integration with other applications is limited and also it cannot allow employees to download their payslips directly

Tirus
HR Manager in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Zoho People - Powerful Yet Functional and Easy To Use

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is a great performance management system It makes tracking easy from time to attendance It supports mobile use It makes scheduling easy and offers leading HR features.

Cons:

With Zoho People, it has been super smooth handling HR matters.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Paper & Forest Products, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A must-try HR software

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Zoho People's HR analytics tools can help you to make better decisions about your HR strategies by providing insights into your workforce.

Pros:

I do like Zoho People's employee self-service portal. It truly stands out by providing employees the autonomy to access their information and carry out tasks autonomously, fostering a sense of ownership that undoubtedly boosts their overall engagement.

Cons:

Zoho People is a good option for businesses that are looking for a basic HR software solution, but it may not be the best choice for businesses that need more advanced features.

Adam
Director of Technology Solutions in Canada
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great HRMS for the Money

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: great - has been an excellent step into the HRMS world from our spreadsheets and manual processes. Good support, great price, deep feature set.

Pros:

Very reasonable pricing, with a great depth of features. You can customize everything, build out approvals, workflows, automation and even custom script entire new modules. If you use other products in the Zoho Suite, it has incredible integrations as well. It was a huge step up (but small commitment in terms of cost) from our spreadsheets and manual processes.

Cons:

Complicated to set up - but that is expected given the level of customization, flexibility and functionality involved. HR is a complex thing - setting up HR Software to conform with your policies is too. But this software provides great value. Also, shifts feature was a bit lacking for how we operate, but that was not a critical feature need for us.

Mirat
Senior Recruitment in India
Staffing & Recruiting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent HR management Tool and Performance Management Tool

4.0 last year

Pros:

For managing employees and leave requests, I use Zoho, and I'm pleasantly impressed by how simple it is to use. I can always discover important notifications like birthdays, Work anniversaries, Good news, updates from the company. Additionally, if I need it, I can always retrieve the personal details of every employee. Being an all-in-one tool is appealing to me. Everything an employer might possibly need is there. Every department has a tool, including IT, HR, accounts, and team management. We use this portal for Performance management. This tool is excellent for resolving cases of IT, HR, Accounts. We use to for off boarding and on boarding the new hires.

Cons:

Nothing has come to my attention that I would find objectionable. In my organisation, it is used to retain records of all employees and to post goals, HR announcements, policies, and other information. It is perfectly fulfilling its intended function. I just think sometimes it lags while checking out from the application

Anil
Sales Operations Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Time saving destination for HR management.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is a good employee and company management tool. It helps to centralize all the data and make it available to different members of the team. This is very useful for all the workers to be on the same page. It has time tracking features which are useful to track the amount of time a particular project takes. The employees can update their strategies to work better in accordance with the inbuilt instant feedback system. A regular attendance tracking system is also present. This can help to maintain an accurate record of the absentees.

Cons:

It is difficult to use for a small-scale company. The higher versions provide just the same features as the basic versions. Customer service is very slow in responding.

chew
HR in Malaysia
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

This software apps is very interesting.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Easy to keep tracking staffs record

Pros:

Having relevant data immediately available makes decision-making easy. Good quality hr software allows for a number of relevant areas to be updated simultaneously and can ensure that remember to input useful and important information on all aspects of human resources. Manual record keeping is very time consuming because all related records have to be up dated by hand. Using software to record information can free up staff for higher order functions. Additionally, employee inquiries can take up a lot of a human resource department's (or manager's) time and HR software can provide a self service option for employees to obtain relevant information themselves as well as saving staff time in obtaining it for employees. It can also save time and improve effectiveness for every step of the recruitment and selection process as well as for employee evaluation and training.

Cons:

Very difficult and hard to understand the formatting, do setting or customize what feature that we want.

Prajakta
HR Business Partner in India
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great HRMS tool for startups

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall good tool to start your HR functions getting automated for small companies.For larger size companies, this won't be suitable for the end to end HR needs.

Pros:

Zoho People is very user-friendly for the organization who is willing to automate their HR processes for the first time. Onboarding team of Zoho People provides a great 1 to 1 support to make end user comfortable with the functionalities of the software Flexible tool to match your organization's HR processes Covers most of the aspects of HR except payroll

Cons:

Post onboarding of the tool, facing challenges with the support team as every time new engineer will get assigned to you No function available for recruitment management so it won't solve your hiring purpose

Sasa
Sasa
Cloud Consultant in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HR helper and organizer

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Saved us a lot of time and manual work when it comes to people related HR operations. In the moment where our growth expanded, Zoho People simplified and automated bunch of things we tracked internally in some other tools.

Pros:

Feature-set that we use complements our HR needs. Zoho People simplifies the most of the people organization, vacation and holiday tracking, leave and remote work management.

Cons:

User experience could be improved, but recently they introduced new UI which I am checking atm, so hopefully this will be better.

Veronica
HR Manager in Romania
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good product to start automating processes in your company

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: ok platform for the value.

Pros:

Implementing Zoho People helped us automate some of the processes, such as leave requests, birthday celebrations, annual reviews reminders. I appreciate very much the flexibility of the platform, it is very customisable and supports particularities for various types of companies.

Cons:

I had a tiny language barrier while implementing the platform. I can't think of anything else.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good tool for HR

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a solid piece of software when viewed as a component of the whole Zoho suite. But as a stand alone product it does not deliver all the functionally you hope for.

Pros:

The ability to add new modules and options and create customized sections really makes it easy to organize the entire program to best suit your needs.

Cons:

Some of the customized sections and lists have limited mobility and usage when you try and analyze or work with the data you've entered. Some more options that allow further analysis of data (as in other zoho programs) would be nice.

Shadab
Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A good HR management software but can be improved.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I am using this HR management software with my current organization. It is very helpful and easy to use in regards to log my daily attendance, leave application and other HR related activities. It is easily integrated with other softwares which my organization uses. It is also very cost effective based on the features it provides.

Cons:

The UI can be enhanced and sometimes it does lag while using certain features. This is my only recommendation to the Zoho team to work upon.

Nivin
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Helps to enable intra business communication for your business enterprise.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Enables great collaboration and effective communication between employees. You can easily track the allocated tasks. The communication is quite quick thereby reducing the waiting time. It uses several channels like emails, chats, calls, and reminders, to get you connected with your team. you can check out the calendars and schedule events. The free version is rich in features, like you can add unlimited members and custom applications.

Cons:

The task management module could include more features. It is quite difficult to set up the application. The application does not allow easy navigation.

Coleen
Senior Director in
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Decent product; Poor customer support

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Nice functionalities, such as intuitive leave calculation by employee start date, forms customization, and field-level permission. Having a mobile app is also very convenient.

Cons:

Having a chat functionality for customer support is a great idea and being able to leave offline messages for support to get back to is also good. However, in general, customer support is very bad: 1. Very slow response time. I was so disappointed after buying the product because after receiving an email to say that a training will be scheduled, no one initiated contact with me after that for almost a week. Even following up myself and even calling the hotline, it took many many days before I was contacted about it. 2. Poor English comprehension of the customer support, especially through verbal communication. A short conversation would have been possible if the original question was properly understood, to which the answer is "No such functionality." 3. Lack of familiarization with the product. Simple questions were not answered on the spot (thru chat) and a lot of verification needs to be done on whether or not a functionality exists. Even after much verification, I was told that it can be done and a call was scheduled to walk me through, but after another lengthy discussion turns out there's no such functionality.

Sahil
Sr. Technical Recruiter in India
Staffing & Recruiting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Must have tool for IT companies.

5.0 last year

Pros:

1. Leave Tracker. 2. Performance Management. 3. Attendance. 4. Customization according to company.

Cons:

As of now I never faced any issues using Zoho People but sometimes when you try to log in it will show you've logged in but after some time it will show you're not. It may be internet issues or other issues but in general, it's good.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Online HR platform, Tracks leaves, working hours, and employee performance.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience is great with Zoho, haven't used such software before this, so this feels amazing

Pros:

It is easy to use. The UI of the software is amazing. It has a bunch of extraordinary features all in one place.

Cons:

The Announcement feature seems to be underdeveloped, as it looks simple & has a delay after publishing the announcement.

K Lakshmi
Director - HR in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Better HRMS

5.0 last year

Comments: Good and positive

Pros:

Zoho people allows you to maintain your employees database very efficiently. It allows to add or remove employees in a breeze. Onboarding of a new employees is vey easy. their support team is excellent, response is below 24 hours

Cons:

Best if combined with Zoho payroll. Some edits are difficult if you dont do it on time and miss the time. reaching support team over phone is difficult, they are best in response if you raise a ticket.

Arminstrongue
Bus. Dev in Angola
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Its Perfect Solutions to organaize all your HR needs. We have been work with ZP its really great So

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Automatitions and all the arquecture and the frendly way of self services, i suggest to use Zoho People.

Cons:

The way of driving collaboration on entire team, keeping trucking the overal of all tasks and process