ConnectWise PSA Reviews

4.1 (210) Write a Review!

About ConnectWise PSA

ConnectWise Manage Help Desk: Powerful ticketing system with centralized communication & integrates with tools you currently use.

Learn more about ConnectWise PSA

Pros:

Product is simply laid out and easy to use. I prefer the desktop version but we just went full web version which is fine too.

Cons:

You have to navigate to strange places to find the info you need. The updates to the system often break other features and they are not quick to provide fixes.

ConnectWise PSA ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.4/10

ConnectWise PSA has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 210 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ConnectWise PSA before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (210)

Michael
Michael
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Long time ConnectWise user still loves ConnectWise

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I did 3 years of research before deciding on a PSA. I had a very small company at the time (1 person, me) My colleagues thought I was crazy for buying such a robust system for being such a small company. I bought it because of the built in automation and the ability to create complex agreements. I still have it and I have seen it improve immensely over the years. It's has a .net client and a web interface. Supports widget based pods. Meaning you can add the things you want, remove the things you don't want, and customize the interface per user. QuoteWerks, ConnectWise, Kaseya, Quickbooks - and they ALL integrate. Connectwise will try to sell you, quosal, connectwise, labtech. Personally, and this is just my opinion, Labtech is too complicated. I hate the interface tech's have to use, with a passion. I did some subcontracting for a company that uses LabTech and I had a hard time trying to find the tools I'm looking for. Kasey's interface it so much more user friendly, it's web based. took me a week to become familiar with Kaseya interface, used LabTech for 3 months and was fumbling around trying to find my tools. I checked out LabTech recently, June 2016 and it still sucks. I could go on and on.. So I'll just end here. Just buy ConnectWise, you'll be glad you did.

Pros:

Mobile iPhone app is A W E S O M E !!! Your clients can use the customer portal Constant Updates Feature request bidding system. 24 hour support online training videos Application blueprints, telling you which modules interact with other modules. Handles complicated and compounded agreements. If you can sell it, ConnectWise can do it. QuickBooks integration is seamless. if you create a product in ConnectWise it will automatically create the product in QuickBooks when it syncs. Mark invoices as paid in QuickBooks and sync to ConnectWise. They are the biggest, so they integrate with everybody. Go to a big IT conference and ask how many people use ConnectWise. The majority can't be wrong.

Cons:

It can be overwhelming for small companies The north american cloud can be slow sometimes, they know about it, they are rewriting the program so it operates faster but it's a big project. so they release bits and pieces at a time (weekly) If it isn't in ConnectWise it didn't happen, yeah it adds a bunch of work to your day. Junk in junk out. Each user needs their own account. don't buy the on-premise edition, you won't be able to keep up with the updates. They update so frequently I have to update my QuoteWerks frequently,

Warren
General Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great solution to combine all the needs of an MSP

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: We signed up with Manage over 12 years ago and have never looked back. It is constantly being improved, it links our RMM tool with the CRM capabilities and provides all of our staff with their base Software to be running day in, day out.

Pros:

We primarily purchased Manage for its Ticket facility. It now integrates all of our departments, including finance, support, sales and procurement.

Cons:

Most of the gripes over the years, have been resolved to be honest, though regular updates. In terms of pricing, it's not the cheapest out there. But it does the job well. I guess the support has been better in the past. More often that not now, if you get a problem, it's rarely a quick fix. It has to get escalated etc.

Jason
Jason
Sales Manager in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Connectwise Manage review

4.0 last month New

Comments: It is our PSA for the entire support team and in general most of our users are happy with ut

Pros:

The scope of features and works it covers. As an MSP it supports us quite well

Cons:

The CRM function and lack of proper Marketing capabilities

James
James
Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

OVeral shocking experience

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have literally had zero benefits working with Connectwise. Its cost us £000's and we have wasted so much time since using Connectwise..... its the single worst decisions we have ever made as a business.
We spent and invested a lot of time ensuring we would get the most out of it, but it just hasnt happened... the issues are too frequent, support to slow and overal a very bad experience. Reaching out to Connectwise with a long list of issues has resulted in 4 people calling to say how sorry they are, any they WILL definaltey help but then the next update is the ticket closing - thanks.

Pros:

The end of the ady when i can log out of Connectwise. The Contract part and some automation is good.

Cons:

Practically everything else: Slow - keeps hanging when doing tasks such as save a ticket, send and invoice, close tickets - you know really important tasks which should be almost instant. absolute zero support from CW. Been told its a programming issue with bulk tasking and it will be fixed - still waiting, much like when using ConnectWise manage - always waiting. Then there is the general support - lacking to say the least. Then the onboarding - they say we get you completely up and running. What they should have said is You'll want to be running away by the time you come to use the product. Unless you learn it all in the onboarding process your on your own or you have to pay a huge amount more for help. They literally just churn you out and get the next lot of sheep in. Sales team lied about how it would interact and sync with Xero. Told me the same way as Quickbooks does and then showed me how QuickBooks Desktop syncs, saying just like this.... IT DOESNT you have to pay someone else to move your data from your PSA to your accounts package REALLY @ $245 extra per month. Didnt tell me that before i signed up. Cloud console which was supposed to save time by synchronising Office 365 licenses to contracts was often wrong, very clunky and then stopped working - another paid feature of Connectwise that didnt work. I could go on, but you get the picture. Its not all smooth sailing and is causing lots of issues in our business. We tried to reach out to CW but they're not helping

Kevin
Cloud Product Manager in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great PSA Tool

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I have used ConnectWise in multiple businesses I work at. It's the gold standard for support and ticket management.

Cons:

Reporting on projects and the CRM/Customer management side of the product is not great compared to others in the market.

Yeprem
Yeprem
Systems Administrator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete solution but slow as molasses

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Almost every base is covered in the desktop version of Connectwise Manage. The web version is quite complete as well. The mobile app is horrendous.

Cons:

Slooooooowwwww. I can't stress enough how slow it is. Every user at our company complains about how much it lags. It doesn't matter where we are or which computer we are using. It is slow. Gigabit internet connection at home and at the office, slow. Brand new 8th gen CPU desktop with SSD. Slow. Laptop. Slow. It is painful. Loggin tickets just gets us the same replies. Try clearing the cache. Try restarting. Report slowness next time it happens so we can check.

Daren
Daren
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Connectwise Manage

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are using this product to keep track of all our customers, their systems, software and the tickets assigned to those systems

Pros:

We like Connectwise Manage because it is very detailed and allows us to keep notes on all of our customers - what we have done for them in the past and service tickets for everyone.

Cons:

The Connectwise platform is very detailed so the learning curve can be very high when you are first starting out. Instead of importing our information, we just input everything.

Charlie
President in US
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Manage hosted version is so slow it will cost you most in terms of time

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Toma Bravio and Connectwise do not care about their clients AT ALL! Connectwise will teach you new levels of frustration as you try to get it to do what you want or just to operate at an acceptable speed. Before purchasing this product I really wish I had fully demo'd everything else. Try dealing with their support. Call current clients using it. Research before buying! After Toma Bravo bought this company things got really bad. They used to make regular progress to features and functionality. Since the TB buyout they just buy other companies that fix some aspect of Manage (like buying IT Boost for documentation in lieu of their "knowledge base"). Third party integrators that don't play ball with Manage's team have their products harmed. Like when Manage wanted to get users to use their payment portal, they broke the viewability all custom invoices from the ConnectBooster payment portal for several months. Shop around!

Pros:

Manage integrates with almost everything that MSPs use. It does a good job as a centerpiece to all of the other software. It excels at letting ticket management be as detailed as you could possibly want. It has a lot of partially developed features that can still be made use of. It has a detailed report writer capable of making any report you can figure out how to make.

Cons:

Connectwise Manage is super slow! (Can't stress this enough!) It will cost you a fortune in lost tech's time as they want to enter things end of week/day because it is so frustratingly slow. A fast click in this software is like 3-5 sec. Slow clicks will be 10-30 seconds. "Normal" clicks by the company's definition will cost between 3-8 sec before support will recognize there is an issue. Second detractor, most of the features are just introductions to the functionality designed to get you to buy another system. For example, it has a quoting engine that you can't modify the quote template at all (like to add disclaimer text or a logo or instructions or anything) because they have another costly program called Sell. Sell way over does the quoting feature (adding in so much functionality, complexity and cost that it is prohibitive to use for most shops). Knowledge base lol lol lol. Demo it first!! If you use multiple computers regularly then every time you log into a different system it kicks out your other session. The report writer takes a full minute or two to open and you will need a masters degree in that interface to make it do what you want. Regarding support, expect to be on chat for 10-60 min to get a response from a tech, depending on the issue. If your issue is related to reporting whatsoever they will refuse to assist. Then there is the high cost to it and the lockin. Once you start integrating software into it, it becomes super expensive to switch.

Patrick
Strategic Advisor in US
Information Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Comprehensive Platform

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Managing Ticketsl, Opportunities, Projects and Invoicing

Cons:

Would probably implement a few things differently now.

Jon
Network Engineer in US
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software for IT management.

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Has all the features to run your business in IT

Cons:

Nothing, they have refined this software to almost perfection.

Brian
Escalation Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CW Manage is our Mission Critical Ticketing Solution

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall, the product works as we need it to work. When there is a problem, it is normally handled well with some exceptions. The overall customer service experience could be better. Have also read some nightmare stories about the process of leaving / migrating away from CW Manage. Hopefully we don't need to go that route in the future, as most of our processes depend on CW Manage working as expected.

Pros:

There is a learning curve, mainly due to how much the software can do. That does mean it can be a little complex at times, but at the same time makes it extremely powerful and flexible to fit our needs. We are able to manage tickets across our client base, including project tickets. We can create and edit configurations and attach them to the tickets (example: a server or printer), and then go back and track down ongoing/consistent issues with specific pieces of hardware or software easily. Outlook calendar integration is nice (when it works as expected). We can send out mass email communications to our client base on demand. We utilize this software in so many ways, it can be daunting to a newcomer.

Cons:

There is a more recent track record of updates breaking crucial things, such as Outlook calendar integration. Our on-prem instance (not cloud) of CW Manage ceased to function some months ago due to an Amazon Web Services outage, which should not have been an issue with an on-prem server instance. Level 1 support can be laughably bad at times. The company seems to be making a serious effort to improve on these things, but they still appear to have a ways to go until they are at that point of having a consistent and stable product (especially when updates are involved).

Jared
Jared
NOC Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

CRM for the Best in the Biz!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: With ConnectWise Manage behind us, we've spent the last 6+ years blazing a trail in our local market. Taking on client for year over year growth. And not enough thanks can be given to the tools that helped us get there. With a friendly (now giant) team behind it, ConnectWise Manage integrates with, and has truly become a standard in the industry. You've been with the rest, now get with the best.

Pros:

ConnectWise Manage has enough features to essentially run your entire business out of! When it comes to tracking issues, maintaining inventory and documented details across many partners/clients/sites - this is THEE tool. Abundant resources to learn the tool exist including certification learning courses. (You're going to want to take them).

Cons:

Interface has been ignored for a long time - its universally uglier than ALL of its competitors. This has been massively improved over the last year and continues to get better as it is finally a focus for them after the many recent developmental hurdles they need to address from the various M&A from the last 4 years. Some more advanced features really require some 'higher' learning to understand and best implement. Thankfully they have many MANY resources for this.

Alan
Owner in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

ConnectWise PSA

4.0 12 years ago

Comments: I would highly recommend IT firms looking to improve their internal efficiency and client support look at CW for a PSA tool. The software is stable, support is great, and updates arrive quickly. Access to your data can be gained through any web browser, iphone / droid apps, or through the native .net application. Many vendors are writing to the CW API allowing for real-time data integration from products such as backup solutions, spam and virus filtering, firewall statistics and even sales opportunities. CW integrates with MANY RMM solutions providing even greater management capabilities. The biggest benefit is by far the great and active ConnectWise community. We are very involved with the ConnectWise users group on a quarterly basis and we attend the partner summit (ITNation) annually. If you are only looking for PSA software, ConnectWise can fulfill that need. If you're looking for a great community of business peers, ConnectWise will bring an even greater ROI.

Pros:

We've used ConnectWise since 2007, and over the years, the product has seen a multitude of feature improvements and enhancements. For an IT consulting firm looking to track client agreement invoicing, service level agreements, employee productivity, sales opportunities, marketing campaignment management, or inventory and purchasing, ConnectWise can do it with flying colors. From a client perspective, ConnectWise makes it easy for end users to submit service requests as well as get the status of said requests. An integrated web portal for clients allows the review of hardware and software assets, service request approvals, and invoice reviews. Additionally, for our larger clients, we've been able to extend service capabilities to in-house IT providers while hosting them through our installation. Due to the great support, active community, and rapid development, I can't imagine running my business without ConnectWise. While the software is great, the community is even better.

Cons:

I ranked Ease of Implementation as 3 stars. Keep in mind that we implemented CW in 2007, so much of the onboarding may be different today. Given the capabilities of the software, some pain should be anticipated and expected as you learn how to utilize the software. Additionally, setting up the integration between ConnectWise and other 3rd party apps can take some time. With most applications, you setup 1 or 2 API accounts, grant access, and test the integration. Some integration takes more time. One example is the integration for QuickBooks. To really get the accounting side setup, expect to spend some time and money working with a qualified accountant (if you don't have one on staff) to ensure all data is passing through and classified correctly. Even with the cons of setup, the ConnectWise University is very well done. Video tutorials are available on almost any aspect of management, and step-by-step checklists are available for just about any multi-step process.

Drew
Drew
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

In a world of okay tools, Manage is the best

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

As an integrated PSA / Billing System / Ticketing System it functions great. In comparison to the other products in it's space it's light years beyond in functionality and usage.

Cons:

ConnectWise support and account management leaves a lot to be desired, though there recently have been noticeable improvements and if they continue on this path they'll be a world class company once again. Manage really lacks at: CRM/Sales and a few other items. Dashboards require a third party add-on. It's base functionality is decent but everything else is a pay for me option.

Glenn
IT Analyst in US
Wholesale, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Good Product, Deployment Can Take Some Work

4.0 last year

Comments: We used a consultant to help us get going, which was a godsend. If you're looking at this product, get a consultant to help you through implementation. Also the chat support through ConnectWise is very good, so if you have questions that's the first place I would turn after looking through the University and forums.

Pros:

Our company came onboard with Manage and Automate at the same time, so once we had the integration between them set up it made service tickets very easy to work. It's very customizable for however your business operates with support for the whole service lifecycle, from sales and quoting new customers all the way through to invoicing. We use it for an internal IT solution so that part isn't as important for us, but good to know it's there. Also the ConnectWise University has a lot of good material to help get you going, with training in nearly every aspect of the system.

Cons:

There are so many things to set up in the beginning, depending on the complexity of your business it could take months before you're ready to go live. Also, because it's meant for MSPs there are a lot of things like on the financial side that we don't need for internal IT.

Paul
Director of Service Delivery in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Connectwise gets the job done but could use a facelift

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a good platform and ecosystem. They have acquired many other platforms and services over the years. Being a market leader would just like to see more out of CW.

Pros:

At the end of the day CW manage does what we need it to do. It's strong suits are ticketing, configuration tracking, and large of integrations. CW is one of the largest PSAs out there in the MSP world and they are stil here for a reason. Tight integration with their RMM automate is a big plus as well.

Cons:

To me being a long time user I woudl like to see greater progress with updates and improving the user interface. CW from 10 years ago doesn't look much different than CW of today. While features trump usability at some point it starts to weigh you down. Especially when comparing to other platforms that seem to be up to speed with the modern age.

Brandon
VP of Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Connectwise Manage is a powerful product that is a core piece of our operations

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience with Connectwise Manage has been positive. We've had the software in daily use for over 12 years so have grown with it as it's been developed and improved. Like with any application that has so many roles and spans multiple departments, there are always some aspects that don't line up exactly with our existing business practices, but the application has a lot of built-in flexibility so there is almost always a way to get it aligned to our needs. On the occasions where it's not possible, the community is strong and the Connectwise dev team seems to generally listen and accept input from partners, even if execution of some of those feature requests may be slow at times.

Pros:

The best feature of Connectwise Manage is that it offers very good integration with other Connectwise and third-party systems for ticketing, finance, configuration management, etc.

Cons:

Some of the (relatively) newer features and modules, Change Management for example, are not as intuitive as the older modules. The inclusion of more features and functionality is welcome and necessary, and sometimes is going to involve a learning curve, but Connectwise could make these features easier to use and implement for better adoption.

Nicholas
IT Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Connectwise Suite for MSP

5.0 last year

Pros:

I love how much you can do in this software. I feel like everything you need is in connectwise manage and its a great way to keep an MSP's cost down by adding this to complete everything you need from sales to tickets to project portals.

Cons:

The support can be a bit off most of the time its guesswork. Which is done by the IT person usually first but the chat option can be tiresome sometimes.

Carl
President CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Connectwise PSA provides complete automation

5.0 last week New

Pros:

Comprehensive and easy to use once it is configured.

Cons:

While it is extremely powerful it does take a fair amount of time to set up and configure.

Verified Reviewer
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Ticketing System for MSP and IT companies

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I wish they would get Rich text right. TeamSupport has this perfectly and they are a much smaller company. Another downer is the integration with ITGlue I think it's a bit clunky and if you add the Automate integration it almost loses it's mind. I wish there was a better way to integrate all these platforms. But mainly the rich text could go a long long way for visual users.

Pros:

There are a lot of features on this platform that would be of interest to MSP's. The time entry, calendar ease, global search. Asset and configuration and contact addition is great.

Cons:

One thing i strongly dislike about Manage is that you can't add rich text to the ticket entries not drop images which make things easier for tech just picking up on tickets.

Greg
President in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Product we ever adopted.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: CW Manage really checked every box that we needed. We use it primarily for tracking service tickets. Since we connected it to our accounting software, it was a great improvement in our workflows. And by tracking all time on tickets we have been able to charge and collect for all the time we work. This product actually made us money.

Pros:

Clearly this software was developed by people who do what we do. It actually demands you follow best practices in regards to workflow management around the tech services business. Also it can become the single pane of glass that everyone talks about.

Cons:

The reporting function could be much better. There are some standard reports, and there is a report writer option, but it is not easy to get the report you want unless it happens to be one of the few canned ones. Was always surprised that the reporting is so weak compared to the rest of the funtions of the product that are so strong.

Gavin
Project Analyst in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

This is the ticketing platform you need

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: All our ticketing, service, project management, and sales cycle tasks are all managed from within ConnectWise now, with all our 200+ staff using this system we still have a very responsive system with a great interface that has interface components that have been customized to match some of the terms we use to describe our business processes.

Pros:

It's super customizable, with a very extensible API and integration capabilities, allowing us to centralize so many of our systems and daily tasks into one platform.

Cons:

Initial customization and training of staff has taken some time, but and some staff still have issues with managing Internal vs. External communications.

Michael
President in US
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Connectwise runs our operation

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: ConnectWise Manage works very well for our business. We have invested in most of the components and integrations that we can get to properly manage our teams and out clients. Overall it is a good system for managing an IT service and support operation

Pros:

We use Connectwise Manage to run all of the aspect of our daily operations. Its ticket and issue management functionalities work very well for an IT service and support organization and they have thought of many of the challenges that we encounter every day

Cons:

Reporting from ConnectWise can be challenging. The canned reported often lack some piece of information that we would like and they are not formatted properly to download and manipulate in Excel. We complement this using custom data sets in BrightGauge and create reports and download from there but it is time consuming and resource intensive to create these with the limited knowledge of the database that we have.

Angela
Angela
Office/Purchasing Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The support is really good, which is important as sometimes the settings are hard to get right. I wish they had had better advice on the setup between Connectwise and Quickbooks as it took a while to get things flowing correctly.

Pros:

There are a lot of built-in features. It is good for being able to share information between departments. However, there are so many different features, it can be overwhelming for new employees when they first start. It seems to take people a while to really get the hang of it. It is nice having sales being able to see the same invoices as accounting, which saves time of having to send them to them when they have questions.

Cons:

The reporting features. While they have a report writer, it is quite difficult to use. It is also chronically slow to load. The second thing is it also seems like in the last year I've had more of my tabs lock up in all areas.

Colin
Owner in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Incredibly vast array of useful integrated tools.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Extremely powerful top notch CRM tool that can really take a business to a new level.

Pros:

This software is very powerful and a great all in one tool for managing marketing, contracts, customer service, and all other sales functions. It's pretty impressive just how many functions you have access to within the software the can really take an organization to the next level operationally if it's used properly.

Cons:

The user interface isn't the most intuitive and it took me a lot of tinkering to really get the hang of it. I still am probably missing out on a lot of useful functionality within the software that I do no not currently know how to use.

ConnectWise Response

4 years ago

Hello Colin Waters, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with our product. Additionally, we understand your challenge of understanding all of the functionality and hope that that you are able to utilize the whole system soon. As a reminder, we do offer ConnectWise University and several other resources that may be helpful to you in your research. We look forward to growing our partnership with you and let us know if there is anything that we can do to help!