15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

Compass Reviews

4.8 (6) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About Compass

Building materials ERP software that lets users manage inventory, orders, invoicing, and other processes from a unified platform.

Learn more about Compass

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Compass ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.8
Value for Money
5.0

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Compass has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 6 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (6)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Countries

Countries

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Compass before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (6)

Gilles
Controller in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Controller

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: High volume online orders are controlled and High volume Dispatching is always evolving because of the great support with the Compass Team. Also, very easy to train new users.

Pros:

Ease to Dispatch and Schedule delivery orders. Speed and ease to import for Data Entry. And, an amazing Dashboard using pivot tables to dissect all aspects of your operations.

Cons:

Compass does not have an accounting software, you must integrate with another accounting software.Also, Compass does not have an Equipment module to track expenses but can be imported from an accounting software.

Greycoat Software Response

7 months ago

Thanks for your review, Gilles. I'd like to add that we do integrate with a range of Accounting software from Quickbooks and Simply Accounting to SAP. At the same time, we are working to add more Accounting modules within Compass itself. Stay tuned for further announcements.

Charles
VP Finance in Canada
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very good system with excellent customer support !

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been excellent. Customer service and support has been very responsive and custom programming where required has been very quick.

Pros:

1. Comprehensive in capturing every transaction that goes across our scale.2. Integrates seamlessly with our financial accounting system.3. Ease of use for updating prices and costs via download/upload into excel.4. Very good with checks and balances to ensure data is captured correctly and accounted for correctly and accurately.

Cons:

1. Dashboard feature needs to be enhanced as it is not user friendly and can be confusing to use. Need to build a dashboard using another platform which can then pull the information from Compass.2. Reporting could be enhanced to be more user friendly and minimize rework once pulled into excel.

Greycoat Software Response

8 months ago

The Compass Dashboard is implemented in Microsoft Excel Powerpivot, which has a 4 to 8 hour learning curve. Powerpivot tends to be a power user feature with high capability, with drill down slicers, programmability and other power user features. We also do KPI mail-outs to managers based on the Dashboard information but these tend to be tailored to each client's needs. Thanks for pointing this out and we could explore with you further to improve our standard package.

Sandra
Office Manager in Canada
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer Service is Beyond Expectations

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: The staff at Compass are great to deal with. Compass has steamlined our invoicing process, tracking invoices and order and tickets are easy.

Pros:

The best thing about Compass is ability to track orders and the customer service is always answers and is willing to make adjustments to work with our needs.

Cons:

We find the ability to create products and jobsites easy but it doesnt always do what you need in the back end. Inventory is difficult to manage. Invoicing is a challenging process with multiple steps.

Greycoat Software Response

7 months ago

Thanks for your review, Sandra. I did discuss the 'ease of use' aspects with you, and you had some good ideas. There is a learning curve to ERP software, especially with the deep functionality of our programs. With our product in the field for a number of years now, we are finding that the initial training wears off with employee turnover, and with us adding new modules and new features as time goes on. So, we are gradually adding video training, online seminars, and 'how to' descriptions to our clients can stay current and up to date.

Debbie
Office Administrator in Canada
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I can help job site foremen keep track of their loads by sending daily, weekly and/or monthly reports.If required I can even set it up so that they receive ticket information by email each time they receive a load to their jobsite. The billing process is also very efficient and can be done quickly.

Pros:

I like that I can make entries and adjustments from one screen. I can easily pull up reports for site foreman or managers. Plenty of options within the reporting system as well.

Cons:

I have not had any issues with Compass to complain about. If we need some adjustments made to the way we have the program set up I just contact our support person and he is quick to help us out.

Greycoat Software Response

8 months ago

Thanks for the positive feedback. Our product success depends greatly on feedback and suggestions from our customers.

Gordon
Application Functional Lead in Canada
Construction, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Compass / Greycoat software review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall experience with Compass is excellent, especially on the good quality of support we are getting.

Pros:

Compass application is very user friendly, easy to setup and maintain. The application delivers the business solution we are looking for. The application is solidly built, and we seldom have system issue with the application. Support of the application by Greycoat is best in class I am impressed with the quality of support we have been receiving.

Cons:

Compass dashboard application is built on Excel based platform. The technology behind Compass Dashboard is dated and lacks scalability.

Greycoat Software Response

7 months ago

Thanks for the generally positive review, Gordon. As regards to the dashboard, I would point out that our implementation is based on PowerPivot embedded into MS Excel, intended mainly for the SMB market (under 1000 employees/ $1 billion sales), but that this can be scaled up into Microsoft's full OLAP product, especially in a large enterprise setting. Given the SQL Server database on which our product is based, we can also integrate into other enterprise OLAP offerings, where a single division is using our software product.

Mandy
Office Administration in Canada
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

2023 compass review

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: fantastic software, very easy to use with minimal training and any issues that come up [sensitive content hidden] are always there for quick and efficient support

Pros:

simplicity of use, excellent support and easy to work with in the design customize stage

Cons:

no accounting software and having to integrate quickbooks

Greycoat Software Response

7 months ago

Thanks for the review Mandy. Your positive attitude has helped to make your implementation a success.