15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About DataSnipper

DataSnipper is an Intelligent Automation Platform within Excel for Accounts P. that accelerates Audit and Finance teams' productivity.

Learn more about DataSnipper

Pros:

Streamlines audit work, reducing cost and improves effeciency.

Cons:

Also, custom checkmarks are hard to access and don't print into the PDF.

DataSnipper ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

DataSnipper has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 127 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used DataSnipper before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (127)

Juan
Juan
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

The must-have tool to boost my productivity in audit and finance

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: What stands out the most is its ability to automate repetitive tasks. Before, I spent hours manually extracting and cross-referencing data, but with this tool, I can accomplish these tasks in a matter of minutes.

Pros:

What I liked the most is its ability to automate repetitive tasks and speed up my productivity in audit and finance. With just a few clicks, I can extract data, cross-reference, and document the source of any procedure quickly and easily.

Cons:

One of the drawbacks I have found is that at times the data extraction can be a bit limited in terms of the variety of formats that can be parsed. Sometimes when working with more complex files or databases, I have experienced difficulties extracting certain specific data.

Christina
ICT Manager in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful Solution for Cash Management

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: DataSnipper has all the accounting extensions, and there useful costs controls.

Pros:

DataSnipper has made the bank reconciliation reliable, and there are defined cash control.

Cons:

DataSnipper is the distinguished avenue that makes every accounting procedure reliable.

Dennis
Supervisor in Israel
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not impressed

2.0 last year

Pros:

It's a cool tool to attach documents to a working paper with easy referral to the desired place in the document.

Cons:

The data recognition gave me many discrepancies that I couldn't use the tool to check the relevant data

DataSnipper Response

last year

Good afternoon, Dennis, thanks a lot for your review and for bringing this problem. My assumption that it might be connected to Hebrew OCR. I asked my colleagues to contact you for further investigation and I hope we will find a solution that would work! Best regards, DataSnipper Marketing team

Celina
Accountant in US
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Handling Business Accounting Like a Pro

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

With DataSnipper, auditing and handling business accounting needs has been easy.

Cons:

DataSnipper serves best accounting features - no dislikes.

Marc
Audit assistant in Germany
Accounting Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very useful helper in auditing

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

It is very efficient to use to create cross-references for test work, document matching and reconciliation. The ability to read data from invoices. The ability to convert a table from a PDF file to Excel.

Cons:

Document matching occasionally leads to links on the wrong pages if the number you are looking for can be found on several documents.

Shea Sheenamae
Analyst in Philippines
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, it very useful and efficient to use.

Pros:

It helps users save time of copying and pasting data from pdf to excel file. It makes the work more efficient.

Cons:

When having big multiple files imported, it slows down the opening of workpapers.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great solution, but I miss some discontinued features

5.0 last year

Comments: There's no doubt it is a great solution and makes quality checks of financial statements much faster. I'd love to see faster response to reported issues and a more agile approach to pushing new fixes.

Pros:

DS makes it incredibly easy to check accuracy and consistency within financial statements. It has saved me and my teams precious hours everyday in FS quality checks.

Cons:

The latest updates removed some useful features such as viewing the math checkmarks during the IC check. Also, custom checkmarks are hard to access and don't print into the PDF.

Hiro
Hiro
Senior Expert in Japan
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DataSnipper has excellent capability for internal audit, to be need good training and support for actual work.

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I had very positive impression when to see first DS demo. However it is difficult to explain this value to our team and to be need long term applying actual audit work. We are moving forward to migrate our audit work more smart and efficient right now.

Pros:

I like the product concept and high performance OCR.

Cons:

To be need enough training for users and customizing audit report template for each audit work.

Sebenzile Karen
Sebenzile Karen
Senior Trainee Accountant in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Efficient auditiing only a snip away!

5.0 last year

Pros:

The financial suite has to be my favorite as it enables us to compare financial statements versions in minutes

Cons:

Installing plug ins can be a bit complicated for the less tech savvy user.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Game Changer for Test of Details!!!

5.0 last year

Comments: Saves so much time with switching between documents and tracking exact locations where changes happen.

Pros:

Ability to use pdf's within excel and track changes with just one click!

Cons:

It's crashed a few times here and there but never an issue getting it to restart or redownload

Ashley
Senior Associate in South Africa
Accounting Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great innovation

5.0 last year

Pros:

I find the table snips and the auto sums to be some of the most useful features. I think if the mactching functionality can be improved to be more dynamic there will be an amazing leap forward.

Cons:

I did not like that some standard excel shortcuts do not integrate with data snipper and that i have to use the delete snip functionality to remove object. I would prefer if I could just delete normally.

Hambelela
Audit in Namibia
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Data snipper & Audit

4.0 last year

Comments: The benefit are higher than the cons, saving time and too much typing.

Pros:

converting of PDF in editable data, matching document.

Cons:

sometimes numerics come out as texts, you needd enough training.

Jacob
Accounting and Financial Reporting Manager in UK
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

DataSnipper review

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Very intuitive to use. Great time saving tool, especially the financial statements suite. There are additional features like embedding documents into a file which works significantly better than the default Microsoft embedding and allows easier cross referencing / support for figures. Table snips are very useful to for extracting data from bank statements.

Cons:

No cons or any suggestions for improvements.

Joe
Partner in US
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datasnipper saves time in financial statement review and workpaper preparation

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Decrease in time required in vouching and financial statement review.

Pros:

Financial statement suite (PY, footing, version control)

Cons:

Slows excel, can't easily insert workpaper references during FS tie out.

Alex
Assurance supervisor in US
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software!

5.0 last year

Pros:

Easy to use across all situations and software's, and very fluid to use day to day, in particular my role creating working papers.

Cons:

Nothing to note, datasnipper does exactly what is expected of it

Clemens
Auditor in Austria
Accounting Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Implementaion process of DataSnipper in our audit firm

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Implementing the tool was quite easy. The whole DataSnipper-Team is very helpful and has quick response times

Pros:

Easy to use; makes life easier for an auditor; allows perfect cross referencing; all documents are collected in one excel-sheet --> very easy to review to work papers

Cons:

Slows down the response times of excel-workbooks due to the embedded documents

Christopher
Commercial Manager in Canada
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

4.0 last year

Pros:

Table Snips and Financial Statement Footing are super easy to use and save time instantly

Cons:

Hard to gain the efficiencies with small sample sizes

Luke
Tax Associate in Papua New Guinea
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Data Snipper Review

4.0 last year

Comments: Minimising of human errors by transferring data manually.

Pros:

Ease of data extraction since I'm in tax and i deal with alot of data i.e GST it provides a way to extract data from pdf to excel with ease saving me valuable time

Cons:

Not much to dislike about data snipper right now

John
Assurance associate in South Africa
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

The good part about datasniper

5.0 last year

Comments: It is easy to use and saves time

Pros:

Financial statements suiteIt enables you to check constistency of both current year and prior year financial statements

Cons:

Version comparisonBeing able to compare current and prior year numbers improves constistency

Mduduzi
Senior Analyst in South Africa
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Value for money

5.0 last year

Comments: We are able to manage time and reprioritize Resorces to optimize client satisfaction.

Pros:

Time efficiency. The ability to manage multiple documents under one document.

Cons:

There is nothing I like least about DataSnipper.

Kovilin
Associate in South Africa
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datasnipper review

4.0 last year

Comments: Really improved effeciency.

Pros:

The table function is amazing really convenient when snipping from PDF and scanned documents.

Cons:

When opening the excel file the document stored takes awhile to open.

Lasitha
Manager in Ireland
Accounting Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

DataSnipper in Excel

5.0 last year

Pros:

DataSnipper helps to save a lot of time in my day today activities.

Cons:

No notable issues come across so far as I am a new user

Cliford
SA2 in UK
Accounting Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I love it

5.0 last year

Comments: fantastic

Pros:

Everything. The table sniper, the sum sniper

Cons:

Not able to take the snip at its original format

Ashley
Auditor in Australia
Accounting Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

DataSnipper Review

5.0 last year

Pros:

A great tool for efficiency! Makes auditing easier.

Cons:

Not being activated in excel from time to time

Raphael
Partner - Cloud LATAM in Brazil
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Experience for Auditors

5.0 last year

Comments: DataSnipper has significantly decreased our total cost of Audit processes, bringing automation, standardization, and cutting-edge technology, leveraging Azure OCR.

Pros:

DataSnipper is a simple yet sophisticated platform to speed up our audit time which gives us the time to aggregate more value to the customer.

Cons:

The deployment process for huge environments. I feel a lack of info regarding distributing the software itself using different deployment tools.