15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

Canada Local product

New Spark Reviews

4.8 (20) Write a Review! Canada Local product

About New Spark

Free subscription. No credit card required. Media management tool that helps businesses gather, store, collaborate, and publish videos.

Learn more about New Spark

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

New Spark ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

New Spark has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used New Spark before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Benjamin
Benjamin
CTO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Just what we've been looking for

5.0 last year

Comments: Intuitive platform and our customer success manager always responds quickly.

Pros:

So easy to use. Saves us a ton of time. Auto-tagging is great and you can also add your own custom meta-data tags. Setting up project taxonomy was a breeze.

Cons:

Would be good if reporting was centralized within NewSpark as well, so we wouldn't have to use a few different sources for this. Other than that request, we have no issues with this software.

Andrew
Director, Digital and Video in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Really thrilled with New Spark's level of service and performance

5.0 last year

Pros:

The software offers a wholly-customizable user experience that has allowed us to optimize a platform that best suits our online community of photographers. The digital asset management system is a huge plus!

Cons:

Increased access to customization features would be appreciated (the ability to customize pages or tweak overall site/platform design).

Alexandra
Editor-in-Chief in Canada
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A powerful tool for managing user generated content

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, New Spark has been a great tool for us and their customer support is exceptional. They are committed to making improvements based on our feedback and the price point is perfect for our non-profit organization.

Pros:

Canadian Geographic’s Photo Club is the largest online community of amateur and semi-pro photographers in Canada, so we needed a powerful solution for asset management that makes it easy for users to share images with us and for our team to find publication-worthy submissions. New Spark has been an amazing tool in that regard, with the added bonus of allowing us to run competitions and other promotions to recognize the top photographic talent in our community.

Cons:

Some aspects of the platform could be improved. The search functionality is finicky and requires a lot of fine-tuning of keywords and filters to surface the desired results. It is not easy to make changes to the public-facing site. And the WYSIWYG contest builder, while vastly improved in the new platform, could be better/more intuitive.

Stefan
Audio Engineer in Canada
Music, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Friendly Interface with quick set up

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Great way to organize digital assets. Huge improvements to overall workflow.

Pros:

NewSpark stood out with its user-friendly interface, making it easy to manage our music recording studio's digital assets. The platform's efficient organization and seamless file search capabilities streamlined our workflow and improved collaboration among team members.

Cons:

It does exactly what we need it to do for our business.

New Spark Media Response

10 months ago

Glad we could help Stefan!

Wasif
Tech Lead in Saudi Arabia
Program Development, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Very good

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Its easy to use and great features. Most liked feature would be task assign and management part

Cons:

I think more features needs to be added, maybe the apis for direct integration or integration with zapier

New Spark Media Response

10 months ago

Thanks for the great review and the suggestions! We also provide custom work so if there's a direct integration you are interested in please contact us directly!

Brian
Operations Manager in Canada
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Simplified workflow process

5.0 last year

Comments: Great solution to a problem we've had for a long time.

Pros:

Our sales team visit a lot of customers each day, and take pictures of their existing equipment in order for our head office to provide proper quotes. NewSpark's software helps keep all the pics organized and tagged, and also keeps all the documents accessible to the entire team. Pic/video upload is done quickly on our phones.

Cons:

Doesn't integrate with our dispatch software, but they are working on it.

Ebuka
Software tester in Nigeria
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Functionality Review

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Video analysis and management, which will be a great tool for companies looking to work on massive projects

Pros:

The user interface is client based and affords clients ability to easily navigate

Cons:

Some of the content occupy the whole of viewers screen

Mahendra
Senior QA Team Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

User Friendly and Ease to use.

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Ease to understand, good features and enhancements, and friendly design.

Pros:

Plans prices are normal compared to other websites.

Cons:

More features can be added in the application and performance can be improved.

Olivia
Event Management in US
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great Free Version

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Great free version. Allows time to actually learn and enjoy the perks without even putting in a credit card.

Cons:

Nothing!! I loved this entire software..

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful media management tool

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: I was experiencing issues while managing user generated content for our in-house product and New Spark made it very easy. Also, we're able to publish media on different platforms in one click and that's amazing.

Pros:

Creative publishing workflow was one of best feature. I'm able to publish single media asset to different platforms very easily.

Cons:

Sometimes notifications doesn't trigger in real time. That needs some fixes.

Heather
project manager in US
Computer Hardware, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent flexibility and custom development

4.0 last year

Comments: New Spark provided a solution for receiving media files from users outside our firewall and for reviewing, then direct publishing those assets from New Spark to other tools. Our team worked with New Spark to develop customized API connections, video review/sharing tools, central metadata entry, and direct publishing to YouTube, Brightcove, and Widen. This relationship has been very positive and we have investigated and successfully developed solutions to many different video creation/management needs.

Pros:

New Spark developed custom API connections to our existing tools for direct publishing (transfer) of assets (videos, scripts, captions, images, zip files) including custom metadata fields, importing metadata from other tools, editing and updating that data, publishing on demand and on specified dates. These custom features are regularly maintained and support is very fast and thorough. Developers do an excellent job of troubleshooting and finding solutions to meet needs, project management and communication is thorough and reliable. Any glitches or issues are quickly investigated and corrected.

Cons:

The original user interface is overly complex and requires a lot of navigation to find features, a new UI has been released but our customized account will require time/effort to move to the new UI. This is not necessarily a negative since new users will be set up on the new UI. Our extremely large files can cause some issues with upload depending on the user's connection speeds.

Karla
system engineer in El Salvador
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

platform assessment

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: the truth is that it is very well developed, but perhaps only small details of improvement are missing, which can be solved as soon as possible and it will be 10/10, for the moment we are 90/10.

Pros:

the product is easy to use, it is very user-friendly, it has a language that is not very technical, but adaptable for the customer, which makes it easy to integrate in the use of the product.

Cons:

Make data processing a little bit faster

New Spark Media Response

10 months ago

Thanks for the excellent review and suggestions Karla! Our team is hard at work with weekly platform updates so keep an eye out for the new improvements and thanks for using NewSpark.

Eric
Director, operations in Canada
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing product

5.0 last year

Pros:

it improved workflow, made finding and sharing pics and videos easy for all team members, and allowed you to post to several outlets with a click of a button.

Cons:

Honestly, can't complain. It's been a very positive experience thus far

Sohaib
Project Manager in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great tool for video assets

5.0 10 months ago

Pros:

Great software for managing assets, esp. video. Easy ability to send/receive through custom links, and great functionality to make reviews/comments. Sharing options also make it easy to allow specific access based on needs (i.e. clients vs. freelancers vs. internal employees).

Cons:

None at the moment. Curious to see what direction their development and new ideas go!

Mark
COO in Canada
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great asset management platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

-Automatic video tagging is really helpful when we're looking for a particular video for our sales/marketing team. Files are organized centrally and everyone has easy access to upload/download vids. -System auto formats assets so we can publish to multiple platforms at once-Onboarding is simple. Learning docs and videos are helpful to get started.-Integrates with BrightCove

Cons:

So far so good. Just in the trial stage though.

Kerry
VP, Sales in Canada
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Improved Workflow

5.0 last year

Pros:

Our workflow was so lengthy and unorganized before NewSpark's platform. We have 5 offices so sharing and finding documents and pictures was becoming a nightmare. Now no matter who loads an asset we all have easy access to it and the review process is streamlined. Monthly price is very good as well.

Cons:

Would like a few more options for editing videos, but not a huge deal since we wouldn't use that feature too often anyway.

James
Owner in Canada
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great Digital Workflow Solution!

5.0 last year

Comments: Great piece of software. Customer support is helpful and quick as well.

Pros:

Allows us to quickly trim and format before sharing or exporting- Review tool centralizes all of our comments before approval- So much time saved.- Monthly price is excellent- Free 30 day trial

Cons:

Make sure not to make a spelling mistake when searching for an asset. System won't know what you're looking for like Google does.

Jonathan
CFO in Canada
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 last year

Comments: After signing up for the free trial we were up and running very quickly. Platform is self-explanatory to use and there are a ton of articles and videos that are helpful if you have a question.

Pros:

Able to use their 30 day free trial to test everything out. Didn't need to put down our credit card either. System does exactly what we need it to do: organize our assets and makes them easy to find, simplifies our workflow process, and publishes in various formats.

Cons:

Would be great if we could see a specific time code for each feature in a video. We inquired about this and New Spark said it's in their pipeline.

Marwan
Trabslation Arabic to English in Israel
Translation & Localization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Spark review

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

It is easy to move in this website with .

Cons:

I think that you can replace the colour of backgroud to blue insted of black

Lucas
Lucas
Analista in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Teste para avaliação da plataforma NewSpark - Lucas Botelho

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

A plataforma traz consigo recursos básicos mas poderosos, com bastante dinâmica e botões bem visuais. Outro ponto que chamou a atenção foi o Dashboard que para a tomada de decisão ajuda muito. O módulo de "users" também é bem fácil de manusear.

Cons:

O módulo "Assets" achei um pouco confuso em relação as demais ferramentas disponíveis no mercado.

New Spark Media Response

9 months ago

Thanks for the great review Lucas! Although we strive to make our platform as easy to use as possible, we understand there might be the occasional confusion with one of the features we offer. Keep in mind that if you ever have further questions simply click on the "Support" tab to be taken to our learning centre, or drop us a message at [email protected].