Act-On Reviews

by Act-On Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Act-On

Act-On is a growth marketing automation leader that offers solutions for marketers to engage targets throughout the customer lifecycle.

Learn more about Act-On

Showing 259 reviews

Scott C.
Chief Operating Officer
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-01-21

"Act-On is genuine and has a very important experience"

Comments: We have been using Act-On to solve marketing at a very timely level, it has certainly been the most essential for optimal performance, we like to show all the time needed, it is simple and it fits the business objectives. I recommend it because it has given an excellent capacity, the functions are essential and excellent. It has really given a control and systematic performance in social networks, customer tracking processes, etc.

Pros: I like Act-On very much because it has been the most solid software in terms of support and artificial intelligence, it integrates very quickly. It is extremely practical and easy to understand to do any marketing work. The support is very easy to use. Act-On encourages the deployment of clients very quickly.

Cons: I think it has been extremely useful in strengthening the whole mechanism of automation, the backup of reports helps a lot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021-01-21
Bethany D.
Marketing Automation Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-20

"Act-on is an easy to use and robust marketing tool."

Comments: Our sales team is massively impressed with the capabilities and insights that Act-on provides through the integration with our CRM tool. We have been able to message leads with the right message at the right time easily and are able to have a hands off approach when it comes to funneling leads to our sales team. The value Act-on has added has been worth it.

Pros: Most actions are very intuitive and the tool is easy to navigate.

Cons: Our onboarding experience wasn't the best, but Act-on has since implemented a new onboarding process that involves thorough training and set-up. We went to the bootcamp later and we are pleased that Act-on now offers that at the kickoff for other customers.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-06-26

Hi Bethany,
Thank you for posting your review! We appreciate your feedback and love that you're a fan of Act-On!
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-06-20
Verified Reviewer
Web Content Manager
Furniture, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-01

"Powerful and user friendly marketing automation suite with excellent customer support"

Comments: We've been able to bring our marketing data into one place and create a more unified platform from which to send out our marketing campaigns.

Pros: We just started using Act-On a few months ago. We had debated marketing automation companies to go with for years. Overall, Act-On was able to go toe-to-toe in most regards with the other vendors we were considering, at least. The deciding factor was the pricing model, which is a bit unusual. They only charge you for "active" contacts, which are contacts you are actually reaching out to. You can import other contacts for reporting, data synchronization, or potential marketing purposes down the line if you wish, and you won't be charged for them. The support team at Act-On is great. During our evaluation, I received an email from the CEO himself, asking what he could do to help us choose. Throughout implementation, we had several calls and I was always provided what we needed quickly. Act-On does so many things, it would be impossible to cover here, but I like their email and landing page creator. I found it to be very intuitive. The user interface is showing some age, but it's very straightforward and there's not a lot of guessing about how to use it. Act-On is list based, which is the "old" methodology in the industry right now, but if you're a fan of that strategy, you'll feel right at home. Workflow creation is very easy. Data Studio (an add-on) also allows you to create custom reporting, and baked in integrations and an automated FTP connection allow you to get your data talking to each other automatically. The university has great educational information available too.

Cons: You'll get out of Act-On what you put into it. The support and university is there to guide you in that process, but it's ultimately up to you. That's how it is with any platform that doesn't offer in-house services, but with a marketing automation suite, you will really get more out of it if you have knowledgeable staff that have experience implementing and using these platforms. It can be daunting if it's your first time using a marketing automation suite. While Act-On is working on some new things, I don't know that they are putting as much effort behind investing into the product as some of the leading companies in the space. Also, some of the tools are a little rudimentary, and the UI could certainly use some modernizing. It feels too much like Windows XP at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-01
Matt K.
Digital Marketing Manager
Retail, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-06

"Good marketing automation, with some catches"

Comments: Overall, Dynamics CRM is the biggest problem; however, if Act-On is going to support its integration with the platform, it has to better understand it. Besides that, I like the tool. It has a lot of bells and whistles and is competitively priced against similar marketing automation programs.

Pros: Once you learn it, you realize how nice of a tool it is. Email campaigns, lead scoring, assessing total voice of customer -- it's all there.

Cons: Unless you get the white glove setup service, it's tough to really figure out what you're doing at first. I would not recommend for Dynamics CRM (it's missing features that other CRMs have). The Outlook email template plugin is nice when it works, but more often than not, there are problems. I do wish they help you better understand what data fields are required in both Act-On as well as the CRM, and how to add/edit what is being integrated.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-08-30

Hi Matt,
Thanks so much for posting a review of Act-On. I would encourage you to check out Act-On's customer portal, Act-On Connect. It's full of great resources for customers and includes a customer community for sharing best practices.
https://connect.act-on.com/hc/en-us
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-08-06
Verified Reviewer
Vice President, Marketing
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-10

"Very Solid Product for Very Little Money"

Comments: Our target markets have become much more complicated as we've grown, and ActOn allows us to segment our campaigns to send the right message to the right audience - by geography, vertical, etc.

Pros: Syncing with SFDC is awesome. Easy to use - novices can pick it up quickly. Reporting is quite good and easy to understand. Love the continuous product improvements that are made.

Cons: WYSIWYG can drive you crazy, especially with formatting and fonts and hyperlinks, making it tedious to get the look you want. Lately it has been very slow to load, especially photos/graphics.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-09-21

Thanks for posting your review. I agree that it's easy to pick up and hit the ground running especially if you take advantage of the University, the User Community and the awesome Boot Camp trainings. Learn more on the Community here: https://community.act-on.com/home

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-10
Faisal K.
Marketing Director
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28

"The Best Marketing Automation Tool"

Comments: Highly recommended, this is the second company in which i have worked for and implemented Act-On. This is my go to marketing automation tool.

Pros: I have used and reviewed many tools, but i will say Act-On is my favorite. Easy to use, and the best customer service of any of it's competitors.

Cons: The email builder works great but does not live up to my requirements. I wish you could get more advanced with designs.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-07-23

Hi Faisal,
Thanks so much for posting your review. We are thrilled that you are happy and having a positive experience with Act-On.

I would encourage you to check out the Act-On user community at https://community.act-on.com/ It's a great place to share your product requests and suggestions and learn from other marketers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-06-28
Luke E.
Marketing Manager
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-29

"Over-promising and under-delivering are key traits of Act-On"

Comments: Overall I would give Act-On a low pass. The issues with customer service, slightly overpriced and the lack of proper development plagued my experience. If I could go back, I would have used HubSpot or Marketo. At the moment, we have cancelled our Act-On account after 3-4 years and are using a stack of SaaS solutions tied into our practice management system. This is far more cost efficient, easy to use and with better customer service. My advice would be for businesses considering using Act-On due to the price of the above-mentioned competitors to use a stack approach instead of using this system. Using Vision6/Campaign Monitor/MailChimp in tandem with a better landing page provider (Unbounce, Instapage) linked to a CRM would be far better. Stay away, particulalry due to the service - this is even more important for Australian based consumers.

Pros: The system was pretty easy to use. The set-up process for lead nurturing, forms, creating newsletters and other tools were pretty useful.

Cons: Customer service, account limits, aesthetics were below average. The customer service was woeful, the original salesperson who on-boarded me and two referral partners promised the world features wise. Lots of nice looking mocks and promises were made yet nothing provided. On the customer service side of things, on two occasions when the unique contacts and email limit was exceeded the entire system shuts-down. All nurturing campaigns cease and there is no ability to send any emails at all. It took two weeks for someone to be able to apply a temporary increase to allow our marketing efforts to continue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019-04-29
Layne L.
Sr. Territory Account Executive
Publishing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-19

"This is really a marketing tool that has build some features for salespeople"

Pros: I like that it will track my emails and log them to our CRM (Microsoft Dynamics). I like that I can get a daily email letting me know of known and anonymous visitors to our website.

Cons: It's clunky to try and track down a specific email to see if the recipient has interacted with it. This is really a tool that is more valuable to marketing, but has built some features that are being sold as a sales tool. It's a nice to have, but not a need for sales.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-07-23

Hi Layne,
Thanks for posting your review of Act-On. We value your feedback and really appreciate your candor.
If you haven't already, I'd encourage you to check out the Act-On User Community at https://community.act-on.com/home
It's a great place to share feedback and product suggestions with the Product team and exchange best practices with fellow users.
Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-07-19
Kristen L.
Program Manager
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-01

"ActOn - Pretty Good for the Price"

Pros: The platform is very simple to understand and use. You don't need much training before you can get up and running building e-mails, landing pages, and programs for marketing automation. There is a lot of room for customization as well. Also, the price is a bit lower than some other marketing automation software.

Cons: There are some issues within the landing page builder - sometimes it is hard to get the object placement right if you do not know the HTML coding on the back end. The system also can run a bit slow at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-01
Tom J.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01

Comments: We specifically communicate with the C-Suite and particularly with the CEO or President of our clients. It's a relationship-selling process and a one-to-one marketing environment with the most difficult demographics imaginable. We needed a marketing automation platform to track visits to our website from various sources: print campaigns, event follow-up, quarterly articles, etc. Before Act-On we had no software solution. We have an enterprise account. The implementation was extremely easy, and integration with salesforce was not too complicated or messy. We had a lot of data scrubbing to do on our end before things were working correctly. It took about 30 days and Act-On was really helpful. Act-On is very easy to use; it only took us a few days after our initial conference call with the support/training group to send out our first campaign. Customer support is very responsive and thorough. I was having difficulty getting one particular form to do what I wanted it to do, but after a quick chat with our support representative (we have our own dedicated account executive and support person) I was creating landing pages left and right. We can see results in near-real-time! (just hit the refresh button and wala!) It's great to have reports that track everything that our executives can understand and show where marketing is making an impact. It's very difficult to tie in marketing to sales a lot of the time, but we can show where a specific individual landed on our site after a campaign or email, and see what their behavior is. After seeing the pages they landed on, we can issue a request for a follow-up call and direct the sales team to what topics might be of interest to the prospect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01
Amy F.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01

Comments: When it came to a marketing automation solution, our organization took the Goldilocks approach: First, we tried Pardot and found that it really didn't deliver what we were looking for. Their lack of lead attribution functionality just didn't work for us. We wanted to be able to connect the dots on sales and marketing touches but ultimately know which touch landed us the business. The process that Pardot defined for us meant that we had to add several steps to our own process. It was not what we expected out of an automated program. Second, we tried Marketo and found that it was overwhelmingly complicated. Again, not what we expected out of an automated system. Not only was it complicated to set up campaigns, but it was also complicated to get some assistance if we ran into a problem. We'd have to put in a ticket, call to follow up, wait for someone to get back to us and then wait for them to hear back from overseas trainers and developers to get back to them so they could circle back around to us. Several times, we were told that we needed to pay for some additional add-on or additional training. Finally, we moved to Act-On and they have been "just right." Our implementation was a breeze, and the software does exactly what we want it to do - and then some. As with any new software, we had questions and user issues, etc. but the Act-On crew was always there with answers - sometimes within minutes of us contacting them! The software is great, but what makes Act-On different is their team. It's comforting to know that we have advocates there that really want us to succeed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01
Meloyde B.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01

Comments: Act-On is one of the most powerful - yet intuitive - marketing and lead nurturing software tools I've come across. I implemented Act-On for a large accounting firm who is one of our clients and needed better tools to nurture their prospects in a long-term complex sales cycle. In selling professional services - or in many other businesses where a decision to purchase is made over a matter of months or even years - it's necessary to keep prospects engaged in a relevant way. With Act-On, you can use their powerful email, list management, web visitor tracking, and lead scoring tools to nurture prospects and score their engagement based on behavioral criteria you establish. Then when the prospect gets to a certain level of engagement, you have the opportunity to have a sales conversation at the right time. The information it provides gives you actionable results instead of just meaningless numbers. In addition to the powerful tools, Act-On is very easy to use and intuitive. And the customer support was outstanding; at times, they were reaching out to me, asking me if I needed anything or if I had seen new features that were introduced, etc. All of this comes in a package that's pretty reasonably priced for the level of features it provides, and there's no long-term commitment. Overall, it's enabled my client to better see which prospects are engaging and at what level and to get better analytics on how effective their website, emails, events and other activities are working.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-11-01
Denise D.
Marketing Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-06

"Great value"

Pros: Hands down the best customer support. Anytime we have any question about /anything, their customer support is extremely responsive.

Cons: There are a few qwirky things about the software and they can be slow to adapt at times but they do listen to customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-09-06
Sam N.
Sr. Content Marketing Specialist
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-07

"Excellent Support and Customer Service"

Pros: I love the customer support and service we get from Act-On. The staff is always friendly with us and very helpful. If they don't have an answer or an issue resolved, they will take the time to email us later in the day to ensure we get the correct information.

Cons: I don't have too much experience in HTML or other coding, and this is a software that is very heavily relied upon for those skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-08-07
Verified Reviewer
Teaching Assistant
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-11-28

"Act-On Is A Great Tool For Marketing Attribution"

Comments: Act-On is perfect for businesses of all sizes and allows you to monitor website visitors and traffic!

Pros: To be able to tell where your potential leads and clients come from is a very helpful thing. Act-On gives me that ability!

Cons: It would be most helpful if Act-On could really provide a true attribution for where a website visitor came, especially related to Google searches.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017-11-28
Simon O.
Marketing Analyst
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12

"FANTASTIC MARKETING AUTOMATION APPLICATION"

Pros: Act-On is a very good marketing automation software. It helps my organization in selling our products and services through digital platforms like email, facebook, other social media platforms.

Cons: It's a little difficult for non professionals to use. However, it a perfect marketing automated software for medium size organizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-12-12
Tim A.
Marketing & Advertising
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-23

"Solid Marketing Automation platform"

Pros: Act-On offers a lot of value for the price. They are certainly not the top platform as far as features and functionality, but they offer a great bang for the buck and continue to improve the platform. For many small and mid-size businesses and those new to marketing automation, Act-On is a great first step into the software, and you can also grow with it as well. Also, the pricing, training, etc. are very easy to get started.

Cons: I've had some email deliverability woes and feel that they have been slow to improve their landing page/form functionality. They recently released a responsive editor for emails, which is long overdue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-23
Carrie S.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-01-14

"Act-On helps our B2B company get things done"

Pros: The ease of use is one of my favorite attributes of Act-On. They make it so easy to find information and provide tons of ways to use the information. Integrating it with our CRM was unbelievably easy and added a whole other dimension of information available to help tailor our marketing efforts. It's also an added bonus that they are always improving their product based on their customer's feedback. The team at Act-On are all so helpful. They're friendly, and they do everything they can to assist you and make you successful with the platform.

Cons: Some of the form/landing page/email creation can be tricky if you want to dig deeper into customizing your pieces and you don't have a solid knowledge of HTML.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-01-14
James R.
Media Production
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-03-03

"Questionable Client Agreement Practices"

Pros: The software itself was pretty good. We would have loved to continue using the software and take full advantage of what it has to offer.

Cons: Aggressive, high-pressure sales calls and smoke and mirror games about getting discounted prices. Ultimately, though, Act-On offered us a discount, but they did not disclose what future upgrade costs would be. We made what the client count would have to be clear before we signed up, but they convinced us to sign up in a lower tier to meet our budget and close the deal. But then, after 3-4 months of set-up and training, we finally went to use the software in practice and needed to upgrade the number of clients to actually utilize the system, and then we were met with the reality of the situation. They had no intent of accommodating our original needs at the budget we discussed and tried to double our cost to get to the original needs we discussed. Even though they admitted that they were vague and unclear in the agreement on the upgrade details, they refused to accommodate our needs/budget or to let us out of our contract and instead chose to simply state that we were still bound to pay for the software until the end of the term, even though they know we won't even be able to utilize the service. Pretty poor service, and they are only thinking in the short-term about making a few bucks instead of working with us to save the account.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-03-03
Faisal K.
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-03-04

"A must have tool for anyone in Marketing"

Pros: What I like best is having a wide variety of useful information easily accessible in a single software product. Website tracking, email campaign tracking, tracking assets, tracking social media, and more are always just a click away.

Cons: The overall look of the interface. I think it needs a facelift to look more modern.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-03-04
Dawn C.
Telecommunications
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-14

"Act-On NEVER Acts out"

Pros: Since the very beginning of our relationship with Act-On, they have been helpful and have always been improving the product. It is a very intuitive tool and makes marketing fun and effective.

Cons: I have experienced some issues with the way that Act-On defines a lead as needing to be suppressed and the resulting limitations that it places on optimizing my database.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-14
Rosina F.
Marketing Director
Business Supplies & Equipment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-07

"Decent if you already have it and infrequently email. There are better solutions at lower prices."

Comments: It was an existing solution where I currently work. I put it through its paces and we quickly outgrew our plan, but to grow with Act-on is expensive since they price based on number of monthly sends and not contacts in your system, which becomes very costly if you want to email customers and prospects more than once a month. We ultimately went with a different solution where the pricing is based on active contacts, offers unlimited sends and more robust functionality at a far cheaper price.

Pros: It is easy to set up from addresses for different email sends.

Cons: Constantly watching the ticker to see when/if we're going to reach our monthly send allotment, and we have

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-07
Jennifer T.
Marketing Operations Specialist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-27

"Not what it says on the tin!"

Pros: As a basic bulk emailing tool for a small business it is fine, however it is an expensive emailing tool.

Cons: The integration with Salesforce is terrible, there are numerous bugs in the system which make using it very difficult and setting up a basic automated programme is impossible without doing work arounds to get it working, making it a lengthy process and costing the team too much time. Not worth the money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-02-27
Dan H.
Marketing and Business Leadership Advisor
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-07

"For marketing automation, this has proven to be well worth the money"

Pros: Ease of use is the top pro for me. Being the core marketing resource, I simply did not have the time to become the marketing automation expert. With the ease of set up and the intuitive campaign management, I didn't have to.

Cons: The only thing I see as a restriction to Act-On is some minor browser conflicts that occur when I am on my mobile device. But, they are so minor that they don't really cause any limitations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-07
Lynn E.
Marketing Manager
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-04-20

"Excellent software, excellent support"

Pros: Act-On is super intuitive to use, and any time that I do have questions, their support team has been really quick to respond and helpful.

Cons: I wish there were more flexibility with the reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015-04-20