Act-On Reviews

by Act-On Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.3 /5

About Act-On

Act-On is a growth marketing automation leader that offers solutions for marketers to engage targets throughout the customer lifecycle.

Learn more about Act-On

Showing 246 reviews

Jennifer D.
Banking
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-04-07

"Great product; capable of almost anything"

Pros: I like the list segmentation and uploading. Automated programs are seemingly unlimited.

Cons: It's a bit too lead-focused with a person-to-person sales aspect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-04-07
Bobby H.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26

"Powerful Email Automation Software"

Comments: Simply put, Act-on offers a plethora of features that allow it to be one of the most powerful email automation software platforms out there. It's email editor is easy to use and has many features that you don't realize are available until you stumble across them. The only possible downside is the cost. While they're not expensive. It's not cheap, but for the features it has it's worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26
Verified Reviewer
VP, Communications and Public Relations
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-21

"Too Easy for Excuses"

Comments: I've used Act-On across two companies I've worked for and am OBSESSED!

Pros: Act-On works as you expect. Every. Single. Time.

Cons: The automated programs often confuse me and I have to call Customer Support to confirm I've set up my program correctly.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-05-22

Thanks so much for your awesome feedback! We love hearing from customers and are thrilled that you are happy!

Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-21
Deb M.
CMO
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-07

"After being a loyal Hubspot user, I switched to Act-On. Huge mistake."

Pros: I liked what they described the product to be during the sales process.

Cons: Nothing they described during the sales process materialized. I have heard the phrase "Hmm, weird" many, many times in response to questions or concerns with the product. We have a huge number of undelivered emails without explanation. Saved emails disappear. Salesforce integration is clunky and unreliable. Tech support is hard to access. Cannot wait to go back to another tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-09-07
Sarah M.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-06-16

"Couldn't ask for better support!"

Pros: Pretty straightforward and easy to use, and there's a lot of support whenever I need it.

Cons: The interface could be a little bit cleaner. It can be a little challenging to look through a pile of contact lists or email drafts; however, this is a very small issue considering all the great things about the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-06-16
Tim A.
VP, digital innovation
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26

"A solid automation platform that competes with the major players"

Comments: Act-on is a solid marketing automation platform that is aimed at first time automation users and companies graduating from basic email marketing tools. But it's not just a "gateway" solution, it provides some advanced features found in many of he more expensive enterprise solutions. The price of entry is modest, it's easy to get started and they provide fantastic customer service that is hard to beat. There are some features that are lacking, but for most firms new to automation, you might not even know what they are. They are always adding new features and improving old ones. I give them solid recommendation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26
Sam M.
CIO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-11-11

"Burning your money on a fireplace will feel better"

Comments: Their very "robust" product is a legacy system probably older than DOS. Everything is clunky, various steps to accomplish simple tasks, landing pages that are nearly impossible to customize, integrations to 3rd parties are limited to a few. I accomplished the same results with Unbounce.com, MailChimp, Zappier and any CRM even a spreadsheet will be more useful than the crap they have - all for less. If you really want something good try Hubspot but merely $$$ more you get a real working solution. Trying to get out of the contract since we could not make use of their useless system, got is into collection and we had to pay the entire contract.

Pros: Customer service picks up on the first ring... but then the problems and bugs are labeled "features". How can the inability to customize the look and feel of a form be considered a feature?

Cons: All of it
Lengthy contracts impossible to get rid of
Cannot customize forms
Cannot edit automation flows easily
CRM is as old as DOS
Cannot integrate with the rest of the world
Expensive
Not worth a penny

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016-11-11
Elizabeth C.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-05-14

"Easy to Use and Scalable for any Organization!"

Comments: I have been an Act-on customer for over 2 years now and am extremely satisfied with the product and service. Act-on has really allowed us to further our marketing strategies and get a better ROI on our marketing activities. My favorite features are the reporting capabilities, the website visitor tracking and the forms. We have also integrated Act-on with our Microsoft CRM, which has made maintaining our database much easier and more efficient. The customer service/support received for this product is also great. I get immediate calls/emails back from my service rep or tech support. And the engineering team really listens to customer feedback and uses it to better the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-05-14
Michele L.
Product Development Coordinator
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-01

"Good Marketing Automation System for Associations"

Pros: Great way to track what members are accessing and viewing through analytics from email campaigns and landing pages.

Cons: When connecting landing pages to websites, the navigation from the landing page back to the website is tricky to manage. Sometimes lose users because they don't find an easy way to get back to original website pages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018-08-01
Brittany H.
Marketing Assistant
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26

"Powerful for automation experts, but also functional for beginners"

Comments: Our company switched to Act-On from Marketo because of pricing and it looked like it would still handle our needs as a small-mid sized company. We were right. Act-On's customer service helped us with things we couldn't figure out on our own, and usually that stuff was pretty advanced. We didn't need to ask for help with much because the software is really easy to use, there are just a few advanced features that we needed help learning about, and they were dedicated to helping us find an answer. Now that we've been using it for a while, we have a lot of templates making things extremely efficient, and we have a lot of results/stats that help us improve on our campaigns and marketing effectiveness. Forms, landing pages, basic emails, social media...it's all been great so far.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-26
Verified Reviewer
Brand Manager and Copywriter
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-07

"Excellent Email Management Platform"

Pros: Great for hosting multiple account instances, dedicated IP address, and easy to navigate.

Cons: A little clunky on the richtext email editor.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-09-21

We appreciate your review and honest feedback. Thanks for taking the time to post it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-09-07
Verified Reviewer
Marketing/ Communications employee
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-21

"Great marketing automation tool"

Pros: I like how easy it is to send different types of e-mails to different recipients. It's also great for tracking my e-mail recipients' behavior.

Cons: I am not using it for a very long time, so I haven't come across any cons.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-05-22

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from customers. If you haven't already, I would encourage you to check out the Act-On User Community for additional resources and best practice sharing. https://community.act-on.com/home

Cheers!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-05-21
Carrie S.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-01-14

"Act-On helps our B2B company get things done"

Pros: The ease of use is one of my favorite attributes of Act-On. They make it so easy to find information and provide tons of ways to use the information. Integrating it with our CRM was unbelievably easy and added a whole other dimension of information available to help tailor our marketing efforts. It's also an added bonus that they are always improving their product based on their customer's feedback. The team at Act-On are all so helpful. They're friendly, and they do everything they can to assist you and make you successful with the platform.

Cons: Some of the form/landing page/email creation can be tricky if you want to dig deeper into customizing your pieces and you don't have a solid knowledge of HTML.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-01-14
Verified Reviewer
VP of Marketing
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-27

"Good outbound marketing automation tool"

Pros: The ability to be able to set up automated email campaigns. When comparing Hubspot and Act-on, Act-on had stronger outbound marketing functionality which is exactly what we were looking for. The toll is pretty easy to use once you get trained up and the on boarding process was very smooth.

Cons: Unfortunently there was no integration with our Sage CRM so in ways we were automating but then just creating more manual work on our part because of the lack of integration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018-11-27
Michelle B.
Computer Software
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-27

"Act-On is a powerful yet easy to use marketing automation platform"

Pros: Act-On makes it very easy to manage multiple integrated marketing programs, with built-in testing and reporting capabilities that allow us to easily identify what is working and what can improve. The platform is feature-rich and is always improving, which our team feels is a tremendous value, given the affordable price point. Act-On compares well to much more expensive competitive solutions and allows us to achieve great results with a very small team.

Cons: The landing page builder could be more robust, and it would be nice to have more pre-designed templates to choose from for emails, forms, and landing pages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-03-27
Laura P.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-10-31

Comments: A10 Capital is a financial services company specializing in commercial real estate lending. We have a very niche product, so getting messages out to the right people at the right time is critical. Before adopting Act-On, we were using a combination of spreadsheets and other e-mail marketing platforms that did not sync with our Salesforce platform. This resulted in many hours of work for the marketing coordinator compiling reports manually and attempting to track down the whereabouts of individuals with bounced e-mail. We purchased Act-On in May 2012 and were up and running our first campaigns within a week. Our implementation team was fantastic; they trained my sales users both in a group setting and individually. Since launching the Act-On platform, we've spent just a few hours a week on e-mail marketing. We've tripled the number of leads in our system and qualified approximately 30% more with Act-On. My sales team reports that they love the visibility Act-On gives them as to how messages are being received and who's interested in learning more about our services. It makes a huge difference in how they make their daily calling efforts and in the overall success of A10 Capital.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013-10-31
Tim A.
Marketing & Advertising
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-23

"Solid Marketing Automation platform"

Pros: Act-On offers a lot of value for the price. They are certainly not the top platform as far as features and functionality, but they offer a great bang for the buck and continue to improve the platform. For many small and mid-size businesses and those new to marketing automation, Act-On is a great first step into the software, and you can also grow with it as well. Also, the pricing, training, etc. are very easy to get started.

Cons: I've had some email deliverability woes and feel that they have been slow to improve their landing page/form functionality. They recently released a responsive editor for emails, which is long overdue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014-11-23
Andrei V.
Marketing Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22

"best marketing automation software"

Pros: Marketing Automation with results tracking. Shows you even how much a google ads keyword produced for the company, which is pretty cool. Aside from that, it has lots of features, and I truly recommend a demo, to discover all it can do

Cons: some scripts may slow certain landing pages, but it's not a rule

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-12-03

Hi Andrei,
Thanks so much for posting a review and providing great feedback!
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-11-22
Paige C.
Graphic Designer
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-15

"A good beginner tool for email automation, but overall is falling behind other, inexpensive software"

Pros: The software interface is mostly drag and drop, which is helpful for non developers and non designers alike to create modern, effective emails. With automation and A?B testing, it is great for marketing research and drop or nurture campaigns. Each account is attached to a customer service representative, and they are very helpful and attentive.

Cons: The functionality compared to the price is a concern. While it can handle thousands of users, free automation softwares are offering more email design functionality than this software. The user interface isn't the most friendliest, with emails, landing pages, templates and content all divided up into multiple folders. The software boasts that it is custom HTML friendly, but it is very difficult to execute properly. The software also has issues formatting for Outlook.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-05-23

Hi Paige,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your candor and value your feedback.
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-05-15
Prabhdeep S.
Software Engineer
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-10

"Great tool for marketing"

Pros: It is a very user-friendly software but it locates somewhere in the middle where it is neither too simple like constant contact nor too advanced like Hubspot. It is a good system for medium-sized organizations. I liked the customer service especially their technical support and dashboard design is also very modern and user-oriented.

Cons: They should review their pricing points for different levels of customers. They can improve the design of the overall website to make it more attractive to everyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017-12-10
Stephanie C.
Marketing Specialist
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-28

"I use this software regularly (almost every day) for work as a marketing specialist."

Pros: Building mailings is relatively straightforward. There are a decent amount of functions that allow us to customize our mailings in different ways based on content and branding for our various campaigns.

Cons: The sorting and filtering functions for sent mailings isn't very robust. The mailing builder is actually really quite finicky sometimes. Adding borders around image blocks causes extra white space around mailings. Also, buttons and other smaller elements render differently in the mailing builder than in Outlook, which is one of the primary email clients people use. Mailings end up looking less polished in Outlook.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2018-05-07

Hi Stephanie,
Thanks for posting your review. We really appreciate your honest feedback and take it to heart.
Best,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-04-28
Emma C.
Sales Executive
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-12

"Daily Act-On User"

Comments: It is an excellent tool to use whilst prospecting and almost provided you with 'warm' leads, especially when they return to your website and look at product details etc.

Pros: The only feature I use is to see who has been on our website. You are able to see who has been on your website and what links they have clicked on. Works really well when sending out speculative mails. You are able to see who actually looks at your mails and who has a genuine interest when they click further into links.

Cons: On occasions you can see someone has been on the website, but can't track down who (as no IP address present) I understand this may be security measures their end and there is no way of ever knowing. I have real issues linking ActOn with my Outlook mail.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 2019-03-26

Thanks for the feedback, Emma!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-02-12
Verified Reviewer
Web Content Manager
Furniture, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-01

"Powerful and user friendly marketing automation suite with excellent customer support"

Comments: We've been able to bring our marketing data into one place and create a more unified platform from which to send out our marketing campaigns.

Pros: We just started using Act-On a few months ago. We had debated marketing automation companies to go with for years. Overall, Act-On was able to go toe-to-toe in most regards with the other vendors we were considering, at least. The deciding factor was the pricing model, which is a bit unusual. They only charge you for "active" contacts, which are contacts you are actually reaching out to. You can import other contacts for reporting, data synchronization, or potential marketing purposes down the line if you wish, and you won't be charged for them. The support team at Act-On is great. During our evaluation, I received an email from the CEO himself, asking what he could do to help us choose. Throughout implementation, we had several calls and I was always provided what we needed quickly. Act-On does so many things, it would be impossible to cover here, but I like their email and landing page creator. I found it to be very intuitive. The user interface is showing some age, but it's very straightforward and there's not a lot of guessing about how to use it. Act-On is list based, which is the "old" methodology in the industry right now, but if you're a fan of that strategy, you'll feel right at home. Workflow creation is very easy. Data Studio (an add-on) also allows you to create custom reporting, and baked in integrations and an automated FTP connection allow you to get your data talking to each other automatically. The university has great educational information available too.

Cons: You'll get out of Act-On what you put into it. The support and university is there to guide you in that process, but it's ultimately up to you. That's how it is with any platform that doesn't offer in-house services, but with a marketing automation suite, you will really get more out of it if you have knowledgeable staff that have experience implementing and using these platforms. It can be daunting if it's your first time using a marketing automation suite. While Act-On is working on some new things, I don't know that they are putting as much effort behind investing into the product as some of the leading companies in the space. Also, some of the tools are a little rudimentary, and the UI could certainly use some modernizing. It feels too much like Windows XP at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-03-01
Srinivas N.
Sr. Digital Marketer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-16

"Needs more improvement in UI and UX"

Comments: its was an ok use software but not the best. I use hubspot now, try to replicate hubspot acton

Pros: Less expensive, serves the purpose for a while not for long run

Cons: ui and ux is very poor and navigation was not so friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019-10-16
Abbie D.
Director of Marketing
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-18

"Buyer Beware!! Not a sophisticated system in the least"

Comments: The worst. Beware - do NOT fall for this "automation" system. Go with something that actually supports the workflow of marketers in 2018.

Pros: Absolutely nothing. I came from using Pardot at my previous company and then was stuck with this poor excuse for an automation system for two years. Luckily we're in the process of switching back to Pardot at the moment.

Cons: Pricing Model Not Built to Scale: They think that the "pay for contacts" pricing model is a pro, but it is not! For any marketer with a growing database this is a pure nightmare given that they are basically unresponsive when you need to add more contacts. We are actually currently in a situation where we can't get ANYONE to respond to help us add more contacts, which means that I cannot execute on a very large campaign that we were set to launch yesterday. Customer Service: As mentioned above, good luck getting anybody to actually call you back or fix your issues. If you have any level of sophistication in your marketing programs and automation, it's just a matter of when you're going to run into issues with Act-On, and half the time, they don't even know why the system doesn't work. I just got a call back a few days ago about a support ticket I submitted in JULY (it's October 18 right now). Product: Act-On does not have a contacts database. So if you need to look up a contact and see every list that they are on, every automation program they are in, or to manage their subscriptions or lists, you cannot. That's right - there is no way to globally search for a contact in Act-On. This is absurd. There is no way that you can call yourself an automation system in 2018 and not have this most basic of capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018-10-18