Spiceworks Reviews

4.4 (541) Write a Review!

About Spiceworks

Download free IT help desk software for IT pros & sysadmins around the world in all businesses. Support & mobile apps also free.

Learn more about Spiceworks

Pros:

Integrated decently with Exchange. Very low cost and a good KB.

Cons:

The biggest con is that if you have a "team" in your Spiceworks, it's a bit of a pain to get the inventory cross-team.

Spiceworks ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Spiceworks has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 541 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Spiceworks before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (541)

Robert
Robert
Systems Administrator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ideal free helpdesk for small to medium businesses

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I have been very happy with Spiceworks, especially the community of users.

Pros:

It's impossible to beat the cost of free. The product is well designed and functions extremely well for the job it is designed for.

Cons:

Larger IT departments won't be able to route tickets to specific teams. It would be very nice if spiceworks could expand its offering to include sub service desks etc.

Matthew
Director of IT in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Help Desk Where You Want It

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Starting a new role in the organization that had no Help Desk and no history or structure; Spiceworks proved to be the single biggest one thing that could be done right that would yeild improved IT services to the organization. User responsibility shifted to reporting IT issues using email and overall satisfaction improved and service impacting issues due to weaknesses in infrastructure, bad procedures or mislaid processes were identified by the ticketing system and corrected.

Pros:

I started using Spiceworks in the cloud and then copied the database and importing it to our VM and lost nothing. It is an efficient and easy to use platform. Adding techs and break-fix categories to track what needs to be improved proved to be successful. This allows IT to focus on root cause and then to deploy solutions to prevent the same.

Cons:

The reports need to be streamlined to remove redundancy. Quantity is not always a good thing and by compressing and focusing on key areas the reporting could be a lot better and less fractured.

Sandeep
Sandeep
SYstem Support Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Commercial Real Estate Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ticketing Tool

5.0 last month New

Comments: We are using Spiceworks for ticketing day to day issues where users are facing and for regular follow-up of any tasks assigned.

Pros:

I liked the ticketing process or features that were available when creating tickets, as well as the email alerts for each follow-up.

Cons:

The least i like was server availability, Some times due to work load the server gets crashing and after restarting all the services only it will work without any issues.The initial stage of setup using authentication was difficult.

Josh
IT Support Specialist in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome IT Help Desk software, horrible inventory system.

2.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Spiceworks is great for managing help desk tickets. Using HTML we've been able to customize our end-user portal. Create multiple ticket templates to capture the details we truly need from end-users. We have found that the mobile application for iOS and Android to be the best on the market. It has a great GUI, very user friendly, informative, and easy to set up.

Cons:

The inventory system is lacking when it comes to producing accurate information. At one point this year we were upgrading our end users to dual monitors. We attempted to use Spiceworks to produce the make and model of the current monitor the end users were using. It came back telling us a generic description. I ended up writing a batch file that would obtain them remotely and that was accurate. We've also had issues where it would scan a computer that had 2 monitors but would only show one. We also went through a license key audit and thought we could rely on Spiceworks to produce accurate results. It ended up showing us that several computers had 3 iterations of office installed. I understand that these keys are in the registry but other similar scanners would only produce keys for whats actually installed on the workstation by cross-referencing installed applications and registry keys. We recently have been experiencing issues where Spiceworks would attempt to scan 180 assets and it would fail to complete the scan without errors. We found this out by using WSUS to determine how many computers we had and Spiceworks was off by 30 assets of the 180. At least twice a week it also locks up and our end users can't access the help desk portal to submit tickets. We've chosen to use LanSweeper to track assets. LanSweeper produced accurate results in a fraction of the time Spiceworks produced incomplete results. Spiceworks took 8+ hours, LanSweeper <30 minutes.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It works well for a small business support desk

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: The UI is intuitive and easy to use, especially if you're new to helpdesk software. It's easy to use and efficient, making it ideal for a company with a small support staff. It's simple to use; I was able to set up my agents and ticket alerts and begin receiving tickets in a matter of minutes.

Pros:

For internal clients, we rely only on Spiceworks as our ticket-based support system. If a user experiences a problem that can be resolved by IT, they need only visit the site and, in a matter of seconds, create a ticket that includes screenshots and other information that will aid us in fixing the problem as soon as possible.

Cons:

My only gripe is that it is not simple to view all tickets in one place, regardless of their status, using the "my tickets" feature.

Joshua
Joshua
System Administrator in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ever looking for an IT Asset Management App to use ..... Spiceworks has it all

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: My life became easy when I stated using Spice work to update all the IT assets, as I can add new devices from anywhere and monitor who was assign to a particular device for tracking and report documentation.

Pros:

The beauty of updating IT Assets all in one place from Mobile device to Laptops to Printers and the ability to save credentials for assessing those devices in a shot note for easy of continuity.

Cons:

I haven't find any fault using the app, so there is non for me to write

Donald
Technology Director in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spiceworks Help Desk

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Spiceworks has been very good for us as a Help Desk software. My admins and users had an easy time in implementing this software

Pros:

Of course the cost since it is Free. Easy to deploy and users to understand

Cons:

Does not have all the features and reports that others have, but that is offset by the price

Ian
IT Support Specialist in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spicy goodness

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Spiceworks was great when i worked at a small non profit for my needs

Pros:

The inventory and ticketing are very useful in smaller businesses however when i have to research an issue i normally end the search term in google with "Spiceworks" as i know i will be returned with a wealth of expert knowledge

Cons:

I find the bandwidth usage quite high, other than that it is value for money which was zero for just the helpdesk. There are other applications i have not used

Marek
CEO in Poland
Financial Services Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Spiceworks Review

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, my experience with Spiceworks was highly positive. The vibrant community and wealth of resources made it a valuable tool for IT professionals. It provided a platform to seek advice, troubleshoot problems, and stay connected with industry peers. While there were occasional performance issues and the user interface could have been more intuitive, these minor inconveniences did not significantly impact the overall experience. Spiceworks proved to be a valuable resource for IT professionals, facilitating knowledge sharing and enhancing collaboration within the community.

Pros:

One of the things I liked most about Spiceworks was its vibrant and supportive community. The Spiceworks community provided a wealth of knowledge and resources, allowing me to connect with IT professionals and exchange valuable insights. It was a great platform for seeking advice, troubleshooting issues, and staying updated with the latest industry trends. The community's active participation and willingness to help made problem-solving and learning a collaborative and enjoyable experience.

Cons:

While Spiceworks had many positive aspects, one thing I liked least was occasional performance issues. At times, the platform experienced slowdowns or glitches, which could be frustrating, especially during critical tasks. Additionally, the user interface, although functional, could have been more intuitive and streamlined. Navigating through certain sections or finding specific features required some exploration, which could have been improved for a smoother user experience.

Rachel
IT Administrative Assistant in US
Medical Practice, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ticketing System for Medical Practice

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: There haven't been any major concerns brought up.

Pros:

Typically, it is easy to identify who is responsible for which tickets and what priority they are put at.

Cons:

I can't open all the attachments easily in a ticket. I have to go back to the original response to see what attachments are included.

Victor
IT Manager in Venezuela
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Spiceworks a great Help Desk suite with AiO preset that'll transform IT units into Rockstars!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I would recommend Spiceworks since can give you details that some other apps might be skipping out just like agent-less scanning that provides complete system details, including things like license keys for Microsoft software and toner levels on printers, the ability to manage Active Directory users and policies.
For sure the Purchasing tracking system will give you a hand to develop the IT Budget and track down your top ten assets requirements.

Pros:

The ticketing system works great you can set categories and customize the SLA's at your convenience and with the reporting tool you can build your own Ticket time tracking charts and accomplishment report of tickets assigned and complete that works great for newly IT departments that want to leverage their support standards. It includes a user portal so people can keep track of their tickets but also allows tickets creation/update via email which makes things so simple for the end user you can customize this portal with the company logo and preset the auto response message using HTML code. We have been using the inventory feature which is really robust gives plenty details about the IT assets and their warranties. You can set networks scans and Spiceworks will give you very detailed information about everything on your network.

Cons:

Spiceworks software network management needs a lot of the time it is discovering items that you have no interest in managing remotely and yet it keeps finding stuff and bringing it to your attention. The ability to manually add inventory items gets overlapped for the constant network scanning. Spiceworks could open up their code a bit more. Since some specific needs that wouldn't be difficult to integrate/allow but that aren't done with the OpenSource collaboration to add more features and solve the lack of some specific UX desirable features.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SpiceWorks does the job, for free-ninety-nine.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Prior to SpiceWorks we relied on emails from users with issues, and each IT person might manage those emails in their own way - flagging for followup, marking as unread, subfolders of their inbox, reminders, etc. Issues often were forgotten before being resolved as they moved further down in the IT inbox. We would often work on issues that another IT person already knew the answer to, thus wasting time. Spiceworks has made it so much easier to keep track of issues and their resolutions. IT supervisors can see at a glance if any of their people are struggling, and how quickly issues are resolved. Each ticket is categorized (Phone System, PC Hardware, Network, etc.) so its easy to see if things are getting better or worse. You can reply to a ticket with a suggested solution, categorize it, and close it, all using the "Tickets Anywhere" keywords.

Pros:

It allows us to prioritize tickets, identify recurring problems, and prevent requests from "falling through the cracks". It provides our employees a single email address for getting help without them having to know who in IT does what. It is fairly configurable to meet different needs - we use it for warehouse and logistics issues as well as IT Help Desk. Tickets can be assigned, categorized, closed, etc. using "Tickets Anywhere" keywords when replying to the email so you don't even have to open the site to work tickets.

Cons:

Emails sent to Spiceworks are converted to plain text with attachments, so tables and in-line images are lost. Due to this we sometimes have to ask the user to forward the email directly to us in order to see the original. There is a delay of between 1 and 5 minutes after an email is sent to Spiceworks before the Spiceworks email is received by team members, so we occasionally have more than one person starting to work on a ticket at the same time - especially if the ticket can be resolved simply by replying to the email.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Free help desk and ticketing system with integrated AD-compatible inventory

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have used the Spiceworks ticketing system for a few years and have been very pleased by the customization options, support, and overall performance of it. It has helped to streamline the efforts of our tech team and help us to effectively organize and delegate. From the ticket overview, you can see what tickets are new, outstanding, and who their owners are (if any). The customer portal side and automated responses are very customization as well, which helps to get your tech communications effectively branded for your organization.

Pros:

The fact that it is a free product helps it to stand out. Beside that, when we did have an issue, the support was fantastic in helping us to track down and remedy the source of the problem. We really like the amount of detail you can see at a glance when using the help desk because it can aggregate the data from inventory which can include hardware devices and users. There are also many very handy plugins for Spiceworks that can help in countless ways.

Cons:

Since our users had a habit of submitting tickets with numerous large attachments, the ticket database became kind of unwieldy and there wasn't a clear way to actually delete tickets or their attachments from the database. This is good and bad, in that there's no accidental deletion of ticket history, but it can be frustration if space on the hosting server is very limited.

Dustin
Field Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Hardware, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply essential to every day I.T. Life!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: There is really nothing to say but this software is excellent. I use it daily for ticketing, tracking, research and even I.T. related news clips. It's an essential one stop HUB for everything I.T. and best of all it's free.

Pros:

Spiceworks is the software that my company uses for ticketing and a secondary asset tracking system. Since I've been using it I've found that it's infinitely more helpful than at first it seemed. The ticketing system is very simple to set up and tracks and assigns tickets very well. Besides the ticketing and asset tracking I love all the plug-ins that are available as well as the Spiceworks community. There are very few resources where you will find a more helpful bunch of users who have real world experience and can answer anything you might need to ask. I always find someone who has broken down extremely technical knowledge that makes it easier for me to learn and expand.

Cons:

The software can sometimes be a bit slow to respond. There will at times be an odd lag in the software even though there is nothing taxing happening on the server and resources look fine. This is a minor occurrence and can be fixed by restarting the service on the server.

Dustin
Dustin
Superintendent of Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for a free helpdesk, but the community is where it shines

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

First off, nobody has ever complained about free. Spiceworks itself does what it is meant to do -- it provides a simple helpdesk for you and your users, with basic features you'd expect from a support system. It's full of little things, like a built-in knowledge base, built-in remote support, integrations with other tools, etc. The real value in Spiceworks though is it's community; it's like Experts Exchange on steroids. Everyone is friendly and helpful, and vendors have direct representation in the forums to help you with both sales and support questions. It rarely feels like anyone is trying to sell you anything in Spiceworks' community, but at the end of the day you end up buying from some vendors *because* of how they treat you there. It's incredible.

Cons:

Inventory... inventory is not good. If you don't get it set up perfectly the first time, you might as well turn it off and forget about it. There's still no really good way to handle historical data and devices you no longer control.

Valerio
Director in Dominican Republic
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everything you need to just open and close tickets

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our company provides IT support to several customers. Specifically we have installed Spicework to handle the tickets of one of our customers. The organization of our client has approximately 50 users. Spicework has worked without any problems so far. We went from receiving requests via phone or email to having a system to organize the tickets, status and expiration dates.

Pros:

This is a simple software that will allow you to manage the opening and closing of tickets for your organization. You can keep track of open tickets, assign them and make comments. All changes in a ticket automatically generate an email to those involved in them. It also detects on the network new computers, software changes, even can send alerts when there is little tonner in some printer or when there is little disk space on some computer in the network. This can be of great help to an organization's IT teams

Cons:

It can be difficult to install and configure and help is not always immediate. Apart from this it can be a simple tool for the end user.

Robert
Director of Operations in US
Individual & Family Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

IT Support at its finest!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Where to begin - there are so many features and services that we have come to rely on in regard to Spiceworks such as: -Remote data collection on all devices: you can see when a hard drive is out of space before it becomes a problem -Remote data collection on logs: you can see when someone had some log errors and they don't know about it and you catch a system-wide upgrade issue before it affects everyone -Software reports: see who has what installed and if it fits in the companies guidelines -Seamless integration between ticket creation and purchasing. Also, Vendor participation that allows vendors to directly communicate with the whole community and help out, without all the trouble of phone calling and long wait times.

Cons:

The only thing we have identified that Spiceworks doesn't do is patch management but word is they are working on that.

Matthew
Software Developer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic IT Help Desk Solution

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been a good way to track tickets and gives us the basic information as to how many tickets we are closing per week

Pros:

Myself and my team have been using Spiceworks for the last 2 years now as our Help Desk Ticketing software solution. We have now also recently changed over to their cloud version of this software which incredibly is also free and still have zero issues with the software. To date, it has never let us down. Spiceworks software delivers all the functionality we need out of a Help Desk Solution and is still running strong for us. We manage over a 500 tickets daily through this software and have never found to have had any technical issues with it.

Cons:

I do however have only one small issue and that is I wish it had better sorting of submitted tickets and improved search capabilities. Otherwise this software is amazing and only look forward to any future updates they may have for us.

Daniel
Daniel
Director of Communications and Information Technology in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Law Enforcement Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's great, setup is a pain

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used to rely on word of mouth or emails that would generally get lost. I am now able to keep track of all user submitted tickets to see where my staff is and ensure that things get completed. It also makes it much easier for users to report an issue. Previously users were discouraged from reporting technical issues because there was no guarantee the issue would ever be addressed. We now have accountability.

Pros:

Extremely easy to use as a user and an administrator. Users simply send an email to a pre-defined email address ([email protected]) and a e-ticket is automatically generated. My IT staff receives notifications via email as well as the mobile app. IT Staff is able to assign tickets, respond to users, set categories, etc. very easily. Best of all, it's FREE.

Cons:

Set up was very difficult. It took us a few attempts to get it working. But once it was up and running, it keeps on going.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Confusing, Complicated Help Desk Management

3.0 9 months ago

Comments: With so much difficultly in getting relevant information out of requests for assistance and making sure that information gets to the correct people, the Spiceworks causes more business problems than it solves, and we have moved on to other products that better address our needs and organizational priorities.

Pros:

The ability to respond to tickets via email with particular commands (such as assigning to a particular person, closing a ticket, etc) is very nice, and the web portal for end users to request support is nicely customizable.

Cons:

Two features of Spiceworks stand out as the least polished and most frustrating. First is the way the software deals with custom attributes for tickets. This information is tucked away in a secondary menu, cannot be easily included in email notifications of a new ticket, and is very difficult to export in any format that makes it remotely usable. Second is the confusing way that IT staff received notifications about activities on particularly tickets, and the inability of the software to consistently CC administrators based on the content or attributes of the tickets. I have spend many hours trying to fine-tune the settings to make sure that my fellow admins and IT techs are not bombarded with emails while also getting notifications about tickets that are relevant to their work, but have given up at this point.

Doriann
Doriann
Analista de Sistemas in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An excellent trip to the organization, control and monitoring of my company LAN.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I get control of the company's computer park and with software's functionalities I was able to get all the information about their life time. It also allowed me to carry the statistics of activities and faults in LAN allowing me to study their numbers and attack the problems with greater precision.

Pros:

It is a Swiss Army knife for network administrators allowing inventory, equipment monitoring and failure tracking and activities within the same package. It is great to be able to have everything you need within reach of an IP address, in addition to being able to receive as many notifications as you want and of what you want within the operation of the network.

Cons:

The hardware requirements are many, leaving out all those equipment with few features. Although software as such does not merit investment, it concentrates on the necessary hardware.

Nikki
Digital Operator in UK
Printing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Lots of features for a help desk ticket system

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use Spiceworks IT Help Desk at work as a ticket system. It creates an individual ticket for each customer when they have an issue, and organises all the communications with this user with this individual ticket system number. It has really made us more efficient as rather than having to reply individually and try to keep track of emails with a customer, it is all stored within one system.

Pros:

I like that Spiceworks IT Help Desk lets me work with customers through a ticket system, so I can stay organised versus answering and tracking individual emails. It also gives a notification when there is a new ticket or a message that has been waiting over 24 hours.

Cons:

It is a little difficult to use and figure out the menus of the helpdesk system, and also every page seems to have to reload and does not work very quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Helpdesk Solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am able to keep track of my work and assign/re-assign tickets with ease. Going back to reference a past solution is easy. A very practical helpdesk portal.

Pros:

Tickets can be auto-created upon email receipt as well as direct-upload to the Spiceworks portal. The former makes it much easier for users in more of a hurry to get their request in.

Cons:

Linking tickets to other tickets (sub-tickets) can make for a somewhat confusing ticket tree. Could be more intuitive.

Travis
Travis
It Security Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Free ITSM you need

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: SO i came from a government contract and our ITSM is all based on lowest bidder, Spiceworks excels far better than those software's I used .

Pros:

The ease of putting in tickets and meeting resolution target without much communication loss is imperative to all IT operations.

Cons:

So i used the free version of the software being in a start up environment, that being said the software has a ton of adds.

Javier Victor Marian
Javier Victor Marian
Network Security Auditor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Relations & Communications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great tools for manage IT Tickets.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Well I been out of level 1 Sysadmin for a couple of years, but I'm back. I started on a new company that I'm doing level 3 but eventually level 1. They had already in production Spiceworks. I used to use this tool long time ago, and starting using it again I can easy see the improvements.

Pros:

Its somehow easy to use, as IT Sysadmin level 3, I find it somehow easy to use. But when we gave access to non technical persons they take several days to start getting comfortable with them. Its quick, has a lot of options and we have it integrated with emails. So, just sending an email to an account will generate the ticket and even assign the IT based on the CC. thats a great time-saving option and super easy for end users to open a ticket. Imaging ask an end user to go to a page, do several clicks, fill a form, to open a ticket about change the computer time. They will never do that. So we love spiceworks.

Cons:

Not so easy to use for non tech people. Even if you go to the home page and log in, its hard to find the IT Help Desk section, you need to give them the direct link to it, or they will expend an hour to find it. (happen several times).