15 years helping Canadian businesses
choose better software

About Neon CRM

Neon CRM offers complete fundraising, membership, event, & volunteer management + email marketing, automation, and powerful reporting.

Learn more about Neon CRM

Pros:

The integration with my website to ensure a seemless experience for the user.

Cons:

There are a lot of bugs in Neon. One of the most frustrating is that sometimes my searches do not return an account until I type out the whole account name.

Neon CRM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Neon CRM has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 544 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Neon CRM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (544)

Julie
Julie
Director of Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

I have worked in a few CRMs since starting my career, and Neon CRM is the most user friendly. Also, the help section is wonderful and easy to understand. If I cannot find an answer, customer service is prompt and helpful.

Cons:

It would be nice if Neon had more capabilities for events such as a silent auction/raffle function.

Neon One Response

8 months ago

Hey Julie, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It's so wonderful hearing how useful our help resources and support team have been for you. Thanks again!

Kieran
Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Customer Service and Ease of Admin Stress

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Amazing and have recomended them to most non profits researching for a new crm.

Pros:

The customer service is what made the decision easiest for us. Responsive and listens to every concern.Administrative heachaces are lessened with automation. The CRM integrates with many programs to reduce user entry errors on the backend.

Cons:

events management still needs work (9/6/23). While It is great to use and get a complete picture of the constituent, the actual designing and then the signup pages fro events is cumbersome without help.

Alternatives Considered: DonorSnap and DonorPerfect

Reasons for Choosing Neon CRM: access is a glorified excel workbook and breaks too often.

Switched From: Microsoft Access

Reasons for Switching to Neon CRM: Price and cutomer service.The price is more but you get what you pay for when it come to help. Which the cheaper ones provide little to none.

Neon One Response

7 months ago

Hey Kieran, Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are thrilled that your experience has been positive and that Neon CRM has helped you and your team in so many ways. Thanks again!

Shauna
Operations in
, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Appears to have good functionality but the proof is in the details.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: We chose this software because it appeared to be able to do everything we needed it to. However, when getting into it more fully we consistently run into obstacles.

Pros:

Good database function, automated emails, customized reporting.

Cons:

We utilize the event module extensively and find that the functionality is difficult. The WYSIWYG feature to build an event page is difficult, you can't build sub pages for an event, no ability to have event add-on items (register for the event and buy a shirt, etc). I've had to add them into the store function and then make all events appear in the store function so that the add-on items would appear in the shopping cart with the registration - but there is no ability to customize a store item (i.e. personalization). The registration function is very confusing to our constituents in that you have to provide all information for the registrant before making the registration/ticket selection. Then the only place to put the add-on/store items is in the event registration summary page. The social fundraising functions are not terribly user friendly and intuitive. When you want to do registration discounts you can either take $ off or % off of the entire order - not off each registration when more than 1 person is registered. When I have asked about these features it has been suggested that we use Eventbright for events. We left event bright when we purchased NEON because we could save the costs with the integrated functions in NEON. Eventbright doesn't do social fundraising so this looked like a better option. And finally - duplicate accounts are a problem - especially because pricing is based upon the number of accounts. Merging/deleting accounts is a time consuming process. And, you cannot simply two accounts that should be merged (because you know they should be) unless the system identifies them based upon duplicate name, email, etc. For example - if a person registered using her home email and address for one event and then the next time she registered as that person's name using her work email the system won't recognize them as potential duplicates - and you can't manually select them to merge. The login feature we thought was good but unless you have memberships it isn't great - folks just don't log back in the next time the visit the site - they just create a new account.

Neon One Response

7 years ago

Hi Shauna, We’re sorry to hear about the difficulties you have experienced with functionality. We appreciate your feedback and take into account customer suggestions when considering product developments. We will be reaching out directly to further discuss your duplicate management pains and to better understand your event registration items. There are deeper duplicate scans that can be useful, and we of course want to hear from you about how the event registration process might be simplified. In the last month, we've come out with an enhanced template feature for social fundraising for more customization and usability--we will also send you info on this. Again, thank you for your valuable comments and please know we are always striving to improve the system and its functionality to better serve nonprofits. It's feedback like yours that helps us to plan for our monthly product releases. We appreciate having Star Legacy Foundation as part of the Neon community. We truly understand the importance of your mission and want to ensure NeonCRM can be effective in furthering stillbirth awareness. Our Account Management team will be in touch, but please know you can contact them if you have future questions or concerns. -Your NeonCRM Team

Stuart
Director of Operations in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fundraising, Event, and Contact management for Non-profit

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The built-in fundraising, event registration, and contact management features have allowed us to keep everything inside of NEON. Previously we were cobbling together data from separate systems with quite a lot of Excel exporting and importing in between.

Cons:

The built-in email template creation tool is powerful, but the learning curve is a little greater compared with other platforms which specialize in email marketing. After a little effort, we were able to recreate what we needed in NEON.We have not found a straightforward, built-in feature to put multiple contacts into a dedicated group for one-off purposes. It can be done, but one higher level of organization of contacts would make contact management almost perfect.

Neon One Response

7 months ago

Hey Stuart, thank you for leaving us this thoughtful review! I think your idea around adding the ability to add contacts to a group for one-off purposes is stellar. Have you submitted that idea to our Suggestions Portal? Our team will review it and let you know if this is something we can move forward with implementing! Thanks again :)

Alexis
Director of Production in US
Broadcast Media, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Everything in one convenient product

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

I like that there is so much information that you can log about contacts, that people can sign in, that there are websites now, that I can send out campaigns to specific groups and get helpful analytics, that we can add users rather than log into only one account, and that we can easily see who are active and inactive members.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve in terms of nomenclature and finding what you're looking for in the global settings. Filters for finding a specific set of members could be easier, but you can get used to how it works. When I went to someone for help, I ended up figuring it out before they were able to answer it for me, which took us both a long time, so I think it is not very intuitive if support staff also have trouble figuring it out.

Neon One Response

7 months ago

Hey Alexis, thanks so much for your review! It sounds like your org has been able to do a ton with Neon CRM, and we love hearing about all of your success! Thanks again :)

Amanda
President in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Started good and now terrible

1.0 3 months ago

Pros:

The company was good when we first started using it several years ago. It is now a larger company that seems to value profit over happy clients.

Cons:

Too expensive for what is included, horrible customer support, may take over a week to respond.

Lisa
Director of Membership in US
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Neon CRM has been a game-changer.

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It has been a great experience and I will definitely tell other it is a great product.

Pros:

Not having to do everything manually. The workflows and auto-emails have been critical for a small team. It is easy to use.

Cons:

The speed of uploading or running reports. It can take awhile to load a donors donations.

Neon One Response

7 months ago

Hey Lisa, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Automating those pesky administrative tasks can be such a game changer--glad this is helping out your team! Thanks again for the review :)

Greg
Greg
Executive Director in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Cosmetics, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's OK - needs to be modernized

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Neon has some powerful, fast database capabilities. We find it quick to respond when looking for records, generating reports, or soring data. It's also very capable at handling duplicate records and the searching is very good. It's also stable - seems to be built on a solid foundation and performs well.

Cons:

Much of Neon seems to be cobbled together from older generations of development. There is a lack of consistency in the admin interfaces, and I find myself lost trying to do the simplest thing (like updating a system email) ... and I took a year of computer science as an undergrad. The emails are not responsive for mobile, and the custom web pages are nearly impossible to present to our members because they simply don't match our brand at all. The event lack any sort of presentation in a calendar view. Neon updates their platform each month, however, IMHO, they're focussing on the wrong thing. I would expect the development team there to streamline the admin interface, make the basic tools like emails, events, and member sign up pages more modern and mobile-ready. I find myself wanting to head over to a WordPress solution to consolidate everything, but we've invested time and money into this already so we're going to ride it out for a while. If you go with Neon, I suggest you budget time (and money) for tech support and have someone on staff or on call who can wrangle the harder parts of the admin interface for you.

Alternatives Considered: MemberClicks and MemberPress

Reasons for Switching to Neon CRM: Price and capacity of membership data management.

Kari
Foundation Executive Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great affordable CRM

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

The training is top notch and I am able to utilize all the features which makes our nonprofit stronger. Neon CRM is more affordable than other options and has a lot of the same features. I love that I am able to add event tickets!

Cons:

It's a little hard to figure out how to add tasks, but once you get it, this CRM runs really well.

Alternatives Considered: Insightly, Salesforce Sales Cloud and monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Neon CRM: Price and friendly sales rep. We are also smaller, so we didn't need the full Salesforce package. Finally, I had used Arts People at another nonprofit and they moved to Neon, so I was familiar with it.

Neon One Response

8 months ago

Hey Kari, thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear that Neon CRM is working well for your organization. Our Support Center and Neon One Academy have tons of different resources to help folks with things like adding tasks so that you can learn quickly and make the most of the system!

Michael
Database Administrator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy To Use Donor Management

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Neon CRM is super easy to use and customize.

Cons:

So far, I have no real complaints about Neon CRM.

Neon One Response

4 months ago

Hey Michael, thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you and your team have been having a positive experience with Neon CRM :)

Cindy
Operations Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Neon CRM: Robust and easy to use

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Since we've been using Neon CRM, our overall fundraising has increased dramatically. At the end of the day, that is the name of the game for nonprofits, so it's really important. And, being able to see at a glance how we're doing in new donors, reactivated donors, etc. from the dashboards is very helpful.

Pros:

Neon CRM replaced ETapestry for Lung Cancer Foundation of America. The ease of use in all aspects - donation tracking, fundraising campaign setup and monitoring, reporting, etc. are so much appreciated after working for so long without that ease. So, this makes our everyday tasks go much faster and we've been able to utilize the peer to peer and campaign features to be able to bring on new donors and track specific donation campaigns very easily. But, probably the very best feature is the training. Whenever we come up with some wacky question on "how can we do..." we set up a training session and they've always got a path to help us do whatever new thing we're trying.

Cons:

I would like to have all database fields available no matter which type of report I'm trying to pull. Not sure if that is feasible or even advisable, but, sometimes I need info from a field that is available on a different report, but not on the type of report I need at that time.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Thank you for the review, Cindy! It is always our topmost priority for our products to increase overall fundraising for our clients, so we are beyond thrilled to hear you were able to do just that! We will also bring your feedback regarding database fields back to our support and product teams. Thank you!

T. Kebo
Director of Development in US
Fine Art
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

NeonCRM is just what we needed.

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

From the beginning, their customer service was outstanding. In our research phase to find a new CRM vendor, we contacted at least 1 dozen different companies. We provided the sales people with an extensive list that outlined the data that we collect, as well as our database needs. Some companies looked at the list and upfront said that they couldn't provide what we needed. Others never bothered to contact us at all. Most sad, the fundraising software/donation processing company that we've been with for more than a decade never contacted us to let us know about their new services, they only increased our annual fees and decreased functionality. So NeonCRM emerged as one of our top choices very early on. Best yet, in talking to their sales person, and now our account manager, as well as their data consultants, they work with us to discuss and figure out solutions. For example, for many years we have used our database as a way to check of tasks in the data collection process. NeonCRM helped us to figure out if we needed a combination of data points or a process document to ensure that all of our users entered consistent information. That kind of collaboration and solution-based thinking has been immensely helpful. More so, given that we have planned for our data migration to happen over 2 years, with specific benchmarks. It feels like NeonCRM will be there with us all the way. One of our Board members is an engineer, and the way that NeonCRM does consultation allowed us to invite our Board member and our web site builder and designer into the meetings. That way we could all learn and develop solutions at the same time. Best yet, we've been able to work with NeonCRM staff, from sales to data consultants, who actually understood arts nonprofits, so they understand what to do with our earned income. Other companies were best for health or educational nonprofits, or advocacy & policy nonprofits, or some other kind of nonprofit. To have a team that understands the work that we do, the size of our organizations, the ways that our events function, and is willing to work with us to meet our needs (instead of trying to cram us into their system), made all the difference.

Cons:

There are bits of functionality that other companies have that we would like. Such as the ability to tweet or make facebook posts, and track that information, from within the CRM, something that Nation Builder does really well. We would also like to be able to integrate silent and online auctions into fundraising efforts, but this is not something that can be done just yet. Finally, we would like to have our ecommerce products tied to their makers, something that NeonCRM can't do. However, they provided us with an API integration solution that will work in the meantime.

Karen
Director, Development and Strategic Partnerships in
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great System to Grow With

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I have actually used Neon CRM in two very different nonprofits. One was previously using eTapestry and we switched because of the greater flexibility offered by Neon. That organization received much of its funding from individuals and was focused on one main program. The second was a transportation think tank that had no previous CRM system and received much of its funding through memberships. In both cases, I have found the system to work well and meet the needs of two very different organizations.

Pros:

The interface is easy to use, very similar to comparable CRM systems in terms of flexibility and customization, but built for fundraising. The customization, in particular, is easy to understand and flexible enough to work for a variety of applications in a variety of nonprofits. I like the automation features as well, such as with donation appreciation and membership renewal reminders.

Cons:

The single log on functionality and link with Wordpress needs to be further developed, I think. Sometimes the integrations with other systems, like MailChimp, are not as robust as I would like.

Neon One Response

6 years ago

Hi Karen, Thank you for your review. We always love hearing how NeonCRM's versatility can help vastly different nonprofits! We are also glad to hear you are using the Wordpress single sign on plugin. We appreciate your feedback. We will be making improvements and enhancements to it regularly. Over the next year you can expect deeper enhancements to our existing integrations and many more great new integration offerings to come. For example, last month we announced we are officially part of Zapier’s beta testing program. Zapier is essentially a system that connects systems, so this really opens up opportunities to connect Neon with many other platforms. Our blog post about it is below: https://www.neoncrm.com/zapier-streamline-nonprofits-operations/ Feel free to contact us if you have additional questions about it! -Your Neon Team

Christine
Marketing & Development Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

NeonCRM: A solid decade by need to move forward

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been using NEON for over 10 years. It has been a solid, reliable performer. We have grown from $150k to over $1M in fundraising, and NEON has supported that growth (although it is not able to make mass changes to old data as we have better understand/refine how we track donations). Although NEON has incorporated some enhancements and improvements to the user experience recently, overall they have been slow to change, and customer support is not very responsive. Support for household roll-up (including family funds/DAV) has become critical to our organization, requiring us to seek other software solutions.

Pros:

Solid basic constituent and donation management. Reliable - service is rarely down or unacceptably slow. Interface is relatively easy to use for anyone with good software sensibilities (a simpler view would be helpful for less techy BOD members).

Cons:

Householding support with regards to donations roll-up is very poor. Reporting, while flexible and seemingly comprehensive, often requires export and external manipulation to get what we want. Organization is not responsive to customer requests - with popular suggestions in forum going unaddressed for years.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Hello Christine. We're happy to hear how much success your organization has had fundraising through Neon CRM over the past 10 years, but we're sad to see you go. Your feedback regarding how and why you're switching to another CRM is extremely insightful in helping us grow, and help us learn which features are most important to our customers. Thank you so much for leaving your review!

Sarah
Office Administrator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Neon is unmatchable

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is a core component of our business at this point, which we use daily. It stores so much information and organizes it in an extremely accessible manner. The various functionalities are used by our non-profit organization every single day. It seems like every aspect is useful and functional. As an organization, we have been able to eliminate other competing premium softwares and instead use Neon.

Pros:

The user interface is extremely intuitive and easy to learn. It's truly an all in one software that can do so much. It's integration with various other apps is seamless. We have so much data, and Neon can handle it all, and make it easy to understand, access, and analyze. Neon is honestly an essential must-have for any organization.

Cons:

I think the campaign email marketing part can be somewhat confusing. The components seem too separate, it needs to be more cohesive in one big step-by-step process instead of going back and forth between the tab's sub-categories. It works perfectly, I just think the process to sending emails can be a little more streamlined.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Thank you for your honest and comprehensive review of Neon CRM, Sarah! We know that email has been a pain point in the past, which is why we are uncovering some major updates on April 10, 2021. If you want to find out more about the updates to our email functionality, you can tune in to our upcoming webinar (or watch the recording afterward): https://neonone.com/resources/event/product-webinar-neon-crms-new-email-tools/

Mandy
Manager of Events & Marketing in US
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Multi-platform CRM

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall a great product and easy to learn. If you need a lot of very specific reporting, however, this may not be the one for you.

Pros:

Seamlessly integrates event registration, social fundraising, online donations, volunteer scheduling, grant tracking and donor development all in one CRM.

Cons:

Specific reports can be difficult to obtain. Trial and error to get the exact information you want. You also cannot create tickets for events-- registrants only receive email confirmations.

Neon One Response

6 years ago

Hi Mandy, Thanks so much for your thoughtful feedback. We're happy to know you've been taking advantage of so many of the tools Neon offers! To address your concerns specifically, we completely understand that getting the right report results can be a trial-and-error process, which is why we try to offer a wide range of resources that deal with reporting. There's a wonderful article in our support center titled, appropriately, "Getting the Right Report Results" at https://support.neoncrm.com/hc/en-us/articles/218529077-Getting-the-Right-Report-Results. I would also encourage you to submit a support ticket or schedule some time with your Professional Services Consultant for an in-depth, one-on-one discussion of your reporting needs. Should you need access to a report that isn't available within Neon already, we can always pull a custom report for you at your request! Finally, while Neon does provide email confirmation for all event registrants and attendees, you can also utilize our integration partnership services for more robust ticketing and check-in functionality. We integrate with both Eventbrite and MyRollCall--if you'd like more information on how these services integrate with Neon, please send us an email at [email protected]. Thanks again! -Your Neon Team

Tracy
Director of Communications, Marketing, and Membership in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for managing renewals, not useful for team overall

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: One of the main reasons we wanted to a CRM to track a schools participation doesn't really work. We are considering other platforms that might be able to offer this.

Pros:

Since switching to Neon processing membership renewals has been a million times easier. I can see easily how may years someone has been a member, what they have paid, the tier they should be at and I can easily communicate all this when their membership expires. Folks can easily become members through our site as well. Membership retention has been successful and my job has been easier.

Cons:

I had hoped that with the eventbrite integration that I could go to a school and see everyone who had participated in a program. We do not offer individual memberships, but that is the only way that neon is set up. I want to be able to see how a school is using their membership through program participation year to year, but it is still impossible to run a report or see this easily. For this reason and many others, nobody on my team is using the platform. I looked and nobody had logged in for years! I have deemed it a non-useful tool for this reason.

Maya
Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Beginner Picking Up from Prior Admins

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: Overwhelmed. I am the only employee in a nonprofit that has over 200 members so much of my time is spoken for and though I need to give Neon CRM time and attention, I feel guilty doing so and thus get distracted when I am going through training processes so I feel I am not retaining the info I'm reading/watching.

Pros:

I can see the potential of it being very effective in our organization but again, having a hard time locating implementation documents a prior administration set up or where things were left off.

Cons:

The Neon One Academy seems to have most of the information I need to navigate and learn but it does not keep track of where I left off in the training modules so I am constantly trying to remember where I to restart when I am able to revisit the trainings. There also seems to be lots of the same training info in different places so I get confused as to what or where to go next. Also having a hard time trying to figure out how to use all relevant features without using Neon Pay for any of them. (Due to our org having to use our fiscal agent's financial processing system, Stripe.)

Neon One Response

4 months ago

Hey Maya, appreciate your thoughtful review! We know how difficult it must be to be a one person team. Balancing your time with the plethora of tasks and duties and still trying to move your mission forward is one of the hardest things to do, and Neon CRM's goal is to make that easier. I'm glad you've been able to find some value out of Neon One Academy. If you haven't already, I'd suggest enrolling in the orientation course (https://academy.neonone.com/page/neon-crm-orientation). Another resource that could be fruitful for you is our open office hours. you can pop int a zoom room with our consulting team to get your questions answered in real time (https://academy.neonone.com/page/neon-crm-live-trainings). Alternatively, we do offer live chat and phone support for a small monthly fee, as well as extended training hours. I'm confident that once you get a grasp of the platform, it will make a world of difference for your prioritization and efficiency.

Amy
Program Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not particularly user friendly.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We benefit by being able to use the software to upgrade our database and access details swiftly. Connecting the events to our website has been especially useful, making our registration process much more efficient.

Pros:

I primarily use the features for creating an event and registering participants. The ease of connecting each event with our website is especially important and this works well with Neon. Overall I do find that the software is overly complicated and difficult to edit. It stores a great deal of information, but the fields are excessive. I would prefer a software program that is simpler and more user friendly.

Cons:

Editing is very difficult. Just one example is the form for accounts. We have spent many hours trying to tailor the fields to our organizations needs and still have not resolved this issue.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Hi Amy! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Neon CRM. We are happy to hear our product has helped you to access details swiftly and connect your events and website. We recommend reaching out to our support team to resolve your issue with customizing your fields to your organization's preference. You can fill out a ticket or find additional Neon CRM guides here: https://support.neonone.com/neoncrm/s/

Clarate
Director of Operations and Community Relations in US
Performing Arts, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Neon CRM is Great for our Mid-Level Nonprofit!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall our experience has been positive, and we would recommend Neon! It's a great way to organize our events and ticket sales, as well as track income from those same constituents and more. The volunteer projects and timesheets are seamless, so it's easy to tell how many volunteers have worked with the organization during the year and how many hours they've put in.

Pros:

Neon has been great for our organization. It's easy to navigate and pull reports to track donations, memberships, event registrations, etc. This year we used ClickBid to organize our virtual fundraising gala and auction. The integration process between that and Neon was seamless.

Cons:

There isn't a great way to set up monthly payments for annual membership plans. The grants module could be more helpful if there was a bit more automation. We don't use that function much as we've found it easier to stick to our own spreadsheets and calendars.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Hi Clarate! We are so happy to hear that Neon CRM helped you organize your events and ticket sales, as well as track income from those same constituents and more. We appreciate your honest feedback and will bring your voiced concerns back to our team, so we can continue to improve our products and support our clients.

Tracy
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Veterans Miracle Center Erie Gets Squared Away Using NeonCRM

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

NeonCRM is very robust in its comprehensive capabilities to manage every aspect of fundraising, reporting, tracking, lead generation and just plain constituent management process. For Veterans Miracle Center Erie, the offerings of NeonCRM's full suite of modules was well-above our necessity at the time we implemented it, and at a cost that would make any non-profit cheer. The optional modules available for growth allows the VMCE to grow at a solid-yet-comfortable rate, with confidence that our CRM can grow with us. Additional features for mass-emailing and event management are just some of the additional options we look forward to. For those seeking to have organizational excellence, this tool will allow you to cross items of the "accomplished tasks" list every day and breathe a sigh of relief. There are countless videos, articles, and DIY options available should your organization not have the budget for one-on-one guidance from NeonCRM's support.

Cons:

Filtering data down to a very specific subset of constituents, donations and campaigns for further analysis is key to the non-profit world. NeonCRM is very powerful for drilling down to mine out the gold needed. However, if your organization does NOT purchase the conversion support and general support, a person who is tech-savvy and patient ought to be selected to carefully read the very thorough SOPS and knowledge base articles provided by NeonCRM. It really isn't a complaint - just be prepared accordingly to either spend the additional funds for proper support, or know that you are at the mercy of someone to teach your remaining staff how to build and pull custom reports. Please note that the system does feature a TON of pre-fab reports, so you won't be at a loss even in your newness to NeonCRM.

Courtney
Executive Director in US
Civic & Social Organization, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great customer service!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've looked into several different donor relations databases, and Neon was hands down the best we've seen. The customer service was definitely above and beyond, and truly set them apart from their competition! The database is very user-friendly and customizable. I can't wait to full start using it!

Cons:

I don't particularly care for the fact that you have to pay an additional cost for the extra training. I feel like this should be included. If companies don't have time to watch all of the youtube videos, or aren't great at being self-taught, then they will not be able to get the most out of the system, and will be more likely to cancel the services. If the customer doesn't understand the database and how to use it, then it will ultimately be a waste of money for the client (which means NEON will lose their business). Small non-profits like mine, who are looking to increase fundraising and donations, just can't afford that extra cost.

Neon One Response

6 years ago

Hi Courtney, Thanks so much for your kind words about your experience with our team! We are happy to have you on board. To address your concerns regarding training, let me say that we strive to provide training options suitable for all of our clients regardless of budget, size, or learning style. Our online knowledge base at support.neoncrm.com has in-depth guides and videos to help new users get started and experienced admins take their CRM to the next level. We also have an active community forum and unlimited ticket support included with every service package. For those who would like more customized, one-on-one training, we offer a range of services and pricing that includes chat, phone support, on demand training, and extended training & consulting. If you'd like any assistance finding the training and support options that are right for you, drop us a line at [email protected]. We're here to help! -Your Neon Team

Adrienne
Executive Director in US
Arts & Crafts, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Duplicate accounts

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: I have had good experience overall. Please fix the issue of creating duplicate account with the same email addresses!!

Pros:

it has great features for registration of classes, except for the duplicate accounts that can be created by a single user with the same email address.

Cons:

I do not like that customers/donors can set up an unlimited number of accounts in the system with the same email address. I can't think of any company that allows this. If you register with the same email, it should tell them that they already have an account and to recover their account with a password reset and not allow for duplicate accounts. Not having this feature creates a lot of work for the back end user. It would not seem to be very difficult to fix this issue.

Judy
Board Trustee/Treasurer in
Fine Art, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent, well rounded CRM package.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall we would not hesitate to recommend the NeonCRM software package to any non-profit organization. Neon is available online from anywhere and is extremely reliable. Neon has partnered with other software solutions like QuickBooks, EventBrite and Survey Monkey. The package is reasonably priced and customer service is top-notch.

Pros:

Full package offers all the options we need to organize and run our non-profit arts and education center. We need events for our performances and classes, donations are the core of our existence, the membership model is adaptable to our pass holders and we can track custom data about our patrons. The reporting feature is robust and works with Excel and Word. Neon integrates with our website and merchant account seamlessly.

Cons:

It's hard to come up with many cons but the built in calendar needs upgrading to a more modern look. Some of the account fields are not available on all reports and past events need to be archived individually rather than in a bulk procedure.

Susan
President in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Critical platform to our business performance

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are very proud to partner with Neon One. Their business team is responsive and helpful. The company is an exceptional corporate citizen. I have also been very impressed with their willingness to help us network with their other clients.

Pros:

Neon One allows us to centralize our operations and interactions with our clients. The single sign on function means we can track all of our processes through the CRM, giving us a single source of truth to analyze and report our successes.

Cons:

Editing letters within the platform is a little cumbersome.

Neon One Response

3 years ago

Hi Susan! Thank you for leaving a review. Client support and feedback are an essential part of our business. In regards to editing letters, we have a great support article about different options for "letter templates" with Neon CRM. You can find that here: https://support.neonone.com/neoncrm/s/article/218530127LetterTemplates